DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a Final Office Action rejection on the merits. Claims 1-2, 4, 8, and 12-27 are currently pending and have been addressed below.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 121 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed parent applications, provisional application No. 63/613,269 filed on 12/21/2023, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The specification of the instant application contains new matter in at least Paragraphs 0220, 0222, 0233, and 0466. Claims 1, 12, and 16 include limitations not supported in the parent applications, including dynamically performing interviews with stakeholders using common language models as part of a cooperative game to gather disparate stakeholder insights. Claims 2-11, 13-15, and 17-20 are directed to further describing how the questions are refined based on previous stakeholder responses which were not described in the parent provisional application No. 63/613,269 to which the instant application claim priority. Because the claims are not supported under 35 U.S.C. 112 first paragraph, the priority date for the claim limitations of the instant application will be the effective filing date of the instant application which is 12/23/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on 01/14/2026 comply with the provisions 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98, and MPEP 609 and is considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 5/29/2026 (related to claim interpretations under 3 5 U.S. C § 112) have been fully considered. Applicant agrees with the Examiner's determination that these claim limitations recite sufficient structure and should not be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112. Therefore, claims are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112.
Applicant's arguments filed on 5/29/2026 (related to the 101 Rejection) have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant states, on pages 10-17, that the amended claims are more analogous to Example 47, Claim 3 than Claim 2. In Example 47, Claim 2 was found ineligible because it only recited the outcome of "detecting" and "analyzing" anomalies "using the trained ANN" without including "any details about how the 'detecting' and 'analyzing' are accomplished." By contrast, Example 47, Claim 3 was found eligible because "the claim as a whole integrates the judicial exception into a practical application by improving network security." Here, the amended claims do not merely recite the outcome of gathering stakeholder insights using a language model; instead, they specify how the language model operates through syntactic analysis, dynamic question modification, and synthesis of divergent responses into structured prompts.
Additionally, Claim 1, as amended, now recites that "the Decision Tree Models integrate with the Fault Tree Models in a recursive relationship to calculate an expected value for each alternative state by multiplying a probability of success determined by the Fault Tree Models by an impact value determined by the Decision Tree Models." This amendment specifies the particular technical integration between the Decision Tree Models and Fault Tree Models. This is a recursive relationship that calculates expected values through a specific mathematical operation (multiplying probability of success by impact value). This ordered combination of multiple analytical models working together in a recursive relationship represents a specific technical implementation, not merely the application of known mathematical concepts.
The claims, as amended, do not merely recite an abstract idea with instructions to "apply it" on a computer. Rather, the claims recite specific technical implementations including: (1) syntactic analysis of stakeholder responses to dynamically modify interview questions; (2) language model synthesis of divergent responses into structured prompts; (3) recursive integration of Decision Tree Models and Fault Tree Models to calculate expected values; and ( 4) deployment of analytics measuring actual versus estimated work completion. These specific technical details impose meaningful limits on the claims and provide the technical specificity the Examiner found lacking.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant. Step 2A, Prong One: As previously stated, amended claim 1 limitations are still considered to be abstract ideas because they are directed to “certain methods of organizing human activity” which include “managing interactions between people.” In this case, aligning stakeholder insights to a project is a social activity. Also, the steps of calculating an entropy score and multiplying a probability of success by an impact value are directed to “mathematical calculations.” If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing interactions between people or mathematical calculations, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” or “mathematical concepts” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Claim 1 includes additional elements: a Language Model; a Lookalike Model; a Markov Model; a Decision Tree such as a Fault Tree Model; and Bayesian Priors. The Language Model is merely used to dynamically perform interviews with stakeholders as part of a cooperative game to use disparate stakeholder insights to define the target state, projects, milestones, tasks, and resource use/availability. In some embodiments, the questions provided to responder(s)/user(s) during the Needs Assessment can be dynamically shifted, changed, adjusted, modified, expanded, condensed, added, or eliminated before and during the Needs Assessment. In some embodiments, syntactic analysis or the like can be carried out on responses provided by the responder(s)/user(s) (Paragraphs 0006 & 0451). The Lookalike Model is merely used to categorize the organization into an organizational cohort of similar organizations for which proxy organizational profiles (Paragraph 0454). The Markov Model is merely used to identify possible task completion pathways between current and target state (Paragraph 0006). The Decision Tree is merely used to identify magnitude of contribution to organizational transformation towards target state for each project (Paragraph 0006). The Fault Tree is merely used to identify likelihood of successful project completion for each project (Paragraph 0006). The Bayesian Priors is merely used to represent prior beliefs or knowledge about a parameter, expressed as a probability distribution, which is updated with new data through the Bayesian inference process (Paragraph 0389). Merely stating that the step is performed by a computer component results in “apply it” on a computer (MPEP 2106.05f). These elements of “Language Model,” “Lookalike Model,” “Fault Tree Model,” and “Bayesian Priors” are recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer element. Also, the Language Model is considered “field of use” since it’s just used to receive stakeholder insights for an analysis, but the model is not improved (MPEP 2106.05h). Although the claim further states that the evaluation of the dynamic interviews is performed using syntactic analysis, Examiner notes that the claim lacked details as to how the dynamic interviews are analyzed (MPEP 2106.05h). The limitations of “dynamically performing interviews” and “determining optimal project completion path” are mere data gathering and output recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)). In addition, all uses of the recited judicial exceptions require such data gathering and output, and, as such, these limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on the claim.
Step 2B: As discussed in Step 2A, Prong Two above, the recitation of the Language Model, Lookalike Model, Markov Model, Decision Tree, Fault Tree Model, and Bayesian Priors amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Also, the steps of “dynamically performing interviews with stakeholders” and “outputting optimal project completion path” are considered a conventional computer function of “receiving and transmitting over a network” and “performing repetitive calculations” (MPEP 2106.05d). Therefore, claim 1 is still similar to example 47, claim 2 of July 2024 AI Subject Matter Eligibility.
The claim fails to recite any improvements to another technology or technical field, improvements to the functioning of the computer itself, use of a particular machine, effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, adding unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application, and/or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular environment. See 84 Fed. Reg. 55. Viewed individually or as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claim is ineligible.
Independent claims 12 and 16 recite similar features and therefore are rejected for the same reasons as independent claim 1. Claims 2, 4, 8, 13-15, and 17-27 are rejected for having the same deficiencies as those set forth with respect to the claims that they depend from, independent claims 1, 12, and 16.
Applicant's arguments filed on 5/29/2026 (related to the 103 Rejection) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states, on pages 13-14, that Goldberg's system receives a transcript of a team meeting and analyzes it using trigger words to generate task specifications. See Goldberg, at paragraph [0039]. This is fundamentally different from dynamically performing interviews where questions are modified in real-time based on syntactic analysis of stakeholder responses. None of the secondary references (Nikolaev, Prieto, or Takahashi) cure this deficiency.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant. Goldberg discloses using a common language model to evaluate a discussion by different team members describing new project goals and/or new project requirements (see Paragraphs 0044-0045). Also, Examiner notes that syntactic analysis is defined as the process of analyzing a sequence of words or symbols to determine its grammatical structure based on formal rules (see Wikipedia). Examiner notes that Goldberg discloses analyzing a sequence of words using natural language processing (see Paragraph 0039, analyzing a sentence to identity triggers and/or specific features that don’t work and/or new features needed in the project). Therefore, based on broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, Goldberg discloses a syntactic analysis since it’s using natural language processing to analyze the meaning of a sentence/phrase.
Further, Goldberg discloses wherein the output (e.g., project goals and/or requirements) may be refined using one or more additional prompts (see Paragraph 0045). Examiner interprets the “one or more prompts to refine the output” as “dynamically performing interviews where questions are modified in real-time based on syntactic analysis of stakeholder responses.” Therefore, Goldberg discloses dynamically performing interviews. Claims 12-15 are still rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Applicant further states, on pages 14-17, that Claim 1, as amended, now recites that "the Decision Tree Models integrate with the Fault Tree Models in a recursive relationship to calculate an expected value for each alternative state by multiplying a probability of success determined by the Fault Tree Models by an impact value determined by the Decision Tree Models." The Examiner relies on Prieto's fault tree analysis for both the Decision Tree and Fault Tree limitations. See Office Action, at page 68. However, Prieto only teaches fault trees to "identify the current program attributes most likely to be affected by negative events, or most likely to contribute to the program's degradation or failure." See Prieto, at paragraph [0119]. Prieto does not teach the recursive integration of Decision Tree Models with Fault Tree Models to calculate expected values by multiplying probability of success by impact value. Nikolaev mentions a Markov rule-based approach as one possible alternative but does not teach this specific recursive integration either. See Nikolaev, at Column 5, lines 19-46.
Also, claim 26 recites additional limitations that are not taught or suggested by the cited prior art. In particular, none of the cited references teach or suggest: calculating an agreement score based on weighted differences between user response.
Examiner respectfully agrees with Applicant. The combination of Goldberg, Nikolaev, Abad, Dey, and Takahashi does not disclose "the Decision Tree Models integrate with the Fault Tree Models in a recursive relationship to calculate an expected value for each alternative state by multiplying a probability of success determined by the Fault Tree Models by an impact value determined by the Decision Tree Models." Also, none of the cited references teach or suggest: calculating an agreement score based on weighted differences between user response. Therefore, claims 1-2, 4, 8, and 21-26 have potential allowable subject matter.
Applicant further states, on page 15, that Claim 16, as amended, the claim now recites that the micro-behavior-based performance metrics "measure small, incremental changes in individual actions and routines by deploying analytics that measure actual work completion for projects in relation to total work required and with respect to estimated versus actual timelines." The Examiner relies on Goldberg's resource tracking for the micro-behavior-based performance metrics limitation. See Office Action, at page 75. However, Goldberg's resource tracking involves aggregate resource estimates such as "the number of hours, team members, and/or other resources required." See Goldberg, at paragraph [0013]. These are general project management metrics, not micro-behavior-based performance metrics that measure small, incremental changes in individual actions and routines as now claimed.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. Applicant's amendments necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Rejection based on a newly cited reference(s) follows. Claims 17-20 and 27 are rejected at least by virtue of their dependency on amended Claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 4, 8, and 12-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without reciting significantly more.
Independent Claim 1
Step One - First, pursuant to step 1 in the January 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (“2019 PEG”) on 84 Fed. Reg. 53, the claim 1 is directed to a method which is a statutory category.
Step 2A, Prong One - Claim 1 recites: A method for organizational transformation from a current state to a target state, comprising: dynamically performing interviews with stakeholders as part of a cooperative game to gather disparate stakeholder insights, perform analysis on stakeholder responses and dynamically shift, change, adjust, modify, expand, condense, add, or eliminate questions during the interviews based on the syntactic analysis, and wherein the models evaluate, compare, weight, and synthesize divergent responses from multiple stakeholders to generate language model-synthesized responses structured into prompts; defining the target state, projects, milestones, tasks, and resource use/availability based on the gathered insights; modeling the organization as a dissipative system to calculate an organizational entropy score; identifying possible task completion pathways between the current state and the target state; identifying an optimal project completion path to determine the magnitude of contribution to organizational transformation towards the target state for each project, wherein integrate in a recursive relationship to calculate an expected value for each alternative state by multiplying a probability of success by an impact value; assessing the likelihood of successful project completion for each project; generating project completion resource allocation plans based on the optimal project completion path; and calculating based on performance measured using micro-behaviors analysis. These claim elements are considered to be abstract ideas because they are directed to “certain methods of organizing human activity” which include “managing interactions between people.” In this case, aligning stakeholder insights to a project is a social activity. Also, the steps of calculating an entropy score and multiplying a probability of success by an impact value are directed to “mathematical calculations.” If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing interactions between people or mathematical calculations, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” or “mathematical concepts” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 - The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 includes additional elements: a Language Model; a Lookalike Model; a Markov Model; a Decision Tree, a Fault Tree Model; and Bayesian Priors.
