DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication in response to application filed 12/23/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
3. Prior to examination and in Preliminary amendment filed 12/23/2024, Applicant has amended claims 3 and 20, canceled claims 4, 7 and 11, and added claims 21-23, leaving claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-10 and 12-23 pending in this application.
4. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the sealing film”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because claim 21 depend on claim 1, which does not previously introduce “a sealing film”.
Claim 3 recites “the reinforcing member”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because claim 3 depend on claim 2, which recites “a reinforcement member”.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 16-17 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
For claim 16 that recites “wherein the core module includes a first vibration transmission plate, the transducer device includes a support, a second vibration transmission plate, a magnetic circuit system and a coil, the support is connected with the housing component by the first vibration transmission plate, the magnetic circuit system is connected with the support by the second vibration transmission plate, the coil is connected with the support and extends into a magnetic gap of the magnetic circuit system, the second connection portion is provided with a second avoidance hole allowing the vibration panel to be connected with the support, and the vibration panel is connected with the support through the second avoidance hole and the first avoidance hole”.
The closest prior art of record includes Qi et al. (Pub.No: 2021/0258696 A1) that teaches a transducer having a magnetic circuit system, a vibration board, a coil, and a first and second vibration-conductive plates, with the panel connected to the vibration board and the transducer fixed to the housing through the first vibration-conductive plate (see [0109]-[0110] and Fig. 9A).
Another prior art Wu (Pub.No.: 2020/0077198 A1) teaches a membrane having a folding-ring portion, a voice coil, a diaphragm edge for air and heat flow ([0016]- [0022], [0026] and Figs. 1-4).
However, neither Qi nor Wu, alone or in combination with the remaining prior art of record, teaches or fairly suggests the claimed arrangement in which a second connection portion of the sealing film includes a second avoidance hole and the vibration panel is connected together support through both the second avoidance hole in the sealing film and the first avoidance hole in the core cover plate. QI employes a glued panel-to-vibration-board connection, while Wu’s openings are ventilation opening and do not accommodate vibration-panel-to-support connection.
Also, for claim 17 that recites “wherein support end surfaces of the vibration panel and the support facing each other jointly clamp the second connection portion”. neither Qi nor Wu, alone or in combination with the remaining prior art of record, teaches or fairly suggests support end surfaces of the vibration panel and the support that face one another and jointly clamp the second connection portion of the sealing film. Qi discloses a glued connection between the panel and vibration board, and Wu discloses a diaphragm and supporting part without the claimed opposed support surfaces jointly clamping a sealing-film connection portion.
For claim 21 that recites “wherein the transducer device includes a support, the core cover plate and the sealing film are respectively provided with a first avoidance hole and a second avoidance hole that allow the vibration panel to be connected with the support, and the sealing film is configured to seal an assembly clearance of the first avoidance hole; wherein at least one of the vibration panel and the support is provided with a support end surface corresponding to a surrounding region of the second avoidance hole, and the sealing film is fixed on the support end surface”.
The closest prior art of record includes Qi et al. (Pub.No: 2021/0258696 A1) that teaches a panel, housing, a vibration board, a magnetic circuit system, a coil, and a vibration-conductive plates, (see [0109]-[0110] and Fig. 9A).
Wu (Pub.No.: 2020/0077198 A1) teaches a diaphragm having openings and a supporting part associated with a voice coil (see [0018]- [0022], [0026] and Figs. 1-4).
However, neither Qi nor Wu, alone or in combination with the remaining prior art of record, teaches or fairly suggests the claimed combination in which: (1) the core cover plate and sealing film respectively include first and second avoidance holes permitting the vibration panel to be connected to the support; (2) the sealing film seals an assembly clearance of the first avoidance hole; (3) the vibration panel or support includes a support end surface corresponding to a surrounding region of the second avoidance hole; and (4) the sealing film is fixed to that support end surface. Wu’s diaphragm openings provides ventilation and are not used for the claimed panel-to-support connection or assembly-clearance sealing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by QI et al. (Pub.No.: 2021/0258696 A1).
