DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In light of the amendment filed 11/11/25, the rejection of claims 6 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aurongzeb et al. (US 2020/0160813) in view of Sako et al. (US 2018/0166002).
Regarding claim 1, Aurongzeb discloses a display device, comprising: a display panel that displays a first image in a first image region in a display region (abstract, figs. 2-3, ¶ 22, ¶ 48-50);
a backlight that is located behind the display panel and illuminates the display panel (figs. 2-3, ¶ 22, ¶ 40, ¶ 48-50);
an illuminance sensor that detects illuminance of incident light (figs. 2-3, ¶ 15, ¶ 22, ambient light detector, ¶ 41-42, ¶ 48-50);
and a control circuit that controls the backlight based on the illuminance (figs. 1-2, ¶ 15, ¶ 19-22, ¶ 41-42, ¶ 51-55, ALS control thresholds disclosed; see also figs. 4-6),
and a first threshold (figs. 1-2, ¶ 15, ¶ 19-22, ¶ 41-42, ¶ 51-55, ALS control thresholds disclosed; see also figs. 4-6).
Aurongzeb fails to explicitly disclose wherein the display region includes a non-display region surrounding the first image region, wherein the backlight comprises a plurality of light sources arranged in a matrix, wherein the plurality of light sources include a first light source group constituted by at least one light source that overlaps the first image region when observed from a normal direction of the display panel, and a first peripheral light source group constituted by at least one light source located on the periphery of the first light source group, wherein when observed from a normal direction of the display panel, the entirety of the first peripheral light source group: does not overlap the first image region, and overlaps the non-display region, and wherein the first peripheral light source group comprises a first group constituted by: a pair of light sources respectively adjacent on the left and right sides of the first light source group; and a pair of light sources respectively adjacent above and below the first light source group, wherein the control circuit: allows the backlight to turn on the first light source group when the illuminance is less than a first threshold, which is a predetermined value; and allows the backlight to turn on the first light source group and the first group, when the illuminance is greater than or equal to the first threshold.
Sako teaches wherein the display region includes a non-display region surrounding the first image region (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, required luminance obtained on a block-by-block basis; each of the light sources can be changed in luminance within a range from a first upper limit luminance MAX to the minimum luminance LIGHT-OFF, e.g., see fig. 10, two dimensional array disclosed; minimum luminance LIGHT-OFF considered a “non-display region”),
wherein the backlight comprises a plurality of light sources arranged in a matrix, wherein the plurality of light sources include a first light source group constituted by at least one light source that overlaps the first image region when observed from a normal direction of the display panel (figs. 1-3, ¶ 47-51; see also figs. 4-10, e.g., group h=1; see also ¶ 3-4),
and a first peripheral light source group constituted by at least one light source located on the periphery of the first light source group (figs. 1-3, ¶ 47-51; see also figs. 4-10, e.g., groups h=0, h=2, v=0, v=2),
wherein when observed from a normal direction of the display panel, the entirety of the first peripheral light source group: does not overlap the first image region, and overlaps the non-display region (figs. 1-3, ¶ 47-51; see also figs. 4-10, e.g., groups h=0, h=2, v=0, v=2),
and wherein the first peripheral light source group comprises a first group constituted by: a pair of light sources respectively adjacent on the left and right sides of the first light source group (figs. 1-3, ¶ 47-51; see also figs. 4-10, e.g., groups h=0, h=2);
and a pair of light sources respectively adjacent above and below the first light source group (figs. 1-3, ¶ 47-51; see also figs. 4-10, e.g., groups v=0, v=2),
wherein the control circuit: allows the backlight to turn on the first light source group when the illuminance is less than a first threshold, which is a predetermined value (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, required luminance obtained on a block-by-block basis; each of the light sources can be changed in luminance within a range from a first upper limit luminance MAX to the minimum luminance LIGHT-OFF, e.g., h=1);
and allows the backlight to turn on the first light source group and the first group, when the illuminance is greater than or equal to the first threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, lighting amount is corrected when required luminance is not met by the luminance distribution, correction performed within the range up to the second upper limit luminance LIMIT, e.g., see h=1; lighting amount of adjacent light source, e.g., h=2, is increased to ensure required luminance, see fig. 9; see also ¶ 81-85).
Aurongzeb and Sako are both directed to local dimming backlight control for display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Aurongzeb with the light source correction of Sako since such a modification reduces power consumption and increases lifetime of the light source (Sako, ¶ 50) and enables output with higher display quality (Sako, ¶ 5).
