DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 01/20/2026 has been fully considered and made of record. As such, pending claims 51 and 53-62 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 53 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 53, lines 1-4 recites the limitations “wherein step (c) comprises: (i) releasing a brake-unlock-and-slide mechanism associated with at least one of the plurality of bucket hanger bars, (ii) sliding the at least one bucket hanger bar along the first side rail and the second side rail, and (iii) re-engaging the brake-unlock-and-slide mechanism to secure the at least one bucket hanger bar at an adjusted position.” However, these limitations have no support in the originally filed disclosure.
A review of the claims filed on 12/24/2024 and 05/15/2025 shows that claim 4 recites a limitation of “quick release mechanisms for rapid bucket removal.” The specification as filed on 12/24/2024 and 05/15/2025 disclose that quick-release mechanisms could be added to enable rapid removal and change of the buckets (see paragraphs 9, 31, 60, 66 of specification filed on 12/24/2024; see paragraphs 9, 50, 80, 86 of specification filed 05/15/2025). In addition, the specification as filed on 05/15/2025 discloses in paragraph 23, in describing Figure 11, the following:
[0023] Fig. 11 illustrates a brake unlock and slide system.
However, no additional information about such system could be found in either version of the filed specifications. The claims filed on 12/24/2024 and amended on 05/15/2025 had never recited this limitation and only recites that adjustable bucket hanger bars include quick release mechanisms for rapid bucket removal in claim 4. However, in the claim amendment filed on 05/20/2025 all original claims 1-30 were cancelled and new claims 31-50 were introduced. Claim 33 recites that steps (a) and (b) are performed without hand tools by releasing and engaging quick-disconnect couplings. Similarly, claim 43 recites step (a) releasing a quick-disconnect coupling to remove a first joiner tube bridging a handle module and a base module of the cart. d that quick release mechanisms . In the claim amendment filed on 01/20/2026, claims 31-50 were cancelled and new claims 51-62 were added. Claim 53 recites, for the first time, “wherein step (b) comprises (i) releasing a brake-unlock and slide locking mechanism, (ii) sliding at least one of the first rail and the second side rail relative to the frame, and (iii) re-engaging the brake-unlock and slide locking mechanism.” In response to examiner’s rejection of claim 53 under 112(a), Applicant has now amended claim 53 (amendment filed 08/31/2026) to recite “wherein step (c) comprises: (i) releasing a brake-unlock-and-slide mechanism associated with at least one of the plurality of bucket hanger bars, (ii) sliding the at least one bucket hanger bar along the first side rail and the second side rail, and (iii) re-engaging the brake-unlock-and-slide mechanism to secure the at least one bucket hanger bar at an adjusted position.”
Therefore, the examiner submits that none of the above citing would be an adequate explicit support for the newly amended claim 53.
Claim 53 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 53, lines 1-4 recites the limitations “wherein step (c) comprises: (i) releasing a brake-unlock-and-slide mechanism associated with at least one of the plurality of bucket hanger bars, (ii) sliding the at least one bucket hanger bar along the first side rail and the second side rail, and (iii) re-engaging the brake-unlock-and-slide mechanism to secure the at least one bucket hanger bar at an adjusted position.” It is unclear what exactly is a brake-unlock-and-slide mechanism that is used to perform step (c) of claim 53. The only reference to such mechanism is in describing Figure 11 which shows two reference numerals 230 (which depict a side rail) and 260 (which depicts an adjustable separator). In addition, it is unclear what exactly the mechanism of the brake-unlock-and-slide is entail of.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 51, 53 as best understood, and 54-56 and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Rouillard et al. (US 20110133417A1, hereinafter “Rouillard”) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Rouillard et al. (US 20110133417A1, hereinafter “Rouillard”) in view of Hook et al. (US 5,678,842, hereinafter “Hook”).
As applied to claim 51, Rouillard teaches a method of reconfiguring a modular cleaning cart (abstract]), the method comprising:
(a) providing the modular cleaning cart (10) comprising a frame (12 made of elements 14, 16, 18, 20), a wheel assembly supporting the frame (28, 30, 32, 34, Fig. 1), a first side rail (22) and a second side rail (24) disposed on opposite sides of the frame, and a plurality of bucket hanger bars (40, 42, 44, separate from the first side rail and the second side rail, each of the bucket hanger bars extending between the first side rail and the second side rail (paragraphs [0056], [0057]see Figs. 1-7).