Regarding claim 1, QI teaches core module, comprising a housing component, a transducer device, a vibration panel, and a face attachment component (reads on housing 1019, transducer components 1010-1012, panel 1013 and vibration-transfer layer 1020, see Fig. 10 and [0109] and [0112]), wherein
the vibration panel contacts a skin of a user by the face attachment component (reads on silicone-rubber layer 1020 deforms to match the user’s skin and covers panel 1013, see [0112]); the housing component includes a core housing and a core cover plate covering an open end of the core housing (housing 1019and first vibration-conductive plate 1016 spanning the housing opening, see Fig. 10), the core cover plate and the core housing cooperate to form a first cavity (plate 1016 separates the housing space containing transducer components 1010-1012, see Fig. 10), the face attachment component and the housing component cooperate to form a second cavity (Layer 1020, panel 1013, and housing 1019 define the space above plate 1016, see Fig. 10), the transducer device is at least partially located in the first cavity (Components 1010-1012 are below plate 1016 within housing 1019, see Fig. 10), the vibration panel is at least partially located in the second cavity (panel 1013 is above plate 1016 and surrounded by layer 1020, see Fig.10), the core cover plate is provided with a first avoidance hole allowing the vibration panel to be connected with the transducer device (Central opening of plate 1016 permits panel 1013 to connect with the transducer structure , see Fig. 10 and [0109]), and the core module is provided with a channel connecting the second cavity with the outside of the core module (holes 1021 guide air within housing 1019 outward, see [0112]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-6, 8-10,12-13 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QI et al. (Pub.No.: 2021/0258696 A1) and further in view of Shenzhen Voxtech (CN217388948U).
Claim 2, the combination of QI in view of Shenzhen teaches wherein the face attachment component includes a face attachment sleeve and a reinforcement member connected with the face attachment sleeve, a hardness of the reinforcement member is greater than a hardness of the face attachment sleeve, the face attachment sleeve covers the vibration panel, the reinforcement member is connected with the housing component, and the channel is at least partially disposed on the reinforcement member (reads on Face cover 15, face-contacting/transition/connection portions 151, 154, 1531 and reinforcement portion 1532. Reinforcement portion 1532 is harder than the silicone connection portion 1531 and connects the face cover to housing 11. Through holes 1541 provide the channel, see Figs. 6-8 and corresponding text of Shenzhen).
Claim 3, the combination of QI in view of Shenzhen teaches wherein the channel is only disposed on the reinforcing member, and the channel is configured such that a gas flow direction between the second cavity and the outside of the core module intersects with a vibration direction of the transducer device (the through holes 1541 are disposed through the transition/reinforcing structure, with their orientation relative to the face-normal and vibration direction shown in Fig.8, see Shenzhen corresponding text of Fig. 8).
Claim 5, the combination of QI in view of Shenzhen teaches wherein the reinforcement member includes an annular body portion and a plurality of flange portions connected with the annular body portion, the face attachment sleeve is at least connected with the annular body portion, the plurality of flange portions are arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction of the annular body portion, and a spacing region between two adjacent flange portions of the plurality of flange portions forms the channel (annular fixing/reinforcement structure 153/1532 includes circumferentially spaced engagement portions and the intervening regions and through holes 1541 provide communication, see Shenzhen Figs. 7-8 and corresponding texts).
Claim 6, the combination of QI in view of Shenzhen teaches wherein a communication hole is disposed at the open end of the core housing, the reinforcement member is at least partially located in the open end of the core housing, and the second cavity is communicated with the outside of the core module through the channel and the communication hole (Reinforcement portion 1532 is received at the open end of housing 11 and, and through holes 1541 communicate the interior and exterior of core module 10, see of Shenzhen Figs. 7-8 and correspond texts).