Regarding claim 2, Sako further teaches wherein the control circuit: allows the backlight to turn on the first light source group at a luminance that is higher as the illuminance is greater and that is less than a predetermined luminance, when the illuminance is less than the first threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, required luminance obtained on a block-by-block basis; each of the light sources can be changed in luminance within a range from a first upper limit luminance MAX to the minimum luminance LIGHT-OFF, e.g., h=1);
and allows the backlight to turn on the first light source group at the predetermined luminance when the illuminance is greater than or equal to the first threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, lighting amount is corrected when required luminance is not met by the luminance distribution, correction performed within the range up to the second upper limit luminance LIMIT, e.g., see h=1, see fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3, Sako further teaches wherein the control circuit allows the backlight to turn on the first group at a luminance that is higher as the illuminance is greater, when the illuminance is greater than or equal to the first threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, lighting amount is corrected when required luminance is not met by the luminance distribution; lighting amount of adjacent light source, e.g., h=2, is increased to ensure required luminance, see fig. 9; see also ¶ 81-85).
Regarding claim 4, Aurongzeb discloses first and second thresholds (figs. 1-2, ¶ 15, ¶ 19-22, ¶ 41-42, ¶ 51-55, ALS control thresholds disclosed; see also figs. 4-6).
Sako further teaches wherein the first peripheral light source group further comprises a second group that is different from the first group and constituted by four light sources located diagonally adjacent to the first light source group (figs. 1-3, ¶ 47-51; see also figs. 4-10, e.g., intersection of groups h=0, h=2, v=0, and v=2),
and wherein the control circuit: allows the backlight to turn on the first light source group and the first group, when the illuminance is greater than or equal to the first threshold and less than a second threshold, which is greater than the first threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, required luminance obtained on a block-by-block basis; each of the light sources can be changed in luminance within a range from a first upper limit luminance MAX to the minimum luminance LIGHT-OFF, e.g., h=0 and h=1);
and allows the backlight to turn on the first light source group, the first group, and the second group, when the illuminance is greater than or equal to the second threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, lighting amount is corrected when required luminance is not met by the luminance distribution, correction performed within the range up to the second upper limit luminance LIMIT, e.g., see h=1 and h=0; lighting amount of adjacent light source, e.g., h=2, is increased to ensure required luminance, see fig. 9; see also ¶ 81-85).
Regarding claim 5, Aurongzeb discloses an importance level of the first image is less than an importance threshold; and the importance level of the first image is greater than or equal to the importance threshold (¶ 14, brightness levels changed depending on content, e.g., to provide improved contrast ratios for some display content while other content does not need as stark contrast ratios; see also ¶ 48-49, ¶ 64).
Sako teaches wherein the first peripheral light source group comprises a first sub-light source group constituted by at least one light source (figs. 1-3, ¶ 47-51; see also figs. 4-10, e.g., group h=0),
and a second sub-light source group that is different from the first sub-light source group and constituted by at least one light source (figs. 1-3, ¶ 47-51; see also figs. 4-10, e.g., group h=2),
and wherein the control circuit: allows the backlight to turn on the first light source group and the first sub-light source group, when an importance level of the first image is less than an importance threshold and when the illuminance is greater than or equal to the first threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, required luminance obtained on a block-by-block basis; each of the light sources can be changed in luminance within a range from a first upper limit luminance MAX to the minimum luminance LIGHT-OFF, e.g., h=0 and h=1);
and allows the backlight to turn on the first light source group, the first sub-light source group, and the second sub-light source group, when the importance level of the first image is greater than or equal to the importance threshold and when the illuminance is greater than or equal to the first threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, lighting amount is corrected when required luminance is not met by the luminance distribution, correction performed within the range up to the second upper limit luminance LIMIT, e.g., see h=1 and h=0; lighting amount of adjacent light source, e.g., h=2, is increased to ensure required luminance, see fig. 9; see also ¶ 81-85).
Regarding claim 6, Aurongzeb discloses the importance level of the first image is less than the importance threshold; and the importance level of the first image is greater than or equal to the importance threshold (¶ 14, brightness levels changed depending on content, e.g., to provide improved contrast ratios for some display content while other content does not need as stark contrast ratios; see also ¶ 48-49, ¶ 64).
