DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 08/17/26 is acknowledged. Claims 13-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beck et al. (US 20150281684 A1;hereafter Beck) in view of YANG et al. (US 20150237274 A1 hereafter YANG).
As of Claim 1: Beck teaches an image sensing device (¶0021 and note imaging system 10 may include camera module 12) comprising: a test control switch configured to selectively connect a test reset line for transmitting a test reset signal and a test image line for transmitting a first test image signal (¶¶0031-0033 and note circuitry 32 may generate reset signals on reset lines in paths 128, transfer signals on transfer lines in paths 128, and row select (e.g., row readout) signals on row select lines in paths 128 to control the operation of array 14.Also, ¶0040 and note the pixel signal may be obtained by computing the difference between the reset signal and the image signal. Computing a final pixel readout value in this way may be an effective way to maximize signal-to-noise ratio and is sometimes referred to as the correlated double sampling (CDS) scheme.), wherein the first CDS circuit is configured to receive a second test image signal through the test image line when the test control switch is closed (¶0042-0044 and note the test signal injection phase, switch SWB may be switched out of use while switch SWA may be switched into use (e.g., so that line 306 is driven to V.sub.AA instead of V.sub.TEST). Immediately after the test signal injection period, normal CDS readout operations may be performed.).
YANG is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced YANG teaches a circuit performs correlated double sampling, which compares a pixel’s reset level and image level against a ramp signal to reduce noise. A switching circuit temporarily connects the input signal to the output during an auto-zero period so offsets can be canceled. After that, the circuit disconnects the signal path to reduce leakage current that would otherwise distort the measured signal that would have prompted a predictable variation of Beck by applying YANG’s known principal of a first correlated double sampling (CDS) circuit configured to receive the test reset signal through the test reset line and receive the first test image signal through the test image line (¶¶0052,0095,0102,0104,0123,0128).
In view of the motivations such as comparing a pixel’s reset level and image level against a ramp signal to remove unwanted offsets and noise. A switching circuit briefly connects the input signal to the output during an auto-zero phase so the circuit can calibrate itself thereby further improving image quality by reducing fixed pattern noise and distortion in converted pixel values as disclosed in the abstract of YANG and one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Beck.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As of Claim 2: Beck in view of YANG further teaches the first CDS circuit includes a column CDS circuit corresponding to at least one column of a pixel array (Beck ¶0047 and note each pixel column may be coupled to a different respective test switch 112 (see, e.g., FIG. 4A). As shown in FIG. 4A, a first column of image pixels 28 may receive a first test signal V.sub.TEST1 via a first switch 112-1; a second column of image pixels 28 may receive a second test signal V.sub.TEST2 via a second switch 112-2; a third column of image pixels 28 may receive a third test signal V.sub.TEST3 via a third switch 112-3; . . . ; and an N.sup.th column of image pixels 28 may receive an N.sup.th test signal V.sub.TESTN. Each of the N test voltages may be controlled independently. As an example, all N test voltages may have different voltage levels.).
As of Claim 3: Beck in view of YANG further teaches the first CDS circuit corresponds to at least some region of the pixel array (YANG ¶¶0102,0103 and note that the row driver 120 may drive the pixel array 111 in row-wise units. For example, the row driver 120 may generate a row selection signal such as the control signal CTL1. In response to the row selection signal, the pixel array 111 may provide the CDS block 140 with a first analog signal corresponding to the reset component and a second analog signal corresponding to the image component.).
As of Claim 4: Beck in view of YANG further teaches when the first CDS circuit corresponds to a first region of the pixel array, the test control switch is closed; and when the first CDS circuit corresponds to a second region of the pixel array, the test control switch is opened (YANG ¶¶0111,012 and note that the CDS block 140 may be configured to perform a CDS operation on respective pixel output voltage PV (or the input signal VIN) provided by the individual unit pixels 112 connected (e.g.) to one of the column lines COL in the pixel array 111. The CDS block 140 may include a plurality of CDS circuits 200. Each of the plurality of CDS circuits 200 may be connected to each of a plurality of column lines COL. Each of the plurality of CDS circuits 200 may include an auto-zero switch 210.).
As of Claim 5: Beck in view of YANG further teaches the first region corresponds to a center part of the pixel array; and the second region corresponds to an edge part of the pixel array (YANG ¶¶0052-0053,0109).
