Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 30, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moretti (U.S. Publication No. 20200334335).
Regarding claim 1, Moretti discloses a golf system comprising:
one or more processing circuits configured to ([0020] - Telematics Controller 52 (processor) can be any type of device capable of processing electronic instructions including microprocessors, microcontrollers, host processors, controllers, vehicle communication processors, and application specific integrated circuits (ASICs)):
identify a first language for alerts provided at a golf vehicle ([0016] - Vehicle 12 is depicted in the illustrated embodiment as a passenger car, but it should be appreciated that any other vehicle including, but not limited to, motorcycles, trucks, busses, sports utility vehicles (SUVs), recreational vehicles (RVs), construction vehicles (e.g., bulldozers), trains, trolleys, marine vessels (e.g., boats), aircraft, helicopters, amusement park vehicles, farm equipment, golf carts, trams, etc., can also be used. [0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English);
generate an alert for a user of the golf vehicle in a second language different from the first language ([0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English);
translate the alert from the second language to the first language ([0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English);
and provide the alert in the first language to the user of the golf vehicle using at least one of a display device or a speaker of the golf vehicle ([0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English).
Regarding claim 2, Moretti discloses the golf system, wherein the one or more processing circuits include at least one of (i) a first processing circuit located on the golf vehicle or (ii) a second processing circuit located remote from the golf vehicle ([0020] - Telematics Controller 52 (processor) can be any type of device capable of processing electronic instructions including microprocessors, microcontrollers, host processors, controllers, vehicle communication processors, and application specific integrated circuits (ASICs)).
Regarding claim 3, Moretti discloses the golf system, wherein the alert is generated remote from the golf vehicle ([0022] - The navigation services can be provided using a dedicated in-vehicle navigation module (which can be part of GPS module 40), or some or all navigation services can be done via telematics unit 30, wherein the position information is sent to a remote location for purposes of providing the vehicle with navigation maps, map annotations (points of interest, restaurants, etc.), route calculations, and the like).
Regarding claim 4, Moretti discloses the golf system, wherein the golf vehicle is a first golf vehicle, and wherein the alert is generated at a second golf vehicle ([0017] - Telematics unit 30 can be an OEM-installed (embedded) or aftermarket transceiver device that is installed in the vehicle and that enables wireless voice and/or data communication over wireless carrier system 14 and via wireless networking. This enables the vehicle to communicate with data center 20, other telematics-enabled vehicles, or some other entity or device).
Regarding claim 5, Moretti discloses the golf system, wherein the alert includes a text alert provided to the user of the golf vehicle using the display device ([0048] - telematics unit 30 will produce the translated relevant information as an output in the interior of the vehicle 12. With additional reference to FIG. 4, in one embodiment, this output can be a text message notification produced on display 38. It should be understood that, as shown, the display can be a touch screen on the instrument panel or a heads-up display generating a HUD reflection 43 that appears on the surface of the windshield. In addition, the output can be a text message notification produced on the driver information center (DIC) 41).
Regarding claim 6, Moretti discloses the golf system, wherein the alert includes an audio alert provided to the user of the golf vehicle using the speaker ([0049] - the output can be an audio notification produced by the audio system 36. For example, the translated language of the street sign 99 can be announced by the speakers of audio system 36 for the vehicle occupant to hear and understand while they are passing by the sign 99. As follows, if the street sign 99 displays the speed limit is 55 mph in the Korean language, then the speakers of audio system 36 will announce in the vehicle interior that the speed limit is 55 mph in the English language).
Regarding claim 7, Moretti discloses the golf system, wherein the alert includes a video alert provided to the user of the golf vehicle using at least one of the display device or the speaker ([0021] - infotainment-related services where music, webpages, movies, television programs, videogames and/or other information is downloaded by an infotainment module (not shown) and is stored for current or later playback).
Regarding claim 8, Moretti discloses the golf system, wherein the alert is a first alert, and wherein the one or more processing circuits are configured to ([0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English):
generate a second alert in the first language ([0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English);
translate the second alert from the first language to the second language ([0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English);
and provide the second alert in the second language to an external device remote from the golf vehicle ([0022] - The navigation services can be provided using a dedicated in-vehicle navigation module (which can be part of GPS module 40), or some or all navigation services can be done via telematics unit 30, wherein the position information is sent to a remote location for purposes of providing the vehicle with navigation maps, map annotations (points of interest, restaurants, etc.), route calculations, and the like) [0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English).
Regarding claim 9, Moretti discloses the golf system, wherein the second alert is generated at the golf vehicle ([0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English).
Regarding claim 10, Moretti discloses the golf system, wherein the first language is identified based on a user profile of the user being associated with the golf vehicle ([0041] - method 200 begins at 201 in which one of the vehicle occupants (e.g., the vehicle's driver) provides their user translation preferences to the telematics unit 30 via display 38. For instance, the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language)).