The Language Model is merely used to dynamically perform interviews with stakeholders as part of a cooperative game to use disparate stakeholder insights to define the target state, projects, milestones, tasks, and resource use/availability. In some embodiments, the questions provided to responder(s)/user(s) during the Needs Assessment can be dynamically shifted, changed, adjusted, modified, expanded, condensed, added, or eliminated before and during the Needs Assessment. In some embodiments, syntactic analysis or the like can be carried out on responses provided by the responder(s)/user(s) (Paragraphs 0006 & 0451). The Lookalike Model is merely used to categorize the organization into an organizational cohort of similar organizations for which proxy organizational profiles (Paragraph 0454). The Markov Model is merely used to identify possible task completion pathways between current and target state (Paragraph 0006). The Decision Tree is merely used to identify magnitude of contribution to organizational transformation towards target state for each project (Paragraph 0006). The Fault Tree is merely used to identify likelihood of successful project completion for each project (Paragraph 0006). The Bayesian Priors is merely used to represent prior beliefs or knowledge about a parameter, expressed as a probability distribution, which is updated with new data through the Bayesian inference process (Paragraph 0389). Merely stating that the step is performed by a computer component results in “apply it” on a computer (MPEP 2106.05f). These elements of “Language Model,” “Lookalike Model,” “Fault Tree Model,” and “Bayesian Priors” are recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer element. Also, the Language Model is considered “field of use” since it’s just used to receive stakeholder insights for an analysis, but the model is not improved (MPEP 2106.05h). Although the claim further states that the evaluation of the dynamic interviews is performed using syntactic analysis, Examiner notes that the claim lacked details as to how the dynamic interviews are analyzed (MPEP 2106.05h). The limitations of “dynamically performing interviews” and “determining optimal project completion path” are mere data gathering and output recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B - The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claims describe how to generally “apply” the concept of aligning stakeholder insights to a project. The specification shows that the Language Model is merely used to dynamically perform interviews with stakeholders as part of a cooperative game to use disparate stakeholder insights to define the target state, projects, milestones, tasks, and resource use/availability. In some embodiments, the questions provided to responder(s)/user(s) during the Needs Assessment can be dynamically shifted, changed, adjusted, modified, expanded, condensed, added, or eliminated before and during the Needs Assessment. In some embodiments, syntactic analysis or the like can be carried out on responses provided by the responder(s)/user(s) (Paragraphs 0006 & 0451). The Lookalike Model is merely used to categorize the organization into an organizational cohort of similar organizations for which proxy organizational profiles (Paragraph 0454). The Markov Model is merely used to identify possible task completion pathways between current and target state (Paragraph 0006). The Decision Tree is merely used to identify magnitude of contribution to organizational transformation towards target state for each project (Paragraph 0006). The Fault Tree is merely used to identify likelihood of successful project completion for each project (Paragraph 0006). The Bayesian Priors is merely used to represent prior beliefs or knowledge about a parameter, expressed as a probability distribution, which is updated with new data through the Bayesian inference process (Paragraph 0389). In this case, the claim does not provide any details about how the Language Model operates (see MPEP 2106.05(f), no description of how the plurality of questions is generated in order to gather stakeholder insights; and 2024 AI Guidance, example 47, claim 2). Also, the step of “performing an interview to gather stakeholder insights” is considered a well-understood, routine, and conventional function since it's just “performing repetitive calculations” and “receiving or transmitting data over a network” (MPEP 2106.05(d)). Lastly, the other models (e.g., Markov, Fault Tree, and Bayesian) are “well known” in the art (MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Independent claim 12 is directed to a system at step 1, which is a statutory category. Claim 12 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons at step 2a, prong one; step 2a, prong 2; and step 2b. Claim 12 further recites: a user interface displayed on the one or more devices – which is merely used to receive response information to specific questions into response fields (Paragraphs 0449-0450). At Step 2A, Prong 2 - this is still considered “field of use” since it’s just used to provide an assessment and receive a response, but the user interface is not improved (MPEP 2106.05h). At Step 2B – this is considered a conventional computer function of “receiving and transmitting over a network” (MPEP 2106.05d). Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Independent Claim 16
Step One - First, pursuant to step 1 in the January 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (“2019 PEG”) on 84 Fed. Reg. 53, the claim 16 is directed to a method which is a statutory category.
Step 2A, Prong One - Claim 16 recites: A method comprising: receiving, in response to one or more responsible user interviews, project-specific user inputs for respective projects of a plurality of projects associated with an organization, wherein the project-specific user inputs comprise estimated material costs associated with the respective project, current actual material costs associated with the respective project, estimated labor costs associated with the respective project, current actual labor costs expended during execution of the respective project, estimated project timeline for the respective project, a project start date for the respective project, and a current project progress metric associated with the respective project; determining, based at least upon the project-specific user inputs for the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization, a plurality of project-level micro-behavior-based performance metrics for the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization, wherein the micro-behavior-based performance metrics measure small, incremental changes individual actions and routines by deploying analytics that measure actual work completion for projects in relation to total work required and with respect to estimated versus actual timelines; determining, a current state for the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization; determining, using the evaluation module of the value attribution framework, a desired future state for the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization; predicting, based at least on the plurality of project-level micro-behavior-based performance metrics for the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization, a plurality of project-specific outputs, wherein respective project-specific outputs are associated with the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization; and providing an organizational output based upon the plurality of project-specific outputs. These claim elements are considered to be abstract ideas because they are directed to “certain methods of organizing human activity” which include “managing interactions between people.” In this case, providing an organization output based on actuals is a social activity. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing interactions between people, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 - The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 16 includes additional elements: a data input module; a user interface module, an evaluation module, and an analytical model.
The data input module via a user interface module is merely used to receive project-specific user inputs for respective projects of a plurality of projects associated with an organization (Paragraphs 0496). The evaluation module is merely used to determine a plurality of project-level micro-behavior-based performance metrics for the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization (Paragraphs 0496). The analytical model is merely used to predict, based at least on the plurality of project-level micro-behavior-based performance metrics for the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization, a plurality of project-specific outputs, wherein respective project-specific outputs are associated with the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization (Paragraphs 0496). Merely stating that the step is performed by a computer component results in “apply it” on a computer (MPEP 2106.05f). These elements of “user interface,” “evaluation module,” and “analytical model” are recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer element. Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B - The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claims describe how to generally “apply” the concept of providing an organization output based on actuals. The specification shows that the data input module via a user interface module is merely used to receive project-specific user inputs for respective projects of a plurality of projects associated with an organization (Paragraphs 0496). The evaluation module is merely used to determine a plurality of project-level micro-behavior-based performance metrics for the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization (Paragraphs 0496). The analytical model is merely used to predict, based at least on the plurality of project-level micro-behavior-based performance metrics for the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization, a plurality of project-specific outputs, wherein respective project-specific outputs are associated with the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization (Paragraphs 0496). Also, the step of “generating an output based on actuals” is considered a well-understood, routine, and conventional function since it's just “performing repetitive calculations” and “receiving or transmitting data over a network” (MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claim 2 is not directed to any additional claim elements. Rather, these claims offer further descriptive limitations of elements found in the independent claims and addressed above - such as: wherein the common language models are configured to adaptively refine interview questions based on stakeholder responses. Merely stating that the step is performed by a computer component results in “apply it” on a computer (MPEP 2106.05f) being applicable at both Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. In this case, the claim does not provide any specific details about how the Language Model operates (see MPEP 2106.05(f), no description of how the plurality of questions is refined; and 2024 AI Guidance, example 47, claim 2). Further, the step of “adaptively refine interview questions” is considered a well-understood, routing, and conventional function since it's just “performing repetitive calculations” and “receiving or transmitting data over a network” (MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claim 4 and 8 are not directed to any additional claim elements. Rather, these claims offer further descriptive limitations of elements found in the independent claims and addressed above - such as: wherein the Decision Tree Models incorporate project value data to evaluate and compare project contributions to overall organizational transformation towards the target state; and wherein the optimal project completion path through the Markov model is dynamically recalculated based on real-time data and changes in project variables. In this case, the main functions are merely used to: collect data (e.g., project value data) and analyze the data (e.g., identify the optimal project completion path). Those are functions that the courts have described as merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Also, the step of “dynamically recalculated based on real-time data and changes in project variables) is considered a well-understood, routing, and conventional function since it's just “performing repetitive calculations” and “receiving or transmitting data over a network” (MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claim 13-15 and 17-20 are not directed to any additional claim elements. Rather, these claims offer further descriptive limitations of elements found in the independent claims and addressed above - such as: calculating a current project-level entropy scores; receiving historical project-level data for historical projects associated with the organization; wherein the historical project-level data comprises initial estimates or actuals; and specifying the type of model used for the evaluation. In this case, the main functions are merely used to: collect data (e.g., historical data) and analyze the data (e.g., compare initial estimates to actuals). Those are functions that the courts have described as merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claim 23-27 are not directed to any additional claim elements. Rather, these claims offer further descriptive limitations of elements found in the independent claims and addressed above - such as: wherein the cooperative game is based on delayed and hidden rewards, and wherein an amount of discord or disagreement between stakeholders responding during the interviews is fed into an entropy model to adjust the organizational entropy score; wherein the Lookalike Models are generated by categorizing the organization into an organizational cohort of similar organizations using multivariate cluster analysis, and wherein the organizational entropy score is generated based at least upon the Lookalike Models and proxy organizational profiles associated with the organizational cohort; wherein the organizational entropy score is continuously adjusted based on progress toward target state attainment, wherein stalled projects and missed deadlines negatively affect the organizational entropy score by reflecting an increase in entropy, and wherein achieving milestones and meeting or exceeding performance expectations positively affect the organizational entropy score by reflecting a decrease in entropy; upon completion of a project or achievement of a milestone on the optimal project completion path, recalibrating the Markov model, the Fault Tree Models, and the Decision Tree Models based on progress and performance changes, and presenting a new set of prioritized alternative paths to achieve the target state based on updated expected values; utilizing the expected value calculated for each alternative state to prioritize, optimize, and recommend next actions to progress the organization toward the target state, wherein the next actions are determined based on an optimization to reduce the organizational entropy score; calculating an agreement score representing a level of agreement between the multiple users responding during the one or more dynamic interviews, wherein the agreement score is based on weighted differences between the user responses from the multiple users; and calculating, using the evaluation module of the value attribution framework, an organizational entropy score based on the plurality of project-level micro-behavior-based performance metrics, wherein the organizational entropy score is used as a proxy for a likelihood that the organization will successfully transition from the current state to the desired future state. In this case, the main functions are merely used to: collect data (e.g., historical data and progress state) and analyze the data (e.g., calculate an agreement score and an entropy score). Those are functions that the courts have described as merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et al. (US 2025/0156153 A1), in view of Nikolaev et al. (US 8,626,698 B1), in further view of Prieto (US 2014/0180755 A1).
