DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 12/24/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-6 are pending. Claims 5-6 are withdrawn for further consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-4, in the reply filed on 5/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would not be a serious search burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because although there may be some overlap of the search for the inventions there is nothing to indicate that the search would be coextensive. Further the examination on the merits of apparatus claims differs from that of method claims. Therefore the extra search and/or examination burden for addressing multiple inventions poses a serious burden to the examiner which makes the restriction requirement proper.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5-6 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/26/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by OZAKI et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2025/0046897), hereinafter OZAKI.
Regarding claim 1, OZAKI teaches: A peeling method for a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode mixture material for peeling the positive electrode mixture material from the positive electrode current collector (OZAKI teaches a separating method for separating an electrode component into a plurality of elements made of different materials [Abstract; 0013].), the peeling method comprising: effecting induction heating in the positive electrode current collector to dissolve or vaporize a binder of the positive electrode mixture material bonded to the positive electrode current collector (OZAKI teaches the electrode component may be a positive electrode component made of a plurality of materials, the positive electrode component may be configured of a thin film-like positive electrode aluminum material (a positive electrode current collector) and a layer of a positive electrode active material provided on a surface of the positive electrode aluminum material, and the discharge part may be configured to separate the positive electrode aluminum material and the positive electrode active material by the electric pulse discharge, to thereby cause the positive electrode active material to sink downward, indicating it forms a liquid consistency [0013].).
Regarding claim 3, OZAKI teaches: wherein a site where the induction heating is effected is moved (OZAKI teaches the discharge part (11) performs the electric pulse discharge a predetermined number of times on the cut pieces of the electrode components of the battery placed on the placement member (22). The discharge part (11) forms an electrical path during the electric pulse discharge through layers of the cut pieces disposed on the placement member (22) [0046; Fig. 2].).
Regarding claim 4, OZAKI teaches: wherein the induction heating is effected at a plurality of sites in the positive electrode current collector (OZAKI teaches the discharge part (11) performs the electric pulse discharge a predetermined number of times on the cut pieces of the electrode components of the battery placed on the placement member (22). The discharge part (11) forms an electrical path during the electric pulse discharge through layers of the cut pieces disposed on the placement member (22) [0046; Fig. 2].).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OZAKI et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2025/0046897), hereinafter OZAKI, in view of Bentaj et al. (U.S. 8,746,598), hereinafter BENTAJ.
Regarding claim 2, OZAKI teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but is silent as to: wherein a pulse current is made to flow through a magnetic field generating portion that effects the induction heating. In the same field of endeavor, electrodes, BENTAJ teaches a pulse current is made to flow through a magnetic field [Figs. 2-3; Col. 4, lines 54-55]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicants’ invention to modify OZAKI, by having the pulse current flow through a magnetic field, as suggested by BENTAJ, in order to cause a homogenization of the fragments while facilitating their separation [Col. 4, lines 62-64].
Conclusion
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748