Claim 8, the combination of QI in view of Shenzhen teaches wherein the face attachment sleeve includes a body portion, a transition portion, and a wrap portion which are integrally connected, the body portion and the wrap portion are staggered from each other in a vibration direction of the transducer device, an orthographic projection of the wrap portion on a reference plane perpendicular to the vibration direction surrounds an orthographic projection of the body portion on the reference plane, the transition portion connects the body portion and the wrap portion, the body portion covers the vibration panel, the wrap portion at least wraps the annular body portion, and the wrap portion is closer to the transducer device than the body portion in the vibration direction (Face cover 15 includes face-contacting portion 151, transition portion 154, and connecting/wrapping portion 1531. Their relative positions around vibrations plate 14 and reinforcement portion 1532 are shown in Figs. 6-8 of Shenzhen, see also the corresponding texts of Figs. 6-8).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of QI in view of Shenzhen teaches wherein the transition portion is arranged in a bent shape on a reference cross section parallel to the vibration direction (reads on transition portion 154 is arranged in an arc or curved shape, see Shenzhen Fig. 6 and corresponding text).
Claim 10, the combination of QI in view of Shenzhen teaches wherein a movable margin of the transition portion in the vibration direction is greater than or equal to a maximum amplitude of the transducer device (Transition portion 154 provide sufficient deformability for vibration plate 14 to follow transducer 12 without being dragged or restricted by housing 11m see Figs. 6-8 of Shenzhen and correspond texts).
Claim 12, the combination of QI in view of Shenzhen teaches wherein the channel is at least partially disposed at the open end of the core housing, the face attachment component includes a face attachment sleeve and a reinforcement member connected with the face attachment sleeve, a hardness of the reinforcement member is greater than a hardness of the face attachment sleeve, the face attachment sleeve covers the vibration panel, the reinforcement member is connected with the housing component, and at least a portion of the reinforcement member is not in contact with the core cover plate (face cover portions 151, 154, 1531 and harder reinforcement portion 1532 are positioned at the open end of housing 11. Reinforcement portion 1532 connects to housing 11, with only part of it supported against the internal plate/platform structure, see Figs. 6-8 of Shenzhen and corresponding texts).
Claim 13, the combination of QI in view of Shenzhen teaches wherein the housing component includes a sealing film connected with the core cover plate, and the sealing film is configured to seal an assembly clearance of the first avoidance hole (First vibration plate 13 surrounds the connection between vibration plate 14, support 121, and housing 11, thereby closing the mounting clearance while permitting vibration transmission, see Figs. 2 and 6 of Shenzhen and corresponding texts).
Claim 18, the combination of QI in view of Shenzhen teaches wherein the core cover plate includes an inner top portion, a connection portion, and an outer bottom portion which are integrally connected, the inner top portion and the outer bottom portion are staggered from each other in a vibration direction of the transducer device, an orthographic projection of the outer bottom portion on a reference plane perpendicular to the vibration direction surrounds an orthographic projection of the inner top portion on the reference plane, the connection portion connects the inner top portion and the outer bottom portion, the outer bottom portion is connected with the housing component, the outer bottom portion is closer to the transducer device than the inner top portion in the vibration direction, and the first avoidance hole is disposed on the inner top portion (first vibration plate 13 includes an inner portion connected toward vibration plate 14, and intermediate connected portion, and an outer portion supported by housing 11, as shown in cross-section, see Figs. 2 and 6 of Shenzhen and corresponding texts).
Claim 19, the combination of QI in view of Shenzhen teaches wherein the core housing includes a first housing and a second housing, the first housing includes a cylindrical sidewall and an annular support connected with an inner wall surface of the cylindrical sidewall, the second housing seals one end of the cylindrical sidewall, the other end of the cylindrical sidewall is open, and the outer bottom portion is supported on the annular support (housing 11 includes barrel 111 and internal bearing platform 112, the barrel has an open end and the vibration-plate outer portion is supported on platform 112, see Figs. 6-7 of Shenzhen and corresponding texts).
