Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/13/2026 & 12/23/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eT D-info-l.jsp.
Claims 1–11 of the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, 9, 10, 4, and 5, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,281 B2 in view of Tanaka et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0109166 A1).
Regarding claim 1, U.S. No. 12,212,281 B2, teaches the claimed limitations as mapped in the chart below, in which the highlighted sections indicate the differences relative to the instant application:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,212,281 B2
Claim 1: A photovoltaic detection assembly disposed at a cable, comprising: a magnetic component comprising a magnetic ring and a coil winding around the magnetic ring, the magnetic ring being sleeved on the cable and comprising an opening; and a detection component comprising a Hall element, a detection module, a control module, a signal module, and a power module, the Hall element being disposed at the opening, the detection module being electrically connected to the Hall element, the control module being electrically connected to the detection module, the signal module and the power module respectively, the power module being electrically connected to the coil; a housing comprising a cover and a casting, wherein the casting comprises an accommodating groove surrounding a periphery of the cable, the cover covers an opening of the accommodating groove.
Claim 1: A photovoltaic detection assembly disposed at a cable, comprising: a magnetic component comprising a magnetic ring and a coil winding around the magnetic ring, the magnetic ring being sleeved on the cable and comprising an opening; a detection component comprising a Hall element, a detection module, a control module, a signal module, and a power module, the Hall element being disposed at the opening, the detection module being electrically connected to the Hall element, the control module being electrically connected to the detection module, the signal module and the power module respectively, the power module being electrically connected to the coil; a third magnetic component comprising a third magnetic ring and a third coil winding around the third magnetic ring, the third magnetic ring being sleeved on the cable and comprising an opening; and an auxiliary detection component comprising an auxiliary Hall element and an auxiliary detection module, the auxiliary Hall element being disposed at the opening of the third magnetic ring, the auxiliary detection module being electrically connected to the auxiliary Hall element, the control module being electrically connected to the auxiliary detection module.
U.S. Patent No. 12,212,281 B2 does not expressly recite in its claims, using the exact language of instant claim 1: a housing comprising a cover and a casting, wherein the casting comprises an accommodating groove surrounding a periphery of the cable, the cover covers an opening of the accommodating groove.
Tanaka further teaches a magnetic detection module having magnetic sensors and a substrate housed in a case 501. The case comprises an open box portion 51 having an opening end 52, and a separate lid 59 closes the opening end 52 of the box portion 51 (see paragraphs [0104] and [0110]; Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Tanaka’s case 501 corresponds to the claimed casting, considered to mean the casing or case body; the open box portion 51 corresponds to an accommodating groove or region; and the lid 59 corresponds to the claimed cover that covers the opening).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the housing sleeved on the cable as claimed in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,281 B2 by forming the housing as a casing having an open accommodating groove surrounding the cable and providing a separate cover over the opening, as taught by Tanaka, in order to facilitate placement and assembly of the magnetic and electronic detection components within the housing and protect the magnetic sensors, substrate, and associated electronic components from environmental exposure because Tanaka emphasizes that the magnetic sensors and substrate are housed within an open box portion, that the opening may be closed by a separate lid, and that the magnetic detection device may be provided with waterproof protection (see paragraphs [0061] and [0110]).
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,281 B2 teaches each and every limitation recited in claim 2 of the instant application, as shown in the claim correspondence chart below.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,212,281 B2
Claim 2: The photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 1, wherein the power module comprises a management unit and a battery unit; the management unit is electrically connected to the coil and the battery unit respectively.
Claim 2: The photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 1, wherein the power module comprises a management unit and a battery unit; the management unit is electrically connected to the coil and the battery unit respectively.
