DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 12/23/2024. These drawings are considered by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasanthasenan et al (US 2018/0227383), hereinafter “Vasanthasenan“, in view of Yoshizawa et al (US 2022/0191696), hereinafter “Yoshizawa“.
Regarding claim 1, Vasanthasena teaches a user equipment (UE) (fig. 2 shows UE 115-a), comprising:
a memory (par [0009] teaches a memory); and
a processor coupled with the memory and configured to cause the UE to (par [0009] teaches a processor):
perform a first registration with a first network using a first subscriber identity module (SIM) of the UE (pars [0015] [0028], and [0055]), wherein the first SIM is associated with a first identifier based on the first registration (pars [0015] [0028], and [0055]);
perform a second registration with a second network using a second SIM of the UE (pars [0015] [0055]); and
Vasanthasenan does not explicitly teach indicate the first identifier to the second network during the second registration and based on the first network and the second network being associated with a mobile network operator (MNO).
Yoshizawa, in the same field of endeavor, teaches indicate the first identifier to the second network during the second registration and based on the first network and the second network being associated with a mobile network operator (MNO) (pars [0032] [0037], and [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Vasanthasenan to Yoshizawa, in order to provide the ability to use and manage multiple subscriptions in a single device, in which improve relating to multi-SIM user equipment in the 5G systems as a convenience (as suggested by Yoshizawa in paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claims 4, 9, and 14, the combination of Vasanthasenan and Yoshizawa teach the UE of claims 1, 6, 11, Vasanthasena further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to cause the UE to: request consent to reveal the first identifier, wherein the first identifier is indicated to the second network in response to the consent (pars [0015] [0028], and [0055]).
Regarding claims 5, 10, and 15, the combination of Vasanthasenan and Yoshizawa teach the UE of claims 1, 6, 11, Vasanthasena does not clearly teach wherein the processor is further configured to cause the UE to: transmit capability information that indicates support for multiple SIM functionality comprising the first SIM and the second SIM, wherein the second registration with the second network using the second SIM of the UE is further performed based on the transmitted capability information.
Yoshizawa, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processor is further configured to cause the UE to: transmit capability information that indicates support for multiple SIM functionality comprising the first SIM and the second SIM, wherein the second registration with the second network using the second SIM of the UE is further performed based on the transmitted capability information (pars [0032] [0037], and [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Vasanthasenan to Yoshizawa, in order to provide the ability to use and manage multiple subscriptions in a single device, in which improve relating to multi-SIM user equipment in the 5G systems as a convenience (as suggested by Yoshizawa in paragraph [0050]).
Regarding claim 6, Vasanthasena teaches a method performed at a User Equipment (UE), the method comprising:
performing a first registration with a first network using a first Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) of the UE (pars [0015] [0028], [0055]), wherein the first SIM is associated with a first identifier based on the first registration (pars [0015] [0028], and [0055]);
performing a second registration with a second network using a second SIM of the UE (pars [0015] [0028], and [0055]); and
Vasanthasenan does not explicitly teach indicating the first identifier to the second network during the second registration and based on the first network and the second network being associated with a Mobile Network Operator (MNO).
Yoshizawa, in the same field of endeavor, teaches indicating the first identifier to the second network during the second registration and based on the first network and the second network being associated with a Mobile Network Operator (MNO) (pars [0032] [0037], and [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Vasanthasenan to Yoshizawa, in order to provide the ability to use and manage multiple subscriptions in a single device, in which improve relating to multi-SIM user equipment in the 5G systems as a convenience (as suggested by Yoshizawa in paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claim 11, Vasanthasena teaches a processor for wireless communication (par [0009] teaches a processor), the processor being arranged to:
perform a first registration with a first network using a first Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) of a User Equipment (UE) (pars [0015] [0028], and [0055]), wherein the first SIM is associated with a first identifier based on the first registration (pars [0015] [0028], and [0055]);
perform a second registration with a second network using a second SIM of the UE (pars [0015] [0055]); and
Vasanthasenan does not explicitly teach indicate the first identifier to the second network during the second registration and based on the first network and the second network being associated with a Mobile Network Operator (MNO).
Yoshizawa, in the same field of endeavor, teaches indicate the first identifier to the second network during the second registration and based on the first network and the second network being associated with a Mobile Network Operator (MNO) (pars [0032] [0037], and [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Vasanthasenan to Yoshizawa, in order to provide the ability to use and manage multiple subscriptions in a single device, in which improve relating to multi-SIM user equipment in the 5G systems as a convenience (as suggested by Yoshizawa in paragraph [0001]).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 2-3, 7-8, 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claims 2, 7, 12, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the processor is further configured to cause the UE to: receive a paging message from one of the first network or the second network for at least one of the first SIM or the second SIM, wherein the paging message indicates a service type; provide, via an interface of the UE, an indication of the paging message and the service type; and selectively accept the paging message according to an input at the UE as specified in the claims.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641