DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-6, 11-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US 2023/0136223 A1, hereinafter “Sun”).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Sun teaches a terminal device, comprising at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor (fig. 10) is configured to:
if a transmission parameter corresponding to first-type physical random access channel PRACH transmission meets a condition perform second-type PRACH transmission (if a transmission parameter corresponding to first-type physical random access channel PRACH transmission meets does not meet a condition, performing the second-type of PRACH transmission need to be performed, Appeal No. 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016)), wherein one transmission process of the first-type PRACH transmission comprises one PRACH transmission (fig 7, ¶ [0112], a UE transmits msg1 for the PRACH on a 20 MHz bandwidth (e.g., a single sub-band or RB set). As shown, the UE increases the power of the msg1 transmission in steps until the UE receives a msg2 708 from the BS), and one transmission process of the second-type PRACH transmission comprises a plurality of PRACH transmissions (fig 7, ¶ [0113], In this case, the UE's transmit power limit is reached because the msg1 transmissions on the 20 MHz BW did not have sufficient coverage to be successfully decoded by the BS. Consequently, the UE subsequently transmits msg1 712 on two 20 MHz sub-bands. ¶ [0114], ¶ [0155]).
Regarding claim 11, Sun teaches a network device, comprising at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor (fig. 12) is configured to:
if a transmission parameter corresponding to first-type physical random access channel PRACH transmission meets a condition, receive a PRACH transmitted by using a manner of second-type PRACH transmission (if a transmission parameter corresponding to first-type physical random access channel PRACH transmission meets does not meet a condition, receiving a PRACH transmitted by a manner of the second-type of PRACH transmission need to be performed, Appeal No. 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016)), wherein one transmission process of the first-type PRACH transmission comprises one PRACH transmission (fig 7, ¶ [0112], a UE transmits msg1 for the PRACH on a 20 MHz bandwidth (e.g., a single sub-band or RB set). As shown, the UE increases the power of the msg1 transmission in steps until the UE receives a msg2 708 from the BS), and one transmission process of the second-type PRACH transmission comprises a plurality of PRACH transmissions (fig 7, ¶ [0113], In this case, the UE's transmit power limit is reached because the msg1 transmissions on the 20 MHz BW did not have sufficient coverage to be successfully decoded by the BS. Consequently, the UE subsequently transmits msg1 712 on two 20 MHz sub-bands. ¶ [0114], ¶ [0155]).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Sun teaches the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein the transmission parameter comprises one or more of following information: a transmit power, a quantity of transmissions, or a downlink path loss (fig 7, ¶ [0113], the UE's transmit power limit is reached. ¶ [0114], ¶ [0155]).
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Sun teaches the terminal device according to claim 2, wherein the condition comprises one or more of following: a transmit power corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission reaches a maximum
transmit power of the terminal device; a transmit power corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission is greater than or equal to a first threshold; or a quantity of transmissions corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission is greater
than or equal to a second threshold (fig 7, ¶ [0113], the UE's transmit power limit is reached. ¶ [0114], ¶ [0155]).
Regarding claim 4, Sun teaches the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein a transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission is determined based on a first power, and the first power is determined based on a transmit power corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission or the
maximum transmit power of the terminal device (fig 7, ¶ [0113], the UE's transmit power limit is reached. The UE subsequently transmits msg1 712 on two 20 MHz sub-bands. ¶ [0114]).
Regarding claim 5, Sun teaches the terminal device according to claim 4, wherein the first power is determined based on one or more of following: a transmit power corresponding to a last transmission in the first-type PRACH transmission; or
a transmit power corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission when the condition is met (fig 7, ¶ [0113], the UE's transmit power limit is reached. The UE subsequently transmits msg1 712 on two 20 MHz sub-bands. ¶ [0114]).
Regarding claim 6, Sun teaches the terminal device according to claim 4, wherein the transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission is a transmit power of any one of the plurality of PRACH transmissions (fig 7, ¶ [0113], the UE's transmit power limit is reached. The UE subsequently transmits msg1 712 on two 20 MHz sub-bands ¶ [0114]).
Regarding claim 12, Sun teaches the network device according to claim 11, wherein the transmission parameter comprises one or more of following information: a transmit power, a quantity of transmissions, or a downlink path loss (fig 7, ¶ [0113], the UE's transmit power limit is reached. ¶ [0114], ¶ [0155]).
Regarding claim 13, Sun teaches the network device according to claim 12, wherein the condition comprises one or more of following: a transmit power corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission reaches a maximum transmit power of the terminal device; a transmit power corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission is greater than or equal to a first threshold; or a quantity of transmissions corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission is greater than or equal to a second threshold (fig 7, ¶ [0113], the UE's transmit power limit is reached. ¶ [0114], ¶ [0155]).
