DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 24 December 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-20 are now pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 12 December 2025 was/were filed before mailing of the first action on the merits. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-9, 11-12, 14, 16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Couture et al. (US 5,438,228), hereinafter referred to as “Couture”.
Regarding claim 1, Couture discloses an electric motor (fig. 1-2; col. 8, lines 4-14), comprising:
a stator [6] having a central axis [3] (fig. 1-2; col. 8, lines 9-24);
a rotor [10] circumscribing the stator [6], the rotor [10] configured to rotate relative to the stator [6] (fig. 1-2; col. 8, lines 21-24); and
a heat exchanger [13,34] coupled to the stator [6], the stator [6] circumscribing the heat exchanger [13,34], the heat exchanger [13,34] including a plurality of fins [38] extending in a radially inward direction away from the stator [6] and toward the central axis [3] (fig. 2; col. 9, lines 52-68).
Regarding claim 3, Couture discloses the electric motor of claim 1, as stated above, wherein respective ones of the plurality of fins [38] are axially oriented (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Couture discloses the electric motor of claim 1, as stated above, wherein respective ones of the plurality of fins [38] are spaced apart from the central axis by a uniform distance (fig. 2; those fins provided on circular member [34] are evenly spaced around the circumference between each of the arms [13]).
Regarding claim 6, Couture discloses the electric motor of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the plurality of fins [38] includes first respective ones of the plurality of fins [38] spaced apart from the central axis [3] by a first distance and second respective ones of the plurality of fins [38] spaced apart from the central axis [3] by a second distance different from the first distance (fig. 2; fins [38] provided on arms [13] are closer to the central axis than the fins [38] provided on circular member [34]).
Regarding claim 7, Couture discloses the electric motor of claim 1, as stated above, further comprising a disk [20] coupled to the rotor [10], the disk [20] configured to rotate with the rotor [10] as the rotor [10] rotates relative to the stator [6] (fig. 1; col. 9, lines 8-17), the disk [20] including an inner surface [112] that covers a side portion of the stator [6] and a side portion of the heat exchanger [13,34], the disk [20] further including a plurality of blades [114] extending in an axially inward direction away from the inner surface [112] and toward the heat exchanger [13,34] (fig. 1; col. 13, lines 7-20).
Regarding claim 8, Couture discloses the electric motor of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the heat exchanger [13,34] further includes an interface layer [34] located between the stator [6] and the plurality of fins [38] (fig. 2; col. 52-68).
Regarding claim 9, Couture discloses the electric motor of claim 8, as stated above, wherein the plurality of fins [38] and the interface layer [34] are formed from the same material (fig. 2; col. 52-68; both the fins and the interface layer are made “of an aluminum alloy”).
Regarding claim 11, Couture discloses the electric motor of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the stator [6] includes:
a core (fig. 1-2; col. 9, lines 2-6; the core comprises the “peripheral circular pole piece”);
a plurality of teeth [27] extending in a radially outward direction away from the core, respective ones of the plurality of teeth [27] being spaced apart from one another by respective ones of a plurality of slots (fig. 1-2; col. 9, lines 2-6; “metallic strips 27 wound with the coils 8”); and
a plurality of edgewise coils [8], respective ones of the plurality of edgewise coils [8] being radially loaded onto corresponding respective ones of the plurality of the teeth [27] (fig. 1-2; col. 9, lines 2-6).
Regarding claim 12, Couture discloses the electric motor of claim 11, as stated above, further comprising a plurality of extrusions [27] extending radially between the heat exchanger [13,34] and the respective ones of the plurality of edgewise coils [8] such that the respective ones of the plurality of edgewise coils [8] are directly thermally coupled to the heat exchanger [13,34] via respective ones of the plurality of extrusions [27] (fig. 1-2; as disclosed in the application, see fig. 8 and ¶ 0079-0080 thereof, the extrusions may be embodied by the uppermost layer of the stator laminations which is in direct contact with the stator coils).
Regarding claim 14, Couture discloses an in-wheel electric motor (fig. 1-2; col. 8, lines 4-14), comprising:
a stator [6] (fig. 1-2; col. 8, lines 9-24) including:
a core having a central axis [3] (fig. 1-2; col. 9, lines 2-6; the core comprises the “peripheral circular pole piece”);
a plurality of teeth [27] extending in a radially outward direction away from the core, respective ones of the plurality of teeth [27] being spaced apart from one another by respective ones of a plurality of slots (fig. 1-2; col. 9, lines 2-6; “metallic strips 27 wound with the coils 8”); and
a plurality of edgewise coils [8], respective ones of the plurality of edgewise coils [8] being radially loaded onto corresponding respective ones of the plurality of the teeth [27] (fig. 1-2; col. 9, lines 2-6);
a rotor [10] circumscribing the stator [6], the rotor [10] configured to rotate relative to the stator [6] (fig. 1-2; col. 8, lines 21-24); and
a heat exchanger [13,34] coupled to the stator [6], the stator [6] circumscribing the heat exchanger [13,34], the heat exchanger [13,34] including a plurality of fins [38] extending in a radially inward direction away from the stator [6] and toward the central axis [3] (fig. 2; col. 9, lines 52-68), the heat exchanger [13,34] further including an interface layer [34] located between the stator [6] and the plurality of fins [38] (fig. 2; col. 52-68).
