DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/24/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes that Claims 4, 9 and 14 are proper multiple dependent claims, per 35 U.S.C. 112(e), i.e. it refers directly to two claims in the alternative, for example, claim 4 depends from claim 2 or claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “improving” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “improving” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what constitutes improving an isolation between the power network and the radio frequency network, nor does the specification provide a clear explanation of what guidelines are used to determine whether an improvement is reached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwok (WO 2010065934 and Kwok hereinafter) in view of Francesco et al. (KR 20200099057 A and Francesco hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Kwok discloses a radio frequency control method (i.e. FIG. 9 is an operational flow diagram of the process of selecting a switcher frequency for a switching voltage regulator utilizing a switching voltage regulator controller) Para [0021] executed by an electronic device (i.e. FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a wireless communication device 10) Para [0025], wherein the electronic device comprises a first power amplifier (i.e. RF Front-End 14 separates transmit and receive RF signal paths, and provides amplification and signal distribution (i.e. power amplifier).) Para [0025], a (i.e. DC power source 60 may consist of either an external DC power supply 61a (output voltage labeled VEXT) or a battery 61b (output voltage labeled VBAT). Either output voltage VEXT from DC power supply 61a or the output voltage VBAT from battery 61b drive a supply voltage into switching voltage regulator 40.) Para [0033], and a voltage conversion chip (i.e. Switching voltage regulator 40 is configured to convert between a higher input voltage and a lower output voltage by toggling on and off, at a switcher frequency (hereafter "Fsw"), one or more switches in conjunction with energy storage devices (inductors or capacitors) to transfer energy between the higher input voltage and lower output voltage.) Para [0034], the (i.e. Switching voltage regulator 40 (i.e. voltage conversion chip) is configured to convert supply voltage of VEXT or VBAT (i.e. battery module) to individual supply voltages for powering each of processor 70 (BB_VDD), transceiver 20 (TCVR_VDD), memory 75 (MEM_VDD), and RF Front- End 14 (PAJVDD and VBIAS) (i.e. power amplifier).) Para [0033]; and the radio frequency control method comprises: detecting a network standard according to which the electronic device operates (i.e. In the case where switching voltage regulator 40 is part of wireless communication device 10 of FIG. 1, the first operating condition is based on a current operating technology mode (i.e. network standard) (GSM, CDMA, WCDMA, etc). Each technology mode has associated therewith a previously determined RF channel bandwidth (Fch). For GSM, the RF channel bandwidth (Fch gsm) is 200 kHz.) Para [0057] and (Figure 9; i.e. Operation flow diagram 100 starts with processor 70 identifying (i.e. the recited detecting) the current operating condition (e.g., current operating band, operating mode, and/or jammer detect value) (block 101)) Para [0069]; and when the network standard according to which the electronic device operates is a first network standard (i.e. , the first operating condition is based on a current operating technology mode (i.e. network standard) (GSM, CDMA, WCDMA, etc).) Para [0057], adjusting a switching frequency of the voltage conversion chip to improve an isolation of the first power amplifier (i.e. the switcher frequency, Fsw, of the switching voltage regulator 40, associated with a given technology mode, is adjusted such that it is greater than half the RF channel bandwidth (Fsw>Fch/2). This switcher frequency adjustment reduces or eliminates switcher voltage regulator 40 interference (i.e. improved isolation) on transceiver 20 from appearing on the baseband analog receive signals (RX I FILT and RX Q FILT in FIG. 2) and transmit signals (TX_I, TX_Q of FIG. 2).) Para [0058] and (Figure 9; i.e. Processor 70 then generates a switcher frequency setting value on the basis of the current operating condition (block 103).) Para [0069].
Kwok doesn’t explicitly teach
a dual-cell battery module
However in a similar field of endeavor Francesco suggests
a dual-cell battery module (i.e. regardless of whether two cells are connected in series (2S) or two cells are connected in parallel (2P), the available power can be said to be substantially the same. Based on the same battery capacity, the battery 2S (i.e. dual-cell battery) in which two cells are connected in series can operate at about half the current when charging or discharging compared to the battery 2P in which the two cells are connected in parallel) Page 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Kwok with the method suggested by Francesco. The motivation would be to reduce power loss, extend battery life, and increase stability see Francesco at Page 2.
Regarding Claim 6, Kwok suggests all the limitations of claim 1 in device form rather than method form. Kwok also discloses a device (i.e. FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a wireless communication device 10) Para [0025]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 6.
Regarding Claim 11, Kwok suggests all the limitations of claim 1 in CRM form rather than method form. Kwok also discloses computer readable medium (See Claim 27; i.e. The steps of a method or algorithm described in connection with the disclosure herein may be embodied directly in hardware, in a software module executed by a processor, or in a combination of the two. A software module may reside in RAM memory, flash memory, ROM memory, EPROM memory, EEPROM memory, registers, hard disk, a removable disk, a CD-ROM, or any other form of storage medium known in the art. An exemplary storage medium is coupled to the processor such that the processor may read information from, and write information to, the storage medium) Para [0081]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 11.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 7 and Claim 12, Kwok in view of Francesco, Kwok-Francesco hereinafter, discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 6 and 11, respectively, as discussed above. Further Kwok discloses wherein when the network standard according to which the electronic device operates is the first network standard, adjusting the switching frequency of the voltage conversion chip to improve the isolation of the first power amplifier comprises: when the network standard according to which the electronic device operates is the first network standard (i.e. , the first operating condition is based on a current operating technology mode (i.e. network standard) (GSM, CDMA, WCDMA, etc).) Para [0057], adjusting the switching frequency of the voltage conversion chip to a first switching frequency to improve the isolation of the first power amplifier (i.e. the switcher frequency, Fsw, of the switching voltage regulator 40, associated with a given technology mode, is adjusted such that it is greater than half the RF channel bandwidth (Fsw>Fch/2). This switcher frequency adjustment reduces or eliminates switcher voltage regulator 40 interference (i.e. improved isolation) on transceiver 20 from appearing on the baseband analog receive signals (RX I FILT and RX Q FILT in FIG. 2) and transmit signals (TX_I, TX_Q of FIG. 2).) Para [0058].
