DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 9-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 and 6-9 of U.S. Patent No. US 12177510 B1 to Baldi (Baldi’510) in view of Pub. No. US 2018/0255332 A1 to HEUSSER (HEUSSER’332).
Claim 4 of Baldi’510 lacks:
receiving livestream videos from a plurality of content capture devices at a live event as the live event is occurring, each of the livestream videos recorded using a non-native livestream software application executed by each respective content capture device;
On the other hand, HEUSSER’332 teaches:
receiving livestream videos from a plurality of content capture devices at a live event as the live event is occurring, each of the livestream videos recorded using a non-native livestream software application executed by each respective content capture device (see paragraph [0114]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baldi’510 with the teaching as taught by HEUSSER’332 in order to facilitate syncing live and/or non-live videos, as well as videos contributed directly to a mobile or computer-hosted application, as well as videos posted on external API's. Multi-angle videos, live or non-live, can be played in a mobile or computer-hosted application or on a website.
Claim 2 correspond to patent claim 6.
Claim 3 correspond to patent claim 4.
Claim 5 correspond to patent claim 7.
Claim 6 correspond to patent claim 8.
Claim 9 correspond to patent claim 4.
Claim 10 correspond to patent claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HEUSSER Pub. No.: US 2018/0255332 A1 (Hereinafter referred to as “HEUSSER”).
Regarding Claim 1, HEUSSER discloses a method, executed by an online video production server, for improving video production technology associated with the creation of multi-view, online presentations (see abstract), comprising:
receiving livestream videos from a plurality of content capture devices at a live event as the live event is occurring, each of the livestream videos recorded using a non-native livestream software application executed by each respective content capture device (see paragraph [0114]);
creating an online video-on-demand presentation of the live event comprising a plurality of livestream video clips, each of the livestream video clips derived from the livestream videos, respectively (see paragraph [0118]);
after creating the online video-on-demand presentation, receiving a natively-recorded video clip from a spectator who was present at the live event, the natively-recorded video clip recorded using a native functionality of a first content capture device (see paragraphs [0095-0096]);
determining that the natively-recorded video clip is associated with the live event (see paragraph [0110]); and
adding the natively-recorded video clip to the video-on-demand presentation with the livestream video clips, resulting in an updated video-on-demand presentation comprising both the livestream video clips and the natively-recorded video clip (see paragraphs [0094-0095]).
Regarding Claim 2, HEUSSER discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. HEUSSER further discloses wherein determining that the natively-recorded video clip is associated with the live event comprises: determining timing information associated with a time that the natively-recorded video clip was recorded (see paragraph [0096]); determining a location where the natively-recorded video clip was recorded (see paragraph [0096]); comparing the time and location associated with the natively-recorded video clip to times and locations of live events stored in a memory (see paragraphs [0067, 0075, 0118]); and determining that the natively-recorded video clip is associated with the live event when the time and location associated with the natively-recorded video clip substantially matches a time and date of the live event (see paragraph [0118]).
Regarding Claim 3, HEUSSER discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. HEUSSER further discloses prior to adding the naively-recorded video clip to the video-on-demand presentation, determining whether a gap in coverage of the live event exists in the video-on-demand presentation (see paragraphs [0063] and [0117]); and inserting the natively-recorded video clip into the gap in coverage (see paragraph [0089]).
Regarding Claim 4, HEUSSER discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 3. HEUSSER further discloses timing information associated with each of the livestream videos coverage (see paragraph [0060]); wherein determining whether a gap in coverage of the live event exists in the video-on-demand presentation comprises: analyzing the timing information of each of the livestream videos to determine when at least a portion of the live event is not represented by at least one of the livestream video clips coverage (see paragraphs [0107 and 0108]).
Regarding Claim 5, HEUSSER discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. HEUSSER further discloses prior to adding the natively-recorded video clip to the video-on-demand presentation, determining a fist vantage point where the natively-recorded video clip was recorded (see paragraph [0086]); prior to adding the natively-recorded video clip to the video-on-demand presentation, determining whether a gap in coverage of the live event exists in the video-on-demand presentation at the first vantage point (see paragraphs [0063] and [0117]); and adding the natively-recorded video clip to the video-on-demand presentation only when the gap in the coverage of the live event exists at the first vantage point presentation (see paragraph [0089]).
Regarding Claim 6, HEUSSER discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 5. HEUSSER further discloses determining timing information and a second vantage point provided by the livestream software application in association with each of the livestream videos (see paragraph [0096]); storing the timing information and the second vantage point of each of the livestream videos in association with a corresponding livestream video clip, respectively (see paragraphs [0067, 0075, 0118]); wherein determining whether a gap in coverage of the live event exists in the video-on- demand presentation at the first vantage point associated with the natively-recorded video clip comprises: identifying livestream video clips that were recorded at the first vantage point from the second vantage point information stored in the memory (see paragraphs [0067, 0075, 0118]); and evaluating the timing information of each of the livestream video clips that were recorded at the first vantage point to determine when a discontinuation of coverage of the live event occurred at the first vantage point (see paragraph [0086]).
Regarding Claim 7, HEUSSER discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 3. HEUSSER further discloses determining an overlap between the natively-recorded video clip and the gap in coverage (see paragraphs [0016 and 0017]); and adding the natively-recorded video clip by inserting the natively-recorded video clip between a first livestream video clip and a second livestream video clip that defines the gap in coverage when the natively-recorded video clip overlaps at least some of the duration of the gap in coverage (see paragraphs [0016 and 0017]).
Regarding Claim 9, HEUSSER discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 3. HEUSSER further discloses determining a fist vantage point where the natively-recorded video clip was recorded see paragraphs [0067, 0075, 0118]);; determining that a gap in coverage exists in the video-on-demand presentation at a second vantage point (see paragraphs [0067, 0075, 0118]); and adding the natively-recorded video clip by inserting the natively-recorded video clip into the gap in coverage of the video-on-demand presentation at the second vantage point (see paragraph [0089]).
Regarding Claim 11, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding Claim 13, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding Claim 14, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding Claim 15, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding Claim 16, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding Claim 17, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding Claim 19, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 9.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10, 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALAZAR TILAHUN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/A.T/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424