Regarding claim 3, U.S. No. 12,212,281 B2, teaches the claimed limitations as mapped in the chart below, in which the highlighted sections indicate the differences relative to the instant application:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,212,281 B2
Claim 3: A photovoltaic detection assembly disposed at a cable, comprising: a magnetic component comprising a magnetic ring and a coil winding around the magnetic ring, the magnetic ring being sleeved on the cable and comprising an opening; and a detection component comprising a Hall element, a detection module, a control module, a signal module and a power module, the Hall element being disposed at the opening, the detection module being electrically connected to the Hall element, the control module being electrically connected to the detection module, the signal module, the power module, and the coil; a housing comprising a cover and a casting, wherein the casting comprises an accommodating groove surrounding a periphery of the cable, the cover covers an opening of the accommodating groove.
Claim 1: A photovoltaic detection assembly disposed at a cable, comprising: a magnetic component comprising a magnetic ring and a coil winding around the magnetic ring, the magnetic ring being sleeved on the cable and comprising an opening; a detection component comprising a Hall element, a detection module, a control module, a signal module, and a power module, the Hall element being disposed at the opening, the detection module being electrically connected to the Hall element, the control module being electrically connected to the detection module, the signal module and the power module respectively, the power module being electrically connected to the coil; a third magnetic component comprising a third magnetic ring and a third coil winding around the third magnetic ring, the third magnetic ring being sleeved on the cable and comprising an opening; and an auxiliary detection component comprising an auxiliary Hall element and an auxiliary detection module, the auxiliary Hall element being disposed at the opening of the third magnetic ring, the auxiliary detection module being electrically connected to the auxiliary Hall element, the control module being electrically connected to the auxiliary detection module.
U.S. Patent No. 12,212,281 B2 does not expressly recite in its claims, using the exact language of instant claim 3:
a housing comprising a cover and a casting, wherein the casting comprises an accommodating groove surrounding a periphery of the cable, the cover covers an opening of the accommodating groove.
Tanaka further teaches a magnetic detection module having magnetic sensors and a substrate housed in a case 501. The case comprises an open box portion 51 having an opening end 52, and a separate lid 59 closes the opening end 52 of the box portion 51 (see paragraphs [0104] and [0110]). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Tanaka’s case 501 corresponds to the claimed casting, considered to mean the casing or case body; the open box portion 51 corresponds to an accommodating groove or region; and the lid 59 corresponds to the claimed cover.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the photovoltaic detection assembly claimed in claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,281 B2 by enclosing the magnetic component and detection component in a housing formed as a casing having an open accommodating groove surrounding the cable and a separate cover closing the opening, as taught by Tanaka, in order to facilitate placement and assembly of the magnetic and electronic detection components and protect the magnetic sensors, substrate, and associated electronic components from environmental exposure because Tanaka emphasizes that the magnetic sensors and substrate are housed within an open box portion, that the opening may be closed by a separate lid, and that the magnetic detection device may be provided with waterproof protection (see paragraphs [0061] and [0110]).
Regarding claims 4-5, claims 2-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,281 B2 teaches each and every limitation recited in claims 4-5 of the instant application, as shown in the claim correspondence chart below.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,212,281 B2
Claim 4: The photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 3, wherein the power module comprises a management unit and a battery unit; the management unit is electrically connected to the battery unit and the control module respectively.
Claim 2: The photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 1, wherein the power module comprises a management unit and a battery unit; the management unit is electrically connected to the coil and the battery unit respectively.
Claim 5: The photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 1 comprising a housing sleeved on the cable, the magnetic component and the detection component being disposed in the housing.
Claim 3: The photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 1 comprising a housing sleeved on the cable, the magnetic component and the detection component being disposed in the housing.
