DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-3, 8-10 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Manolakos et al (2024/0205870).
Regarding claim 1. Manolakos teaches a method for determining a sensing node, applicable to a first device, the method comprising:
receiving a sensing request message from a second device, the sensing request message comprising information of an area of interest (AOI), wherein the AOI is an area to be measured in sensing measurement (0007, figure 10, 0151 wherein UE (e.g., first UE/device) receives a positioning request from a target UE (e.g, second UE/device), the positioning request including a zone identifier (e.g., AOI) and based on the first UE/device being outside a minimum positioning range (Min-PR) and within a maximum positioning range (Max-PR) of the target UE, determining whether to transmit a positioning response to the target UE, and based on the UE being within the Min-PR of target UE, transmitting the position response to the target UE, figure 10, 0152 – UEs outside of the minimum positioning range 1010 but within the maximum positioning range 1020 have the option of participating in the positioning session with the transmitting UE 1004-1, figure 10, 0153 – receiver UEs outside the maximum positioning range 1020 are not expected to, and should not, participate in a positioning session with the transmitter UE 1004-1, 0154-0155 – a receiver UE may determine whether it is within the minimum positioning range 1010, outside the minimum positioning range 1010 but within the maximum positioning range 1020, or outside the maximum positioning rage 1020 based on the zone ID of the transmitter UE 1004-1 and is own zone ID or GPS location); and
transmitting a feedback message to the second device based on position information of the first device and the information of the AOI, wherein the feedback message is for determining the sensing node participating in the sensing measurement (0007, figure 10, 0151 wherein UE (e.g., first UE/device) receives a positioning request from a target UE (e.g, second UE/device), the positioning request including a zone identifier (e.g., AOI) and based on the first UE/device being outside a minimum positioning range (Min-PR) and within a maximum positioning range (Max-PR) of the target UE, determining whether to transmit a positioning response to the target UE, and based on the UE being within the Min-PR of target UE, transmitting the position response to the target UE, figure 10, 0152 – UEs outside of the minimum positioning range 1010 but within the maximum positioning range 1020 have the option of participating in the positioning session with the transmitting UE 1004-1, figure 10, 0153 – receiver UEs outside the maximum positioning range 1020 are not expected to, and should not, participate in a positioning session with the transmitter UE 1004-1, 0154-0155 – a receiver UE may determine whether it is within the minimum positioning range 1010, outside the minimum positioning range 1010 but within the maximum positioning range 1020, or outside the maximum positioning rage 1020 based on the zone ID of the transmitter UE 1004-1 and is own zone ID or GPS location).
Regarding claim 8. Manolakos teaches a method for determining a sensing node, applicable to a second device, the method comprising:
transmitting a sensing request message to a first device, the sensing request message comprising information of an area of interest (AOI), wherein the AOI is an area to be measured in sensing measurement (0007, figure 10, 0151 wherein UE (e.g., first UE/device) receives a positioning request from a target UE (e.g, second UE/device), the positioning request including a zone identifier (e.g., AOI) and based on the first UE/device being outside a minimum positioning range (Min-PR) and within a maximum positioning range (Max-PR) of the target UE, determining whether to transmit a positioning response to the target UE, and based on the UE being within the Min-PR of target UE, transmitting the position response to the target UE, figure 10, 0152 – UEs outside of the minimum positioning range 1010 but within the maximum positioning range 1020 have the option of participating in the positioning session with the transmitting UE 1004-1, figure 10, 0153 – receiver UEs outside the maximum positioning range 1020 are not expected to, and should not, participate in a positioning session with the transmitter UE 1004-1, 0154-0155 – a receiver UE may determine whether it is within the minimum positioning range 1010, outside the minimum positioning range 1010 but within the maximum positioning range 1020, or outside the maximum positioning rage 1020 based on the zone ID of the transmitter UE 1004-1 and is own zone ID or GPS location);
receiving a feedback message from the first device; and determining, based on the feedback message, the sensing node participating in the sensing measurement (0007, figure 10, 0151 wherein UE (e.g., first UE/device) receives a positioning request from a target UE (e.g, second UE/device), the positioning request including a zone identifier (e.g., AOI) and based on the first UE/device being outside a minimum positioning range (Min-PR) and within a maximum positioning range (Max-PR) of the target UE, determining whether to transmit a positioning response to the target UE, and based on the UE being within the Min-PR of target UE, transmitting the position response to the target UE, figure 10, 0152 – UEs outside of the minimum positioning range 1010 but within the maximum positioning range 1020 have the option of participating in the positioning session with the transmitting UE 1004-1, figure 10, 0153 – receiver UEs outside the maximum positioning range 1020 are not expected to, and should not, participate in a positioning session with the transmitter UE 1004-1, 0154-0155 – a receiver UE may determine whether it is within the minimum positioning range 1010, outside the minimum positioning range 1010 but within the maximum positioning range 1020, or outside the maximum positioning rage 1020 based on the zone ID of the transmitter UE 1004-1 and is own zone ID or GPS location).