Claim 20, the combination of QI in view of Shenzhen teaches an electronic device, comprising a support component and the core module of claim 1, wherein the support component is connected with the core module to support the core module to be worn to a wearing position (reads on acoustic output device 100 includes earing structure 20 connected with core module 10 to maintain the module against the user’s skin at the wearing position, see Fig. 1 of Shenzhen and corresponding text).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QI et al. (Pub.No.: 2021/0258696 A1) in view of Shenzhen Voxtech (CN217388948U) and further in view of Bushko (Pub.No.: 2016/0345100 A1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of QI in view of Shenzhen does not specifically teach the limitations of claim 14 that recites “ wherein the sealing film includes a first connection portion, a folded ring portion, and a second connection portion which are integrally connected, the folded ring portion connects the first connection portion and the second connection portion, the first connection portion is connected with the core cover plate, and the second connection portion is connected with the vibration panel or the transducer device” (i.e., configuration of the sealing film).
However, Bushko teaches accordion-type structures 102 and 104 functioning as acoustic seals and connected between diaphragm 106 and support structure 107, wherein the accordion-type structures include folds or pleats ([0010]-[0018])(see Figs. 1-3 and claim 1). The portions attached to support structure 107 and diaphragm 106 correspond respectively to first and second connection portions, with the accordion folds connecting those portions.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to employ Bushko’s folded acoustic-seal structure in the core module to maintain an acoustic seal while permitting relative vibrational movement.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of QI, Shenzhen and Busko teaches wherein the folded ring portion protrudes in a direction away from the transducer device in a vibration direction of the transducer device (reads on folds or pleats of the accordion-type structure protruding away from the magnetic arrangement in the direction of diaphragm movement, see [0010], [0018-0019] and Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QI et al. (Pub.No.: 2021/0258696 A1) and further in view of Brodnick (Pub.No.: 2003/0039343 A1).
Regarding claim 22, QI does not specifically teach the limitations of claim 22 that recites “a microphone component, wherein the microphone component includes a first microphone, an orthographic projection of the first microphone in a vibration direction is located on the transducer device” (i.e., microphone arrangement).
However, Brodnick teaches a microphone and speaker aligned with respective transducers in either orientation (see abstract, [0007] and Fig. 2). Brodnick’s face-to-face alignment places an orthographic projection of the microphone on the corresponding transducer.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to position the microphone in axile alignment with the transducer, as taught by Brodnick, so that acoustic energy traveling along the transducer axis follows a direct path to the microphone, thereby improving acoustic coupling and reducing signal loss caused by lateral misalignment. Such an aligned arrangement would also place the components within the same projected footprint, providing a compact arrangement within the core module, with predictable results.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QI et al. (Pub.No.: 2021/0258696 A1) in view of Shenzhen Voxtech (CN217388948U) and further in view of Fan (Pub.No.: 2010/0155207 A1).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of QI and Shenzhen does not specifically teach the limitations of claim 23 that recites “a circuit board and a sliding key component, wherein the sliding key component includes an adapter frame disposed in the housing component and a sliding key, the sliding key toggles a toggle switch disposed on the circuit board by the adapter frame, the adapter frame includes an annular body portion and a first plug-in portion connected with the annular body portion, the first plug-in portion is connected with the toggle switch” (i.e., sliding-key arrangement).
Fan teaches an electronic device having a housing, a circuit board disposed inside the housing, a sliding switch disposed on the circuit board, and a sliding-key mechanism installed in the housing. The sliding-key mechanism includes a main body fixed within a housing slot, a sliding actuator connected with the main body and engaging the sliding head of the switch, and a separate key portion that moves the actuator and thereby operates the switch (see [0005-0007], [0013] and Figs. 1-8).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to incorporate Fan’s sliding-key mechanism into the electronic device of QI as modified by Shenzhen to permit a user to operate a circuit-board-mounted toggle switch from outside the housing while securely guiding the sliding movement of the key. Providing Fan’s main body as the claimed annular adapter frame and its actuator portion as the first plug-in portion would stabilize the key, reduce unwanted movement of the sliding key to the toggle switch, thereby producing predictable results.
Conclusion
/RASHA S AL AUBAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693