Regarding claim 16, Couture discloses the in-wheel electric motor of claim 14, as stated above, wherein respective ones of the plurality of fins [38] are axially oriented (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Couture discloses the in-wheel electric motor of claim 14, as stated above, further comprising a disk [20] coupled to the rotor [10], the disk [20] configured to rotate with the rotor [10] as the rotor [10] rotates relative to the stator [6] (fig. 1; col. 9, lines 8-17), the disk [20] including an inner surface [112] that covers a side portion of the stator [6] and a side portion of the heat exchanger [13,34], the disk [20] further including a plurality of blades [114] extending in an axially inward direction away from the inner surface [112] and toward the heat exchanger [13,34] (fig. 1; col. 13, lines 7-20).
Regarding claim 19, Couture discloses the in-wheel electric motor of claim 14, as stated above, further comprising a plurality of extrusions [27] extending radially between the heat exchanger [13,34] and the respective ones of the plurality of edgewise coils [8] such that the respective ones of the plurality of edgewise coils [8] are directly thermally coupled to the heat exchanger [13,34] via respective ones of the plurality of extrusions [27] (fig. 1-2; as disclosed in the application, see fig. 8 and ¶ 0079-0080 thereof, the extrusions may be embodied by the uppermost layer of the stator laminations which is in direct contact with the stator coils).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Couture in view of Park et al. (US 2011/0031803 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Couture discloses the electric motor of claim 1, as stated above. Couture does not disclose that respective ones of the plurality of fins [38] are circumferentially oriented.
Park discloses an in-wheel electric motor comprising a heat exchanger [100] coupled to a stator [200] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0039-0043) having a plurality of fins [310f], wherein respective ones of the plurality of fins [310f] are circumferentially oriented (fig. 2; ¶ 0045-0048; fins are defined between each of the grooves 310).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the fins of Couture oriented circumferentially or helically as taught by Park, in order to enhance the heat exchange performance of the grooves (¶ 0048-0049 of Park). Further, it has been held that merely rearranging the essential working parts of a device would be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 4, Couture discloses the electric motor of claim 1, as stated above. Couture does not disclose that respective ones of the plurality of fins [38] are helically oriented.
Park discloses an in-wheel electric motor comprising a heat exchanger [100] coupled to a stator [200] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0039-0043) having a plurality of fins [310f], wherein respective ones of the plurality of fins [310f] are helically oriented (fig. 2; ¶ 0045-0048; fins are defined between each of the “spiral” grooves 310).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the fins of Couture oriented circumferentially or helically as taught by Park, in order to enhance the heat exchange performance of the grooves (¶ 0048-0049 of Park). Further, it has been held that merely rearranging the essential working parts of a device would be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 15, Couture discloses the electric motor of claim 14, as stated above. Couture does not disclose that respective ones of the plurality of fins [38] are circumferentially oriented.
Park discloses an in-wheel electric motor comprising a heat exchanger [100] coupled to a stator [200] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0039-0043) having a plurality of fins [310f], wherein respective ones of the plurality of fins [310f] are circumferentially oriented (fig. 2; ¶ 0045-0048; fins are defined between each of the grooves 310).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the fins of Couture oriented circumferentially or helically as taught by Park, in order to enhance the heat exchange performance of the grooves (¶ 0048-0049 of Park). Further, it has been held that merely rearranging the essential working parts of a device would be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 17, Couture discloses the electric motor of claim 14, as stated above. Couture does not disclose that respective ones of the plurality of fins [38] are helically oriented.
Park discloses an in-wheel electric motor comprising a heat exchanger [100] coupled to a stator [200] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0039-0043) having a plurality of fins [310f], wherein respective ones of the plurality of fins [310f] are helically oriented (fig. 2; ¶ 0045-0048; fins are defined between each of the “spiral” grooves 310).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the fins of Couture oriented circumferentially or helically as taught by Park, in order to enhance the heat exchange performance of the grooves (¶ 0048-0049 of Park). Further, it has been held that merely rearranging the essential working parts of a device would be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Claim(s) 10, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Couture in view of Lieber (US 2021/0351668 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Lieber”.
