DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species VII in the reply filed on 9/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicants acknowledge claims 1 (directed to a hair car apparatus product distribution system); claim 2 (directed to a hair care apparatus product pod interface); claim 3 (directed to a hair care apparatus product heating and distribution system) are directed to patentably distinct inventions; Page 2 of Applicant Remarks. During a telephone conversation with Robert Protheroe on 10/7/2026 a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute the invention drawn to a hair care apparatus product and distribution system, claims 3-20. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 1 and 2 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “a thermally conducting compound”; claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 11-14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 106617616 A.
Regarding claim 3, CN’ 616 discloses a hair care apparatus product heating and distribution system comprising on-demand heating of dispensing product, the product heating and distribution system further comprising: a heating plate (12); a thermal sensor (126) in thermal contact with the heating plate; at least one heating element (121) in thermal contact with a heated side of the heating plate; and an applicator plate (13), wherein: the applicator plate comprises a channel side (inner side) and a dispensing side (outer side); the channel side is situated against a product flow side of the heating plate (see Fig. 2), wherein the heating plate (12) and the applicator plate (13) form at least one channel, having at least one applicator orifice (steam outlet), in which a flow of product may flow while in direct contact with the product flow side of the heating plate prior to a dispensing through the at least one applicator orifice to the dispensing side (Fig. 2); the at least one channel (shown on inner side of 13) is in fluid communication with a heating plate orifice which may receive the flow of product (vaporization chamber 12); the at least one channel is in fluid communication with an applicator orifice (stem outlet) configured to dispense product from the dispensing side; and the at least one heating element is selectively energized to heat the heating plate and the flow of product that is in direct contact with the heating plate based on a temperature indicated by the thermistor being below a predetermined temperature or predetermined temperature range, thereby providing on-demand heating of dispensing product (see translation; when the temperature reaches to the preset temperature, first temperature sensor 126 the temperature signal is transmitted to the main control circuit board 15, vaporizing operation instruction). CN ‘616 discloses the claimed invention except for the thermal sensor is a thermistor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the thermal sensor be a thermistor, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the heating plate orifice (127) is an opening between the heated side and the product flow side (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, CN ‘616 discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the at least one heating element is two heating elements and the thermistor is disposed on the heating plate and located between the two heating elements. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the heating sensor of CN’616 be two heating elements with the thermistor between them, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 12, CN’616 discloses the claimed invention except for at least one channel (13) comprising at least one orifice is a plurality of channels, and the at least one orifice is a plurality of orifices comprised by the plurality of channels; the outlet is not clearly shown in the Figures. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the channel of CN’616 be a plurality of channels with a plurality of orifices, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In this instance case to create more outlets for product flow distribution.
Regarding claim 13, wherein the applicator plate (17) is an applicator manipulator plate further comprising a plurality of manipulator members (172) disposed on a projecting outwardly from the dispensing side (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the applicator manipulator plate (17) is removably (i.e. capable of being removed) mountable to a hair care apparatus comprising the hair care apparatus product heating and distribution system (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the hair care apparatus product heating and distribution system is configured to cease heating the heating plate and the flow of product that is in direct contact with the heating plate when the temperature based on a temperature indicated by the thermistor reaches the predetermined temperature (see translation; when the first temperature sensor 126 senses the vaporization chamber temperature 12 in the first heating unit 121 is heated to the preset temperature value, will also back to the main control circuit board, so that the vaporization chamber temperature of 12 is kept at the preset temperature value is not changed under the control of the main control circuit board).
Regarding claim 18, CN’616 discloses the claimed invention except for the predetermined temperature is 125 degrees F. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date to have the predetermined temperature be 125 degrees F, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In this instance case, the temperature must be within a workable heated range without burning the user.
Regarding claim 19, CN’616 discloses the claimed invention except for the predetermined temperature is 120 degrees F. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date to have the predetermined temperature be 120 degrees F, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In this instance case, the temperature must be within a workable heated range without burning the user.
Regarding claim 20, CN’ 616 discloses the claimed invention except for a thermally conducting compound applied between the thermistor and the heating plate. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to a have thermally conducting compound be applied between the thermistor and the heating plate, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 106617616 in view of Maisonneuve et al. (US 2019/0307220).
CN’616 discloses the claimed invention except for a microcontroller unit and program code executable by the microcontroller. Maisonneuve discloses a device for treating the hair comprising a microcontroller programmed to execute an algorithm controlling the operation of the device (paragraph 119). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the device of CN’616 be made with a microcontroller to be able to program the device to operate as desired, such as heat/no heat button and an on-demand heating function.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 106617616 in view of JP 3350903.
CN’616 discloses the claimed invention except for a plurality of applicator manipulator plates having a variety of different manipulator member configurations or a variety of different applicator orifice configurations. JP’903 teaches a hair care device comprising a plurality of applicator manipulator plates having a variety of different manipulator member configurations (see Fig. 8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the device of CN’616 be made with a plurality of manipulator plates as taught by JP’903 for allow for customization of the device as desired by the user for different hair care effects.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RACHEL R STEITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
10/13/2026