Regarding claim 11, Moretti discloses the golf system, wherein the user profile of the user is associated with the golf vehicle using a user device remote from the golf vehicle ([0028] - the base station and cell tower could be co-located at the same site or they could be remotely located from one another, each base station could be responsible for a single cell tower or a single base station could service various cell towers, and various base stations could be coupled to a single MSC, to name but a few of the possible arrangements).
Regarding claim 12, Moretti discloses the golf system, wherein at least one of the one or more processing circuits is located on the golf vehicle, and wherein a translation capability associated with the first language and the second language in pre-emptively loaded onto the at least one of the one or more processing circuits prior to the user accessing the golf vehicle ([0035] - Machine translation module 95 can be implemented to translate text found in some portion of a digital image captured by a camera (e.g., FCM 33). For example, translation module 95 can identify text in the digital image and translate that text into a formant that can be produced as an image on a screen (e.g., OLED window 31, display 38, the driver information center (DIC) 41, etc.). Examples of the translation module 95 can be an applied form of a well-known language translation program such as, but not limited to, GOOGLE TRANSLATE™, MICROSOFT TRANSLATOR™, WATSON LANGUAGE TRANSLATOR™, and AMAZON TRANSLATE™).
Regarding claim 13, Moretti discloses the golf system, wherein the first language is identified based on a user input provided to an operator interface of the golf vehicle ([0041] - method 200 begins at 201 in which one of the vehicle occupants (e.g., the vehicle's driver) provides their user translation preferences to the telematics unit 30 via display 38. For instance, the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language)).
Regarding claim 14, Moretti discloses the golf system, wherein the one or more processing circuits are configured to:
monitor a location of the golf vehicle ([0017] - For combined services that involve both voice communication (e.g., with a live advisor 86 or voice response unit at the data center 20) and data communication (e.g., to provide GPS location data or vehicle diagnostic data to the data center 20), the system can utilize a single call over a voice channel and switch as needed between voice and data transmission over the voice channel, and this can be done using techniques known to those skilled in the art);
and provide the alert in the first language to the user of the golf vehicle when the location of the golf vehicle indicates that the golf vehicle is within a geofence associated with the alert ([0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English).
Regarding claim 15, Moretti discloses the golf system, wherein the alert is a first alert, wherein the one or more processing circuits are configured to:
provide a graphical user interface on the display device, the graphical user interface including a button associated with a unique identification corresponding with a second alert in the first language and in the second language, the button including text in the first language ([0027] -The pushbutton(s) 34 allow manual user input into the telematics unit 30 to initiate wireless telephone calls and provide other data, response, or control input… Visual display 38 is preferably a graphics display, such as a touch screen on the instrument panel or a heads-up display reflected off of the windshield, and can be used to provide a multitude of input and output functions (i.e., capable of GUI implementation) [0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English).
and transmit, in response a selection of the button, a signal including the unique identification to an external device to provide the second alert at the external device without actively translating the second alert from the first language to the second language ([0027] -The pushbutton(s) 34 allow manual user input into the telematics unit 30 to initiate wireless telephone calls and provide other data, response, or control input… Visual display 38 is preferably a graphics display, such as a touch screen on the instrument panel or a heads-up display reflected off of the windshield, and can be used to provide a multitude of input and output functions (i.e., capable of GUI implementation) [0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English).
Regarding claim 16, Moretti discloses a golf system comprising:
a golf vehicle including an operator interface and a first processing circuit comp([0016] - Vehicle 12 is depicted in the illustrated embodiment as a passenger car, but it should be appreciated that any other vehicle including, but not limited to, motorcycles, trucks, busses, sports utility vehicles (SUVs), recreational vehicles (RVs), construction vehicles (e.g., bulldozers), trains, trolleys, marine vessels (e.g., boats), aircraft, helicopters, amusement park vehicles, farm equipment, golf carts, trams, etc., can also be used. [0020] - Telematics Controller 52 (processor) can be any type of device capable of processing electronic instructions including microprocessors, microcontrollers, host processors, controllers, vehicle communication processors, and application specific integrated circuits (ASICs));
and a computing system remote from the golf vehicle, the computing system including a second processing circuit ([0020] - Telematics Controller 52 (processor) can be any type of device capable of processing electronic instructions including microprocessors, microcontrollers, host processors, controllers, vehicle communication processors, and application specific integrated circuits (ASICs));
wherein:
the second processing circuit is configured to monitor a location of the golf vehicle ([0022] - The navigation services can be provided using a dedicated in-vehicle navigation module (which can be part of GPS module 40), or some or all navigation services can be done via telematics unit 30, wherein the position information is sent to a remote location for purposes of providing the vehicle with navigation maps, map annotations (points of interest, restaurants, etc.), route calculations, and the like);
the second processing circuit is configured to generate an alert in a course-selected language based on the location of the golf vehicle indicating the golf vehicle is within a geofence associated with the alert ([0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English);
the second processing circuit is configured to transmit the alert to the golf vehicle ([0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English);
at least one of the first processing circuit or the second processing circuit is configured to translate the alert from the course-selected language to a user-selected language associated with the golf vehicle ([0022] - The navigation services can be provided using a dedicated in-vehicle navigation module (which can be part of GPS module 40), or some or all navigation services can be done via telematics unit 30, wherein the position information is sent to a remote location for purposes of providing the vehicle with navigation maps, map annotations (points of interest, restaurants, etc.), route calculations, and the like) [0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English);
and the first processing circuit is configured to control the operator interface to provide the alert to a user of the golf vehicle in the user-selected language ([0022] - The navigation services can be provided using a dedicated in-vehicle navigation module (which can be part of GPS module 40), or some or all navigation services can be done via telematics unit 30, wherein the position information is sent to a remote location for purposes of providing the vehicle with navigation maps, map annotations (points of interest, restaurants, etc.), route calculations, and the like) [0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English).