Regarding claim 10, Couture discloses the electric motor of claim 8, as stated above. Couture does not disclose that the plurality of fins [38] and the interface layer [34] are formed from different materials.
Lieber discloses an in-wheel electric motor comprising a stator [S] and a heat exchanger [OT] having an interface layer [R] located between the stator [S] and the heat exchanger [OT] (fig. 5; ¶ 0056-0057, 0062); wherein the heat exchanger [OT] and the interface layer [R] are formed from different materials (¶ 0057, 0062; interface layer is made from a “ferromagnetic material”, while the heat exchanger is made of “aluminum”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the heat exchanger, including the fins, of Couture from a different material than the interface layer as taught by Lieber, in order to improve the axial heat conduction thereby providing the stator with greater stability (¶ 0062 of Lieber).
Regarding claim 13, Couture discloses the electric motor of claim 11, as stated above. Couture does not disclose a plurality of heat pipes extending axially between the respective ones of the plurality of edgewise coils [8], wherein the heat exchanger [13,34] further includes an end plate extending radially between an interface layer of the heat exchanger and the respective ones of the plurality of heat pipes such that the respective ones of the plurality of edgewise coils [8] are directly thermally coupled to the interface layer [34] of the heat exchanger [13,34] via the end plate and the respective ones of the plurality of heat pipes.
Lieber discloses an in-wheel electric motor comprising a stator [S] with edgewise coils [5] and a heat exchanger [OT] (fig. 5; ¶ 0056-0057, 0062), further comprising a plurality of heat pipes [HP] extending axially between the respective ones of the plurality of edgewise coils [5] (fig. 5; ¶ 0057-0058),
wherein the heat exchanger [OT] further includes an end plate [WI] extending radially between an interface layer [R] of the heat exchanger [OT] and the respective ones of the plurality of heat pipes [HP] (fig. 2, 5; ¶ 0042-0043, 0056-0058) such that the respective ones of the plurality of edgewise coils [5] are directly thermally coupled to the interface layer [R] of the heat exchanger [OT] via the end plate [WI] and the respective ones of the plurality of heat pipes [HP] (¶ 0043).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the heat exchanger of Couture including and end plate and heat pipes as taught by Lieber, in order to provide efficient axial cooling in a weight-optimized manner thereby contributing to a thermal optimization of the stator (¶ 0063 of Lieber).
Regarding claim 20, Couture discloses the in-wheel electric motor of claim 14, as stated above. Couture does not disclose a plurality of heat pipes extending axially between the respective ones of the plurality of edgewise coils [8], wherein the heat exchanger [13,34] further includes an end plate extending radially between an interface layer of the heat exchanger and the respective ones of the plurality of heat pipes such that the respective ones of the plurality of edgewise coils [8] are directly thermally coupled to the interface layer [34] of the heat exchanger [13,34] via the end plate and the respective ones of the plurality of heat pipes.
Lieber discloses an in-wheel electric motor comprising a stator [S] with edgewise coils [5] and a heat exchanger [OT] (fig. 5; ¶ 0056-0057, 0062), further comprising a plurality of heat pipes [HP] extending axially between the respective ones of the plurality of edgewise coils [5] (fig. 5; ¶ 0057-0058),
wherein the heat exchanger [OT] further includes an end plate [WI] extending radially between an interface layer [R] of the heat exchanger [OT] and the respective ones of the plurality of heat pipes [HP] (fig. 2, 5; ¶ 0042-0043, 0056-0058) such that the respective ones of the plurality of edgewise coils [5] are directly thermally coupled to the interface layer [R] of the heat exchanger [OT] via the end plate [WI] and the respective ones of the plurality of heat pipes [HP] (¶ 0043).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the heat exchanger of Couture including and end plate and heat pipes as taught by Lieber, in order to provide efficient axial cooling in a weight-optimized manner thereby contributing to a thermal optimization of the stator (¶ 0063 of Lieber).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Tangudu et al. (US 2019/0157922 A1) discloses an electric motor comprising a stator with a plurality of axially and circumferentially oriented fins.
Roberts (US 2019/0020230 A1) discloses an in-wheel electric motor comprising a rotor circumscribed around a stator, the stator having radially outward facing teeth wound with coils and radially inwardly facing projections.
Doerksen et al. (US 2017/0257008 A1) discloses an in-wheel electric motor comprising a rotor circumscribed around a stator, the stator having radially outward facing teeth wound with coils and radially inwardly facing fins separating axially oriented cooling channels.
Conclusion
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834