Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are presented for examination on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/23/2024 before the filing of a first office action on the merits. As such, the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Objections
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to for use of the term “may.” The term “may” implies that the disclosure may or may not include the specified structure, method step, or be otherwise configured as basically described, when such is not the case. A brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,211,050. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broader instant claims recite the same limitations contained in the narrower claims of the parent applications. For example, the instant independent method and non-transitory computer-readable medium claims are anticipated by the independent method and non-transitory computer-readable medium of the ‘050 patent; and claim 9 in both references are identical in scope, etc. As such, the instant claims are obvious in light of the parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101, because they recite non-patentable subject matter under § MPEP 2106 (the 2019 PEG, October update). The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (e.g., an abstract idea, etc.) without practical application or significantly more.
More particularly, when considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Broad categories of abstract ideas include fundamental economic practices, certain methods of organizing human activities, an idea itself, and mathematical relationships/formulas. See, generally Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., 573 U.S. __ (2014) (citing Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc.,132 S. Ct. 1289, 1294, 1297-98 (2012)); Federal Register notice titled 2014 Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (79 FR 74618), which is found at: http:// www. gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2014-12-16/pdf/2014-29414.pdf; 2015 Update to the Interim Guidance; the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, Fed. Reg., Vol. 84, No. 4, January 7, 2019; and associated Office memoranda.
The Claims recite a method, and non-transitory computer-readable medium, which are recognized, under Step 1, as patent eligible subject matter.
Under the 2019 PEG, step 2a-prong 1, Claims 1-20 recite a judicial exception(s), including a method of organizing human activity (e.g. fundamental economic principle) and methods performable via mental processing. More particularly, the entirety of the method steps are directed towards generating alerts to data breach in a payment card context, to using early warning devices (e.g., canaries) to detect account/card data breaches, and spoofing to detect criminal activity. These are a long-standing commercial practice previously performed by humans (e.g., merchants, credit card issuers, banks, fraud detection departments, etc.) manually and via mental steps. That is to say, banks have long monitored card transactions for fraudulent activity; and law enforcement has long used decoys to bait criminals and/or detect criminal activity. As such, the inventions include an abstract idea under the 2019 PEG, and Alice Corporation.
Under step 2a-prong 2, the claims fail to recite a practical application of the exception, because the additional limitations (e.g., the structure—a memory, processors) generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)) and/or instruct an artisan to apply it (the method) across generic computing technology. A claim does not cease to be abstract for section 101 purposes simply because the claim confines the abstract idea to a particular technological environment in order to effectuate a real-world benefit. See Alice, 573 U.S. at 222; BSG Tech LLC v. BuySeasons, Inc., 899 F.3d 1281, 1287 (Fed. Cir. 2018); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2014). The processor in the method steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that the claims recite generic computing technology. “[I]t is not enough, however, to merely improve a fundamental practice or abstract process by invoking a computer merely as a tool.” Customedia Techs., LLC v. Dish Network Corp., 951 F.3d 1359, 1364 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (citations omitted). More particularly, the claims fail to recite an improvement to the functioning of a computer or technology (under MPEP § 2106.05(a)), the use of a particular machine (under § 2106.05(b)), effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article (§ 2106.05(c)), or apply the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (§ 2106.05(e)).
Under part 2b, the additional elements offered by the dependent claims (e.g., an electronic representative, mobile electronic device, computer processor, etc.) either further delineate the abstract idea, recite insignificant extra-solution activity, or instruct the artisan to apply it (the abstract idea) across generic computing technology. The claims as a whole, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because no one claim effects an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of a computer itself, or move beyond a general link of the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the limitations individually. Under Alice, merely applying or executing the abstract idea on one or more generic computer system (e.g., a computer system comprising a generic database; a generic element (NIC) for providing website access, etc.; a generic element for receiving user input; and a generic display on the computer, in any of their forms) to carry out the abstract idea more efficiently fails to cure patent ineligibility. See, e.g., Content Extraction, 776 F.3d at 1347 (claims reciting a “scanner” are nevertheless directed to an abstract idea); Mortg. Grader, Inc. v. First Choice Loan Serv. Inc., 811 F.3d 1314, 1324–25 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (claims reciting an “interface,” “network,” and a “database” are nevertheless directed to an abstract idea).
Courts have recognized the following computer functions to be well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner: performing repetitive calculations, receiving, processing, and storing data, electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, electronic recordkeeping, automating mental tasks, and receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, MPEP 2106.05(d), wherein the italicized tasks are particularly germane to the instant invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0065784 to Margalit et al. (“Marg”)
With respect to Claim 1, Marg teaches a method for discovering fraudulent transactions in real time, the method comprising: issuing, to an organization, (i) an identifier that is representative of a canary payment card and that cannot be used to process transactions (FIGS. 2, 3; [0042], “may be valid” teaches that it may not be valid), and (ii) a plurality of identifiers that are representative of a plurality of valid payment cards and that can be used to process transactions ([0042]); listening, on a payment network via which the plurality of valid payment cards are issued, for a request to process a transaction that originates at a card processing device and that involves the identifier that is representative of the canary payment card ([0046]); and in response to discovering the request to process the transaction that indicates an attempted use of the identifier that is representative of the canary payment card, causing the request to be declined at the card processing device, such that the transaction cannot be completed ([0054];[0058], “attempted to use”;[0031], “not authorized to be used”); and alerting the organization of the attempted use of the identifier that is representative of the canary payment card (FIGS. 2,3; [0058]).
With respect to Claim 2, Marg teaches wherein the identifier is not distinguishable from the plurality of identifiers by the organization ([0028], decoy; [0029], mimic).
