Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,856,785 (Schwenk et al.) (hereinafter “Schwenk”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,772,202 (Singer et al.) (hereinafter “Singer”), and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 7,631,868 (Dunham) (hereinafter “Dunham”).
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 1-4 of Schwenk show a sheet bundle transport apparatus (Fig. 2) comprising:
a first transport unit (one element 431) formed extending in a transport direction and configured to transport a plurality of sheet bundles in the transport direction (right in Fig. 2);
a second transport unit (other element 431) arranged spaced apart from the first transport unit (one element 431) in a width direction orthogonal to the transport direction (right), formed extending in the transport direction (right), and configured to transport the plurality of sheet bundles in the transport direction (right);
an abutment unit (including 415) configured to vertically move an abutment member (415) to perform switching between an abutment state (closed) and a non-abutment state (open), the abutment state (closed) being a state where an end of a sheet bundle of the sheet bundles is abutted against the abutment member (415) at a predetermined position in the transport direction (right), and the non-abutment state (open) being a state where the end of the sheet bundle is not abutted against the abutment member (415) at the predetermined position;
a first press unit (including one element 429) arranged above the first transport unit (one element 431) with the sheet bundle being interposed between the first transport unit (one element 431) and the first press unit (including one element 429) and configured to press the sheet bundle against the first transport unit (one element 431) via a first rotating member (422) that is rotatable about a first rotary shaft (434) extending in the width direction;
a second press unit (including other element 429) arranged above the second transport unit (other element 431) with the sheet bundle being interposed between the second transport unit (other element 431) and the second press unit (including other element 429) and configured to press the sheet bundle against the second transport unit (other element 431) via a second rotating member (438) that is rotatable about a second rotary shaft (unnumbered shaft on element 438 connected to element 425 by dotted lines in Fig. 5) extending in the width direction. Schwenk teaches most of the limitations of this claim including the abutment unit (including 415), but does not show that the abutment unit is arranged between the first transport unit and the second transport unit with respect to the width direction, as claimed. Also, Schwenk does not show a press switching unit or a control unit, as claimed.
Singer shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a sheet transport apparatus (Fig. 2) with an abutment unit (including 32) arranged between a first transport unit (21) and a second transport unit (21) with respect to a width direction and configured to vertically move an abutment member (32) to perform switching between an abutment state (up) and a non-abutment state (down), the abutment state (up) being a state where an end of a sheet is abutted against the abutment member (32) at a predetermined position in a transport direction, and the non-abutment state (down) being a state where the end of the sheet is not abutted against the abutment member (32) at the predetermined position. Because both Singer and Schwenk teach abutment units that act as controlled stops, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the abutment arrangement between the first and second transport units for the abutment unit of Schwenk to achieve the predictable result of stopping sheets.
Dunham shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a sheet transport apparatus (Fig. 1) with a press switching unit (Figs. 6 and 9) configured to perform switching between a first press state (Fig. 7) and a second press state (Fig. 9), the first press state (Fig. 7) being a state where a first press unit (right element 129 in Fig. 9) and a second press unit (left element 129 in Fig. 9) press a sheet bundle in a predetermined region (at 190) located upstream from a predetermined position in a transport direction (right in Fig. 2), and the second press state (Fig. 9) being a state where the first press unit (right element 129) does not press the sheet bundle in the predetermined region (at 190) and the second press unit (left element 129) presses the sheet bundle in the predetermined region (at 190); and
a control unit (Lines 45-61 in column 2) configured to control an abutment unit (115) and the press switching unit (Figs. 6 and 9) to switch the non-abutment state (open) to the abutment state (closed) and switch the first press state (Fig. 7) to the second press state (Fig. 9) so as to change an angle relative to the width direction of a predetermined sheet bundle out of the plurality of sheet bundles being continuously transported. The abstract explains that this arrangement allows independent pivoting of parts of the press switching unit (Figs. 6 and 9) to ensure even drive force on sheets. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the apparatus of Schwenk in view of Singer with a press switching unit and controller, for the purpose of ensuring even drive force on sheets, as taught by Dunham.