Sako further teaches wherein the control circuit: allows the backlight to turn on the first light source group at a maximum luminance and also turn on the at least one light source of the first peripheral light source group at a luminance that is higher as the illuminance is greater, when an importance level of the first image is less than an importance threshold and when the illuminance is greater than or equal to the first threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, required luminance obtained on a block-by-block basis; each of the light sources can be changed in luminance within a range from a first upper limit luminance MAX to the minimum luminance LIGHT-OFF, e.g., h=0 and h=1);
and allows the backlight to turn on the first light source group and the at least one light source of the first peripheral light source group at the maximum luminance, when the importance level of the first image is greater than or equal to the importance threshold and when the illuminance is greater than or equal to the first threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, lighting amount is corrected when required luminance is not met by the luminance distribution, e.g., see h=1; lighting amount of adjacent light source, e.g., h=2, is increased to ensure required luminance, see fig. 9; see also ¶ 81-85).
Regarding claim 8, Sako further teaches wherein the display panel displays a second image in a second image region in the display region (¶ 76-85, same processing is executed for all the segment areas, see fig. 17),
wherein the plurality of light sources include a second light source group constituted by at least one light source that overlaps the second image region when observed from a normal direction of the display panel (figs. 1-3, ¶ 47-51; see also figs. 4-10, e.g., group h=1; see also ¶ 3-4; see also fig. 17, ¶ 76-85, same processing is executed for all the segment areas),
and a second peripheral light source group constituted by at least one light source located on the periphery of the second light source group (figs. 1-3, ¶ 47-51; see also figs. 4-10, see also fig. 17, ¶ 76-85, same processing is executed for all the segment areas),
wherein the control circuit: allows the backlight to turn on the second light source group when the illuminance is less than the first threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, required luminance obtained on a block-by-block basis; each of the light sources can be changed in luminance within a range from a first upper limit luminance MAX to the minimum luminance LIGHT-OFF; see also fig. 17, ¶ 76-85, same processing is executed for all the segment areas);
and allows the backlight to turn on the second light source group and at least one light source of the second peripheral light source group, when the illuminance is greater than or equal to the first threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, lighting amount is corrected when required luminance is not met by the luminance distribution, correction performed within the range up to the second upper limit luminance LIMIT; lighting amount of adjacent light source is increased to ensure required luminance, see fig. 9; see also figs. 17-18, ¶ 76-86, same processing is executed for all the segment areas),
and wherein, based on a positional relationship between the first image and the second image, the control circuit determines a light source to be turned on when the illuminance is greater than or equal to the first threshold, among light sources included in the first peripheral light source group and the second peripheral light source group (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, lighting amount is corrected when required luminance is not met by the luminance distribution, correction performed within the range up to the second upper limit luminance LIMIT; lighting amount of adjacent light source is increased to ensure required luminance, see fig. 9; see also figs. 17-18, ¶ 76-86, same processing is executed for all the segment areas, priority for plurality of segment areas disclosed).
Regarding claim 9, Sako further teaches wherein, when the first image is located near the second image, the control circuit determines turning on of a light source located between the first light source group and the second light source group, in the first peripheral light source group (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, lighting amount is corrected when required luminance is not met by the luminance distribution, correction performed within the range up to the second upper limit luminance LIMIT; lighting amount of adjacent light source is increased to ensure required luminance, see fig. 9; see also figs. 17-18, ¶ 76-86, same processing is executed for all the segment areas, priority for plurality of segment areas disclosed).
Regarding claim 11, Sako further teaches wherein the control circuit: allows the backlight to turn on the first light source group at a maximum luminance when the illuminance is less than the first threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, required luminance obtained on a block-by-block basis; each of the light sources can be changed in luminance within a range from a first upper limit luminance MAX to the minimum luminance LIGHT-OFF, e.g., h=1);
and allows the backlight to turn on each of the first light source group and the first group at the maximum luminance, when the illuminance is greater than or equal to the first threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, lighting amount is corrected when required luminance is not met by the luminance distribution, correction performed within the range up to the second upper limit luminance LIMIT, e.g., see h=1; lighting amount of adjacent light source, e.g., h=2, is increased to ensure required luminance, see fig. 9; see also ¶ 81-85).
Regarding claim 12, Sako further teaches wherein, when the illuminance is less than the first threshold, the control circuit allows the backlight to turn off a light source other than the first light source group (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, required luminance obtained on a block-by-block basis; each of the light sources can be changed in luminance within a range from a first upper limit luminance MAX to the minimum luminance LIGHT-OFF).
Regarding claim 13, Aurongzeb discloses wherein, when viewed from an observer's side, the illuminance sensor is disposed next to the display panel (figs. 2-3, ¶ 15, ¶ 19-22, e.g., system 100 may be any mobile or other computing device, ambient light detector disclosed, ¶ 41-42).