Regarding claim 6, U.S. No. 12,212,281 B2, teaches the claimed limitations as mapped in the chart below, in which the highlighted sections indicate the differences relative to the instant application:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,212,281 B2
Claim 6: A photovoltaic detection assembly disposed at a cable, comprising: a first magnetic component comprising a first magnetic ring and a first coil winding around the first magnetic ring, the first magnetic ring being sleeved on the cable and comprising an opening; a detection component comprising a Hall element, a detection module, a control module, a signal module and a power module, the Hall element being disposed at the opening, the detection module being electrically connected to the Hall element, the control module being electrically connected to the detection module, the signal module, the power module, and the first coil respectively; and a second magnetic component comprising a second magnetic ring and a second coil winding around the second magnetic ring, the second magnetic ring being sleeved on the cable, the power module being electrically connected to the second coil; a housing comprising a cover and a casting, wherein the casting comprises an accommodating groove surrounding a periphery of the cable, the cover covers an opening of the accommodating groove.
Claim 6: A photovoltaic detection assembly disposed at a cable, comprising: a magnetic component comprising a magnetic ring and a coil winding around the magnetic ring, the magnetic ring being sleeved on the cable and comprising an opening; a detection component comprising a Hall element, a detection module, a control module, a signal module and a power module, the Hall element being disposed at the opening, the detection module being electrically connected to the Hall element, the control module being electrically connected to the detection module, the signal module, the power module, and the coil; a third magnetic component comprising a third magnetic ring and a third coil winding around the third magnetic ring, the third magnetic ring being sleeved on the cable and comprising an opening; and an auxiliary detection component comprising an auxiliary Hall element and an auxiliary detection module, the auxiliary Hall element being disposed at the opening of the third magnetic ring, the auxiliary detection module being electrically connected to the auxiliary Hall element, the control module being electrically connected to the auxiliary detection module.
U.S. Patent No. 12,212,281 B2 does not expressly recite in its claims, using the exact language of instant claim 6: a housing comprising a cover and a casting, wherein the casting comprises an accommodating groove surrounding a periphery of the cable, the cover covers an opening of the accommodating groove.
Tanaka further teaches a magnetic detection module having magnetic sensors and a substrate housed in a case 501. The case comprises an open box portion 51 having an opening end 52, and a separate lid 59 closes the opening end 52 of the box portion 51 (see paragraphs [0104] and [0110]). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Tanaka’s case 501 corresponds to the claimed casting, considered to mean the casing or case body; the open box portion 51 corresponds to an accommodating groove or region; and the lid 59 corresponds to the claimed cover.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the housing sleeved on the cable as claimed in claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,281 B2 by forming the housing as a casing having an open accommodating groove surrounding the cable and providing a separate cover over the opening, as taught by Tanaka, in order to facilitate placement and assembly of the first magnetic component, detection component, and second magnetic component within the housing and protect the magnetic sensors, substrate, and associated electronic components from environmental exposure because Tanaka emphasizes that the magnetic sensors and substrate are housed within an open box portion, that the opening may be closed by a separate lid, and that the magnetic detection device may be provided with waterproof protection (see paragraphs [0061] and [0110]).
Regarding claims 7-11, claims 8, 9, 10, 4, and 5, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,281 B2 teach each and every limitation recited in the corresponding claims of the instant application, as shown in the claim correspondence chart below.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,212,281 B2
Claim 7: The photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 6 comprising a third magnetic component and an auxiliary detection component, the third magnetic component comprising a third magnetic ring and a third coil winding around the third magnetic ring, the third magnetic ring being sleeved on the cable and comprising an opening, the auxiliary detection component comprising an auxiliary Hall element and an auxiliary detection module, the auxiliary Hall element being disposed at the opening of the third magnetic ring, the auxiliary detection module being electrically connected to the auxiliary Hall element, the control module being electrically connected to the auxiliary detection module.