Regarding claim 15. Manolakos teaches a terminal device, comprising: a processor, a transceiver connected to the processor, and a memory storing one or more executable instructions, which, when executed by the processor (0010, 0088-0089 – wherein UE has processor, memory, transceiver and program), the terminal device is configured to:
receive a sensing request message from a second device, the sensing request message comprising information of an area of interest (AOI), wherein the AOI is an area to be measured in sensing measurement (0007, figure 10, 0151 wherein UE (e.g., first UE/device) receives a positioning request from a target UE (e.g, second UE/device), the positioning request including a zone identifier (e.g., AOI) and based on the first UE/device being outside a minimum positioning range (Min-PR) and within a maximum positioning range (Max-PR) of the target UE, determining whether to transmit a positioning response to the target UE, and based on the UE being within the Min-PR of target UE, transmitting the position response to the target UE, figure 10, 0152 – UEs outside of the minimum positioning range 1010 but within the maximum positioning range 1020 have the option of participating in the positioning session with the transmitting UE 1004-1, figure 10, 0153 – receiver UEs outside the maximum positioning range 1020 are not expected to, and should not, participate in a positioning session with the transmitter UE 1004-1, 0154-0155 – a receiver UE may determine whether it is within the minimum positioning range 1010, outside the minimum positioning range 1010 but within the maximum positioning range 1020, or outside the maximum positioning rage 1020 based on the zone ID of the transmitter UE 1004-1 and is own zone ID or GPS location); and
transmit a feedback message to the second device based on position information of a first device and the information of the AOI, wherein the feedback message is for determining a sensing node participating in the sensing measurement (0007, figure 10, 0151 wherein UE (e.g., first UE/device) receives a positioning request from a target UE (e.g, second UE/device), the positioning request including a zone identifier (e.g., AOI) and based on the first UE/device being outside a minimum positioning range (Min-PR) and within a maximum positioning range (Max-PR) of the target UE, determining whether to transmit a positioning response to the target UE, and based on the UE being within the Min-PR of target UE, transmitting the position response to the target UE, figure 10, 0152 – UEs outside of the minimum positioning range 1010 but within the maximum positioning range 1020 have the option of participating in the positioning session with the transmitting UE 1004-1, figure 10, 0153 – receiver UEs outside the maximum positioning range 1020 are not expected to, and should not, participate in a positioning session with the transmitter UE 1004-1, 0154-0155 – a receiver UE may determine whether it is within the minimum positioning range 1010, outside the minimum positioning range 1010 but within the maximum positioning range 1020, or outside the maximum positioning rage 1020 based on the zone ID of the transmitter UE 1004-1 and is own zone ID or GPS location).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16. Manolakos teaches wherein the information of the AOI comprises at least one of:
coordinates of reference points of the AOI and a radius of the AOI; coordinates of reference points of the AOI, a length of the AOI, and a width of the AOI; or at least one zone identifier, indicating a geographic zone (0007-0009 – Zone identifier which indicates a geographic zone, 0146 – a UE (whether target or assisting) determines an identity of the zone (i.e., Zone ID) in which it is located using the following formulas, figure 10, 0151-0155).
Regarding claims 3 and 17. Manolakos teaches wherein transmitting the feedback message to the second device based on the position information of the first device and the information of the AOI comprises: transmitting a first feedback message to the second device in a case that the position information of the first device belongs to the AOI, wherein the first feedback message is for indicating that the first device participates in the sensing measurement (0007, figure 10, 0151 wherein UE (e.g., first UE/device) receives a positioning request from a target UE (e.g, second UE/device), the positioning request including a zone identifier (e.g., AOI) and based on the first UE/device being outside a minimum positioning range (Min-PR) and within a maximum positioning range (Max-PR) of the target UE, determining whether to transmit a positioning response to the target UE, and based on the UE being within the Min-PR of target UE, transmitting the position response to the target UE, figure 10, 0152 – UEs outside of the minimum positioning range 1010 but within the maximum positioning range 1020 have the option of participating in the positioning session with the transmitting UE 1004-1, figure 10, 0153 – receiver UEs outside the maximum positioning range 1020 are not expected to, and should not, participate in a positioning session with the transmitter UE 1004-1, 0154-0155 – a receiver UE may determine whether it is within the minimum positioning range 1010, outside the minimum positioning range 1010 but within the maximum positioning range 1020, or outside the maximum positioning rage 1020 based on the zone ID of the transmitter UE 1004-1 and is own zone ID or GPS location).