Regarding claim 2, Figs. 5-6 of Dunham show that the first press unit (including one element 429) has a pair of first press rollers (429 and one roller on 137) and a first press belt (132) stretched around the pair of first press rollers (429 and one roller on 137), and wherein the second press unit (including other element 429) has a pair of second press rollers (429 and other roller on 137) and a second press belt (132) stretched around the pair of second press rollers (429 and other roller on 137).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Figs. 7 and 9 of Dunham show that in the first press state (Fig. 7), the press switching unit (Figs. 6 and 9) forms a state where both of the pair of first press rollers (429 and one roller on 137) press the sheet bundle via the first press belt (132), and in the second press state (Fig. 9), the press switching unit (Figs. 6 and 9) forms a state where the first press roller (including one roller 129) arranged upstream in the transport direction does not press the sheet bundle and the second press roller (including other roller 129) presses, via the second press belt (132), the sheet bundle located upstream from the predetermined position in the transport direction at which an abutment member (115) is arranged.
3. Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 7,959,146 (Gerlier et al.) (hereinafter “Gerlier”) in view of Singer, and further in view of Dunham.
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 1-7C of Gerlier show a sheet bundle transport apparatus (Fig. 4A) comprising:
a first transport unit (including 120, 120 and 120) formed extending in a transport direction and configured to transport a plurality of sheet bundles in the transport direction (left in Fig. 6B);
a second transport unit (122, 122 and 122) arranged spaced apart from the first transport unit (120, 120 and 120) in a width direction orthogonal to the transport direction (left), formed extending in the transport direction (left), and configured to transport the plurality of sheet bundles in the transport direction (left);
an abutment unit (including 150) configured to vertically move an abutment member (150) to perform switching between an abutment state (closed) and a non-abutment state (open), the abutment state (closed) being a state where an end of a sheet bundle of the sheet bundles is abutted against the abutment member (150) at a predetermined position in the transport direction (left), and the non-abutment state (open) being a state where the end of the sheet bundle is not abutted against the abutment member (150) at the predetermined position;
a first press unit (including 72a-72d and 76) arranged above the first transport unit (including 120, 120 and 120) with the sheet bundle being interposed between the first transport unit (including 120, 120 and 120) and the first press unit (including 72a-72d and 76) and configured to press the sheet bundle against the first transport unit (including 120, 120 and 120) via a first rotating member (84) that is rotatable about a first rotary shaft (90) extending in the width direction;
a second press unit (including 74a-74d and 78) arranged above the second transport unit (122, 122 and 122) with the sheet bundle being interposed between the second transport unit (122, 122 and 122) and the second press unit (including 74a-74d and 78) and configured to press the sheet bundle against the second transport unit (122, 122 and 122) via a second rotating member (82) that is rotatable about a second rotary shaft (94) extending in the width direction. Gerlier teaches most of the limitations of this claim including the abutment unit (including 150), but does not show that the abutment unit is arranged between the first transport unit and the second transport unit with respect to the width direction, as claimed. Also, Gerlier does not show a press switching unit or a control unit, as claimed.
Singer shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a sheet transport apparatus (Fig. 2) with an abutment unit (including 32) arranged between a first transport unit (21) and a second transport unit (21) with respect to a width direction and configured to vertically move an abutment member (32) to perform switching between an abutment state (up) and a non-abutment state (down), the abutment state (up) being a state where an end of a sheet is abutted against the abutment member (32) at a predetermined position in a transport direction, and the non-abutment state (down) being a state where the end of the sheet is not abutted against the abutment member (32) at the predetermined position. Because both Singer and Gerlier teach abutment units that act as controlled stops, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the abutment arrangement between the first and second transport units for the abutment unit of Gerlier to achieve the predictable result of stopping sheets.