Claim 8: A photovoltaic detection assembly disposed at a cable, comprising: a first magnetic component comprising a first magnetic ring and a first coil winding around the first magnetic ring, the first magnetic ring being sleeved on the cable and comprising an opening; a detection component comprising a Hall element, a detection module, a control module, a signal module and a power module, the Hall element being disposed at the opening, the detection module being electrically connected to the Hall element, the control module being electrically connected to the detection module, the signal module, the power module, and the first coil respectively; a second magnetic component comprising a second magnetic ring and a second coil winding around the second magnetic ring, the second magnetic ring being sleeved on the cable, the power module being electrically connected to the second coil; a third magnetic component comprising a third magnetic ring and a third coil winding around the third magnetic ring, the third magnetic ring being sleeved on the cable and comprising an opening; and an auxiliary detection component comprising an auxiliary Hall element and an auxiliary detection module, the auxiliary Hall element being disposed at the opening of the third magnetic ring, the auxiliary detection module being electrically connected to the auxiliary Hall element, the control module being electrically connected to the auxiliary detection module.
Claim 8: The photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 6, wherein the power module comprises a management unit and a battery unit; the management unit is electrically connected to the second coil and the battery unit respectively.
Claim 9: The photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 8, wherein the power module comprises a management unit and a battery unit; the management unit is electrically connected to the second coil and the battery unit respectively.
Claim 9: The photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 6 comprising a housing sleeved on the cable, the first magnetic component, the detection component, and the second magnetic component being disposed in the housing.
Claim 10: The photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 8 comprising a housing sleeved on the cable, the first magnetic component, the detection component, and the second magnetic component being disposed in the housing.
Claim 10: The photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 1, wherein the detection module comprises a wave filtering unit, an amplifying circuit unit, and a signal converting unit; the wave filtering unit is electrically connected to the Hall element; the amplifying circuit unit is electrically connected to the wave filtering unit; the signal converting unit is electrically connected to the amplifying circuit unit; the control module is electrically connected to the signal converting unit.
Claim 4: The photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 1, wherein the detection module comprises a wave filtering unit, an amplifying circuit unit, and a signal converting unit; the wave filtering unit is electrically connected to the Hall element; the amplifying circuit unit is electrically connected to the wave filtering unit; the signal converting unit is electrically connected to the amplifying circuit unit; the control module is electrically connected to the signal converting unit.
Claim 11: The photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 1, wherein the signal module is used for wireless signal transmission; wherein, the wireless signal communication takes at least one of the methods of WI-FI communication, Bluetooth communication, ANT communication, RF4CE communication, Zigbee communication, NFC communication, UWB communication, and infrared communication.
Claim 5: The photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 1, wherein the signal module is used for wireless signal transmission; wherein, the wireless signal communication takes at least one of the methods of WI-FI communication, Bluetooth communication, ANT communication, RF4CE communication, Zigbee communication, NFC communication, UWB communication, and infrared communication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Partovi (U.S. 2012/0235636 A1) in view of Mimura (U.S. 2003/0062078 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nishizawa teaches a photovoltaic detection assembly disposed at a cable, comprising: (see a photovoltaic power-generation plant including solar-cell string 10 and DC power lines 21 and 22, together with a monitoring system for acquiring measurement data from the photovoltaic system; see paragraph [0034]); a magnetic component comprising a magnetic ring and a coil winding around the magnetic ring, the magnetic ring being sleeved on the cable and comprising an opening (see current transformer 6 having a secondary coil and an annular core through which an electrical wire penetrates, wherein the annular core surrounding the wire constitutes a magnetic ring sleeved on the cable and the passage through the annular core constitutes an opening under the broadest reasonable interpretation; see paragraph [0037]); and a detection component comprising a Hall element, a detection module, a control module, a signal module, and a power module (see slave device 4 including Hall-element current detection circuit 41, controller 44, transmitter 45, and voltage detection circuit 43, wherein voltage detection circuit 43 corresponds to a module associated with electrical power under the broadest reasonable interpretation; see paragraph [0040]), the detection module being electrically connected to the Hall element (see current detection circuit 41 implemented using a Hall element to detect current flowing through the photovoltaic power line; see paragraph [0040]), the control module being electrically connected to the detection module, the signal module and the power module respectively (see controller 44 acquiring measurement data from current detection circuit 41 and voltage detection circuit 43 and feeding a digital transmission signal to transmitter 45; see paragraph [0042]).
