DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Westland et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2024/0340603 A1).
In regards to claims 1, 10, and 16, Westland discloses a computer-implemented method, an auditory scanning system, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium to adjust a hearable device (e.g., headset 100 or 105) of a user to focus on a sound source that moves in an environment (See [0014] and [0070]), the method performed, comprising: capturing by primary microphones during a first time period, first sound waves from the sound source in a first location of the environment by using a primary audio beam formed to focus on a first direction relative to the user (See [0044]); while maintaining the focus on the first direction, using scanning microphones to scan the environment by forming a scanning audio beam displaced from the first direction to capture second sound waves that indicate a first changed location of the sound source relative to the user during a second time period (See [0015]); and forming the primary audio beam to focus on a second direction of the first changed location (See [0065] and [0070]).
In regards to claims 2 and 11, Westland discloses the computer-implemented method and auditory scanning system, further comprising: repetitively performing the scanning of the environment, wherein iterations of forming the scanning audio beam are at incremental direction angles from a prior scanning direction or from the first direction, until at least one additional changed location is detected (See [0064]).
In regards to claim 3, Westland discloses the computer-implemented method, further comprising: detecting first sound characteristics identifying first sound waves; detecting second sound characteristics identifying the second sound waves from the second direction; and determining a match of the second sound characteristics with the first sound characteristics to confirm that the second sound waves are from the sound source (See [0085]).
In regards to claims 4, 12, and 17, Westland discloses the computer-implemented method, auditory scanning system, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, further comprising: determining movement features associated with the sound source relocating from the first changed location to at least one additional changed location; employing an artificial intelligence (AI) model trained on known movement features, prior location changes, and sound source information, wherein the AI model uses the movement features and sound source identifying information as input and outputs a predicted changed location of the sound source for a predicted time; and based at least in part, on the predicted changed location, forming the primary audio beam in a third direction during the predicted time (See [0053] and [0071]).
In regards to claim 5, Westland discloses the computer-implemented method, wherein the first changed location includes a change in a horizontal direction, a vertical direction, a forward direction and/or a backward direction relative to the user (See [0052]).
In regards to claims 6, 13, and 18, Westland discloses the computer-implemented method, auditory scanning system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein forming the primary audio beam in the second direction includes expanding a width of the primary audio beam to cover a scanning area of the scanning audio beam in the second direction (See [0058]).
In regards to claims 7, 14, and 19, Westland discloses the computer-implemented method, auditory scanning system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein scanning of the environment includes repeatedly: expanding a width of the scanning audio beam from an original width consistent with the width and direction of the primary audio beam, to cover a scanning focus area; and returning to the original width and direction if the second sound waves are undetected (See [0032] – [0033]).
In regards to claim 8, Westland discloses the computer-implemented method, wherein the scanning of the environment is performed according to a predefined schedule when the hearable device is in a scanning mode (See [0028]).
In regards to claims 9, 15, and 20, Westland discloses the computer-implemented method, auditory scanning system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium, further comprising: analyzing the second sound waves to detect a degradation pattern between scanning microphones of a first hearing unit at a first user ear and a second hearing unit at a second user ear to determine the second direction (See [0065] and [0070]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mouncer (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2020/0267493 A1) teaches a multi-sensor object tracking for modifying audio. Telfort et al. (US Patent 12,587,806) teach systems for using an auricular device configured with an indicator and beamformer filter unit. Lovitt et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2023/0050966) A1) teach audio beam steering, tracking, and audio effects for AR/VR applications.
/THJUAN K ADDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693