DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on December 24, 2024 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form).
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 22, 24-26, 28-30 and 32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 11, 13, 15, 17 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,184,939. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 21, 22, 24-26, 28-30 and 32 are anticipated by the conflicting patented claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 11, 13, 15, 17 and 19 as shown in the table below. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting patented claim is that the conflicting patented claims are narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim. Thus, the species or sub-genus claimed in the conflicting patent anticipates the examined claimed genus. Therefore, a patent to the examined claim genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. See MPEP §804(II)(B)(1).
Instant Application 19/000,950
Patent No. 12,184,939
Claims 21, 25 and 29
Claims 1, 8 and 15
Claims 22, 26 and 30
Claims 4, 11 and 17
Claims 24, 28 and 32
Claims 6, 13 and 19
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nassiri (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0232024) in view of Alaia et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0162332).
Regarding claim 21, Nassiri discloses a computer-implemented method for sequencing respective offerings of a plurality of items to be offered in a live event, the method comprising (see paragraphs 0023-0026 and fig. 1; a live online auction system with auctioneer and bidder interfaces):
obtaining, via one or more processors, a predefined ordering of a plurality of items to be offered in a live event, the plurality of items being offered by a host user via a host device to a plurality of guest users via respective guest devices in the live event (see paragraph 0030 and fig. 2; auctioneer interface includes auction preview region 154 showing upcoming items with images and descriptions);
detecting, via one or more processors, a first offering of a first item of a plurality of items in the live event (see paragraphs 0028-0032 and fig. 2; streaming bid display region 140 shows current auction item and bids);
detecting, via one or more processors, an end of the first offering; responsive to detecting the end of the first offering (see paragraph 0033 and fig. 2; For example, the selection area 142 may include an accept current bid button element 144 which, when selected, causes the auction software to accept the current highest bid and end the auction, thereby awarding the auction item to the highest bidder);
responsive to detecting the end of the first offering, transmitting, to the host device, first communications to the host device to cause a user interface of the host device to display a control selectable to manually cause initiation of a second offering of a second item of the plurality of items, the second item being determined based on the predefined ordering (see paragraph 0037 and fig. 2; auctioneer interface includes next item button 150 to advance to the next item); and
responsive to receiving an indication of a selection of the control, initiating the second offering of the second item in the live event at least by transmitting, to each of the guest devices, second communications indicating information associated with the second offering of the second item (see paragraphs 0037, 0039 and fig. 5; when next item button is selected, information about the next item is transmitted to bidder interfaces).
However, Nassiri is silent as to automatically cause initiation of a second/subsequent offering.
In an analogous art, Alaia et al. discloses automatically cause initiation of a second/subsequent offering (see paragraph 0068; dynamic lot sequencing where subsequent lots are automatically adjusted and initiated based on closing times of prior lots).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nassiri with the teaching of Alaia et al., the motivation being reduce auctioneer workload and ensure timely sequencing.
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 21.
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 21.
Claims 22, 23, 26, 27, 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nassiri and Alaia et al. as applied to claims 21, 25 and 29 above, and further in view of O’Kelley et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0026588).
Regarding claims 22, 26 and 30, Nassiri and Alaia et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 21, 25 and 29). Nassiri discloses transmitting bid updates, reserve changes, and next item information from the auctioneer interface to bidder interfaces (see paragraphs 0025, 0030, 0039 and fig. 2, fig. 5).
However, Nassiri and Alaia et al. are silent as to a publish/subscribe messaging channel.
O’Kelley et al. discloses publish/subscribe messaging channel (see paragraphs 0004, 0022, 0068 and fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nassiri and Alaia et al. with the teaching of O’Kelley et al., the motivation being to distribute updates efficiently to all participants.
Regarding claims 23, 27 and 31, Nassiri and Alaia et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 21, 25 and 29). Nassiri discloses receiving from the host device, a real-time video stream associated with the live event; and transmitting to each of the guest devices, the real-time video stream associated with the live event (see paragraphs 0024-0025 and fig. 1).
However, Nassiri and Alaia et al. are silent as to a publish/subscribe messaging channel.
O’Kelley et al. discloses publish/subscribe messaging channel (see paragraphs 0004, 0022, 0068 and fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nassiri and Alaia et al. with the teaching of O’Kelley et al., the motivation being to distribute updates efficiently to all participants.
Claims 24, 28 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nassiri and Alaia et al. as applied to claims 21, 25 and 29 above, and further in view of Matthews et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0218502).
Regarding claims 24, 28 and 32, Nassiri and Alaia et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 21, 25 and 29). Nassiri discloses receiving from the host device, during the first offering, one or more interactions to control plurality of items (see paragraphs 0030, 0037, fig. 2); and responsive to receiving the one or more interactions, sequencing items in predefined order and advancing to the nest item (see paragraph 0037 and fig. 2).
However, Nassiri and Alaia et al. are silent as to receiving user interaction to pin an item and reordering items based on pinning interactions.
Matthews et al. discloses receiving user interaction to pin an item and reordering items based on pinning interactions (see paragraph 0049 and fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nassiri and Alaia et al. with the teaching of Matthews et al., the motivation being to improve usability and flexibility of live auctions.
Conclusion
NNENNA EKPO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/NNENNA N EKPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 January 31, 2026.