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), Goldberg et al. discloses a method comprising: receiving, from one or more user devices, in response to one or more user interactions with a user interface displayed on the one or more user devices, information about a vision and a mission statement for an organization (Paragraph 0010, The invention can be implemented in numerous ways, including as a process; an apparatus; a system; a composition of matter; a computer program product embodied on a computer readable storage medium; and/or a processor, such as a processor configured to execute instructions stored on and/or provided by a memory coupled to the processor; Paragraph 0012, Using the disclosed techniques, the new tasks can be automatically generated based on analyzing a transcript that describes the desired functionality, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing project goals and functionality. Using the transcript, which itself can be automatically generated, such as from a video conference recording, and any existing relevant project context retrieved from the computer program development project management service, a large language model can be used to automatically determine and generate the desired scheduled tasks; Paragraph 0014, In some embodiments, a transcript of at least a portion of a discussion associated with a computer program development is received. For example, a video conference between a development team discussing a computer program development project is recorded and a transcript of the video conference is generated. In various embodiments, the received transcript can be generated manually and/or automatically, such as by applying natural language processing (NPL) techniques to convert at least the audio portion of the video recording to a transcript. In some embodiments, the transcript includes transcribed descriptions of video elements of the recorded video conference, such as gestures or actions performed by the video conference participants including actions performed on a computer user interface such as while demonstrating a feature of the computer program. Other visual actions include user interface interactions such as zooming in on a user interface, clicking on a button, opening a dialog box, typing a description or name of an item, clicking, scrolling, hovering, closing a user interface element, and reloading a user interface element, among others. In various embodiments, the transcript can be generated in real-time, such as during a video conference, and/or the transcript can be based on an audio recording; Examiner interprets the “transcript of a team meeting describing project goals and functionality” as the “information about a vision and a mission statement for an organization”);
causing the one or more user devices to present, via the user interface, one or more dynamic interviews with one or more users associated with the one or more user devices, the one or more dynamic interviews comprising a plurality of questions generated using a common language model, wherein the common language model performs syntactic analysis on user responses and dynamically shifts, changes, adjusts, modifies, expands, condenses, adds, or eliminates questions during the dynamic interviews based on the syntactic analysis (Paragraph 0033, The request can be received via a user interface such as a project management dashboard. In some embodiments, the request is received directly from a client application such as from a video conference application that automatically provides a recording (or live feed) of a project meeting for analysis; Paragraph 0039, For example, the project data received at 401 can be analyzed to extract relevant portions such as the portions that pertain to a specific feature or defect. In some embodiments, the selected portion of the project data can be determined by analyzing the data for trigger words or phrases. Other similar trigger words or phrases for a new feature may include: “enhancement suggestion,” “innovation,” “fine-tuning,” and optimization.” As another example, the trigger words “defect,” “problem,” “malfunction,” “doesn't work,” and/or “missing” can be designated to signify that a task to resolve a defect associated with a project feature should be generated and tracked. Other similar trigger words or phrases for a new defect task may include: “issue,” “inconsistency,” “blemish,” “imperfection,” “not as designed,” “not working as expected,” “working not as expected,” “unexpected behavior,” and/or “bug.” The trigger words may be combined or used in a sentence such as “We can address it as an enhancement,” and “This is a great idea, we will consider it for future releases” for enhancements and “This feature doesn't work as expected” or “I think there is a bug because . . . ” for defects. Fewer or additional trigger words can be supported and/or automatically added. In various embodiments, the trigger words and phrases are used to select the relevant portions of the project data for a task and to remove non-relevant portions; Paragraph 0044, At 503, a project enhancement prompt is generated using project data. For example, the project data can include the provided project transcript/project data and the project context data retrieved at 501. In various embodiments, the provided project transcript/project data can include a discussion of the new task in a natural language format. For example, the provided portions of the project transcript can include a discussion by different team members describing a new feature or a found defect that should be added as a new task to the project. In various embodiments, the generated prompt is a generative artificial intelligence (AI) prompt for a trained large language model. Included in the prompt and/or the system prompt is the requirement specification for the new task. For example, the new task can require the creation of a new task (such as a new story, feature, defect, or another enhancement task), a title, a description, acceptance criteria, and an assignment group; Paragraph 0045, At 505, the generated prompt is evaluated using a model evaluation framework. For example, the prompt generated at 503 is provided to a model evaluation framework to instruct the configured trained large language model to generate the requested specification for the new project task. The automatically generated artificial intelligence (AI) prompt provides the appropriate context for the trained large language model to create the new task according to the desired specification. Requests included in the project such as generating a title, description, acceptance criteria, and assignment group can be fulfilled by the trained large language model when provided with the appropriate project context and desired specification guidelines. In some embodiments, the evaluation framework provides the prompts as a sequence of prompts such as an initial system prompt followed by one or more additional prompts to refine the generated output; Examiner interprets “desired functionality or project specification gathered from multiple team members” as the “stakeholder insights.” Further, Examiner interprets “sequence of prompts to refine the generated output” as “adjusting the questions.” Lastly, syntactic analysis is defined as the process of analyzing a sequence of words or symbols to determine its grammatical structure based on formal rules. In this case, Goldberg discloses analyzing a sequence of words (e.g., analyzing a sentence to identity triggers and/or specific features that don’t work) using natural language processing));
receiving, from the one or more user devices, user responses from the one or more dynamic interviews, wherein the common language model evaluates, compares, weights, and synthesizes divergent responses from multiple users to generate language model-synthesized responses (Paragraph 0037, At 401, a new project transcript and/or project data is received. For example, project data describing a project is received. The received project data can include a transcript of a project meeting, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing and/or discussing project features, the project status, the project goals, etc.; Paragraph 0044, At 503, a project enhancement prompt is generated using project data. For example, the project data can include the provided project transcript/project data and the project context data retrieved at 501. In various embodiments, the provided project transcript/project data can include a discussion of the new task in a natural language format. For example, the provided portions of the project transcript can include a discussion by different team members describing a new feature or a found defect that should be added as a new task to the project. In various embodiments, the generated prompt is a generative artificial intelligence (AI) prompt for a trained large language model. Included in the prompt and/or the system prompt is the requirement specification for the new task. For example, the new task can require the creation of a new task (such as a new story, feature, defect, or another enhancement task), a title, a description, acceptance criteria, and an assignment group; Paragraph 0014, Other visual actions include user interface interactions such as zooming in on a user interface, clicking on a button, opening a dialog box, typing a description or name of an item, clicking, scrolling, hovering, closing a user interface element, and reloading a user interface element, among others; Paragraph 0045, At 505, the generated prompt is evaluated using a model evaluation framework. For example, the prompt generated at 503 is provided to a model evaluation framework to instruct the configured trained large language model to generate the requested specification for the new project task. The automatically generated artificial intelligence (AI) prompt provides the appropriate context for the trained large language model to create the new task according to the desired specification. Requests included in the project such as generating a title, description, acceptance criteria, and assignment group can be fulfilled by the trained large language model when provided with the appropriate project context and desired specification guidelines. In some embodiments, the evaluation framework provides the prompts as a sequence of prompts such as an initial system prompt followed by one or more additional prompts to refine the generated output; Examiner notes that the responses from multiple team members are synthesized to generate the project goal/specification);
generating one or more Lookalike models associated with the organization based on the user responses from the one or more dynamic interviews; defining, based at least on the one or more Lookalike models, a current organizational state, a target organizational state, and a plurality of projects, wherein the plurality of projects include projects for which the completion of the project will contribute to a transformation of the organization from the current organizational state towards the target organizational state (Paragraph 0012, Using the disclosed techniques, the new tasks can be automatically generated based on analyzing a transcript that describes the desired functionality, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing project goals and functionality; Paragraph 0032, An analytics model can be trained to predict resource metrics such as resource estimates and/or utilization including estimated amounts of work estimates; Paragraph 0048, At 601, an analytics machine learning model is trained. For example, a machine learning model is trained using analytics data including resource analytics data. The training data can include resource metrics data from projects as well as data related to project resources and resource constraints such as the number of developers required and the skills and skill levels of the developers. In various embodiments, the training data can be project data from the same customer such as past and current project data limited to only the same customer. In some embodiments, the training data is project data aggregated across multiple customers and can be aggregated based on customers with similar requirements. In various embodiments, the training data can be anonymized as part of preparing the data for use in training; Paragraph 0037, At 401, a new project transcript and/or project data is received. For example, project data describing a project is received. The received project data can include a transcript of a project meeting, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing and/or discussing project features, the project status, the project goals, etc.; Examiner interprets the “machine learning used for aggregating project data with similar requirements” as the “lookalike model” since it’s aggregating/clustering similar data);
creating … a plurality of possible project completion pathways between the current organizational state and the target organizational state (Paragraph 0012, Using the disclosed techniques, the new tasks can be automatically generated based on analyzing a transcript that describes the desired functionality, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing project goals and functionality; Paragraph 0021, computer program development project management service 111 includes a trained machine learning model to predict resource requirements or estimated resource usage for projects. The predicted estimates can be predicted in a unit of value such as number of hours, number of developers, required hardware and/or software, and/or another estimated unit such as an estimated unit of work; Paragraph 0028, Analytics module 207 can be used to predict resource requirements such as to estimate the amount of effort required to complete a project including each of the tasks of the project. Analytics module 207 can utilize model evaluation framework 209 and trained machine learning models 211 to perform the prediction. In some embodiments, analytics module 207 is further used to train one or more models of trained machine learning models 211. For example, using tracked resource analytics of existing projects, analytics module 207 can train a deep learning model to predict resource usage for projects including prediction on the amount of work (or effort) required to complete a project and/or tasks of the project);
determining a probability of project completion or success for each project along each of the plurality of possible project completion pathways … (Paragraph 0028, Analytics module 207 can be used to predict resource requirements such as to estimate the amount of effort required to complete a project including each of the tasks of the project. Analytics module 207 can utilize model evaluation framework 209 and trained machine learning models 211 to perform the prediction. In some embodiments, analytics module 207 is further used to train one or more models of trained machine learning models 211. For example, using tracked resource analytics of existing projects, analytics module 207 can train a deep learning model to predict resource usage for projects including prediction on the amount of work (or effort) required to complete a project and/or tasks of the project; Paragraph 0046, In some embodiments, as part of generating a new task, a resource estimate is provided. For example, an analytics action to predict the amount of work required or to be budgeted for the new task is determined. In some embodiments, the analytics action can be via the process of FIG. 6; Paragraph 0047, using the process of FIG. 6, an analytics module of a project enhancements and analytics module can automatically predict resource estimates for a development project managed via a computer program development project management service. The identified project can be a new project or an existing project and the predictions can be for the project, one or more tasks of the project, and/or another related component of the project; Paragraph 0049, The retrieved context data can include project information such as tasks, resource requirements, resource expectations, resource allocations, resource constraints, project dependencies, project time constraints, project deadlines, etc. For example, retrieved resource allocations can include information that a certain number of developers of a certain skill set have been reserved for the project. As another example, retrieved resource constraints can include a requirement that a senior user interface developer is required to perform a sub-task of a project feature. Other retrieved information can include the members assigned to the project and their availability, the progress of the project including the current status of delays, the existing project goals and deadlines, and other dependencies of the project); …;
and determining, based on the probabilities of project completion or success …, and further based on the magnitudes of contribution of project completion or success to the transformation of the organization towards the target organizational state …, an optimal project completion pathways … (Paragraph 0012, Using the disclosed techniques, the new tasks can be automatically generated based on analyzing a transcript that describes the desired functionality, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing project goals and functionality; Paragraph 0028, Analytics module 207 can be used to predict resource requirements such as to estimate the amount of effort required to complete a project including each of the tasks of the project. Analytics module 207 can utilize model evaluation framework 209 and trained machine learning models 211 to perform the prediction. In some embodiments, analytics module 207 is further used to train one or more models of trained machine learning models 211. For example, using tracked resource analytics of existing projects, analytics module 207 can train a deep learning model to predict resource usage for projects including prediction on the amount of work (or effort) required to complete a project and/or tasks of the project; Paragraph 0046, In some embodiments, as part of generating a new task, a resource estimate is provided. For example, an analytics action to predict the amount of work required or to be budgeted for the new task is determined. In some embodiments, the analytics action can be via the process of FIG. 6; Paragraph 0047, using the process of FIG. 6, an analytics module of a project enhancements and analytics module can automatically predict resource estimates for a development project managed via a computer program development project management service. The identified project can be a new project or an existing project and the predictions can be for the project, one or more tasks of the project, and/or another related component of the project).
Although Goldberg et al. discloses identifying possible task completion pathways (e.g., generating a new task according to the desired goal or specification), Goldberg et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the identification of the possible task completion pathways is performed using a Markov model.