As of Claim 6: Beck in view of YANG further teaches when a row circuit corresponding to the first CDS circuit corresponds to a center part of the pixel array, the test control switch is closed; and when the row circuit corresponding to the first CDS circuit corresponds to an edge part of the pixel array, the test control switch is opened (YANG ¶¶0111,0112,0167 and note that Each of the plurality of CDS circuits 200 may include a sampling circuit that employs a comparator 240, a switching circuit that includes the auto-zero switch 210 and first and second boosting switches 220 and 230, and a capacitor C. The comparator 240 may perform the CDS operation on the reset component of the input signal VIN provided from the pixel array 111 and the image component of the input signal VIN based on the ramp signal RV, and may generate an output signal VOUT. The auto-zero switch 210 and the second boosting switch 230 may connect the first input terminal to the output node NO, respectively in response to the auto-zero control signal AZC and the second boosting control signal BBC2 which are activated during the auto-zero interval in order to reset the input signal VIN to the level of the output signal VOUT. ).
As of Claim 7: Beck in view of YANG further teaches the row circuit comprises at least one of a row control switch and a row CDS circuit (Beck ¶¶0047-0050 and note that at step 454, the test voltages V.sub.TEST may be injected into the image sensor pixels while control signals RST and TX are asserted. The injection of the test voltages may be simultaneously performed across the entire array (in a global shutter scheme) or may be performed on a row by row basis (in a rolling shutter scheme). Once the test voltages have been injected, signals RST and TX can be deasserted.).
As of Claim 8: Beck in view of YANG further teaches a test circuit configured to generate the test reset signal and the first test image signal (Beck ¶¶0042-0044,0046).
As of Claim 9: Beck in view of YANG further teaches a second CDS circuit configured to receive the test reset signal and the first test image signal (Beck ¶¶0042-0044,0046).
As of Claim 10: Beck in view of YANG further teaches a switch control circuit configured to identify a CDS circuit corresponding to the test control switch and control an opening or closing of the test control switch depending on a region of the pixel array corresponding to the identified CDS circuit (Beck ¶¶0047-0050 and note that imaging system 100 may be powered on. At step 452, switch SWA may be turned off, and switch SWB may be turned on so that test voltage signals can be passed to the internal pixel power supply line in the selected pixel of each column. At step 454, the test voltages V.sub.TEST may be injected into the image sensor pixels while control signals RST and TX are asserted. The injection of the test voltages may be simultaneously performed across the entire array (in a global shutter scheme) or may be performed on a row by row basis (in a rolling shutter scheme). Once the test voltages have been injected, signals RST and TX can be deasserted.).
As of Claim 11: Beck in view of YANG further teaches a CDS control switch connected to the CDS circuit and configured to block a pixel signal that is generated from a pixel array transmitted to the CDS circuit (Beck ¶¶0043,0055 and note that switch SWB may be turned off, and switch SWA may be turned on so that nominal power supply voltage V.sub.AA can be used to reset the floating diffusion node of the selected pixel in each column. After the test injection phase, the readout phase may be immediately performed to obtain test frame data (e.g., step 458, CDS operations can be immediately performed to bypass the exposure period)).
As of Claim 12: Beck teaches an image sensing device (¶0021 and note imaging system 10 may include camera module 12) comprising: a test control switch configured to selectively connect a test reset line for transmitting a test reset signal generated from a test circuit and a test image line for transmitting a test image signal generated from the test circuit (¶¶0031-0033 and note circuitry 32 may generate reset signals on reset lines in paths 128, transfer signals on transfer lines in paths 128, and row select (e.g., row readout) signals on row select lines in paths 128 to control the operation of array 14. And also ¶¶0042-0044 and note the test signal injection phase, switch SWB may be switched out of use while switch SWA may be switched into use (e.g., so that line 306 is driven to V.sub.AA instead of V.sub.TEST). Immediately after the test signal injection period, normal CDS readout operations may be performed.).
YANG is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced YANG teaches a circuit performs correlated double sampling, which compares a pixel’s reset level and image level against a ramp signal to reduce noise. A switching circuit temporarily connects the input signal to the output during an auto-zero period so offsets can be canceled. After that, the circuit disconnects the signal path to reduce leakage current that would otherwise distort the measured signal that would have prompted a predictable variation of Beck by applying YANG’s known principal of a correlated double sampling (CDS) circuit configured to receive the test image signal through the test image line and receive the test reset signal through the test reset line, wherein the test control switch is configured to control a difference between the test image signal and the test reset signal that are input to the CDS circuit (¶¶0052,0095,0102,0104,0123,0128).
In view of the motivations such as comparing a pixel’s reset level and image level against a ramp signal to remove unwanted offsets and noise. A switching circuit briefly connects the input signal to the output during an auto-zero phase so the circuit can calibrate itself thereby further improving image quality by reducing fixed pattern noise and distortion in converted pixel values as disclosed in the abstract of YANG and one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Beck.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MEKONNEN D DAGNEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638