DETAILED ACTION
Priority as a Continuation of 17/761580 filed 3/17/2022, now US Patent 12238566 issued 2/25/2025, is acknowledged.
Further priority as a 371 of PCT/KR2020/012577 filed 9/17/2020 and to Korean Application KR10-2019-0114341 filed 9/17/2019 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-10 filed 12/24/2024 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/24/2024 and 5/23/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [0001] “CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS” should be updated to reflect US Application 17/761580 has been issued as US Patent 12238566 on 2/25/2025, as shown above. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 2, 4, 7, 10, 11, 8, and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12238566. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, as shown below.
Pending claim 1 and patent claim 1 each recite methods for receiving AF influenced traffic steering information including user plane latency requirement information comprising a maximum allowed user plane latency and performing PSA-UPF relocation with a PSA-UPF entity having a minimum user plane latency among at least one PSA-UPF entity satisfying the maximum allowed user plane latency.
Pending claim 1 (PCF) and patent claim 1 (SMF) only differ from the perspective of the particular entity in the network performing the method. As both the PCF and SMF are known in the art in sharing functionality performing similar control/management of respective data sessions, one of ordinary skill in the art would consider pending claim 1 and patent claim 1 as obvious variants considering the limitations these claims have in common. Similar analysis applies between the apparatus claims of pending claim 6 (PCF) and patent claim 7 (SMF).
Pending dependent claims 2-5 and 7-10 are substantially the same as patent claims 3, 5, 2, 4, 10, 11, 8, and 9, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dannebro et al. (US20210099943A1), hereafter Dannebro, in view of Ramle et al. (US20200112898A1), hereafter Ramle.
Regarding claims 1 and 6,
Dannebro discloses a method (i.e. Fig. 5, 8) and function for handling traffic for an application (Title) performed in a wireless communication system by a PCF entity comprising a transceiver and a controller coupled with the transceiver (Fig. 1-3, 9; paragraphs 209-220; PCF/SMF interaction via transceiver/processor).
Dannebro shows receiving, from a NEF entity, an AF request message including user plane latency requirement information (Fig. 5, step 508; AF traffic steering request with AF transaction ID; paragraph 7-12, 75; transaction/service having user plane path optimized for low latency) and transmitting, to a SMF entity, an AF influenced traffic steering enforcement control information (Fig. 5, steps 509-518; update SMF in response to AF traffic steering request), wherein a PSA-UPF relocation is performed with a PSA-UPF entity (Fig. 8, step 801-806; paragraph 10-12, 57-60; UPF relocation to selected one of candidate locations).
Dannebro does not expressly disclose performing PSA-UPF relocation with a PSA-UPF entity having a minimum user plane latency among at least one PSA-UPF entity satisfying a maximum allowed user plane latency.
Ramle discloses analogous art including PCF (paragraphs 5-10) and performing PSA-UPF relocation with a PSA-UPF entity (paragraph 5-10, 23, 71; handling PDU session suppoting SSC mode 2 with UPF relocation during handover) having a minimum user plane latency among at least one PSA-UPF entity satisfying the maximum allowed user plane latency (Fig. 3a-d, interactions between PCF, AMFs and SMF for UPF relocation; paragraph 71-76; lowest delay of the max delay indications for the PDU sessions are candidates for handover).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Li by performing PSA-UPF relocation with a PSA-UPF entity having a minimum user plane latency among at least one PSA-UPF entity satisfying the maximum allowed user plane latency, as shown by Ramle, thereby enabling access and mobility management and session/service continuity through handover in 5G networks.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 7, and 8,
The combination of Dannebro and Ramle discloses the AF influenced traffic steering enforcement control information is included in a PCC rule (Fig. 5, steps 509-512; paragraph 8, 9, 44, 81-99, 113-119; AF rules between AF/PCF/SMF) and the AF request message is received from an AF entity via the NEF entity (Fig. 5, step 505-508; AF traffic steering request from AF to NEF to PCF).
7. Claims 4, 5, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dannebro and Ramle as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Godin (US20200314686A1).
Regarding claims 4, 5, 9, and 10,
The combination of Dannebro and Ramle does not expressly disclose the user plane latency is based on an estimated user plane latency between a UE and the at least one PSA-UPF entity satisfying the maximum allowed user plane latency based on information from a NWDAF entity.
Godin discloses analogous art pertaining to benchmarking of delay estimates in a 5Gnetwork for QoS flow setup and monitoring (Title) including determining user plane latency based on an estimated user plane latency between a UE and the at least one PSA-UPF entity satisfying the maximum allowed user plane latency based on information from a NWDAF entity (paragraph 22-27, 52-53; UPF anchor selection based on delay estimates satisfying QoS characteristics from an analytic function of Fig. 9, AMF/SMF/PCF/AF/NRF/etc. similar to Fig. 1-2 in Dannebro).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Dannebro and Ramle by determining user plane latency based on an estimated user plane latency between a UE and the at least one PSA-UPF entity satisfying the maximum allowed user plane latency based on information from a NWDAF entity, thereby ensuring PDU sessions can meet estimated QoS requirements including latency.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477