Detailed Office
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Risbo (USPGPUB 2009/0319065) in view of Moses et al. (US Patent Number 5,226,000).
Regarding claim 1, Risbo discloses a system (fig. 1C) comprising: an electrical signal (x(n), fig. 1C) wherein the electrical signal is driven by a real-time progressive polynomial spline evaluation (7, fig. 1C; paragraph 0020) that achieves an up-sampling (5, fig. 1C) by a power-of-two factor using a linear combination (paragraph 0020) but does not disclose a system wherein dither is applied to the linear combination. However, Moses et al., in a related art, disclose a system wherein dither (116, fig. 11a) is applied to the linear combination (paragraph bridging col. 20 and 21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to incorporate Moses et al’s system in Risbo in order to improve the system.
Regarding claim 7, Risbo discloses a system (fig. 1C) comprising: an electrical signal (x(n), fig. 1C) wherein an instantaneous phase angle of the electrical signal (7, fig. 1C; paragraph 0020) is substantially calculated by a real-time progressive polynomial spline evaluation that achieves an up-sampling (c, fig. 1C) by a power-of-two factor using a linear combination of counters (paragraph 0020) does not disclose a system wherein dither is applied to the linear combination. However, Moses et al., in a related art, disclose a system wherein dither (116, fig. 11a) is applied to the linear combination (paragraph bridging col. 20 and 21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to incorporate Moses et al’s system in Risbo in order to improve the system.
Regarding claim 2, Risbo discloses a system (fig. 1C) , wherein the polynomial spline has a plurality of intervals, and wherein at least one of the plurality of intervals is a base frequency period (paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 3, Risbo discloses a system (fig. 1C) , wherein the polynomial spline has a plurality of intervals, and wherein at least one of the plurality of intervals is a power-of-two count of base frequency periods (paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 4, Risbo discloses a system (fig. 1C), wherein the polynomial spline has a plurality of intervals, and wherein at least one of the plurality of intervals is a power-of-two fraction of a base frequency period (paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 5, Risbo discloses a system (fig. 1C) wherein the electrical signal has a phase angle, and wherein the phase angle is modified by a rolling counter incremented by a value driven by an external environmental monitoring sensor (paragraph 0072). .
Regarding claim 6, Risbo discloses a system (fig. 1C), wherein the electrical signal has a phase angle, and wherein the phase angle is modified by a rolling counter decremented by a value driven by an external environmental monitoring sensor (paragraph 0072). .
Regarding claim 8, Risbo discloses a system (fig. 1C), wherein the polynomial spline has a plurality of intervals, and wherein at least one of the plurality of intervals is a base frequency period (paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 9, Risbo discloses a system (fig. 1C), wherein the polynomial spline has a plurality of intervals, and wherein at least one of the plurality of intervals is a power-of-two count of base frequency periods (paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 10, Risbo discloses a system (fig. 1C) wherein the polynomial spline has a plurality of intervals, and wherein at least one of the plurality of intervals is a power-of-two fraction of a base frequency period (paragraph 0072). .
Regarding claim 11, Risbo discloses a system (fig. 1C) wherein the electrical signal has a phase angle, and wherein the phase angle is modified by a rolling counter incremented by a value driven by an external environmental monitoring sensor (paragraph 0072). .
Regarding claim 12, Risbo discloses a system (fig. 1C), wherein the electrical signal has a phase angle, and wherein the phase angle is modified by a rolling counter decremented by a value driven by an external environmental monitoring sensor (paragraph 0072). .
Regarding claim 13, Risbo discloses a system (fig. 1C comprising: a digital electrical signal having a state x(n) , wherein the state is calculated by comparing a difference between a current position in a base frequency cycle and an instantaneous phase angle to a proportion of cycle duty that would be present at the base frequency cycle (paragraph 0072) does not disclose a system wherein dither is applied to the linear combination. However, Moses et al., in a related art, disclose a system wherein dither (116, fig. 11a) is applied to the linear combination (paragraph bridging col. 20 and 21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to incorporate Moses et al’s system in Risbo in order to improve the system.
Regarding claim 14, Risbo discloses a system (fig. 1C) further comprising a polynomial spline having a plurality of intervals, and wherein at least one of the plurality of intervals is a base frequency period (paragraph 0072). .
Regarding claim 15, Risbo discloses a system (fig. 1C) , further comprising a polynomial spline having a plurality of intervals, and wherein at least one of the plurality of intervals is a power-of-two count of base frequency periods (paragraph 0072). .
Regarding claim 16, Risbo discloses a system (fig. 1C), further comprising a polynomial spline having a plurality of intervals, and wherein at least one of the plurality of intervals is a power-of-two fraction of a base frequency period (paragraph 0072). .
Regarding claim 17, Risbo discloses a system (fig. 1C), wherein the electrical signal has a phase angle, and wherein the phase angle is modified by a rolling counter incremented by a value driven by an external environmental monitoring sensor (paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 18, Risbo discloses a system (fig. 1C), wherein the electrical signal has a phase angle, and wherein the phase angle is modified by a rolling counter decremented by a value driven by an external environmental monitoring sensor (paragraph 0072).
Conclusion
/JEAN B JEANGLAUDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845