Nishizawa does not expressly teach the Hall element being disposed at the opening, the power module being electrically connected to the coil, or a housing comprising a cover and a casting, wherein the casting comprises an accommodating groove surrounding a periphery of the cable, the cover covers an opening of the accommodating groove.
Mimura teaches the Hall element being disposed at the opening (see coil 22 generating a magnetic field and a Hall element positioned to measure the magnetic field; when Mimura’s Hall-element measurement arrangement is applied to Nishizawa’s annular magnetic core, the Hall element is positioned at an opening or gap of the magnetic ring through which the magnetic field is measurable; see paragraph [0075]). Mimura teaches the power module being electrically connected to the coil (see a detecting power source supplying electrical power to an integrated circuit and supplying current to magnetic-field-generating coil 94; see paragraph [0112]). Mimura further teaches a housing comprising a cover and a casting (see output terminal box 2602 containing detection circuitry and cap member 2406 covering the associated connecting part, wherein the output terminal box corresponds to the claimed casting or lower housing body and the cap member corresponds to the claimed cover under the broadest reasonable interpretation; see paragraph [0136]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Nishizawa by incorporating Mimura’s coil-and-Hall-element detection arrangement and covered enclosure as taught by Mimura, as doing so would facilitate installation of the photovoltaic detection assembly and eliminate particular wiring work for failure detection because Mimura emphasizes these advantages in paragraph [0139].
Regarding claim 2, Nishizawa in view of Mimura teaches the photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Nishizawa does not teach wherein the power module comprises a management unit and a battery unit; the management unit is electrically connected to the coil and the battery unit respectively.
Mimura teaches wherein the power module comprises a management unit and a battery unit (see power-controlling equipment connected to a secondary battery, wherein the power-controlling equipment corresponds to the management unit and the secondary battery corresponds to the battery unit; see paragraph [0099]); the management unit is electrically connected to the coil (see a detecting power source and associated circuitry supplying current to magnetic-field-generating coil 94; see paragraph [0112]) and the battery unit respectively (see the power-controlling equipment electrically connected to the secondary battery; see paragraph [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Nishizawa by incorporating Mimura’s power-controlling equipment and secondary battery electrically connected to the coil as taught by Mimura, as doing so would provide system protection and self-controlled power operation because Mimura emphasizes these advantages in paragraph [0098].
Regarding claim 3, Nishizawa teaches a photovoltaic detection assembly disposed at a cable, comprising: (see a photovoltaic power-generation plant including solar-cell string 10 and DC power lines 21 and 22, together with a monitoring system for acquiring measurement data from the photovoltaic system; see paragraph [0034]); a magnetic component comprising a magnetic ring and a coil winding around the magnetic ring, the magnetic ring being sleeved on the cable and comprising an opening (see current transformer 6 having a secondary coil and an annular core through which an electrical wire penetrates, wherein the annular core surrounding the wire constitutes a magnetic ring sleeved on the cable and the passage through the annular core constitutes an opening under the broadest reasonable interpretation; see paragraph [0037]); and a detection component comprising a Hall element, a detection module, a control module, a signal module and a power module (see slave device 4 including Hall-element current detection circuit 41, controller 44, transmitter 45, and voltage detection circuit 43, wherein voltage detection circuit 43 corresponds to a module associated with electrical power under the broadest reasonable interpretation; see paragraph [0040]), the detection module being electrically connected to the Hall element (see current detection circuit 41 implemented using a Hall element to detect current flowing through the photovoltaic power line; see paragraph [0040]), the control module being electrically connected to the detection module, the signal module, the power module (see controller 44 acquiring measurement data from current detection circuit 41 and voltage detection circuit 43 and feeding a digital transmission signal to transmitter 45; see paragraph [0042]).
