Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 5-22-26 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method for manufacturing, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5-22-26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4-6 and 13 are rejected as indefinite because it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim. A Markush grouping is a closed group of alternatives, i.e., the selection is made from a group "consisting of" (rather than "comprising" or "including") the alternative members. MPEP 2173.05(h).
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the exfoliated two-dimensional filler" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 and 8-12 recites the limitation " the exfoliated two-dimensional filler" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skertchly (GB 2596050 A) in view of Martino-Gonzalez et al. (US 2019/0168480), hereinafter (“Martino”).
Re claims 1, 7, and 14, Skertchly discloses a multi-threat protective article with a multi-layered assembly (Fig 1), wherein the multi-layered assembly comprises: an external hard coating layer (2) for external protection and a negative Poisson's ratio fabric layer (1).
Skertchly does not disclose that the negative Poisson's ratio fabric layer (2) has raised strips or a sandwich structure with two faces partially unconnected, thereby forming a negative Poisson's ratio structure. Martino teaches a negative Poission ratio material having raised strips for the purpose of absorbing energy from impact(s) (p. [0014]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the negative Poisson layer in Skertchly to have the raised strips of Martino. The motivation (as taught by Martino) would be for absorbing the energy of impact(s). All claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to a skilled artisan at the time the invention was made.
Skertchly as modified above by Martino discloses a dense unidirectional fabric layer (inner layer 2; see also pg. 4, l. 25-35); and an inner foam layer (3) positioned closest to a user’s body for impact absorption, wherein the negative Poisson's ratio fabric layer and the dense unidirectional fabric layer are deposited between the external hard coating layer and the inner layer.
Skertchly as modified above by Martino does not specifically disclose the article wherein each layer of the multi-threat protective article has a stiffness ranging from 0.9N in the inner foam layer to 50N in the dense unidirectional fabric layer according to ASTM D4032-08, but it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select materials having the claimed stiffnesses, since it has been held to be within general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 3 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4-6 and 8-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/REGINALD S TILLMAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641