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 8 and Claim 13, Kwok-Francesco discloses all the limitations of claims 2, 7 and 12, respectively, as discussed above. Further Kwok discloses wherein when the network standard according to which the electronic device operates is the first network standard, adjusting the switching frequency of the voltage conversion chip to the first switching frequency to improve the isolation of the first power amplifier comprises: when the network standard according to which the electronic device operates is the first network standard, determining an operating mode of the first network standard (i.e. , the first operating condition is based on a current operating technology mode (i.e. network standard) (GSM, CDMA, WCDMA, etc).) Para [0057]; and when the operating mode of the first network standard is a time division duplex mode (i.e. Transceiver 20, while shown with just one transmit and receive signal processing block, may also exist with any combination of multiple receive blocks, multiple transmit blocks, or any number of possible transmit and receive signal processing block configurations. For example, transmit signal processor block 22 and receive signal processing block 24 are shown as separate functional blocks but may be combined to some extent in a half duplex (i.e. time division duplexing) radio device mode.) Para [0040, adjusting the switching frequency of the voltage conversion chip to the first switching frequency in a first time period to improve the isolation of the first power amplifier (i.e. the switcher frequency, Fsw, of the switching voltage regulator 40, associated with a given technology mode, is adjusted such that it is greater than half the RF channel bandwidth (Fsw>Fch/2). This switcher frequency adjustment reduces or eliminates switcher voltage regulator 40 interference (i.e. improved isolation) on transceiver 20 from appearing on the baseband analog receive signals (RX I FILT and RX Q FILT in FIG. 2) and transmit signals (TX_I, TX_Q of FIG. 2).) Para [0058], wherein the first time period is a slot for transmitting a radio frequency signal through the first network standard (i.e. Transceiver 20, while shown with just one transmit and receive signal processing block, may also exist with any combination of multiple receive blocks, multiple transmit blocks, or any number of possible transmit and receive signal processing block configurations) Para [0040].
The Examiner notes that Time Division Duplexing (TDD) is half-duplex by design (i.e. devices take turns using the same frequency in different periods to transmit and receive data), but switches between time slots fast enough to feel like full-duplex, Kwok teaches both half duplex and full-duplex modes
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 10 and Claim 15, Kwok-Francesco discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 6 and 11, respectively, as discussed above. Further Kwok discloses wherein the first power amplifier comprises a power network and a radio frequency network (i.e. Each frequency component is a harmonic of the switcher frequency, Fsw, of the switching voltage regulator 40. A power level of each harmonic is dependent on (i) the duty cycle of the switcher frequency, Fsw, of the switching voltage regulator 40) Para [0054]; and the improving the isolation of the first power amplifier comprises: improving an isolation between the power network and the radio frequency network (i.e. switching voltage regulator 40 is part of wireless communication device 10 of FIG. 1, the first operating condition is based on a current operating technology mode (GSM, CDMA, WCDMA, etc). Each technology mode has associated therewith a previously determined RF channel bandwidth (Fch). For GSM, the RF channel (i.e. radio frequency network) bandwidth (Fch gsm) is 200 kHz…the switcher frequency, Fsw, of the switching voltage regulator 40, associated with a given technology mode, is adjusted such that it is greater than half the RF channel bandwidth (Fsw>Fch/2). This switcher frequency adjustment reduces or eliminates switcher voltage regulator 40 interference on transceiver 20 from appearing on the baseband analog receive signals (RX I FILT and RX Q FILT in FIG. 2) and transmit signals (TX_I, TX_Q of FIG. 2) (i.e. the reduction/elimination of interference is the recited improved isolation for signals within network).) Para [0057-0058].
Claims 4, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwok (WO 2010065934 and Kwok hereinafter) in view of Francesco et al. (KR 20200099057 A and Francesco hereinafter) and further in view of Haverty (US 20090209196 A1 and Haverty hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 9, and Claim 14, Kwok-Francesco discloses all the limitations of claims 2 or 3, claims 7 or 8, and claims 12 or 13, respectively as discussed above. Further Kwok discloses wherein the first network standard is a GSM network standard (i.e. , the first operating condition is based on a current operating technology mode (i.e. network standard) (GSM, CDMA, WCDMA, etc).) Para [0057],
Kwok-Francesco don’t explicitly teach
the first switching frequency is 1.2 MHz.
However in a similar field of endeavor Haverty suggests
and the first switching frequency is 1.2 MHz. (i.e. a GSM TSC override waveform operating on from 1 to 6 frequency contiguous channels having between a 200 kHz and 1.2 MHz of bandwidth) Para [0236]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kwok-Francesco with the teachings suggested by Haverty. The motivation would be to minimize power consumption and collateral interference, see Haverty at Abstract.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shen (US 20230361806 A1) “RADIO FREQUENCY POWER SUPPLY ADJUSTMENT METHOD, APPARATUS AND DEVICE, AND STORAGE MEDIUM” (November 9, 2023) is directed to a radio frequency power supply adjustment method, apparatus and device, and a storage medium; where the method includes acquiring radio frequency interference information (S1100); determining, according to the radio frequency interference information, related information between the radio frequency interference information and a radio frequency power supply status (S1200); and adjusting the radio frequency power supply status according to the related information (S1300).
Conclusion
/IYONDA L LEWIS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Iyonda.Lewis@USPTO.gov
/Alison Slater/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647