Dunham shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a sheet transport apparatus (Fig. 1) with a press switching unit (Figs. 6 and 9) configured to perform switching between a first press state (Fig. 7) and a second press state (Fig. 9), the first press state (Fig. 7) being a state where a first press unit (right element 129 in Fig. 9) and a second press unit (left element 129 in Fig. 9) press a sheet bundle in a predetermined region (at 190) located upstream from a predetermined position in a transport direction (right in Fig. 2), and the second press state (Fig. 9) being a state where the first press unit (right element 129) does not press the sheet bundle in the predetermined region (at 190) and the second press unit (left element 129) presses the sheet bundle in the predetermined region (at 190); and
a control unit (Lines 45-61 in column 2) configured to control an abutment unit (115) and the press switching unit (Figs. 6 and 9) to switch the non-abutment state (up) to the abutment state (down) and switch the first press state (Fig. 7) to the second press state (Fig. 9) so as to change an angle relative to the width direction of a predetermined sheet bundle out of the plurality of sheet bundles being continuously transported. The abstract explains that this arrangement allows independent pivoting of parts of the press switching unit (Figs. 6 and 9) to ensure even drive force on sheets. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the apparatus of Gerlier in view of Singer with a press switching unit and controller, for the purpose of ensuring even drive force on sheets, as taught by Dunham.
Regarding claim 2, Figs. 2 and 5 of Gerlier show that the first press unit (including 72a-d and 76) has a pair of first press rollers (72b and 72d) and a first press belt (76) stretched around the pair of first press rollers (72b and 72d), and wherein the second press unit (including 74a-74d and 78) has a pair of second press rollers (74b and 74d) and a second press belt (78) stretched around the pair of second press rollers (74b and 74d).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Figs. 7 and 9 of Dunham show that in the first press state (Fig. 7), the press switching unit (Figs. 6 and 9) forms a state where both of a pair of first press rollers (429 and one roller on 137) press the sheet bundle via a first press belt (132), and in the second press state (Fig. 9), the press switching unit (Figs. 6 and 9) forms a state where a first press roller (one roller 129) arranged upstream in the transport direction does not press the sheet bundle and a second press roller (other roller 129) presses, via a second press belt (132), the sheet bundle located upstream from the predetermined position in the transport direction at which an abutment member (115) is arranged. This same operation would be utilized on the apparatus of Gerlier in view of Singer, according to the teachings of Dunham.
Regarding claim 5, Figs. 1-7C of Gerlier disclose a control method of a sheet bundle transport apparatus (Fig. 4A), wherein the sheet bundle transport apparatus (Fig. 4A) has
a first transport unit (including 120, 120 and 120) formed extending in a transport direction and configured to transport a plurality of sheet bundles in the transport direction (left in Fig. 6B);
a second transport unit (122, 122 and 122) arranged spaced apart from the first transport unit (120, 120 and 120) in a width direction orthogonal to the transport direction (left), formed extending in the transport direction (left), and configured to transport the plurality of sheet bundles in the transport direction (left);
an abutment unit (including 150) configured to vertically move an abutment member (150) to perform switching between an abutment state (closed) and a non-abutment state (open), the abutment state (closed) being a state where an end of a sheet bundle of the sheet bundles is abutted against the abutment member (150) at a predetermined position in the transport direction (left), and the non-abutment state (open) being a state where the end of the sheet bundle is not abutted against the abutment member (150) at the predetermined position;
a first press unit (including 72a-72d and 76) arranged above the first transport unit (including 120, 120 and 120) with the sheet bundle being interposed between the first transport unit (including 120, 120 and 120) and the first press unit (including 72a-72d and 76) and configured to press the sheet bundle against the first transport unit (including 120, 120 and 120) via a first rotating member (84) that is rotatable about a first rotary shaft (90) extending in the width direction;
a second press unit (including 74a-74d and 78) arranged above the second transport unit (122, 122 and 122) with the sheet bundle being interposed between the second transport unit (122, 122 and 122) and the second press unit (including 74a-74d and 78) and configured to press the sheet bundle against the second transport unit (122, 122 and 122) via a second rotating member (82) that is rotatable about a second rotary shaft (94) extending in the width direction. Gerlier teaches most of the limitations of this claim including the abutment unit (including 150), but does not show that the abutment unit is arranged between the first transport unit and the second transport unit with respect to the width direction, as claimed. Also, Gerlier does not teach a press switching unit, a first switching step or a second switching step, as claimed.