With respect to Claim 3, Marg teaches wherein the identifier and the plurality of identifiers are issued to the organization via the payment network using one or more application programming interface (API) calls. [0068];[0076-78]
With respect to Claim 4, Marg teaches wherein said issuing, said listening, said causing, and said alerting are performed by a networked system of a service provider that is responsible for facilitating processing of payments made using the plurality of valid payment cards ([0028], “credit card company”) and wherein said listening is accomplished using one or more application programming interface (API) calls ([0052]) that are exchanged between a layer of the networked system that resides on the payment network and an external card gateway. [0014], gateway; [0025];[0028];[0051], describing a third party service;[0068];[0076-78]
With respect to Claim 5, Marg teaches wherein said issuing, said listening, said causing, and said alerting are performed by a networked system of a service provider that is responsible for facilitating processing of payments made using the plurality of valid payment cards ([0028], “credit card company”), and wherein said causing comprises: declining the request via one or more application programming interface (API) calls exchanged between the networked system and an external card gateway. [0014], gateway; [0025];[0028];[0068];[0076-78]
With respect to Claim 6, Marg teaches receiving input that is indicative of a request, from the organization, to generate the identifier that is representative of the canary payment card; and generating the identifier that is representative of the canary payment card. ([0051-52], “request”)
With respect to Claim 7, Marg teaches marking the identifier as a burned identifier with the organization and a service provider that is responsible for facilitating processing of payments made using the plurality of valid payment cards. ([0031], decoy not authorized to be used teaches a “burned identifier”; “compromised” equals burned, used throughout.)
With respect to Claim 8, Marg teaches generating a second identifier that is representative of a second canary payment card and that cannot be used to process transactions; and notifying the organization of the second identifier. ([0031])
With respect to Claim 10, Marg teaches a non-transitory medium with instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a processor of a computing device (FIGS. 1, 4-6; [0014]), cause the computing device to: receive input that is indicative of a request, from an organization, to generate an identifier that is representative of a canary payment card and that cannot be used be used to process transactions ([0051], receive a “request”); generate the identifier that is representative of the canary payment card ([0046]); populate, into a data structure ([0046], database is a data structure), (i) the identifier that is representative of the canary payment card, and (ii) a plurality of identifiers that are representative of a plurality of valid payment cards and that can be used to process transactions (FIGS. 2,3; [0042]); and issue the data structure to the organization via a network ([0037]), such that the identifier is not distinguishable from the plurality of identifiers except by the organization (“decoy”), such that the organization does not provide the identifier to an employee for valid transaction processing ([0022], teaching organization doesn’t know; [0029]).
With respect to Claim 11, Marg teaches wherein the request designates the plurality of valid payment cards and an account balance for use with the plurality of valid payment cards. ([0045], “account details” teaches an account balance)
With respect to Claim 12, Marg teaches wherein the request further designates a number of canary payment cards to be generated. ([0052], clicking on button designates a number of marked account)
With respect to Claim 13, Marg teaches wherein the instructions further cause the computing device to: receive second input that is indicative of a designation of a communication address, a communication identifier, a communication channel, an individual, or another computing device to receive an alert when the identifier of the canary payment card is used. ([0046])
With respect to Claim 14, Marg teaches wherein the instructions further cause the computing device to: receive second input that is indicative of a designation of transaction data to include an alert that is generated when the identifier of the canary payment card is used. ([0046])
With respect to Claim 15, Marg teaches wherein the transaction data includes L2 or L31 card data that is detected during a transaction based on input by a merchant to which the identifier of the canary payment card is presented for payment. ([0025-26], teaching L2 or L3 data associated with the marked accounts)
With respect to Claim 16, Marg teaches wherein the instructions further cause the computing device to: receive second input that is indicative of a designation of contextual data to include an alert that is generated when the identifier of the canary payment card is used. [0028]
With respect to Claim 17, Marg teaches wherein the contextual data includes information entered by an individual for a transaction for which the identifier of the canary payment card is presented, a location or a name of a merchant to which the identifier of the canary payment card is presented, or a communication with the merchant. [0028]
With respect to Claim 18, Marg teaches wherein the identifier is generated without a usable balance or credit and is not linked to an available balance underwritten for the organization. [0029]
With respect to Claim 19, Marg teaches wherein the instructions further cause the computing device to: detect use of the identifier in a transaction when a point-of-sale computing device ([0026]) attempts processing of a transaction processing request over the network ([0037]); and decline processing of the transaction processing request to prevent processing of the transaction ([0054]).
With respect to Claim 20, Marg teaches wherein the instructions further cause the computing device to: generate an alert regarding the use of the identifier in the transaction; and transmit, to the organization, the alert with additional information related to a context of the use, ([0028]) so as to allow the organization to limit further fraudulent activity ([0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 is rejected under § 103 as being unpatentable over Margalit in view of US 2015/0269562 to Wang.
With respect to Claims 9, Marg fails to expressly teach responsive to the outputting of the real-time alert, implementing a freeze on an account associated with the alphanumeric card identifier or another card identifier of the organization. Wang, however, teaches notifying an account holder and freezing the account, where fraud is detected. [0008] Wang further discusses concerns involving hacking of stolen credit card accounts, such that the prior art is still vulnerable to a centralized secure database attack fraud. [0003] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Margalit to include freezing the account, so as to counteract centralized secure database attack fraud.
Other prior art considered germane to the instant claims, but not relied upon are listed in the Notice of references (Form 892), including US 2016/0110709 to Lacoss-Arnold.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM J JACOB/Examiner, Art Unit 3696
1 See Specification, ¶ [0020] for a list of examples