DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for …” in claims 14-20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LE (US 20230099034) in view of KIM (US 20210256658 ).
Regarding claim 1, LE teaches an apparatus comprising:
interface circuitry to obtain a first image ( 334 in Fig. 3);
computer readable instructions( 302 in Fig. 3) ; and
at least one processor circuit to be programmed based on the computer readable instructions to:
provide the first image to image signal processor (ISP) circuitry, the ISP circuitry to implement an image processing pipeline to process the first image( 404 in Fig. 4; 502 in Fig. 5));
identify a region of interest (ROI)( 402 in Fig. 5); and
provide coordinates of the ROI to the ISP circuitry, the ISP circuitry to crop the first image based on the coordinates ( 408 in Fig. 5) and to output a third image based on the cropped first image( 504 in Fig. 5).
LE does not expressly teach downscale the first image to generate a second image having lower resolution than the first image;
However, KIM teaches downscale the first image to generate a second image having lower resolution than the first image(1124 in Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of LE and KIM, by downscaling first images in LE following the teaching of KIM, with motivation of reducing video bitrate (KIM, [0238]).
Regarding claim 2. LE in view of KIM teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to downscale the first image after performing at least one of black level correction, white balancing or tone mapping on the first image( KIM, [0245], additional information, e.g., information of a color format applied … tone mapping information of a high dynamic range (HDR), etc., to the AI downscaler 1124).
Regarding claim 3. LE in view of KIM teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to perform the at least one of the black level correction, the white balancing or the tone mapping on the first image based on data from the ISP circuitry the ISP circuitry to generate the data based on an input image preceding the first image( KIM, [0245], information of a high dynamic range (HDR)).
Regarding claim 4, LE in view of KIM teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ROI corresponds to at least one of a detected face or a detected person in the second image( LE, 202 in Fig. 2A, 204 in Fig. 2B).
Claims 8-11 recite the medium in the apparatus of claim 1-4. Since LE also teaches a medium ([0060]), claims 8-11 are also rejected.
Claims 14-18 recite similar subject matter under 112(f) interpretation as in claims 1-4, thus are also rejected.
Claim(s) 5-7, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LE in view of KIM, further in view of Noy ( US 20150341596 )
Regarding claim 5, LE in view of KIM teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
LE in view of KIM does not expressly teach wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to apply padding to the ROI to generate the coordinates of the ROI, the padding proportional to detected dimensions of the ROI.
However, Noy teaches to apply padding to the ROI to generate the coordinates of the ROI, the padding proportional to detected dimensions of the ROI( [0052], The size W×H (number of pixels in the width and the height, respectively) of the padding segment 140 is defined by the MCU in order to complete the shape of the ROCP image to a rectangle that includes all the small segments of the strip).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of LE in view of KIM and Noy, by creating padding, as taught by Noy to the ROI detected by LE in view of KIM, with motivation to “consume minimal computing (encoding/decoding) and network resources”( Noy, [0052]).
Regarding claim 6, LE in view of KIM and Noy teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to scale the ROI coordinates based on a ratio of a first resolution of the first image and a second resolution of the second image( LE, 408 in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, LE in view of KIM and Noy teaches the apparatus of claim 6, including the ISP circuitry, wherein the ISP circuitry is to scale the cropped first image to determine the third image, the third image scaled based on a resolution of a video display(LE, participating computing devices in a video conference have adequate computational and network resources to support 4K video (e.g., 3840×2160 pixels), the camera of some computing devices are limited to 1080p video (e.g., 1920×1080 pixels)).
Claims 19-20 recite similar subject matter under 112(f) interpretation as in claims 5-7, thus are also rejected.
Conclusion
JIANGENG SUN
Examiner
Art Unit 2661
/Jiangeng Sun/Examiner, Art Unit 2671