Regarding claim 17, Moretti discloses the golf system, wherein the user-selected language is identified based on a user profile of the user being associated with the golf vehicle ([0041] - method 200 begins at 201 in which one of the vehicle occupants (e.g., the vehicle's driver) provides their user translation preferences to the telematics unit 30 via display 38. For instance, the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language)).
Regarding claim 18, Moretti discloses the golf system, wherein the user profile of the user is associated with the golf vehicle using a user device remote from the golf vehicle, wherein a translation capability associated with the user-selected language and the course-selected language in pre-emptively loaded onto the first processing circuit prior to the user accessing the golf vehicle, and wherein the first processing circuit is configured to translate the alert from the course-selected language to the user-selected language ([0020] - Telematics Controller 52 (processor) can be any type of device capable of processing electronic instructions including microprocessors, microcontrollers, host processors, controllers, vehicle communication processors, and application specific integrated circuits (ASICs) [0035] - Machine translation module 95 can be implemented to translate text found in some portion of a digital image captured by a camera (e.g., FCM 33). For example, translation module 95 can identify text in the digital image and translate that text into a formant that can be produced as an image on a screen (e.g., OLED window 31, display 38, the driver information center (DIC) 41, etc.). Examples of the translation module 95 can be an applied form of a well-known language translation program such as, but not limited to, GOOGLE TRANSLATE™, MICROSOFT TRANSLATOR™, WATSON LANGUAGE TRANSLATOR™, and AMAZON TRANSLATE™ [0041] - method 200 begins at 201 in which one of the vehicle occupants (e.g., the vehicle's driver) provides their user translation preferences to the telematics unit 30 via display 38. For instance, the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language)).
Regarding claim 19, Moretti discloses the golf system, wherein the second processing circuit is configured to translate the alert from the course-selected language to the user-selected language ([0020] - Telematics Controller 52 (processor) can be any type of device capable of processing electronic instructions including microprocessors, microcontrollers, host processors, controllers, vehicle communication processors, and application specific integrated circuits (ASICs) [0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English).
Regarding claim 20, Moretti discloses a golf system comprising:
one or more processing circuits configured to ([0020] - Telematics Controller 52 (processor) can be any type of device capable of processing electronic instructions including microprocessors, microcontrollers, host processors, controllers, vehicle communication processors, and application specific integrated circuits (ASICs)):
receive a first input identifying a first language for alerts provided at a golf vehicle ([0027] - The pushbutton(s) 34 allow manual user input into the telematics unit 30 to initiate wireless telephone calls and provide other data, response, or control input. [0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English).
receive a second input identifying a second language different from the first language for alerts provided at an external device remote from the golf vehicle ([0022] - The navigation services can be provided using a dedicated in-vehicle navigation module (which can be part of GPS module 40), or some or all navigation services can be done via telematics unit 30, wherein the position information is sent to a remote location for purposes of providing the vehicle with navigation maps, map annotations (points of interest, restaurants, etc.), route calculations, and the like) [0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English);
generate an alert associated with a unique identification ([0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English);
transmit a signal including the unique identification ([0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English);
and provide (i) the alert in the first language to a user of the golf vehicle using at least one of a display device or a speaker of the golf vehicle or (ii) the alert in the second language to a user of the external device using at least one of a display device or a speaker of the external device in response to receiving the signal ([0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English);
wherein the unique identification corresponds with the alert in the first language and in the second language such that the alert is provided in an identified language without actively translating the alert between the first language and the second language [0041] - the vehicle occupant will alert/command the telematics unit 30 to translate certain publicly viewable street signs 99, which has come into proximity of vehicle 12, from the original language they are posted in (e.g., a first language) to some other selected language (e.g., a second language). For example, if the native language of the vehicle occupants is English and all street signs 99 are written in Korean, one of the occupants would select English as their preferred language and thus the telematics unit 30 would be directed to translate the Korean signs into English).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Scalisi (U.S. Patent No. 11256878) teaches directed sound transmission systems and methods. Xu (U.S. Publication No. 20220172616) teaches a method and apparatus for verifying a road work event.
/ETHAN DANIEL KIM/
Examiner, Art Unit 2658
/RICHEMOND DORVIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2658