However, Nikolaev et al. discloses creating a Markov model including a plurality of possible project completion pathways between the current organizational state and the target organizational state (Column 5, lines 19-46, The prediction system 500 can store the historical performance information related to completed projects in one or more databases. The performance information can be gathered over a period time from various groups in a corporation. The prediction system 500 can use such historical performance information to construct a model (step 120) of the data domain, which can be used to estimate the probability of success of a new or in-flight project. In some embodiments, the prediction system 500 develops the model (step 120) using a probabilistic graphical modeling (PGM) approach by inferring, from the data collected and/or inputs from experts, certain variables and the relationships among the variables. These variables and their relationships are determined to achieve certain goals, such to predict the success of a project. For example, the prediction system 500 can generate a Bayesian network that includes a set of interconnected nodes, where each node represents a random variable in the model and the connecting arcs of the network represent causal relationships among the variables. Each node can assume one of a number of possible values to indicate a particular state of the variable. The probability that a certain state of a node occurs is determined from the probabilities associated with states of one or more nodes connected to the current node. Even though a Bayesian network is used to illustrate the principles of the present invention, other PGM modeling approaches are equally usable within the scope of the present invention, such as a Markov rule-based approach, neural network approach or genetic approach);
determining a probability of project completion or success for each project along each of the plurality of possible project completion pathways within the Markov model using one or more [probabilistic graphical modeling] (Column 5, lines 19-46, The prediction system 500 can store the historical performance information related to completed projects in one or more databases. The performance information can be gathered over a period time from various groups in a corporation. The prediction system 500 can use such historical performance information to construct a model (step 120) of the data domain, which can be used to estimate the probability of success of a new or in-flight project. In some embodiments, the prediction system 500 develops the model (step 120) using a probabilistic graphical modeling (PGM) approach by inferring, from the data collected and/or inputs from experts, certain variables and the relationships among the variables. These variables and their relationships are determined to achieve certain goals, such to predict the success of a project. For example, the prediction system 500 can generate a Bayesian network that includes a set of interconnected nodes, where each node represents a random variable in the model and the connecting arcs of the network represent causal relationships among the variables. Each node can assume one of a number of possible values to indicate a particular state of the variable. The probability that a certain state of a node occurs is determined from the probabilities associated with states of one or more nodes connected to the current node. Even though a Bayesian network is used to illustrate the principles of the present invention, other PGM modeling approaches are equally usable within the scope of the present invention, such as a Markov rule-based approach, neural network approach or genetic approach);
determining, for each project along each of the plurality of possible project completion pathways within the Markov model, using one or more [probabilistic graphical modeling], a magnitude of contribution of project completion or success to the transformation of the organization from the current organizational state towards the target organizational state (Column 5, lines 19-46, The prediction system 500 can store the historical performance information related to completed projects in one or more databases. The performance information can be gathered over a period time from various groups in a corporation. The prediction system 500 can use such historical performance information to construct a model (step 120) of the data domain, which can be used to estimate the probability of success of a new or in-flight project. In some embodiments, the prediction system 500 develops the model (step 120) using a probabilistic graphical modeling (PGM) approach by inferring, from the data collected and/or inputs from experts, certain variables and the relationships among the variables. These variables and their relationships are determined to achieve certain goals, such to predict the success of a project. For example, the prediction system 500 can generate a Bayesian network that includes a set of interconnected nodes, where each node represents a random variable in the model and the connecting arcs of the network represent causal relationships among the variables. Each node can assume one of a number of possible values to indicate a particular state of the variable. The probability that a certain state of a node occurs is determined from the probabilities associated with states of one or more nodes connected to the current node. Even though a Bayesian network is used to illustrate the principles of the present invention, other PGM modeling approaches are equally usable within the scope of the present invention, such as a Markov rule-based approach, neural network approach or genetic approach);
and determining, based on the probabilities of project completion or success determined using the one or more [probabilistic graphical modeling], and further based on the magnitudes of contribution of project completion or success to the transformation of the organization towards the target organizational state determined using the one or more [probabilistic graphical modeling], an optimal project completion pathways through within the Markov model from among the plurality of possible project completion pathways within the Markov model (Column 5, lines 19-46, The prediction system 500 can store the historical performance information related to completed projects in one or more databases. The performance information can be gathered over a period time from various groups in a corporation. The prediction system 500 can use such historical performance information to construct a model (step 120) of the data domain, which can be used to estimate the probability of success of a new or in-flight project. In some embodiments, the prediction system 500 develops the model (step 120) using a probabilistic graphical modeling (PGM) approach by inferring, from the data collected and/or inputs from experts, certain variables and the relationships among the variables. These variables and their relationships are determined to achieve certain goals, such to predict the success of a project. For example, the prediction system 500 can generate a Bayesian network that includes a set of interconnected nodes, where each node represents a random variable in the model and the connecting arcs of the network represent causal relationships among the variables. Each node can assume one of a number of possible values to indicate a particular state of the variable. The probability that a certain state of a node occurs is determined from the probabilities associated with states of one or more nodes connected to the current node. Even though a Bayesian network is used to illustrate the principles of the present invention, other PGM modeling approaches are equally usable within the scope of the present invention, such as a Markov rule-based approach, neural network approach or genetic approach).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method for organizational transformation from a current state to a target state (e.g., identifying a task completion pathway according to the desired goal or specification) of the invention of Goldberg et al. to further specify wherein the identification of the possible task completion pathways is performed using a Markov model of the invention of Nikolaev et al. because doing so would allow the method to use a Markov rule-based approach to estimate the probability of success of a new or in-flight project based on a number of possible values (see Nikolaev et al., Column 5, lines 19-46). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Although the combination of Goldberg et al. and Nikolaev et al. discloses identifying an optimal project completion path through the Markov model using Probabilistic Graphical Models to determine the magnitude of contribution to organizational transformation towards the target state for each project (see Nikolaev et al., Column 5, lines 19-46, estimate the probability of success of a new or in-flight project through the Markov model using a probabilistic graphical modeling), the combination of Goldberg et al. and Nikolaev et al. wherein the optimal project completion path is identified using one or more Fault Tree Models for determining probabilities of project completion or success.
However, Prieto discloses determining a probability of project completion or success for each project along each of the plurality of possible project completion pathways within the [simulation] model using one or more fault tree models; determining, for each project along each of the plurality of possible project completion pathways within the [simulation] model, …; and determining, based on the probabilities of project completion or success determined using the one or more fault tree models, and further based on the magnitudes of contribution of project completion or success to the transformation of the organization towards the target organizational state determined using the one or more decision tree models, an optimal project completion pathways through within the [simulation] model from among the plurality of possible project completion pathways within the [simulation] model (Paragraph 0018, Having generated the program model, the risk analysis engine can execute one or more simulations using the program model to generate a program outcome. The program outcome can be considered to represent a quantified result or effect of the program, such as a status of the program after the simulation, an event, and a measure of a program objective against a simulation goal (e.g., the purpose of the simulation itself) or against a program objective (e.g., one or more goals or objectives of the `real-life` program); Paragraph 0119, reference outcome events 302 can represent events that cause damage to or the failure of a program. The events represented by the reference outcome events 302 can be `general` events that cause catastrophic, program-wide damage or failure, or can be events causing damage or failure of a particular type or for a particular reason. For each undesired outcome event, the risk analysis engine 101 can create a fault tree and execute it to identify the current program attributes most likely to be affected by negative events, or most likely to contribute to the program's degradation or failure as set forth in the negative program event. Reference program events can be used as inputs to fault trees of other reference program events, and as such, cascading risks of failure can be processed).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method for organizational transformation from a current state to a target state (e.g., identifying an optimal project completion path through the Markov model using Probabilistic Graphical Models) of the invention of Goldberg et al. and Nikolaev et al. to further specify wherein the optimal project completion path is identified using Fault Tree Models of the invention of Prieto because doing so would allow the method to create a fault tree and execute it to identify the current program attributes most likely to be affected by negative events, or most likely to contribute to the program's degradation or failure as set forth in the negative program event (see Prieto, Paragraph 0119). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Although the combination of Goldberg et al., Nikolaev et al., and Prieto discloses identifying an optimal project completion path through the Markov model using one or more Fault Tree Models for determining probabilities of project completion or success (see Nikolaev et al., Column 5, lines 19-46, estimate the probability of success of a new or in-flight project through the Markov model using a probabilistic graphical modeling; see Prieto, Paragraph 0119, create a fault tree and execute it to identify the current program attributes most likely to be affected by negative events, or most likely to contribute to the program's degradation or failure as set forth in the negative program event), the combination of Goldberg et al., Nikolaev et al., and Prieto does not specifically disclose wherein the optimal project completion path is identified using one or more decision tree models.
However, Dey discloses using one or more decision tree models, a magnitude of contribution of project completion or success to the transformation of the organization from the current organizational state towards the target organizational state (Page 13, Abstract, Projects that are exposed to such an uncertain environment can effectively be managed with the application of risk management throughout the project life cycle. Risk is by nature subjective. However, managing risk subjectively poses the danger of non-achievement of project goals. Moreover, risk analysis of the overall project also poses the danger of developing inappropriate responses. This article demonstrates a quantitative approach to construction risk management through an analytic hierarchy process (AHP) and decision tree analysis; Page 17, Decision trees use calculations of expected monetary value (EMV) to measure the attractiveness of alternatives. They also use graphical models to display several relevant aspects of a decision situation. These graphical models consist of treelike structures (hence the name) with branches to represent the possible action-event combinations. The conditional payoff is written at the end of each branch. A tree gives much the same information as a matrix, but, in addition, it can be used to depict multiple-stage decisions. These are a series of decisions over time).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method for organizational transformation from a current state to a target state (e.g., identifying an optimal project completion path through the Markov model using Probabilistic Graphical Models and/or Fault Tree Models) of the invention of Goldberg et al., Nikolaev et al., and Prieto to further specify wherein the optimal project completion path is identified using Decision Tree Models and of the invention of Dey because doing so would allow the method to use calculations of expected monetary value (EMV) to measure the attractiveness of alternatives (see Dey, Page 17). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 13 (Original), which is dependent of claim 12, the combination of Goldberg et al., Nikolaev et al., Prieto, and Dey discloses all the limitations in claim 12. Goldberg et al. further discloses calculating, based on a plurality of project-level micro-behavior-based performance metrics for the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization, current project-level entropy scores for the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization (Paragraph 0012, Using the disclosed techniques, the new tasks can be automatically generated based on analyzing a transcript that describes the desired functionality, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing project goals and functionality; Paragraph 0032, An analytics model can be trained to predict resource metrics such as resource estimates and/or utilization including estimated amounts of work estimates; Paragraph 0048, At 601, an analytics machine learning model is trained. For example, a machine learning model is trained using analytics data including resource analytics data. The training data can include resource metrics data from projects as well as data related to project resources and resource constraints such as the number of developers required and the skills and skill levels of the developers. In various embodiments, the training data can be project data from the same customer such as past and current project data limited to only the same customer. In some embodiments, the training data is project data aggregated across multiple customers and can be aggregated based on customers with similar requirements. In various embodiments, the training data can be anonymized as part of preparing the data for use in training; Paragraph 0037, At 401, a new project transcript and/or project data is received. For example, project data describing a project is received. The received project data can include a transcript of a project meeting, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing and/or discussing project features, the project status, the project goals, etc.; Paragraph 0049, The retrieved context data can include project information such as tasks, resource requirements, resource expectations, resource allocations, resource constraints, project dependencies, project time constraints, project deadlines, etc. For example, retrieved resource allocations can include information that a certain number of developers of a certain skill set have been reserved for the project. As another example, retrieved resource constraints can include a requirement that a senior user interface developer is required to perform a sub-task of a project feature. Other retrieved information can include the members assigned to the project and their availability, the progress of the project including the current status of delays, the existing project goals and deadlines, and other dependencies of the project; As stated in Paragraph 0184 of Applicant’s specification, the entropy score may be alignment of actions and resources toward successfully achieving the target state. Therefore, based on broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, Goldberg et al. discloses current project-level entropy scores since it calculates project deviations to target goals).