(b) positioning at least one of the first side rail and the second side rail relative to the frame to select either (i) a two-bucket configuration in which the cart defines two bucket stations or (ii) a three-bucket configuration in which the cart defines three bucket stations (Figs. 1-7 show the side rails 22 and 24 are in upright position with respect to frame 12 such that multiple number of bucket configurations including two-bucket and 3-bucket configurations can be presented);
(c) adjusting the plurality of bucket hanger bars along the first side rail and the second side rail so that the plurality of bucket hanger bars define the selected bucket stations (i.e., one or more 40, 42, 44 can be used, paragraphs [0057]); and
(d) hanging at least two buckets from the plurality of bucket hanger bars by engaging the plurality of bucket hanger bars beneath rims of the buckets such that bottoms of the buckets are suspended above a floor (each of the upper ends of receptacles 56 which receives a cover 58 is considered as a rim that is supported by 42 and 44 while the receptacles are suspended and distanced from the floor that wheels are in contact with, paragraph [0079], Figs. 3-4).
Regarding the limitation of “wherein the frame is autoclavable,” considering the broadest reasonable claim interpretation, since Applicant is not claiming any specific material for the frame, any frame of any type of cleaning cart can be autoclaved including the frame of Rouillard.
Alternatively, if Applicant does not agree that the frame (12) of the cart of Rouillard is autoclavable, the Hook teaches a hand cart (10) with lower and upper frames (14, 16, Fig. 2) made of hollow metal tubing (col. 2, lines 53-60) which metal frame members are well-known to be autoclavable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ in the method of Rouillard a metal material for the frame members, as taught by Hook, as an effective means of providing the cart with enhanced structural strength (metal material which is autoclavable) that would prolong the operational life of the cart.
As applied to claim 53, as best understood, Rouillard as modified by Hook teaches the invention cited. Rouillard further teaches that a number of elements can be mounted on the first and second side rails with first and second side rails 22 and 24 having apertures 21. The first and second uprights 22, 24 have apertures 21 within which protrusions of the elements can be received and retained. Any number of apertures 21 can be provided along the lengths of the first and/or second uprights 22, 24 for attachment of any number of elements at different heights along the first and/or second uprights 22, 24. The apertures 21 can have a number of different holes, including without limitation holes having round, oval, triangular, rectangular or irregular shapes along the uprights 22, 24. In other embodiments, the apertures 21 are defined at least in part by grooves extending along at least part of the lengths of the first and/or second uprights 22, 24. The use of apertures 21 in the form of grooves can enable a user to attach elements at any location along the grooves (e.g., in a range of positions between the ends of the grooves). The apertures 21 of the uprights 22, 24 can be located anywhere along the uprights 22, 24 where attachment of elements is desired. In some embodiments, two or more apertures can be used at given locations along the uprights 22, 24. For example, although a single aperture 21 in the form of a groove is located in each of the uprights 22, 24 illustrated in FIGS. 1-3, two apertures 21 in the form of parallel grooves are located on the inboard sides of the uprights 22, 24 in the illustrated embodiment of FIG. 8 (for receiving a pair of projections from elements to be mounted on the uprights 22, 24, paragraph [0073], emphasis added). Apertures 21 can be located on any face of the uprights 22, 24 where elements are to be attached to the uprights 22, 24. For example, elements can be attached to the forward and rear faces of both uprights 22, 24 in the embodiment of FIGS. 1-3. In other embodiments, apertures can also or instead be defined in either or both lateral sides of the uprights 22, 24 for attachment of elements on either or both sides of the uprights 22, 24 (paragraph [0074]). Although apertures in the uprights 22, 24 can be used for securing elements to the uprights 22, 24 as described above, it should be noted that the locations of protrusions on the elements and apertures on the uprights 22, 24 can be reversed in other embodiments. For example, pins, posts, hooks, or other protrusions at one or more locations along the uprights 22, 24 can releasably mate with apertures in elements to be mounted to the uprights 22, 24. As another example, a rib or other elongated protrusion running along part or all of the first and/or second upright 22, 24 can slidably mate with an aperture on an element to be mounted thereon, such as in a dovetail or tenon and mortise arrangement. Still other types of aperture and protrusions mating arrangement are possible, and fall within the spirit and scope of the present invention (paragraph [0075]. The use of mating apertures and protrusions to mount elements upon the first and/or second uprights can be applied to any of the cart embodiments described and/or illustrated herein. Many of such mounting arrangements permit a user to support receptacle frames, bag frames, handle brackets, and other fixtures at desired heights along the uprights 22, 24. Particularly in those embodiments in which multiple mounting locations are available (e.g., especially with groove and protrusion mounting arrangements as described above, where a continuous range of mounting locations exists along the uprights 22, 24), such versatility enables the user to adapt the cleaning cart 10 to a wide range of applications and working environments (paragraph [0076]).