Regarding claim 10. Manolakos teaches wherein: receiving the feedback message from the first device comprises: receiving a first feedback message from the first device, wherein the first feedback message is for indicating that position information of the first device belongs to the AOI; and determining, based on the feedback message, the sensing node participating in the sensing measurement comprises: determining, based on the first feedback message, the first device as the sensing node participating in the sensing measurement (0007, figure 10, 0151 wherein UE (e.g., first UE/device) receives a positioning request from a target UE (e.g, second UE/device), the positioning request including a zone identifier (e.g., AOI) and based on the first UE/device being outside a minimum positioning range (Min-PR) and within a maximum positioning range (Max-PR) of the target UE, determining whether to transmit a positioning response to the target UE, and based on the UE being within the Min-PR of target UE, transmitting the position response to the target UE, figure 10, 0152 – UEs outside of the minimum positioning range 1010 but within the maximum positioning range 1020 have the option of participating in the positioning session with the transmitting UE 1004-1, figure 10, 0153 – receiver UEs outside the maximum positioning range 1020 are not expected to, and should not, participate in a positioning session with the transmitter UE 1004-1, 0154-0155 – a receiver UE may determine whether it is within the minimum positioning range 1010, outside the minimum positioning range 1010 but within the maximum positioning range 1020, or outside the maximum positioning rage 1020 based on the zone ID of the transmitter UE 1004-1 and is own zone ID or GPS location)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos in view of Keating et al (2024/0022375).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19. Manolakos does not teach wherein transmitting the feedback message to the second device based on the position information of the first device and the information of the AOI comprises: transmitting a second feedback message to the second device in a case that the position information of the first device does not belong to the AOI, wherein the second feedback message is for indicating that the first device does not participate in the sensing measurement.
Keating teaches UE determines multiple positioning terminals to function as positioning terminal devices using ACK/NAK (0106-0107) and upon receipt of the negative conformation for the first message from the third UE, the first UE may be aware that the third UE cannot function as a positioning terminal device (0111) and the first UE may directly stop the current positioning procedure in response to receiving the negative confirmation (0112, 0115) thereby avoiding unnecessary subsequent interactions (0117-0118).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manolakos to use ACK/NAK as taught by Keating in order to enable the first UE to quickly determine other UEs to participate in SL positioning.
3. Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos in view of Hu et al (2024/0397470).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20. Manolakos does not teach wherein the position information of the first device is acquired by a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) or mobile communication positioning.
Hu teaches to select at least one anchor UE for SL positioning from one or more candidate SL anchor UEs, the processor is configured to give a candidate SL anchor UE supporting global navigation satellite system (GNSS) positioning mode a higher priority to be selected than a candidate SL anchor UE supporting RAT-dependent positioning mode, and/or give a candidate SL anchor UE supporting wider bandwidth a higher priority to be selected than a candidate SL anchor UE supporting a narrower bandwidth (0020, 0054, 0151, 0196).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Manolakos to give a candidate SL anchor UE supporting GNSS positioning mode a higher priority than a candidate SL anchor UE supporting RAT-dependent positioning mode as taught by Hu thereby providing for more accurate SL positioning.
4. Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos in view of HU further in view of Yeo et al (2022/0183002).
Regarding claims 7 and 14. Manolakos in view of Hu do not teach wherein transmitting the feedback message to the second device based on the position information of the first device and the information of the AOI comprises: transmitting the feedback message to the second device based on the position information of the first device and the information of the AOI in a case that the position information of the first device is valid information.
Yeo teaches the UE may determine whether to transmit feedback information for sidelink groupcast data received from the other terminal, based on the location information and the measurement information. For example, the UE may determine whether the SL groupcast data is valid data for terminal based on the measurement information and the location information, and if it is the valid data, the UE may determine to transmit the feedback information. By contrast, if it is not the valid data, the UE may determine not to transmit the feedback information (0340).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Manolakos in view of Hu to determine if the SL feedback data is valid before transmitting the SL feedback data as taught by Yeo thereby providing for more accurate SL positioning.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 4, 11 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
---(2024/0422725) Vogedes teaches ValidityTimeReporting as a field to indicate the validity time or range of time that SL positioning reporting is valid (Table 21).
/BARRY W TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646