Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (Claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 7/6/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by GROMOTKA et al. (US Pub No. 2010/0320694 A1 and GROMOTKA hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, GROMOTKA discloses (figs. 1-4) a method for manufacturing a case for a power electronics device, the method comprising: molding the case using a first material, wherein the molding comprises molding a plurality of interconnected channels (614) extending across a surface of the case (100) and around a plurality of power terminal apertures (105) of the case; and injecting a second material (603) into the plurality of interconnected channels to form a continuous seal (fig.2A).
Regarding Claim 2, GROMOTKA discloses (figs. 1-4) the method of claim 1, wherein the continuous seal includes a plurality of power terminal (400) seals, each power terminal seal accommodated within a respective channel of the plurality of interconnected channels that extends around a respective power terminal aperture (fig.2A).
Regarding Claim 3, GROMOTKA discloses (figs. 1-4) the method of claim 2, further comprising assembling the power electronics device by securing the case to a baseplate and positioning a plurality of power terminals in the case such that each power terminal aperture accommodates a respective power terminal of the plurality of power terminals (figs.3A).
Regarding Claim 7, GROMOTKA discloses (figs. 1-4) the method of claim 1, wherein the first material comprises plastic ([0062]).
Regarding Claim 8, GROMOTKA discloses (figs. 1-4) the method of claim 1, wherein the second material comprises rubber ([0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GROMOTKA et al in view of AKIYAMA et al (US Pub No.2023/0029819 A1 and AKIYAMA hereinafter)
Regarding claim 4, GROMOTKA discloses the method of claim 3, but fails to disclose performing a leak test on the power electronics device by pumping air to an interior space of the power electronics device via a test channel formed in a power terminal of the plurality of power terminals, the test channel fluidly coupling the interior space to a socket of the power terminal. However, AKIYAMA teaches (figs. 1-4) performing a leak test on the power electronics device by pumping air to an interior space of the power electronics device via a test channel formed in a power terminal (170) of the plurality of power terminals, the test channel fluidly coupling the interior space to a socket of the power terminal ([0076]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a leak test of AKIYAMA to device of GROMOTKA in order to a natural state, that is, in a state where the internal pressure of the sealed space is the same as the atmospheric pressure ([0056] and AKIYAMA)
Regarding claim 5, GROMOTKA/ AKIYAMA discloses the method of claim 4. AKIYAMA further teaches (figs. 1-4) wherein performing the leak test further comprises, upon a pressure of the interior space reaching a threshold pressure, monitoring a rate of pressure decay ([0077]) of the interior space and determining a sealing state of the power electronics device based on the rate of pressure decay ([0055-0056]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a sealing state of AKIYAMA to device of GROMOTKA in order to a natural state, that is, in a state where the internal pressure of the sealed space is the same as the atmospheric pressure ([0056] and AKIYAMA)
Regarding claim 6, GROMOTKA/ AKIYAMA discloses the method of claim 5. AKIYAMA further teaches (figs. 1-4) responsive to determining that the sealing state of the power electronics device is fully sealed, sealing the test channel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a leak test of AKIYAMA to device of GROMOTKA in order to a natural state, that is, in a state where the internal pressure of the sealed space is the same as the atmospheric pressure ([0056] and AKIYAMA)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GROMOTKA et al in view of MATSUDA et al (US Pub No. 2019/0380220 A1 and MATSUDA hereinafter)
Regarding claim 9, GROMOTKA discloses the method of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein molding the plurality of interconnected channels further comprises molding a bottom sealing channel within a bottom circumferential edge of the case, and wherein injecting the second material into the plurality of interconnected channels to form the continuous seal comprises injecting the second material into the plurality of interconnected channels including the bottom sealing channel. However, MATSUDA teaches (figs. 1-9) wherein molding the plurality of interconnected channels further comprises molding a bottom sealing channel (206A) within a bottom circumferential edge of the case, and wherein injecting the second material (610) into the plurality of interconnected channels to form the continuous seal comprises injecting the second material into the plurality of interconnected channels including the bottom sealing channel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the second material of MATSUDA to device of GROMOTKA in order to enhance the waterproof effect.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Paul et al (US 12696430 B2) : (figs. 1-4) a method includes forming a cooling fluid channel in a frame, forming an opening to the cooling fluid channel in a wall of the frame, and covering the opening in the wall of the frame with a power electronics module.
Homuth et al (US 12635096 B2) (figs. 1-13) An electric hermetic compressor includes a hermetic terminal with terminal pins for electrical connection of a motor inside a hermetic housing.
Jeon et al (US 20250105112 A1) (figs. 1-4) The electronic packages a base is installed on the electronic package (e.g., lead frame) before the molding process where the base includes a plurality of apertures that seal around each signal pin.
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841