Regarding claim 14 (Original), which is dependent of claim 12, the combination of Goldberg et al., Nikolaev et al., Prieto, and Dey discloses all the limitations in claim 12. Goldberg et al. further discloses receiving historical project-level data for historical projects associated with the organization (Paragraph 0013, In various embodiments, based on the provided history of resource usage and available resources, the trained model can estimate the resource requirements associated with a task and/or project. In some embodiments, the estimated resource is an aggregate value such as an agreed upon metric or unit of measure. In some embodiments, the estimated resource metric is a unit of measure for expressing an estimate of the overall effort required and approximates the number of hours, team members, and/or other resources required).
Regarding claim 15 (Original), which is dependent of claim 12, the combination of Goldberg et al., Nikolaev et al., Prieto, and Dey discloses all the limitations in claim 12. Goldberg et al. further discloses wherein the historical project-level data comprises one or more of: initially estimated material costs associated with respective historical projects, actual material costs associated with the respective historical projects, initially estimated labor costs associated with the respective historical projects, actual labor costs expended during execution of the respective historical projects, initially estimated project timeline for the respective historical projects, an actual project start date for the respective historical projects, or an actual project end date for the respective historical projects (Paragraph 0013, In various embodiments, based on the provided history of resource usage and available resources, the trained model can estimate the resource requirements associated with a task and/or project. In some embodiments, the estimated resource is an aggregate value such as an agreed upon metric or unit of measure. In some embodiments, the estimated resource metric is a unit of measure for expressing an estimate of the overall effort required and approximates the number of hours, team members, and/or other resources required; It can be noted that the claim language is written in alternative form. The limitation taught by Goldberg et al. is based on “initially estimated project timeline for the respective historical projects").
Claims 16-20, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et al. (US 2025/0156153 A1), in view of Nikolaev et al. (US 8,626,698 B1).
Regarding claim 16, Goldberg et al. discloses a method comprising: receiving, at a data input module of a value attribution framework, in response to one or more responsible user interviews conducted with a user interface module of the value attribution framework, project-specific user inputs for respective projects of a plurality of projects associated with an organization (Paragraph 0010, The invention can be implemented in numerous ways, including as a process; an apparatus; a system; a composition of matter; a computer program product embodied on a computer readable storage medium; and/or a processor, such as a processor configured to execute instructions stored on and/or provided by a memory coupled to the processor; Paragraph 0012, Using the disclosed techniques, the new tasks can be automatically generated based on analyzing a transcript that describes the desired functionality, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing project goals and functionality. Using the transcript, which itself can be automatically generated, such as from a video conference recording, and any existing relevant project context retrieved from the computer program development project management service, a large language model can be used to automatically determine and generate the desired scheduled tasks; Paragraph 0014, In some embodiments, a transcript of at least a portion of a discussion associated with a computer program development is received. For example, a video conference between a development team discussing a computer program development project is recorded and a transcript of the video conference is generated. In various embodiments, the received transcript can be generated manually and/or automatically, such as by applying natural language processing (NPL) techniques to convert at least the audio portion of the video recording to a transcript. In some embodiments, the transcript includes transcribed descriptions of video elements of the recorded video conference, such as gestures or actions performed by the video conference participants including actions performed on a computer user interface such as while demonstrating a feature of the computer program. Other visual actions include user interface interactions such as zooming in on a user interface, clicking on a button, opening a dialog box, typing a description or name of an item, clicking, scrolling, hovering, closing a user interface element, and reloading a user interface element, among others. In various embodiments, the transcript can be generated in real-time, such as during a video conference, and/or the transcript can be based on an audio recording; Examiner interprets the “transcript of a team meeting describing project goals and functionality” as the “project-specific user inputs”), wherein the project-specific user inputs comprise estimated material [amount] associated with the respective project, …, estimated labor [hours] associated with the respective project, current actual [progress] expended during execution of the respective project (Paragraph 0013, In some embodiments, the estimated resources can include the number of hours, the number of developers required, hardware and/or software resources, etc. In some embodiments, the estimated resources can be constrained based on availability, such as the number of available developers including identifying developers with different levels of experience and ability; Paragraph 0017, In various embodiments, based on the tracked data gathered from tracking the task, predictions can be made on future tasks such as the estimated amount of resources such as time, developers, and/or hardware required to perform one or more steps of the task; Paragraph 0017, In some embodiments, based on the generated specification of the task, the task is automatically tracked using the computer program development project management software. For example, the automatically generated task specification is entered into the computer program development project management software for tracking the task, such as the progress of the task; Paragraph 0041, In some embodiments, the tracking includes tracking resources utilizes by the task as progress is made in the completion of the task), estimated project timeline for the respective project, a project start date for the respective project, and a current project progress metric associated with the respective project (Paragraph 0013, In various embodiments, based on the provided history of resource usage and available resources, the trained model can estimate the resource requirements associated with a task and/or project. In some embodiments, the estimated resource is an aggregate value such as an agreed upon metric or unit of measure. In some embodiments, the estimated resource metric is a unit of measure for expressing an estimate of the overall effort required and approximates the number of hours, team members, and/or other resources required; Paragraph 0049, The retrieved context data can include project information such as tasks, resource requirements, resource expectations, resource allocations, resource constraints, project dependencies, project time constraints, project deadlines, etc. For example, retrieved resource allocations can include information that a certain number of developers of a certain skill set have been reserved for the project. As another example, retrieved resource constraints can include a requirement that a senior user interface developer is required to perform a sub-task of a project feature. Other retrieved information can include the members assigned to the project and their availability, the progress of the project including the current status of delays, the existing project goals and deadlines, and other dependencies of the project);
determining, using an evaluation module of the value attribution framework, based at least upon the project-specific user inputs for the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization, a plurality of project-level micro-behavior-based performance metrics for the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization (Paragraph 0013, In various embodiments, based on the provided history of resource usage and available resources, the trained model can estimate the resource requirements associated with a task and/or project. In some embodiments, the estimated resource is an aggregate value such as an agreed upon metric or unit of measure. In some embodiments, the estimated resource metric is a unit of measure for expressing an estimate of the overall effort required and approximates the number of hours, team members, and/or other resources required), wherein the micro-behavior-based performance metrics measure small, incremental changes in individual actions and routines by deploying analytics that measure actual work completion for projects in relation to total work required … (Paragraph 0041, At 407, the generated task specification is tracked. For example, the generated task is added to the project identified at 403 via an interface of the computer program development project management service. Once added to the computer program development project management service, the managed task can be tracked. The tracking performed can include tracking the progress of the task and/or scheduling requirements of the task via the computer program development project management service. In some embodiments, the tracking includes tracking resources utilizes by the task as progress is made in the completion of the task);
determining, using the evaluation module of the value attribution framework, a current state for the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization (Paragraph 0017, In some embodiments, based on the generated specification of the task, the task is automatically tracked using the computer program development project management software. For example, the automatically generated task specification is entered into the computer program development project management software for tracking the task, such as the progress of the task);
determining, using the evaluation module of the value attribution framework, a desired future state for the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization (Paragraph 0012, Using the disclosed techniques, the new tasks can be automatically generated based on analyzing a transcript that describes the desired functionality, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing project goals and functionality. Using the transcript, which itself can be automatically generated, such as from a video conference recording, and any existing relevant project context retrieved from the computer program development project management service, a large language model can be used to automatically determine and generate the desired scheduled tasks);
predicting, using one or more analytical models in the evaluation module of the value attribution framework, based at least on the plurality of project-level micro-behavior-based performance metrics for the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization, a plurality of project-specific outputs, wherein respective project-specific outputs are associated with the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization (Paragraph 0013, In various embodiments, based on the provided history of resource usage and available resources, the trained model can estimate the resource requirements associated with a task and/or project. In some embodiments, the estimated resource is an aggregate value such as an agreed upon metric or unit of measure. In some embodiments, the estimated resource metric is a unit of measure for expressing an estimate of the overall effort required and approximates the number of hours, team members, and/or other resources required);
and providing an organizational output based upon the plurality of project-specific outputs (Paragraph 0030, The output of a pre-trained large language model can conform to project specifications required and used by a computer program development project management service. The trained models can also include one or more analytics models for predicting resource metrics such as the amount of effort required to complete a project or a project task).
Although Goldberg et al. discloses wherein the project-specific user inputs comprise estimated resources (e.g., time, developers, and/or hardware required to perform one or more steps of the task) and progress of the task, Goldberg et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the progress of the task comprises current actual material costs and current actual labor costs.
However, Nikolaev et al. discloses wherein the project-specific user inputs comprise estimated material costs associated with the respective project, current actual material costs associated with the respective project, estimated labor costs associated with the respective project, current actual labor costs expended during execution of the respective project (Column 2, lines 40-51, In some embodiments, the plurality of variables include a scope variable representing a scope of tasks executable in a project, a resource variable representing an amount of resources available to a project, a delivery time variable representing a time limit for completing a project, a finances variable representing an amount of financial resources available to a project, and a non-labor resource variable representing an amount of non-labor resources available to a project. In some embodiments, the variable presenting a probability of project success is conditionally dependent on at least one of the scope, resource, delivery time, finances or non-labor resource variable; Column 4, lines 14-21, Resource information for a completed project can identify a plurality of resources that were consumed by the project. These resources can range from human personnel (e.g., computer programmers, accountants, employees, consultants, etc.) to physical resources (e.g., a computer resources, infrastructure resources such as a geographic locations or buildings/office space, any type of supply or manufacturing material, physical equipment items, etc.); Column 6, lines 5-30, FIG. 3 shows another exemplary probabilistic graphical model 300 generated using flowchart 100 of FIG. 1 to predict the success of a project. The model 300 includes at least a scope variable 302 representing, for example, the scope and type of a task planned for a project (e.g., task complexity), a resource variable 304 representing, for example, a skill level of a human resource available to complete the project, a delivery time variable 306 representing, for example, a time limitation for completing the project, a finances variable 308 representing, for example, the cost allocated to complete the project and a non-labor resource variable 310 representing, for example, a non-labor related resource allocated for completing the project. These variables all have a causal effect on the project variable 312, which represents the likelihood of success of a project. The project variable 312 can in turn influence the state of one or more other variables, such as a delivered scope variable 314, a spend finances variable 316 and a used resources variable 318. The delivered scope variable 314 can indicate the scope of the project delivered and can assume one of three states--partial scope, full scope or extended scope. The spend finances variable 316 can indicate the amount of finances spent on the project and can assume three states--under budget, on budget or over budget. The used resources variable 318 can indicate the amount of resources consumed by the project and can assume three states--partial utilization, full utilization or over utilization), …, wherein the micro-behavior-based performance metrics measure small, incremental changes in individual actions and routines by deploying analytics that measure actual work completion for projects in relation to total work required and with respect to estimated versus actual timelines (Column 6, lines 5-30, FIG. 3 shows another exemplary probabilistic graphical model 300 generated using flowchart 100 of FIG. 1 to predict the success of a project. The model 300 includes at least a scope variable 302 representing, for example, the scope and type of a task planned for a project (e.g., task complexity), a resource variable 304 representing, for example, a skill level of a human resource available to complete the project, a delivery time variable 306 representing, for example, a time limitation for completing the project, a finances variable 308 representing, for example, the cost allocated to complete the project and a non-labor resource variable 310 representing, for example, a non-labor related resource allocated for completing the project. These variables all have a causal effect on the project variable 312, which represents the likelihood of success of a project. The project variable 312 can in turn influence the state of one or more other variables, such as a delivered scope variable 314, a spend finances variable 316 and a used resources variable 318. The delivered scope variable 314 can indicate the scope of the project delivered and can assume one of three states--partial scope, full scope or extended scope. The spend finances variable 316 can indicate the amount of finances spent on the project and can assume three states--under budget, on budget or over budget. The used resources variable 318 can indicate the amount of resources consumed by the project and can assume three states--partial utilization, full utilization or over utilization);
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method for organizational transformation from a current state to a target state (e.g., identifying a task completion pathway according to the desired goal or specification) of the invention of Goldberg et al. to further specify wherein the identification of the possible task completion pathways is performed using a Markov model of the invention of Nikolaev et al. because doing so would allow the method to use a Markov rule-based approach to estimate the probability of success of a new or in-flight project based on a number of possible values (see Nikolaev et al., Column 5, lines 19-46). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 17 (Original), which is dependent of claim 16, the combination of Goldberg et al. and Nikolaev et al. discloses all the limitations in claim 16. Goldberg et al. further discloses calculating, using the evaluation module of the value attribution framework, based on the plurality of project-level micro-behavior-based performance metrics for the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization, current project-level entropy scores for the respective projects of the plurality of projects associated with the organization (Paragraph 0012, Using the disclosed techniques, the new tasks can be automatically generated based on analyzing a transcript that describes the desired functionality, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing project goals and functionality; Paragraph 0032, An analytics model can be trained to predict resource metrics such as resource estimates and/or utilization including estimated amounts of work estimates; Paragraph 0048, At 601, an analytics machine learning model is trained. For example, a machine learning model is trained using analytics data including resource analytics data. The training data can include resource metrics data from projects as well as data related to project resources and resource constraints such as the number of developers required and the skills and skill levels of the developers. In various embodiments, the training data can be project data from the same customer such as past and current project data limited to only the same customer. In some embodiments, the training data is project data aggregated across multiple customers and can be aggregated based on customers with similar requirements. In various embodiments, the training data can be anonymized as part of preparing the data for use in training; Paragraph 0037, At 401, a new project transcript and/or project data is received. For example, project data describing a project is received. The received project data can include a transcript of a project meeting, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing and/or discussing project features, the project status, the project goals, etc.; Paragraph 0049, The retrieved context data can include project information such as tasks, resource requirements, resource expectations, resource allocations, resource constraints, project dependencies, project time constraints, project deadlines, etc. For example, retrieved resource allocations can include information that a certain number of developers of a certain skill set have been reserved for the project. As another example, retrieved resource constraints can include a requirement that a senior user interface developer is required to perform a sub-task of a project feature. Other retrieved information can include the members assigned to the project and their availability, the progress of the project including the current status of delays, the existing project goals and deadlines, and other dependencies of the project; As stated in Paragraph 0184 of Applicant’s specification, the entropy score may be alignment of actions and resources toward successfully achieving the target state. Therefore, based on broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, Goldberg et al. discloses an entropy score since it calculates project deviations to target goals such as delays).