As such, considering the broadest reasonable claim interpretation, the combination of pins, posts, hooks, ribs or other protrusions at one or more locations along the uprights 22, 24 which can releasably mate with apertures in elements to be mounted (i.e., bucket hangers) reads on claim “brake-unlock-and-slide” limitation as it serves as a releasable coupling mechanism. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ in the method of Rouillard/Hook the steps of engaging and disengaging the releasable coupling mechanism to slide and re-position the bucket hangers to desired locations along the length of the first and second side rails for advantage of maximizing versatility which would enable the user to adapt the cleaning cart 10 to a wide range of applications and working environments.
As applied to claims 54-55, Rouillard as modified by Hook teaches the invention cited. Rouillard further teaches wherein the bucket hanger bars (40, 42, 44) comprise under hanger bars that contact undersides of the bucket rims (under top rim of rectangular bucket 56, see Figs. 3-4).
As applied to claim 56, Rouillard as modified by Hook teaches the invention cited. Rouillard further teaches wherein step (c) of the adjusting the bucket hanger to accommodate different types of buckets (i.e., narrow or shallow buckets) depending on the type of the buckets and sleeves being utilized (permit a user to support receptacle frames, bag frames, handle brackets, and other fixtures at desired heights along the uprights 22, 24, see paragraph [0076]).
As applied to claim 62, Rouillard as modified by Hook teaches the invention cited including Rouillard teaches (embodiment of Figs. 1-7) the versatility of the cart used in different environments but does not explicitly teach in embodiment of Figures 1-7 the step of attaching a handle holder to the cart and retaining a mop handle in the handle holder.
However, Rouillard teaches in a different embodiment (Figs. 14-20) a hand cart (210) comprising a handle holder (brackets 200, Figs. 14-20) to the cart and retaining a mop handle in the handle holder (paragraph [0115]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ in the embodiment of Figs. 1-7 of Rouillard the step of attaching a handle holder to the cart and retaining a mop in the handle holder, as taught by Rouillard’s embodiment in Figs. 14-20, as an effective means of holding the mop to the cart, thus resulting in maximum flexibility of using the cart in multiple environments (rather than use in only a limited specific environment) that results in substantial manufacturing cost savings.
Claim(s) 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rouillard et al. (US 20110133417A1, hereinafter “Rouillard”) in view of Hook et al. (US 5,678,842, hereinafter “Hook”) as applied to claim 51 above, and further in view of Abbott et al. (US 4,826,187, hereinafter “Abbott”).
As applied to claim 57, Rouillard as modified by Hook teaches the invention cited including the cart comprise a plurality of buckets but does not explicitly teach the buckets are made of stainless steel or plastic.
Abbott teaches a hand cart wherein a plurality of containers/buckets (40, 56, Fig. 1) are constructed from a tough, durable and washable material such as nylon (col. 3, lines 49-52). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the buckets of Rouillard /Hook from a plastic material (i.e., nylon), as taught by Abbott, considering the well-known physical and chemical characteristics of the nylon which results in forming a durable, strong and tough bucket that would not only protect the contents held in the buckets but also lasts for a long period of use without the need for replacement.
Claim(s) 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rouillard et al. (US 20110133417A1, hereinafter “Rouillard”) in view of Hook et al. (US 5,678,842, hereinafter “Hook”) as applied to claim 51 above, and further in view of Wick (US 20210368909A1).
As applied to claim 58, Rouillard as modified by Hook teaches the invention cited including Watson teaches the cart comprises a wheel assembly but does not explicitly teach the wheels assembly comprises antimicrobial wheels.