Nishizawa does not expressly teach the Hall element being disposed at the opening, the control module being electrically connected to the coil, or a housing comprising a cover and a casting, wherein the casting comprises an accommodating groove surrounding a periphery of the cable, the cover covers an opening of the accommodating groove.
Mimura teaches the Hall element being disposed at the opening (see coil 22 generating a magnetic field and a Hall element positioned to measure the magnetic field; when applied to Nishizawa’s annular magnetic core, the Hall element is positioned at an opening or gap of the magnetic ring through which the magnetic field is measurable; see paragraph [0075]). Mimura teaches the control module being electrically connected to the coil (see an integrated control circuit including reference-voltage and comparator circuitry and teaches supplying current to magnetic-field-generating coil 94 when a normal voltage is generated; see paragraph [0112]). Mimura further teaches a housing comprising a cover and a casting (see output terminal box 2602 containing detection circuitry and cap member 2406 covering the associated connecting part, wherein the output terminal box corresponds to the claimed casting or lower housing body and the cap member corresponds to the claimed cover under the broadest reasonable interpretation; see paragraph [0136]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Nishizawa by incorporating Mimura’s coil-and-Hall-element detection arrangement and covered enclosure as taught by Mimura, as doing so would facilitate installation of the photovoltaic detection assembly and eliminate particular wiring work for failure detection because Mimura emphasizes these advantages in paragraph [0139].
Regarding claim 4, Nishizawa in view of Mimura teaches the photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 3 as set forth above.
Nishizawa does not teach wherein the power module comprises a management unit and a battery unit; the management unit is electrically connected to the battery unit and the control module respectively.
Mimura teaches wherein the power module comprises a management unit and a battery unit (see power-controlling equipment connected to a secondary battery, wherein the power-controlling equipment corresponds to the management unit and the secondary battery corresponds to the battery unit; see paragraph [0099]); the management unit is electrically connected to the battery unit (see the power-controlling equipment electrically connected to the secondary battery; see paragraph [0099]) and the control module respectively (see a detecting power source supplying power to an integrated circuit having reference-voltage and comparator circuitry controlling the supply of current to coil 94; see paragraph [0112]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Nishizawa by incorporating Mimura’s power-controlling equipment and secondary battery electrically connected to the control circuitry as taught by Mimura, as doing so would provide system protection and self-controlled power operation because Mimura emphasizes these advantages in paragraph [0098].
Regarding claim 5, Nishizawa in view of Mimura teaches the photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Nishizawa does not expressly teach comprising a housing sleeved on the cable, the magnetic component and the detection component being disposed in the housing.
Mimura teaches comprising a housing, the magnetic component and the detection component being disposed in the housing (see output terminal box 2602 containing semiconductor integrated circuit 2701 constituting the voltage-discrimination or failure-detection means and cap member 2406 covering the connecting part of the photovoltaic modules; when applied to Nishizawa’s cable-mounted current transformer, the output terminal box and cap form a common housing around the cable for the magnetic and detection components; see paragraph [0136]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Nishizawa by incorporating Mimura’s covered enclosure around the cable-mounted magnetic component and detection component as taught by Mimura, as doing so would facilitate installation and eliminate particular wiring work for failure detection because Mimura emphasizes these advantages in paragraph [0139].
