DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-9 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee 2011/0148341.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a module (1, Fig 1A) for providing power to a battery-operated device (par 0002) having a body (body exterior of 1, Fig 1A) in which is formed a battery compartment (14, Fig 2) and a cover (10, Fig 2) having one or more first elements (12, Fig 2) co-operable with one or more second elements (13, Fig 2) provided to the body for releasably positioning the cover over the battery compartment (see Fig 1A with respect to Fig 2), comprising: an energy-generating surface (120, Fig 2); an energy storage device (122, Fig 2) coupled to the energy generating surface, the energy storage device having one or more outwardly biased contact elements (via 12, Fig 2); and a storage device cover (11, Fig 2) positionable over the energy-generating surface having (positionable upon placement/assembled, Figs 1A, 1B) one or more third elements (110, Fig 2) co-operable with the one or more second elements (once assembled, Fig 1A) provided to the body for releasably positioning the module cover over the battery compartment (once assembled, Fig 1A) when the energy storage device is positioned within the battery compartment (Figs 1A-2) with the one or more contact elements in engagement with a corresponding electrical contact (cable connecting 12, 13, Fig 2) positioned within the battery compartment (once assembled, Fig 1A) for providing power to one or more electrical components of the battery-powered device (see par 0007).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the module as recited in claim 1, wherein the energy-generating surface comprises a photovoltaic (PV) active area (in the form of solar panel, par 0019) and the storage device cover comprises a window (100, Fig 2) that will be disposed over the PV active area when the storage device cover is placed into engagement with the body (Figs 1A-2).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the module as recited in claim 1, wherein a size and shape of the energy-generating surface substantially matches a size and shape of the cover of the battery-operated device (once assembled, Fig 1A).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the module as recited in claim 1, wherein a size and shape of the energy generating surface extends past at least one dimension of the cover of the battery-operated device (extends past at least in thickness direction, once assembled, Fig 1A).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the module as recited in claim 1, wherein the cover provides a biasing force upon the energy-generating surface and the energy storage device (at least slight biasing force created upon closure of 10 onto 14, Figs 1A, 2) in a direction towards a bottom surface of the battery compartment (Figs 1A, 2).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses a combination (par 0018) comprising: a battery-operated device (par 0002) having a body (body exterior of 1, Fig 1A) in which is formed a battery compartment (14, Fig 2) and a cover (11, Fig 2) having one or more first elements (12, Fig 2) co-operable with one or more second elements (13, Fig 2) provided to the body for releasably positioning the cover over the battery compartment (see Fig 1A with respect to Fig 2); and a module (1, Fig 1A) comprising: an energy-generating surface (120, Fig 2); an energy storage device (122, Fig 2) coupled to the energy-generating surface having one or more outwardly biased contact elements (via 12, Fig 2); and a storage device cover (10, Fig 2) positionable over the energy-generating surface (positionable upon placement/assembled, Figs 1A, 1B) having one or more third elements (110, Fig 2) co-operable with the one or more second elements provided to the body for releasably positioning the module cover over the battery compartment (once assembled, Fig 1A) when the energy storage device is positioned within the battery compartment (Figs 1A-2) with the one or more outwardly biased contact elements in engagement with a corresponding electrical contact (cable connecting 12, 13, Fig 2) positioned within the battery compartment (once assembled, Fig 1A) for providing power to one or more electrical components of the battery-powered device (see par 0007).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the combination as recited in claim 8, wherein the energy-generating surface comprises a photovoltaic (PV) active area (in the form of solar panel, par 0019) and the storage device cover comprises a window (100, Fig 2) that will be disposed over the PV active area when the storage device cover is placed into engagement with the body (Figs 1A-2).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses the combination as recited in claim 8, wherein a size and shape of the energy-generating surface substantially matches a size and shape of the cover of the battery-operated device (once assembled, Fig 1A).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses the combination as recited in claim 8, wherein a size and shape of the energy generating surface extends past at least one dimension of the cover of the battery-operated device (extends past at least in thickness direction, once assembled, Fig 1A).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses the combination as recited in claim 8, wherein the cover provides a biasing force upon the energy-generating surface and the energy storage device (at least slight biasing force created upon closure of 10 onto 14, Figs 1A, 2) in a direction towards a bottom surface of the battery compartment (Figs 1A, 2).
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses the combination as recited in claim 8, wherein the energy storage device is coupled to a port for receiving power via use of a wired connection to an energy source (via cable connecting 12, 13, Fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee 2011/0148341 in view of Kawasaki 2008/0081679.
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the module as recited in claim 2, except wherein the window comprises one or more lens elements.
Kawasaki, however teaches a similar module (Fig 1) including a window (5, Fig 1) comprising one or more lens elements (51, Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the window of Lee to include one or more lens elements, as taught by Kawasaki, in order to show off internal circuitry of the energy harvesting structure, thereby enhancing aesthetics and visibility.
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the module as recited in claim 1, except wherein the first and third elements comprise a tongue and the second elements comprise a groove.
Kawasaki, however teaches a similar module (Fig 1) including a first (one 26, Fig 1) and third element (other 26, Fig 1) comprising a tongue (see tongue structure of Fig 2) and a second element comprising a groove (22, Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elements of Lee to comprise a tongue in the first and third elements and a groove in the second element, as taught by Kawasaki, in order to provide a fastening structure for attaching/mating another structure thereto, thereby improving securement/connection between said structures.
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the combination as recited in claim 9, except wherein the window comprises one or more lens elements.
Kawasaki, however teaches a similar module (Fig 1) including a window (5, Fig 1) comprising one or more lens elements (51, Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the window of Lee to include one or more lens elements, as taught by Kawasaki, in order to show off internal circuitry of the energy harvesting structure, thereby enhancing aesthetics and visibility.
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the combination as recited in claim 8, except wherein the first and third elements comprise a tongue and the second elements comprise a groove.
Kawasaki, however teaches a similar module (Fig 1) including a first (one 26, Fig 1) and third element (other 26, Fig 1) comprising a tongue (see tongue structure of Fig 2) and a second element comprising a groove (22, Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elements of Lee to comprise a tongue in the first and third elements and a groove in the second element, as taught by Kawasaki, in order to provide a fastening structure for attaching/mating another structure thereto, thereby improving securement/connection between said structures.
Claim(s) 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee 2011/0148341 in view of Plain 2022/0202166.
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses the combination as recited in claim 15, except wherein the port comprises a USB port.
Liu, however teaches a similar combination (Figs 4-6) wherein a port (100, Fig 6) comprises a USB port (101, Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Lee to include a USB port, as taught by Plain, in order to provide benefits such as universal charging, fast data transfer and accessory connection through a single compact connector, thereby improving functionality.
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses the combination as recited in claim 15, except wherein the module cover has an opening for providing access to the USB port when the module cover is engaged with the body.
Liu, however teaches a similar combination (Figs 4-6) wherein a module cover (81, Fig 6) has an opening (105, Fig 6) for providing access to a USB port (100, Fig 6) when the module cover is engaged with a body (body of 115, Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Lee to include a USB port as claimed, and, as taught by Plain, in order to provide benefits such as universal charging, fast data transfer and accessory connection through a single compact connector, thereby improving functionality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO 892.
/RASHEN E MORRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841