Regarding claim 14, Aurongzeb discloses thresholds (figs. 1-2, ¶ 15, ¶ 19-22, ¶ 41-42, ¶ 51-55, ALS control thresholds disclosed; see also figs. 4-6).
Sako further teaches wherein the control circuit: allows the backlight to turn on the first light source group at a first luminance that is higher as the illuminance is greater and that is less than a second luminance, when the illuminance is less than the first threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, required luminance obtained on a block-by-block basis; each of the light sources can be changed in luminance within a range from a first upper limit luminance MAX to the minimum luminance LIGHT-OFF, e.g., h=1);
allows the backlight to turn on the first light source group at the second luminance and the first group at a third luminance that is higher as the illuminance is greater and that is less than the second luminance, when the illuminance is greater than or equal to the first threshold and less than the second threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, lighting amount is corrected when required luminance is not met by the luminance distribution; lighting amount of adjacent light source, e.g., h=2, is increased to ensure required luminance, see fig. 9; see also ¶ 81-85);
allows the backlight to turn on the first light source group at the second luminance and each of the first group and the second group at the third luminance, when the illuminance is greater than or equal to the second threshold and less than a third threshold which is greater than the second threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, lighting amount is corrected when required luminance is not met by the luminance distribution, correction performed within the range up to the second upper limit luminance LIMIT, e.g., see h=1 and h=0; lighting amount of adjacent light source, e.g., h=2, is increased to ensure required luminance, see fig. 9; see also ¶ 81-85);
and allows the backlight to turn on each of the first light source group, the first group and the second group at the second luminance, when the illuminance is greater than or equal to the third threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, each of the light sources can be changed in luminance within a range from a first upper limit luminance MAX to the minimum luminance LIGHT-OFF; lighting amount is corrected when required luminance is not met by the luminance distribution, correction performed within the range up to the second upper limit luminance LIMIT, e.g., see h=1 and h=0; lighting amount of adjacent light source, e.g., h=2, is increased to ensure required luminance, see fig. 9; see also ¶ 81-85).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aurongzeb in view of Sako as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2012/0281027).
Regarding claim 7, Sako further teaches wherein the first peripheral light source group comprises a first sub-light source group constituted by at least one light source (figs. 1-3, ¶ 47-51; see also figs. 4-10, e.g., group h=0),
and a second sub-light source group that is different from the first sub-light source group and constituted by at least one light source (figs. 1-3, ¶ 47-51; see also figs. 4-10, e.g., group h=2),
and wherein the control circuit: allows the backlight to turn on the first light source group and the first sub-light source group, when the illuminance is greater than or equal to the first threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, required luminance obtained on a block-by-block basis; each of the light sources can be changed in luminance within a range from a first upper limit luminance MAX to the minimum luminance LIGHT-OFF, e.g., h=0 and h=1);
and allows the backlight to turn on the first light source group, the first sub-light source group, and the second sub-light source group, when the illuminance is greater than or equal to the first threshold (figs. 4-11, ¶ 49-59, lighting amount is corrected when required luminance is not met by the luminance distribution, correction performed within the range up to the second upper limit luminance LIMIT, e.g., see h=1 and h=0; lighting amount of adjacent light source, e.g., h=2, is increased to ensure required luminance, see fig. 9; see also ¶ 81-85).
Aurongzeb in view of Sako fails to explicitly disclose when a size of the first image is greater than or equal to a size threshold and when the size of the first image is less than the size threshold.
Kim teaches when a size of the first image is greater than or equal to a size threshold and when the size of the first image is less than the size threshold (¶ 103-107, dimming value satisfying an image-quality index is based on comparison of an area of the image with an area threshold value; see also fig. 12, ¶ 124-133, dimming algorithm based on, e.g., image quality).
Aurongzeb in view of Sako and Kim are both directed to dimming algorithms for backlit displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Aurongzeb in view of Sako with the area threshold of Kim since such a modification determines a dimming value satisfying an image-quality index (Kim, ¶ 103) and a power-saving effect (Kim, ¶ 131).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/11/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues Sako “does not disclose a non-display region” (Remarks, pp. 12-14). Examiner disagrees. As cited above, Sako explicitly discloses that each of the light sources can be changed in luminance within a range from a first upper limit luminance MAX to the minimum luminance LIGHT-OFF. Examiner considers a minimum luminance LIGHT-OFF to be a “non-display region” as is claimed. For example, as shown in fig. 10 of Sako, area h=1/v=1 can be an image region while the areas surrounding this region can be a “non-display region” as is claimed (these regions can initially have a minimum luminance LIGHT-OFF).
The rejection of the claims is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEITH L CRAWLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626