Regarding claim 6, Nishizawa teaches A photovoltaic detection assembly disposed at a cable, comprising: (see a photovoltaic power-generation plant including solar-cell string 10 and DC power lines 21 and 22, together with a monitoring system for acquiring measurement data from the photovoltaic system; see paragraph [0034]); a first magnetic component comprising a first magnetic ring and a first coil winding around the first magnetic ring, the first magnetic ring being sleeved on the cable and comprising an opening (see current transformer 6 having a secondary coil and an annular core through which an electrical wire penetrates, wherein the current transformer corresponds to the first magnetic component; see paragraph [0037]); a detection component comprising a Hall element, a detection module, a control module, a signal module and a power module (see slave device 4 including Hall-element current detection circuit 41, controller 44, transmitter 45, and voltage detection circuit 43, wherein voltage detection circuit 43 corresponds to a module associated with electrical power under the broadest reasonable interpretation; see paragraph [0040]), the detection module being electrically connected to the Hall element (see current detection circuit 41 implemented using a Hall element; see paragraph [0040]), the control module being electrically connected to the detection module, the signal module, the power module (see controller 44 acquiring measurement data from current detection circuit 41 and voltage detection circuit 43 and feeding a digital transmission signal to transmitter 45; see paragraph [0042]); and a second magnetic component comprising a second magnetic ring and a second coil winding around the second magnetic ring (see current-detection units 60 and 61 each including two current transformers 6D and 6E, each current transformer having a core surrounding a power line and a secondary coil that provides an electrical output; see paragraph [0077]).
Nishizawa does not expressly teach the Hall element being disposed at the opening, the control module being electrically connected to the first coil respectively, the second magnetic ring being sleeved on the same cable, the power module being electrically connected to the second coil, or a housing comprising a cover and a casting, wherein the casting comprises an accommodating groove surrounding a periphery of the cable, the cover covers an opening of the accommodating groove.
Mimura teaches the Hall element being disposed at the opening and the control module being electrically connected to the first coil respectively (see a magnetic-field-generating coil measured by a Hall element and thereby teaches positioning the Hall element relative to the coil where the coil-generated magnetic field is measurable; when applied to Nishizawa’s annular magnetic ring, the Hall element is positioned at an opening or gap of the ring; see paragraph [0075]). Mimura teaches the power module being electrically connected to the second coil (see a detecting power source and integrated circuitry electrically supplying current to magnetic-field-generating coil 94; see paragraph [0112]); Mimura further teaches a housing comprising a cover and a casting (see output terminal box 2602 containing detection circuitry and cap member 2406 covering the associated connecting part; see paragraph [0136]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Nishizawa by incorporating Mimura’s coil-and-Hall-element detection arrangement into Nishizawa’s two-current-transformer assembly as taught by Mimura, as doing so would suppress power consumption, facilitate installation, and permit easy detection of positive and negative output because Mimura emphasizes these advantages in paragraph [0075].
Regarding claim 8, Nishizawa in view of Mimura teaches the photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 6 as set forth above.
Nishizawa does not teach wherein the power module comprises a management unit and a battery unit; the management unit is electrically connected to the second coil and the battery unit respectively.
Mimura teaches wherein the power module comprises a management unit and a battery unit (see power-controlling equipment connected to a secondary battery, wherein the power-controlling equipment corresponds to the management unit and the secondary battery corresponds to the battery unit; see paragraph [0099]); the management unit is electrically connected to the second coil (see a detecting power source and associated circuitry supplying current to magnetic-field-generating coil 94; see paragraph [0112]) and the battery unit respectively (see the power-controlling equipment electrically connected to the secondary battery; see paragraph [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Nishizawa by incorporating Mimura’s power-controlling equipment and secondary battery electrically connected to the second coil as taught by Mimura, as doing so would provide system protection and self-controlled power operation because Mimura emphasizes these advantages in paragraph [0098].
Regarding claim 9, Nishizawa in view of Mimura teaches the photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 6 as set forth above.
Nishizawa does not expressly teach comprising a housing sleeved on the cable, the first magnetic component, the detection component, and the second magnetic component being disposed in the housing.
Mimura teaches comprising a housing, the detection component being disposed in the housing (see output terminal box 2602 containing semiconductor integrated circuit 2701 constituting the voltage-discrimination or failure-detection means and cap member 2406 covering the associated connecting part; see paragraph [0136]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Nishizawa by incorporating Mimura’s covered enclosure around the first magnetic component, the detection component, and the second magnetic component as taught by Mimura, as doing so would facilitate installation and eliminate particular wiring work for failure detection because Mimura emphasizes these advantages in paragraph [0139].