Regarding claim 18 (Original), which is dependent of claim 16, the combination of Goldberg et al. and Nikolaev et al. discloses all the limitations in claim 16. Goldberg et al. further discloses receiving, at the evaluation module of the value attribution framework, historical project-level data for historical projects associated with the organization (Paragraph 0013, In various embodiments, based on the provided history of resource usage and available resources, the trained model can estimate the resource requirements associated with a task and/or project. In some embodiments, the estimated resource is an aggregate value such as an agreed upon metric or unit of measure. In some embodiments, the estimated resource metric is a unit of measure for expressing an estimate of the overall effort required and approximates the number of hours, team members, and/or other resources required).
Regarding claim 19 (Original), which is dependent of claim 16, the combination of Goldberg et al. and Nikolaev et al. discloses all the limitations in claim 16. Goldberg et al. further discloses wherein the historical project-level data comprises one or more of: initially estimated material costs associated with respective historical projects, actual material costs associated with the respective historical projects, initially estimated labor costs associated with the respective historical projects, actual labor costs expended during execution of the respective historical projects, initially estimated project timeline for the respective historical projects, an actual project start date for the respective historical projects, or an actual project end date for the respective historical projects (Paragraph 0013, In various embodiments, based on the provided history of resource usage and available resources, the trained model can estimate the resource requirements associated with a task and/or project. In some embodiments, the estimated resource is an aggregate value such as an agreed upon metric or unit of measure. In some embodiments, the estimated resource metric is a unit of measure for expressing an estimate of the overall effort required and approximates the number of hours, team members, and/or other resources required; It can be noted that the claim language is written in alternative form. The limitation taught by Goldberg et al. is based on “initially estimated project timeline for the respective historical projects").
Regarding claim 20 (Original), which is dependent of claim 16, the combination of Goldberg et al. and Nikolaev et al. discloses all the limitations in claim 16. Goldberg et al. further discloses wherein the one or more analytical models in the evaluation module of the value attribution framework comprise one or more of: a dissipative structure model, a lookalike model, a Bayesian priors model, a fault-tree analysis model, a decision-tree analysis model, a common language model, a large language model, or a cost-benefit attribution logical analysis model (Paragraphs 0012, Using the disclosed techniques, the new tasks can be automatically generated based on analyzing a transcript that describes the desired functionality, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing project goals and functionality. Using the transcript, which itself can be automatically generated, such as from a video conference recording, and any existing relevant project context retrieved from the computer program development project management service, a large language model can be used to automatically determine and generate the desired scheduled tasks. For example, the large language model can be provided with a generative artificial intelligence (AI) prompt that embeds the retrieved project context and relevant transcript details. In response to a provided generative AI prompt, a scheduled project task is automatically generated for and tracked by the computer program development project management service; It can be noted that the claim language is written in alternative form. The limitation taught by Goldberg et al. is based on a large language model).
Regarding claim 27 (New), which is dependent of claim 16, the combination of Goldberg et al. and Nikolaev et al. discloses all the limitations in claim 16. Goldberg et al. further discloses calculating, using the evaluation module of the value attribution framework, an organizational entropy score based on the plurality of project-level micro-behavior-based performance metrics (Paragraph 0012, Using the disclosed techniques, the new tasks can be automatically generated based on analyzing a transcript that describes the desired functionality, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing project goals and functionality; Paragraph 0032, An analytics model can be trained to predict resource metrics such as resource estimates and/or utilization including estimated amounts of work estimates; Paragraph 0048, At 601, an analytics machine learning model is trained. For example, a machine learning model is trained using analytics data including resource analytics data. The training data can include resource metrics data from projects as well as data related to project resources and resource constraints such as the number of developers required and the skills and skill levels of the developers. In various embodiments, the training data can be project data from the same customer such as past and current project data limited to only the same customer. In some embodiments, the training data is project data aggregated across multiple customers and can be aggregated based on customers with similar requirements. In various embodiments, the training data can be anonymized as part of preparing the data for use in training; Paragraph 0037, At 401, a new project transcript and/or project data is received. For example, project data describing a project is received. The received project data can include a transcript of a project meeting, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing and/or discussing project features, the project status, the project goals, etc.; As stated in Paragraph 0184 of Applicant’s specification, the entropy score may be alignment of actions and resources toward successfully achieving the target state. Therefore, based on broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, Goldberg et al. discloses an entropy score since it allocates resources to a task or program in order to achieve the target goal. Also, Examiner interprets the “machine learning used for aggregating project data with similar requirements” as the “lookalike model” since it’s aggregating/clustering similar data), …
Although Goldberg et al. discloses an organizational entropy score, Goldberg et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the organizational entropy score is used as a proxy for a likelihood that the organization will successfully transition from the current state to the desired future state.
However, Nikolaev et al. discloses wherein the organizational entropy score is used as a proxy for a likelihood that the organization will successfully transition from the current state to the desired future state (Column 5, lines 19-46, The prediction system 500 can store the historical performance information related to completed projects in one or more databases. The performance information can be gathered over a period time from various groups in a corporation. The prediction system 500 can use such historical performance information to construct a model (step 120) of the data domain, which can be used to estimate the probability of success of a new or in-flight project. In some embodiments, the prediction system 500 develops the model (step 120) using a probabilistic graphical modeling (PGM) approach by inferring, from the data collected and/or inputs from experts, certain variables and the relationships among the variables. These variables and their relationships are determined to achieve certain goals, such to predict the success of a project. For example, the prediction system 500 can generate a Bayesian network that includes a set of interconnected nodes, where each node represents a random variable in the model and the connecting arcs of the network represent causal relationships among the variables. Each node can assume one of a number of possible values to indicate a particular state of the variable. The probability that a certain state of a node occurs is determined from the probabilities associated with states of one or more nodes connected to the current node. Even though a Bayesian network is used to illustrate the principles of the present invention, other PGM modeling approaches are equally usable within the scope of the present invention, such as a Markov rule-based approach, neural network approach or genetic approach).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method for organizational transformation from a current state to a target state (e.g., identifying a task completion pathway according to the desired goal or specification) of the invention of Goldberg et al. to further specify wherein the identification of the possible task completion pathways is performed using a Markov model of the invention of Nikolaev et al. because doing so would allow the method to use a Markov rule-based approach to estimate the probability of success of a new or in-flight project based on a number of possible values (see Nikolaev et al., Column 5, lines 19-46). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 1, Potential Allowable Subject Matter
The closest prior art is Goldberg et al. (US 2025/0156153 A1). Goldberg et al. discloses a method for organizational transformation from a current state to a target state, comprising (Paragraph 0010, The invention can be implemented in numerous ways, including as a process; an apparatus; a system; a composition of matter; a computer program product embodied on a computer readable storage medium; and/or a processor, such as a processor configured to execute instructions stored on and/or provided by a memory coupled to the processor; Paragraph 0012, Using the disclosed techniques, the new tasks can be automatically generated based on analyzing a transcript that describes the desired functionality, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing project goals and functionality. Using the transcript, which itself can be automatically generated, such as from a video conference recording, and any existing relevant project context retrieved from the computer program development project management service, a large language model can be used to automatically determine and generate the desired scheduled tasks; Examiner interprets “project goals and project functionality” as the “target state”):
dynamically performing interviews with stakeholders using common language models as part of a cooperative game to gather disparate stakeholder insights, wherein the common language models perform syntactic analysis on stakeholder responses and dynamically shift, change, adjust, modify, expand, condense, add, or eliminate questions during the interviews based on the syntactic analysis, and wherein the common language models evaluate, compare, weight, and synthesize divergent responses from multiple stakeholders to generate language model-synthesized responses structured into prompts (Paragraph 0039, For example, the project data received at 401 can be analyzed to extract relevant portions such as the portions that pertain to a specific feature or defect. In some embodiments, the selected portion of the project data can be determined by analyzing the data for trigger words or phrases. Other similar trigger words or phrases for a new feature may include: “enhancement suggestion,” “innovation,” “fine-tuning,” and optimization.” As another example, the trigger words “defect,” “problem,” “malfunction,” “doesn't work,” and/or “missing” can be designated to signify that a task to resolve a defect associated with a project feature should be generated and tracked. Other similar trigger words or phrases for a new defect task may include: “issue,” “inconsistency,” “blemish,” “imperfection,” “not as designed,” “not working as expected,” “working not as expected,” “unexpected behavior,” and/or “bug.” The trigger words may be combined or used in a sentence such as “We can address it as an enhancement,” and “This is a great idea, we will consider it for future releases” for enhancements and “This feature doesn't work as expected” or “I think there is a bug because . . . ” for defects. Fewer or additional trigger words can be supported and/or automatically added. In various embodiments, the trigger words and phrases are used to select the relevant portions of the project data for a task and to remove non-relevant portions; Paragraph 0044, At 503, a project enhancement prompt is generated using project data. For example, the project data can include the provided project transcript/project data and the project context data retrieved at 501. In various embodiments, the provided project transcript/project data can include a discussion of the new task in a natural language format. For example, the provided portions of the project transcript can include a discussion by different team members describing a new feature or a found defect that should be added as a new task to the project. In various embodiments, the generated prompt is a generative artificial intelligence (AI) prompt for a trained large language model. Included in the prompt and/or the system prompt is the requirement specification for the new task. For example, the new task can require the creation of a new task (such as a new story, feature, defect, or another enhancement task), a title, a description, acceptance criteria, and an assignment group; Paragraph 0045, At 505, the generated prompt is evaluated using a model evaluation framework. For example, the prompt generated at 503 is provided to a model evaluation framework to instruct the configured trained large language model to generate the requested specification for the new project task. The automatically generated artificial intelligence (AI) prompt provides the appropriate context for the trained large language model to create the new task according to the desired specification. Requests included in the project such as generating a title, description, acceptance criteria, and assignment group can be fulfilled by the trained large language model when provided with the appropriate project context and desired specification guidelines. In some embodiments, the evaluation framework provides the prompts as a sequence of prompts such as an initial system prompt followed by one or more additional prompts to refine the generated output; Examiner interprets “desired functionality or project specification gathered from multiple team members” as the “stakeholder insights.” Further, Examiner interprets “sequence of prompts to refine the generated output” as “adjusting the questions.” Lastly, syntactic analysis is defined as the process of analyzing a sequence of words or symbols to determine its grammatical structure based on formal rules. In this case, Goldberg discloses analyzing a sequence of words (e.g., analyzing a sentence to identity triggers and/or specific features that don’t work) using natural language processing));