Singer shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a sheet transport apparatus (Fig. 2) with an abutment unit (including 32) arranged between a first transport unit (21) and a second transport unit (21) with respect to a width direction and configured to vertically move an abutment member (32) to perform switching between an abutment state (up) and a non-abutment state (down), the abutment state (up) being a state where an end of a sheet is abutted against the abutment member (32) at a predetermined position in a transport direction, and the non-abutment state (down) being a state where the end of the sheet is not abutted against the abutment member (32) at the predetermined position. Because both Singer and Gerlier teach abutment units that act as controlled stops, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the abutment arrangement between the first and second transport units for the abutment unit of Gerlier to achieve the predictable result of stopping sheets.
Dunham shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a sheet transport apparatus (Fig. 1) with a press switching unit (Figs. 6 and 9) configured to perform switching between a first press state (Fig. 7) and a second press state (Fig. 9), the first press state (Fig. 7) being a state where a first press unit (right element 129 in Fig. 9) and a second press unit (left element 129 in Fig. 9) press a sheet in a predetermined region (at 190) located upstream from a predetermined position in a transport direction (right in Fig. 2), and the second press state (Fig. 9) being a state where the first press unit (right element 129) does not press the sheet in the predetermined region (at 190) and the second press unit (left element 129) presses the sheet in the predetermined region (at 190); and a control unit (Lines 45-61 in column 2) configured to control an abutment unit (115) and the press switching unit (Figs. 6 and 9) to perform a control method comprising:
a first switching step of controlling the abutment unit (115) and the press switching unit (Figs. 6 and 9) to switch the non-abutment state (open) to the abutment state (closed) and switch the first press state (Fig. 7) to the second press state (Fig. 9) so as to change an angle relative to the width direction of a predetermined sheet out of the plurality of sheets being continuously transported; and
a second switching step of controlling the abutment unit (115) and the press switching unit (Figs. 6 and 9) to switch the abutment state (closed) to the non-abutment state (open) and switch the second press state (Fig. 9) to the first press state (Fig. 7). The abstract explains that this arrangement allows independent pivoting of parts of the press switching unit (Figs. 6 and 9) to ensure even drive force on sheets. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the apparatus of Gerlier in view of Singer with a press switching unit and control the operation of the press switching unit to perform the first and second switching steps, for the purpose of ensuring even drive force on sheets, as taught by Dunham.
Regarding claim 6, Figs. 2 and 5 of Gerlier show that the first press unit (including 72a-d and 76) has a pair of first press rollers (72b and 72d) and a first press belt (76) stretched around the pair of first press rollers (72b and 72d), and wherein the second press unit (including 74a-74d and 78) has a pair of second press rollers (74b and 74d) and a second press belt (78) stretched around the pair of second press rollers (74b and 74d).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Figs. 7 and 9 of Dunham show that in the first press state (Fig. 7), the press switching unit (Figs. 6 and 9) forms a state where both of a pair of first press rollers (429 and one roller on 137) press the sheet via a first press belt (132), and in the second press state (Fig. 9), the press switching unit (Figs. 6 and 9) forms a state where a first press roller (one roller 129) arranged upstream in the transport direction does not press the sheet and a second press roller (other roller 129) presses, via a second press belt (132), the sheet located upstream from the predetermined position in the transport direction at which an abutment member (115) is arranged. This same operation would be utilized on the apparatus of Gerlier in view of Singer to feed bundles, according to the teachings of Dunham.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 4 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THOMAS A MORRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653