Regarding claim 11, Nishizawa in view of Mimura teaches the photovoltaic detection assembly according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Nishizawa teaches wherein the signal module is used for signal transmission (see controller 44 producing a digital transmission signal containing measurement data and feeding the digital transmission signal to transmitter 45; see paragraph [0042]). Nishizawa further teaches modulated signal communication using OOK, ASK, FSK, or PSK (see paragraph [0038]).
Nishizawa does not teach wherein the signal module is used for wireless signal transmission; wherein, the wireless signal communication takes at least one of the methods of WI-FI communication, Bluetooth communication, ANT communication, RF4CE communication, Zigbee communication, NFC communication, UWB communication, and infrared communication.
Mimura teaches wherein the signal module is used for wireless signal transmission (see transmitting a magnetic-field signal from coil 22 and detecting the magnetic-field signal with a Hall element without requiring a conductive signal connection between the coil and the Hall element; see paragraph [0075]; wherein non-contact magnetic-field signal transfer using NFC constitutes a predictable use of a known wireless communication method according to its established function and satisfies wherein, the wireless signal communication takes at least one of the methods of WI-FI communication, Bluetooth communication, ANT communication, RF4CE communication, Zigbee communication, NFC communication, UWB communication, and infrared communication).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Nishizawa by incorporating Mimura’s non-contact magnetic-field signal-transfer arrangement as taught by Mimura and implementing the arrangement using conventional NFC communication, as doing so would permit the signal-transfer components to be installed without requiring visual accessibility and would facilitate installation because Mimura emphasizes these advantages in paragraph [0075].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 2024/0258026 A1 to Tang et al. disclose a photovoltaic converter and a photovoltaic generation system. The photovoltaic converter is configured to electrically connect to a first photovoltaic module and a second photovoltaic module, where the first photovoltaic module includes a first positive electrode output end and a first negative electrode output end, and the second photovoltaic module includes a second positive electrode output end and a second negative electrode output end. The photovoltaic converter includes a current transformer and a power conversion circuit. The current transformer includes a magnetic structure, a first positive primary side winding, a second positive primary side winding, a negative primary side winding, and a first secondary side winding. The three primary side windings all pass through the magnetic structure and are spaced from each other. The first secondary side winding is wound around the magnetic structure. This reduces an occupied board area.
U.S. 2023/0141539 A1 to Lei et al. disclose a leakage current detection circuit is used for detecting a leakage current, includes a main winding, an auxiliary winding, a detection module and a signal output module used for outputting a pulse signal with pulse signals with positive and negative alternations, wherein the main winding is connected to a leakage current detection end and coupled to the auxiliary winding, and the auxiliary winding is respectively connected to the signal output module and the detection module. During the auxiliary winding in a preset state and a leakage current occurred, the leakage current coupled to the auxiliary winding is superimposed with the pulse signal, so that the current signal detected by the detection module is greater than the current signal detected when the pulse signal with pulse signals with positive and negative alternations is not applied.
U.S. 11,190,023 B2 to Zhu et al. disclose a photovoltaic inverter system and a method for controlling the same. The photovoltaic inverter system comprises: an optimizing module string and an inverter, wherein the optimizing module string comprises a plurality of optimizing modules each having an input port coupled to at least one photovoltaic module, output ports of the plurality of optimizing modules are connected in series, each of the optimizing modules comprises a control unit, an input port of the inverter is coupled to an output port of the optimizing module string, the inverter comprises an auxiliary detection module for auxiliary detecting an output current of the optimizing module string, and the control unit controls an output voltage of the optimizing module string based on the output current of the optimizing module string, such that the output voltage satisfies a start-up condition of the inverter.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858