defining the target state, projects, milestones, tasks, and resource use/availability based on the gathered insights (Paragraphs 0012, Using the disclosed techniques, the new tasks can be automatically generated based on analyzing a transcript that describes the desired functionality, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing project goals and functionality. Using the transcript, which itself can be automatically generated, such as from a video conference recording, and any existing relevant project context retrieved from the computer program development project management service, a large language model can be used to automatically determine and generate the desired scheduled tasks. For example, the large language model can be provided with a generative artificial intelligence (AI) prompt that embeds the retrieved project context and relevant transcript details. In response to a provided generative AI prompt, a scheduled project task is automatically generated for and tracked by the computer program development project management service; Paragraph 0043, Other information can include the members assigned to the project, the progress of the project, the existing project goals and deadlines, and other dependencies of the project; Paragraph 0045, At 505, the generated prompt is evaluated using a model evaluation framework. For example, the prompt generated at 503 is provided to a model evaluation framework to instruct the configured trained large language model to generate the requested specification for the new project task. The automatically generated artificial intelligence (AI) prompt provides the appropriate context for the trained large language model to create the new task according to the desired specification. Requests included in the project such as generating a title, description, acceptance criteria, and assignment group can be fulfilled by the trained large language model when provided with the appropriate project context and desired specification guidelines. In some embodiments, the evaluation framework provides the prompts as a sequence of prompts such as an initial system prompt followed by one or more additional prompts to refine the generated output; Paragraph 0046, In some embodiments, as part of generating a new task, a resource estimate is provided. For example, an analytics action to predict the amount of work required or to be budgeted for the new task is determined. In some embodiments, the analytics action can be via the process of FIG. 6; Paragraph 0047, using the process of FIG. 6, an analytics module of a project enhancements and analytics module can automatically predict resource estimates for a development project managed via a computer program development project management service. The identified project can be a new project or an existing project and the predictions can be for the project, one or more tasks of the project, and/or another related component of the project; Paragraph 0049, The retrieved context data can include project information such as tasks, resource requirements, resource expectations, resource allocations, resource constraints, project dependencies, project time constraints, project deadlines, etc. For example, retrieved resource allocations can include information that a certain number of developers of a certain skill set have been reserved for the project. As another example, retrieved resource constraints can include a requirement that a senior user interface developer is required to perform a sub-task of a project feature. Other retrieved information can include the members assigned to the project and their availability, the progress of the project including the current status of delays, the existing project goals and deadlines, and other dependencies of the project);
modeling the organization as a dissipative system using Lookalike Models to calculate an organizational entropy score (Paragraph 0012, Using the disclosed techniques, the new tasks can be automatically generated based on analyzing a transcript that describes the desired functionality, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing project goals and functionality; Paragraph 0032, An analytics model can be trained to predict resource metrics such as resource estimates and/or utilization including estimated amounts of work estimates; Paragraph 0048, At 601, an analytics machine learning model is trained. For example, a machine learning model is trained using analytics data including resource analytics data. The training data can include resource metrics data from projects as well as data related to project resources and resource constraints such as the number of developers required and the skills and skill levels of the developers. In various embodiments, the training data can be project data from the same customer such as past and current project data limited to only the same customer. In some embodiments, the training data is project data aggregated across multiple customers and can be aggregated based on customers with similar requirements. In various embodiments, the training data can be anonymized as part of preparing the data for use in training; Paragraph 0037, At 401, a new project transcript and/or project data is received. For example, project data describing a project is received. The received project data can include a transcript of a project meeting, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing and/or discussing project features, the project status, the project goals, etc.; As stated in Paragraph 0184 of Applicant’s specification, the entropy score may be alignment of actions and resources toward successfully achieving the target state. Therefore, based on broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, Goldberg et al. discloses an entropy score since it allocates resources to a task or program in order to achieve the target goal. Also, Examiner interprets the “machine learning used for aggregating project data with similar requirements” as the “lookalike model” since it’s aggregating/clustering similar data);
identifying possible task completion pathways between the current state and the target state … (Paragraph 0012, Using the disclosed techniques, the new tasks can be automatically generated based on analyzing a transcript that describes the desired functionality, such as a transcript of a team meeting describing project goals and functionality; Paragraph 0021, computer program development project management service 111 includes a trained machine learning model to predict resource requirements or estimated resource usage for projects. The predicted estimates can be predicted in a unit of value such as number of hours, number of developers, required hardware and/or software, and/or another estimated unit such as an estimated unit of work; Paragraph 0028, Analytics module 207 can be used to predict resource requirements such as to estimate the amount of effort required to complete a project including each of the tasks of the project. Analytics module 207 can utilize model evaluation framework 209 and trained machine learning models 211 to perform the prediction. In some embodiments, analytics module 207 is further used to train one or more models of trained machine learning models 211. For example, using tracked resource analytics of existing projects, analytics module 207 can train a deep learning model to predict resource usage for projects including prediction on the amount of work (or effort) required to complete a project and/or tasks of the project); …; …;
generating project completion resource allocation plans … (Paragraph 0028, Analytics module 207 can be used to predict resource requirements such as to estimate the amount of effort required to complete a project including each of the tasks of the project. Analytics module 207 can utilize model evaluation framework 209 and trained machine learning models 211 to perform the prediction. In some embodiments, analytics module 207 is further used to train one or more models of trained machine learning models 211. For example, using tracked resource analytics of existing projects, analytics module 207 can train a deep learning model to predict resource usage for projects including prediction on the amount of work (or effort) required to complete a project and/or tasks of the project; Paragraph 0046, In some embodiments, as part of generating a new task, a resource estimate is provided. For example, an analytics action to predict the amount of work required or to be budgeted for the new task is determined. In some embodiments, the analytics action can be via the process of FIG. 6; Paragraph 0047, using the process of FIG. 6, an analytics module of a project enhancements and analytics module can automatically predict resource estimates for a development project managed via a computer program development project management service. The identified project can be a new project or an existing project and the predictions can be for the project, one or more tasks of the project, and/or another related component of the project; Paragraph 0049, The retrieved context data can include project information such as tasks, resource requirements, resource expectations, resource allocations, resource constraints, project dependencies, project time constraints, project deadlines, etc. For example, retrieved resource allocations can include information that a certain number of developers of a certain skill set have been reserved for the project. As another example, retrieved resource constraints can include a requirement that a senior user interface developer is required to perform a sub-task of a project feature. Other retrieved information can include the members assigned to the project and their availability, the progress of the project including the current status of delays, the existing project goals and deadlines, and other dependencies of the project);
and calculating … performance measured using micro-behaviors analysis (Paragraph 0017, In some embodiments, based on the generated specification of the task, the task is automatically tracked using the computer program development project management software. For example, the automatically generated task specification is entered into the computer program development project management software for tracking the task, such as the progress of the task. In some embodiments, the tracking includes completion properties such as how long the task takes to complete, the number and skills required to complete the task, and/or other metrics and/or analytics of the task. In various embodiments, based on the tracked data gathered from tracking the task, predictions can be made on future tasks such as the estimated amount of resources such as time, developers, and/or hardware required to perform one or more steps of the task).
Nikolaev et al. (US 8,626,698 B1). Nikolaev et al. discloses identifying possible task completion pathways between the current state and the target state using a Markov model (Column 5, lines 19-46, The prediction system 500 can store the historical performance information related to completed projects in one or more databases. The performance information can be gathered over a period time from various groups in a corporation. The prediction system 500 can use such historical performance information to construct a model (step 120) of the data domain, which can be used to estimate the probability of success of a new or in-flight project. In some embodiments, the prediction system 500 develops the model (step 120) using a probabilistic graphical modeling (PGM) approach by inferring, from the data collected and/or inputs from experts, certain variables and the relationships among the variables. These variables and their relationships are determined to achieve certain goals, such to predict the success of a project. For example, the prediction system 500 can generate a Bayesian network that includes a set of interconnected nodes, where each node represents a random variable in the model and the connecting arcs of the network represent causal relationships among the variables. Each node can assume one of a number of possible values to indicate a particular state of the variable. The probability that a certain state of a node occurs is determined from the probabilities associated with states of one or more nodes connected to the current node. Even though a Bayesian network is used to illustrate the principles of the present invention, other PGM modeling approaches are equally usable within the scope of the present invention, such as a Markov rule-based approach, neural network approach or genetic approach);
identifying an optimal project completion path through the Markov model using [a probabilistic graphical modeling] to determine the magnitude of contribution to organizational transformation towards the target state for each project (Column 5, lines 19-46, The prediction system 500 can store the historical performance information related to completed projects in one or more databases. The performance information can be gathered over a period time from various groups in a corporation. The prediction system 500 can use such historical performance information to construct a model (step 120) of the data domain, which can be used to estimate the probability of success of a new or in-flight project. In some embodiments, the prediction system 500 develops the model (step 120) using a probabilistic graphical modeling (PGM) approach by inferring, from the data collected and/or inputs from experts, certain variables and the relationships among the variables. These variables and their relationships are determined to achieve certain goals, such to predict the success of a project. For example, the prediction system 500 can generate a Bayesian network that includes a set of interconnected nodes, where each node represents a random variable in the model and the connecting arcs of the network represent causal relationships among the variables. Each node can assume one of a number of possible values to indicate a particular state of the variable. The probability that a certain state of a node occurs is determined from the probabilities associated with states of one or more nodes connected to the current node. Even though a Bayesian network is used to illustrate the principles of the present invention, other PGM modeling approaches are equally usable within the scope of the present invention, such as a Markov rule-based approach, neural network approach or genetic approach), …;
assessing the likelihood of successful project completion for each project using [a probabilistic graphical modeling] (Column 5, lines 19-46, The prediction system 500 can store the historical performance information related to completed projects in one or more databases. The performance information can be gathered over a period time from various groups in a corporation. The prediction system 500 can use such historical performance information to construct a model (step 120) of the data domain, which can be used to estimate the probability of success of a new or in-flight project. In some embodiments, the prediction system 500 develops the model (step 120) using a probabilistic graphical modeling (PGM) approach by inferring, from the data collected and/or inputs from experts, certain variables and the relationships among the variables. These variables and their relationships are determined to achieve certain goals, such to predict the success of a project. For example, the prediction system 500 can generate a Bayesian network that includes a set of interconnected nodes, where each node represents a random variable in the model and the connecting arcs of the network represent causal relationships among the variables. Each node can assume one of a number of possible values to indicate a particular state of the variable. The probability that a certain state of a node occurs is determined from the probabilities associated with states of one or more nodes connected to the current node. Even though a Bayesian network is used to illustrate the principles of the present invention, other PGM modeling approaches are equally usable within the scope of the present invention, such as a Markov rule-based approach, neural network approach or genetic approach);
generating project completion resource allocation plans based on the optimal project completion path (FIG. 3 shows another exemplary probabilistic graphical model 300 generated using flowchart 100 of FIG. 1 to predict the success of a project. The model 300 includes at least a scope variable 302 representing, for example, the scope and type of a task planned for a project (e.g., task complexity), a resource variable 304 representing, for example, a skill level of a human resource available to complete the project, a delivery time variable 306 representing, for example, a time limitation for completing the project, a finances variable 308 representing, for example, the cost allocated to complete the project and a non-labor resource variable 310 representing, for example, a non-labor related resource allocated for completing the project. These variables all have a causal effect on the project variable 312, which represents the likelihood of success of a project);
and calculating … based on performance measured using micro-behaviors analysis (Column 5, lines 19-26, The prediction system 500 can store the historical performance information related to completed projects in one or more databases. The performance information can be gathered over a period time from various groups in a corporation. The prediction system 500 can use such historical performance information to construct a model (step 120) of the data domain, which can be used to estimate the probability of success of a new or in-flight project).
