Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to
fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lathrop et al. (US 2025/0266024).
As to claim 1, Lathrop teaches system comprising: one or more processors configured to: receive data corresponding to a simulation/model/representation of human auditory periphery (Fig.101-103, 123; Pars.110-124), the simulation based on an audio input (100); and generate one or more stimulation patterns (303) for simultaneously outputting via an output device (Figs.10-11), according to the simulation, the one or more stimulation patterns synchronized to the audio input (Pars.22, 48, 88, 190-192; Figs.1-3, 7-11).
As to claim 2, Lathrop teaches wherein the audio signal comprises a music signal, and wherein the one or more stimulation patterns are synchronized and coordinated with the music signal, for synchronized musical and stimulation output (Fig.1).
As to claim 3, Lathrop teaches a display platform comprising the output device, the display platform communicably coupled to the one or more processors and configured to receive one or more signals corresponding to the one or more stimulation patterns, for rendering (Figs.10-11).
As to claim 4, Lathrop teaches a visual display, and wherein the one or more stimulation patterns comprise one or more patterns rendered on the visual display (Figs.10-11).
As to claim 5, Lathrop teaches receiving the audio input; and computing the simulation of the human auditory periphery using the audio input (Figs.1-3, 11).
As to claim 6, Lathrop teaches computing the simulation of the human auditory periphery based on at least one of a signal fine structure, signal envelop, event onsets, pitch, tonal, timbral, rhythmic, or structural features of the audio input (Pars.71-77).
As to claim 7, Lathrop teaches determining a perceived structure, an affect and an emotion as a function of the audio input, wherein the one or more stimulation patterns correspond to the simulation and the perceived structure, the affect, and the emotion (Pars.46-47; Figs.1-2).
As to claim 8, Lathrop teaches receiving the audio signal from at least one of a music source, a microphone, or an audio feed (Figs.1-2, 12; Par.224).
As to claim 9, Lathrop teaches wherein the audio signal comprises a music signal, the one or more stimulation patterns comprise one or more patterns, and wherein the one or more patterns are synchronized and coordinated with the music signal (Abstract; Pars.17-20).
Regarding claims 10-20, the corresponding method and instructions comprising the steps similar to claims 1-8, are analogous therefore rejected as being anticipated by Lathrop et al. for the foregoing reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lindau et al. (US 7,451,077).
As to claim 1, Lindau teaches a system comprising: one or more processors configured to: receive data corresponding to a simulation of human auditory periphery, the simulation based on an audio input (Fig.3A); and generate one or more stimulation patterns for outputting via an output device 106, according to the simulation, the one or more stimulation patterns synchronized to the audio input (FigS.1-3; Abstract;Col.2, lines 40-Col.3, line 24).
As to claim 2, Lindau teaches wherein the audio signal comprises a music signal, and wherein the one or more stimulation patterns are synchronized and coordinated with the music signal, for synchronized musical and stimulation output (Col.2, lines 13-35, lines 52-67).
As to claim 3, Lindau teaches a display platform comprising the output device, the display platform communicably coupled to the one or more processors and configured to receive one or more signals corresponding to the one or more stimulation patterns, for rendering (Fig.5, 106).
As to claim 4, Lindau teaches a visual display, and wherein the one or more stimulation patterns comprise one or more patterns rendered on the visual display (Fig.5, 106).
As to claim 5, Lindau teaches receiving the audio input; and computing the simulation of the human auditory periphery using the audio input (Figs.3-4).
As to claim 6, Lindau teaches computing the simulation of the human auditory periphery based on at least one of a signal fine structure, signal envelop, event onsets, pitch, tonal, timbral, rhythmic, or structural features of the audio input (Abstract; Col.2, lines 40-Col.3, line 24).
As to claim 8, Lindau teaches receiving the audio signal from at least one of a music source, a microphone, or an audio feed (Fig.3A).
As to claim 9, Lindau teaches wherein the audio signal comprises a music signal, the one or more stimulation patterns comprise one or more patterns, and wherein the one or more patterns are synchronized and coordinated with the music signal (Abstract; Figs.1-4).
Regarding claims 10-20, the corresponding method and instructions comprising the steps similar to claims 1-8, are analogous therefore rejected as being anticipated by Lindau et al. for the foregoing reasons.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,175,996. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the present application define an invention that is merely an obvious variation of the invention claimed in the patent for the following reasons. Comparing the claims, such as claim 1 of the two documents it is clear that all the elements of claim 1 of the present application are found in the patent claim. The difference is claim 1 of the patent comprises the additional elements including “receiving an audio input and computing a simulation of a human auditory periphery using the audio input, wherein the simulation comprises a mapping of structural features of the audio input to a predicted affect to the human auditory periphery”, that are not included in claim 1 of the present application, therefore represents a species of the generic invention of the application claims. Since it has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, claim 1 of the present application is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent.
Claims 2-20 are, respectively, anticipated by claims 2-20 of the patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Love et al. US 2018/0061438.
/DANIEL ABEBE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657