DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are pending; claims 1 and 6 are independent and claims 5 and 10 have been cancelled.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/28/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Min does not disclose “driving the driving unit based on the preset gamma value of the display to obtain a first display luminance of the backlight unit according to the preset gamma value of the display”, as recited in claims 1 and 6.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees, Min taught in fig. 6 and Para 0112, wherein adjust the ratio of black image data according to the value. If the value of a gamma variable is less than 1, the image data processing device may reduce the modified representative brightness value. In fig. 3 and Paras 0079-0081, wherein the black-image data analyzing circuit 320 may use a gamma curve for the modified representative brightness value. The gamma curve may have different forms depending on the gamma variable. In addition, the gamma curve may be formed using the values stored in a lookup table LUT. If the gamma variable is less than 1, the modified representative brightness value may be reduced, and if the gamma variable is greater than 1, the modified representative brightness value may be increased. The value of the gamma variable may be determined by a user configuration (fig. 4 and Paras 0093-0096).
In response to applicant’s argument that Min does not disclose “performing local dimming of the backlight unit in the display to obtain a second display luminance of each area in the measured backlight unit”, as recited in claims 1 and 6.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees, Min taught in fig. 6, S608 and Para 0114, wherein the image data processing device may calculate a dimming value for adjusting the brightness of a backlight according to the second modified representative brightness value. In fig. 2 and Para 0065, wherein the dimming value calculating circuit 230 may calculate an initial dimming value DMV for the representative brightness value using a logarithmic function, an exponential function, or a user function. Here, the dimming value calculating circuit 230 may calculate an initial dimming value DMV according to the remodified representative brightness value obtained by reflecting the ratio of black image data and non-uniformity in the area between blocks.
In response to applicant’s argument that Min does not disclose “providing the luminance difference into the second display luminance of the backlight unit for luminance compensation, so that the backlight unit has a third display luminance”, as recited in claims 1 and 6.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees, Min taught in fig. 6, S610 and Para 0115, wherein the image data processing device may generate a dimming control signal according to the dimming value, and may output the dimming control signal to the backlight driving device. In fig. 2 and Paras 0071-0072, wherein the dimming outputting circuit 270 may convert a dimming value into a dimming control signal, and may output the same to the backlight driving device. The gain calculating circuit 280 may calculate a gain Q for compensating for the original image data RGB according to a dimming value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min (US 2023/0222633), and further in view of Cheng (US 2024/0321171)).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Min teaches a method for maintaining optical quality of a display (fig. 6), the display (fig. 1, a display device 100) having a driving unit, coupling the backlight unit and the display unit (fig. 1, the combination of elements 110, 120, 150 and 160 and para 0045), a display unit (fig. 1, a display panel 130), and a backlight unit (fig. 1, a backlight 132 and Para 0054), the method comprising:
providing a preset gamma value of the display (fig. 6 and Para 0112, receive the value of a gamma variable from the outside);
driving the driving unit based on the preset gamma value of the display to obtain a first display luminance of the backlight unit according to the preset gamma value of the display (fig. 6 and Para 0112, wherein adjust the ratio of black image data according to the value. If the value of a gamma variable is less than 1, the image data processing device may reduce the modified representative brightness value. In fig. 3 and Paras 0079-0081, wherein the black-image data analyzing circuit 320 may use a gamma curve for the modified representative brightness value. The gamma curve may have different forms depending on the gamma variable. In addition, the gamma curve may be formed using the values stored in a lookup table LUT);
performing local dimming of the backlight unit in the display to obtain a second display luminance of each area in the measured backlight unit (fig. 6, S608 and Para 0114, wherein the image data processing device may calculate a dimming value for adjusting the brightness of a backlight according to the second modified representative brightness value. In fig. 2 and Para 0065, wherein the dimming value calculating circuit 230 may calculate an initial dimming value DMV for the representative brightness value using a logarithmic function, an exponential function, or a user function. Here, the dimming value calculating circuit 230 may calculate an initial dimming value DMV according to the remodified representative brightness value obtained by reflecting the ratio of black image data and non-uniformity in the area between blocks); and
providing the luminance difference into the second display luminance of the backlight unit for luminance compensation, so that the backlight unit has a third display luminance (fig. 6, S610 and Para 0115, wherein the image data processing device may generate a dimming control signal according to the dimming value, and may output the dimming control signal to the backlight driving device. In fig. 2 and Paras 0071-0072, wherein the dimming outputting circuit 270 may convert a dimming value into a dimming control signal, and may output the same to the backlight driving device. The gain calculating circuit 280 may calculate a gain Q for compensating for the original image data RGB according to a dimming value).
Min does not expressly disclose receiving, by the driving unit, the second display luminance to compare the second display luminance with the first display luminance for obtaining a luminance difference.
However, Cheng “receiving, by the driving unit, the second display luminance to compare the second display luminance with the first display luminance for obtaining a luminance difference”, see fig. 3, steps S121 to S123 and Para 0048.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a method of Min by applying the teaching of Cheng to include difference between different dimming modes. The gamma ratio is determined according to the gamma value differences under different dimming modes, and the second adjustment coefficient under the second dimming mode is determined based on the gamma ratio, so that the adjustment coefficients can be more accurate, as a known technique to get a predictable result.
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Min in view of Cheng teaches the method for maintaining optical quality of a display according to claim 1 and the display according to claim 6, further comprising: lowering the preset gamma value of the display to a first gamma value (Para 0112, Min).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Min in view of Cheng teaches the method for maintaining optical quality of a display according to claim 1 and the display according to claim 6, further comprising: adjusting the luminance difference based on a gamma difference between a second gamma value after the luminance compensation of the backlight unit and the preset gamma value (fig. 3, steps S121 to S123 and Para 0048, Cheng).
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min (US 2023/0222633), in view of Cheng (US 2024/0321171), and further in view of Chou (US 2007/0052735).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Min in view of Cheng teaches the method for maintaining optical quality of a display according to claim 1 and the display according to claim 6, but Min in view of Cheng does not expressly disclose the wherein the driving the driving unit based on the preset gamma value of the display to obtain the first display luminance of the backlight unit according to the preset gamma value of the display comprises:
normalizing a difference between a black screen grayscale measured value and a white screen grayscale measured value of the backlight unit as a base number, and raising the base number to the power of the preset gamma value, thereby obtaining the first display luminance of the backlight unit.
However, Chou disclosed “normalizing a difference between a black screen grayscale measured value and a white screen grayscale measured value of the backlight unit as a base number, and raising the base number to the power of the preset gamma value, thereby obtaining the first display luminance of the backlight unit”, see fig. 7A/B, 8A/B and Paras 0057-0058.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a method of Min in view of Cheng by applying the teaching of Chou to calculate a maximum luminance level at a gray level and a minimum luminance level and get the intermediate gamma correction LUTs, set as a target luminance value and a normalized target luminance curve typically represented by a gamma function with a predetermined gamma value, as a known technique to get a predictable result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SUN (US 2024/0185755), relates to the technical field of displaying, and particularly relates to a brightness regulating method, a regulating system and a displaying device.
Lee (US 2020/0202801), relates to a display technology for reducing power consumed by a backlight.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.E.E/Examiner, Art Unit 2625 2/4/2026
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625