Abad (Abad, F; Naeni, LM (2020), A hybrid framework to assess the risk of change in construction projects using fuzzy fault tree and fuzzy event tree analysis, International Journal of Construction Management, DOI: 10.1080/15623599.2020.1790474). Abad discloses … using [Event] Tree Models to determine the magnitude of contribution to organizational transformation towards the target state for each project, wherein the [Event] Tree Models integrate with the Fault Tree Models in a recursive relationship to calculate an expected value for each alternative state by multiplying a probability of success determined by the Fault Tree Models by an impact value determined by the [Event] Tree Models (see Figure 2 and related text in Page 13, A hybrid framework to evaluate change formation and implementation processes. In this section, we introduce a hybrid framework that combines Fault Tree Analysis (FTA), Event Tree Analysis (ETA) and fuzzy logic methods to evaluate the change formation and change implementation processes. In order to analyse the risk of change, both the probability and the impact of a change must be predicted (Ibrahim A. Motawa et al., 2006). Moreover, identifying the events that lead to a change and also the consequences that a change request can bring, are essential for an effective proactive change management. The proposed hybrid framework employs FTA and ETA techniques to predict the probability and the impact of change respectively. FTA technique also provides information on change root causes and helps with understanding a change formation process. On the other hand, ETA method helps with tracking change consequences and how it can lead to undesired outcomes. This comprehensive approach helps the project team to address change root causes to reduce change probability and also enables them to predict and deal with change impacts. Thus the project team can develop more effective risk response strategies for the potential change. Fig. 3 illustrates the stages of the framework development that are explained in further detail below; Assess the risk of change using a risk index, When the probabilities of occurrence and the degree of impacts of the change implementation are assessed, Change Risk Index (CRI) can be utilized as shown in Eq. 10 (Abad et al., 2019):
).
Dey (Dey, P.K., 2002. Project risk management: a combined analytic hierarchy process and decision tree approach. Cost Engineering, 44(3), pp.13-27). Dey discloses using Decision Tree Models to determine the magnitude of contribution to organizational transformation towards the target state for each project (Page 17, Decision trees use calculations of expected monetary value (EMV) to measure the attractiveness of alternatives. They also use graphical models to display several relevant aspects of a decision situation. These graphical models consist of treelike structures (hence the name) with branches to represent the possible action-event combinations. The conditional payoff is written at the end of each branch. A tree gives much the same information as a matrix, but, in addition, it can be used to depict multiple-stage decisions. These are a series of decisions over time), wherein the Decision Tree Models integrate with the [Analytic Hierarchy Process] in a recursive relationship to calculate an expected value for each alternative state by multiplying a probability of success determined by the [Analytic Hierarchy Process] by an impact value determined by the Decision Tree Models (see at least Tables 7-10 and related text in Page 25, Risk is by nature subjective. However, AHP allows one to objectively analyze the effect of risk on a project by determining the probability of its occurrences. The probability and severity of each risk factor are determined through the active involvement of field experienced persons in an interactive environment. The information is collected in a very structured format in line with AHP requirements and processed using available computer programs. Additionally, sensitivity utility of AHP provides an opportunity to the risk management group to observe the nature of model outcomes in different alternative decision situations. DTA helps in selecting from among various decision alternatives. Risk management using a combined AHP and DTA approach provides the following benefits. The combined AHP and DTA approach not only determines probability and severity of risk factors, but also identifies risk responses for each work package using an expected monetary value concept. This approach is especially required for large-scale projects because there are many outcome uncertainties. It defines the roles of project stakeholders in responding to specific risk factors and it provides a basis of control to the owner or management. It combines identification of risk factors, analyzes their effects, allows responses through desired actions and controls these responses in an interactive way by involving all project stakeholders).
Takahashi et al. (US 2023/0259856 A1). Takahashi et al. discloses calculating Bayesian Priors based on performance measured using micro-behaviors analysis (Paragraph 0104, In the case of Bayesian statistics. P (A|B) can be defined by the following calculation formula. P (A|B) represents the a posteriori probability. The posteriori probability is a probability that an event A will occur under the condition that an event B will occur). Where P (A) represents the prior probability. The prior probability is a probability that the event A occurs before the event B occurs. The prior probability can be set subjectively by the user of this system. P(B|A) represents a likelihood. The likelihood is a probability that the event B will occur under the condition that the event A will occur (or if the event A is assumed to be true). P(B) represents a marginal likelihood. The marginal likelihood is a probability that the event B will occur before the event A. That is, the marginal likelihood is a probability that the event B becomes true among all events A and B. For example, information such as that the project does not reach the target can be adopted as the event A. and information such as that the project scale is large or that the experience value of the project manager is low can be adopted as the event B. According to Bayesian statistics, the probability of the event A can be changed based on the event B; Paragraph 0105, As described above, while it is difficult to correctly predict the success probability. Bayesian statistics that can be predicted while changing the argument (parameter) representing the correct answer from the performance pre-status value given to the performance influencing pre-element is compatible with the machine learning. Thus, using a combination of the machine learning and Bayesian statistics is more useful for predicting the success probability than using the machine learning alone).
However, the cited art, alone or in any combination, fails to teach or suggest at least: a method for organizational transformation from a current state to a target state, comprising: dynamically performing interviews with stakeholders using common language models as part of a cooperative game to gather disparate stakeholder insights, wherein the common language models perform syntactic analysis on stakeholder responses and dynamically shift, change, adjust, modify, expand, condense, add, or eliminate questions during the interviews based on the syntactic analysis, and wherein the common language models evaluate, compare, weight, and synthesize divergent responses from multiple stakeholders to generate language model-synthesized responses structured into prompts; defining the target state, projects, milestones, tasks, and resource use/availability based on the gathered insights; modeling the organization as a dissipative system using Lookalike Models to calculate an organizational entropy score; identifying possible task completion pathways between the current state and the target state using a Markov model; identifying an optimal project completion path through the Markov model using Decision Tree Models to determine the magnitude of contribution to organizational transformation towards the target state for each project, wherein the Decision Tree Models integrate with the Fault Tree Models in a recursive relationship to calculate an expected value for each alternative state by multiplying a probability of success determined by the Fault Tree Models by an impact value determined by the Decision Tree Models; assessing the likelihood of successful project completion for each project using Fault Tree Models; generating project completion resource allocation plans based on the optimal project completion path; and calculating Bayesian Priors based on performance measured using micro-behaviors analysis.
Claims 2, 4, 8, and 21-25 have potential allowable subject matter because they depend from at least claim 1.
Claim 26, Potential Allowable Subject Matter
The closest prior art is Goldberg et al. (US 2025/0156153 A1). Goldberg et al. discloses calculating an agreement … representing a level of agreement between the multiple users responding during the one or more dynamic interviews, … (Paragraph 0044, At 503, a project enhancement prompt is generated using project data. For example, the project data can include the provided project transcript/project data and the project context data retrieved at 501. In various embodiments, the provided project transcript/project data can include a discussion of the new task in a natural language format. For example, the provided portions of the project transcript can include a discussion by different team members describing a new feature or a found defect that should be added as a new task to the project. In various embodiments, the generated prompt is a generative artificial intelligence (AI) prompt for a trained large language model. Included in the prompt and/or the system prompt is the requirement specification for the new task. For example, the new task can require the creation of a new task (such as a new story, feature, defect, or another enhancement task), a title, a description, acceptance criteria, and an assignment group; Paragraph 0045, At 505, the generated prompt is evaluated using a model evaluation framework. For example, the prompt generated at 503 is provided to a model evaluation framework to instruct the configured trained large language model to generate the requested specification for the new project task. The automatically generated artificial intelligence (AI) prompt provides the appropriate context for the trained large language model to create the new task according to the desired specification. Requests included in the project such as generating a title, description, acceptance criteria, and assignment group can be fulfilled by the trained large language model when provided with the appropriate project context and desired specification guidelines. In some embodiments, the evaluation framework provides the prompts as a sequence of prompts such as an initial system prompt followed by one or more additional prompts to refine the generated output).
However, the cited art, alone or in any combination, fails to teach or suggest at least: calculating an agreement score representing a level of agreement between the multiple users responding during the one or more dynamic interviews, wherein the agreement score is based on weighted differences between the user responses from the multiple users.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Krunic et al. (US 2025/0322341 A1) – discloses a processing system inputs information from various sources to an LLM and, in response, receives from the LLM graph data characterizing a graph of the market (e.g., as it is today). Further, based on a receiving data characterizing a given marketing strategy, the processing system generates queries necessary for long term inference structure. The processing system then generates node data identifying nodes of the graph of the market that match each of the generated queries. The processing system can also receive a query request, and can match the query request to one of the generated queries. Based on the matched query, the processing system generates resolution data characterizing at least one Customer Value Propositions (see at least Paragraph 0029).
Nadel et al. (US 2026/0004207 A1) – discloses pproaches described herein provide technical solutions to technical problems in the deployment of machine learning models, particularly LLMs, for goal-oriented use cases. The technical solutions use a multi-agent, multi-player channel where agent objects (also called software agents, AI agents, bots, or simply agents) and humans work together to achieve an outcome. The approaches improve the process of problem solving and project management using LLMs by creating multiple agents with distinct skills and working memory that work together to complete tasks in an agentic manner and evaluate the output of each task against the initial goal (see at least Paragraph 0030).
Zhu (CN 119026864 A) – discloses provides a field scheduling management system for building construction, which is used for providing a comprehensive and real-time management platform, capable of effectively coordinating various resources of the construction field, optimizing the construction plan and improving the decision supporting ability (see at least Page 3).
Schroder (Schroder, M., 2023. Autoscrum: Automating project planning using large language models. arXiv preprint arXiv:2306.03197) – discloses recent advancements in the field of large language models have made it possible to use language models for advanced reasoning. In this paper we leverage this ability for designing complex project plans based only on knowing the current state and the desired state. Two approaches are demonstrated - a scrum based approach and a shortcut plan approach. The scrum based approach executes an automated process of requirements gathering, user story mapping, feature identification, task decomposition and finally generates questions and search terms for seeking out domain specific information to assist with task completion (see at least Abstract & 4.2 Requirement Identification).
Prieto (US 2014/0180755 A1) - discloses … using Decision Tree Models to determine the magnitude of contribution to organizational transformation towards the target state for each project, …; assessing the likelihood of successful project completion for each project using Fault Tree Models (Paragraph 0119, reference outcome events 302 can represent events that cause damage to or the failure of a program. The events represented by the reference outcome events 302 can be `general` events that cause catastrophic, program-wide damage or failure, or can be events causing damage or failure of a particular type or for a particular reason. For each undesired outcome event, the risk analysis engine 101 can create a fault tree and execute it to identify the current program attributes most likely to be affected by negative events, or most likely to contribute to the program's degradation or failure as set forth in the negative program event. Reference program events can be used as inputs to fault trees of other reference program events, and as such, cascading risks of failure can be processed).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3624 /HAMZEH OBAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624