Wick teaches a hand cart comprising a wheel assembly with antimicrobial wheels (abstract, paragraph [0012]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the wheel assembly of Rouillard/Hook hand cart to comprise antimicrobial wheels, as taught by Wick, as an effective means of allowing the use of the cart in a variety of selective applications including clean room and medical facilities without any chance of transmitting and spreading undesired biological germs to different environments.
Claim(s) 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rouillard et al. (US 20110133417A1, hereinafter “Rouillard”) in view of Hook et al. (US 5,678,842, hereinafter “Hook”) as applied to claim 51 above, and further in view of Wenner (US 8,474,839).
As applied to claim 59, Rouillard as modified by Hook teaches the invention cited including Rouillard teaches the cart includes a wheel assembly but does not explicitly teach engaging a foot-operated wheel brake to immobilize the cart.
Wenner teaches that it is well-known to equip hand carts with a braking system 600 preferably built in a way so as to allow easy engagement and disengagement of the brake with one’s hand or foot (col. 9, lines 7-10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have operated the brake system of Rouillard/Hook with a foot lever/pedal instead of the hand lever and kept the cart in stationary position, as taught by Wenner, as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143, KSR, Rationale “C”). The resulting method would predictably produce a brake system in a conventional manner without the modification of principles of operation of Rouillard thus, allowing an easy engagement to stop the cart and kept stationary depending on the specific operating environment.
Claim(s) 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rouillard et al. (US 20110133417A1, hereinafter “Rouillard”) in view of Hook et al. (US 5,678,842, hereinafter “Hook”) as applied to claim 51 above, and further in view of Hansen et al. (US 20240016686A1, hereinafter “Hansen”).
As applied to claim 60, Rouillard as modified by Hook teaches the invention cited including Rouillard teaches the cart comprises a frame but does not explicitly teach the frame comprises electropolished stainless steel material.
Hansen teaches a medical cart (10) used in patient care (title) made of electropolished stainless (paragraphs [0065] and [0082]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the frame of the hand cart of Rouillard/Hook from electropolished stainless steel, as taught by Hansen, considering the well-known properties of electropolished stainless steel such as superior hygiene and sanitation by removing microscopic peaks and valleys and surface imperfections that can harbor bacterial and viruses and as such, making routine cleaning and disinfection more effective.
Claim(s) 61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rouillard et al. (US 20110133417A1, hereinafter “Rouillard”) in view of Hook et al. (US 5,678,842, hereinafter “Hook”) as applied to claim 51 above, and further in view of Hodges et al. (US 20080149001A1, hereinafter “Hodges”).
As applied to claim 61, Rouillard as modified by Hook teaches the invention cited but does not explicitly teach after use, disassembling at least a portion of the cart (i.e. frame and bucket supports) and autoclaving the disassembled portion.
Hodges teaches that it is well-known to disassemble hand cart’s components including frame and support elements (i.e., base 101, sleeves 103A-B, and posts 114A-B and 116A-B, Fig. 1) after use and placed in an autoclave device to sanitize and disinfect the cart components (paragraph [0095]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ in the method of Rouillard/Hook a step of disassembling the cart components (i.e., frame and bucket supports) after use and autoclaving the components, as taught by Hodges, as an effective means of sanitizing the cart components that have been exposed to the non-sanitary operating environment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 31-41 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Note that primary art of Watson is no longer used in rejection of any claims and new primary art of Rouillard is applied in rejection of claims 51 and 53-62.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Armbruster et al. (US 12,415,555) teaches a cleaning cart, comprising a frame having a frame lower part, a frame upper part and support parts which connect the frame lower part to the frame upper part and are spaced apart from one another, rollers at the frame lower part for moving on a ground surface, storage devices for receiving therein and/or supporting thereon cleaning accessories, retaining elements for holding the storage devices, and receiving elements arranged at the support parts in a predefined position, wherein the retaining elements are selectively fixable to the receiving elements for having the storage devices assume different relative positions with respect to the support parts (abstract).
Steadman (US 7,500,681) teaches a collapsible carrying trolley that is used for transporting materials in tubs or bins (abstract).
Preuss (US 6,540,183) teaches a versatile material cart system for efficiently elongate material in adjustable sections (abstract).
/SARANG AFZALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729 10/09/2026