Regarding claim 14, Sun teaches the network device according to claim 11, wherein a transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission is determined based on a first power, and the first power is determined based on a transmit power corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission or the maximum transmit power of the terminal device (fig 7, ¶ [0113], the UE's transmit power limit is reached. The UE subsequently transmits msg1 712 on two 20 MHz sub-bands. ¶ [0114]).
Regarding claim 15, Sun teaches the network device according to claim 14, wherein the first power is determined based on one or more of following: a transmit power corresponding to a last transmission in the first-type PRACH transmission; or a transmit power corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission when the condition is met (fig 7, ¶ [0113], the UE's transmit power limit is reached. The UE subsequently transmits msg1 712 on two 20 MHz sub-bands. ¶ [0114]).
5. Claims 1-7 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2015/0016312 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Li teaches a terminal device, comprising at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor (fig. 2) is configured to:
if a transmission parameter corresponding to first-type physical random access channel PRACH transmission meets a condition perform second-type PRACH transmission (if a transmission parameter corresponding to first-type physical random access channel PRACH transmission meets does not meet a condition, performing the second-type of PRACH transmission need to be performed, Appeal No. 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016)), wherein one transmission process of the first-type PRACH transmission comprises one PRACH transmission (figs. 10A, 10B, 19D, 26, ¶ [0123], UE 114 can first transmit a RA preamble with an initial transmission power, for example as in Equation 3, and if UE 114 fails to receive a RAR within a respective time window, the UE 114 retransmits the RA preamble with a higher transmission power (power ramping) as long as the transmission power is not larger than PCMAX,c. ¶ [0202],), and one transmission process of the second-type PRACH transmission comprises a plurality of PRACH transmissions (figs. 10A, 10B, 19D, 26, ¶ [0123], ¶ [0124], If the UE 114 transmits the RA preamble with repetitions, the power ramping step can be same as the one when the UE 114 transmits the RA preamble without repetitions. ¶ [0125], ¶ [0126], ¶ [0202], ¶ [0204]).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches a network device, comprising at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor (fig. 3) is configured to:
if a transmission parameter corresponding to first-type physical random access channel PRACH transmission meets a condition, receive a PRACH transmitted by using a manner of second-type PRACH transmission (if a transmission parameter corresponding to first-type physical random access channel PRACH transmission meets does not meet a condition, receiving a PRACH transmitted by a manner of the second-type of PRACH transmission need to be performed, Appeal No. 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016)), wherein one transmission process of the first-type PRACH transmission comprises one PRACH transmission (figs. 10A, 10B, 19D, 26, ¶ [0123], UE 114 can first transmit a RA preamble with an initial transmission power, for example as in Equation 3, and if UE 114 fails to receive a RAR within a respective time window, the UE 114 retransmits the RA preamble with a higher transmission power (power ramping) as long as the transmission power is not larger than PCMAX,c. ¶ [0202]), and one transmission process of the second-type PRACH transmission comprises a plurality of PRACH transmissions (figs. 10A, 10B, 19D, 26, ¶ [0123], ¶ [0124], If the UE 114 transmits the RA preamble with repetitions, the power ramping step can be same as the one when the UE 114 transmits the RA preamble without repetitions. ¶ [0125], ¶ [0126], ¶ [0202], ¶ [0204]).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Li teaches the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein the transmission parameter comprises one or more of following information: a transmit power, a quantity of transmissions, or a downlink path loss (figs. 10A, 10B, 18, 19D, 26, ¶ [0120], ¶ [0123], ¶ [0124], ¶ [0199], ¶ [0202]).
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Li teaches the terminal device according to claim 2, wherein the condition comprises one or more of following: a transmit power corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission reaches a maximum transmit power of the terminal device; a transmit power corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission is greater than or equal to a first threshold; or a quantity of transmissions corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission is greater than or equal to a second threshold (figs. 10A, 10B, 18, 19D, 26, ¶ [0120], ¶ [0123], ¶ [0124], ¶ [0134], Table 2, ¶ [0199], ¶ [0202]).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein a transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission is determined based on a first power, and the first power is determined based on a transmit power corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission or the maximum transmit power of the terminal device (figs. 10A, 10B, 19D, 26, ¶ [0124], If the UE 114 transmits the RA preamble with repetitions, the power ramping step can be same as the one when the UE 114 transmits the RA preamble without repetitions, or the UE 114 can be separately configured for each RA preamble repetition level corresponding to a CE level, or the UE 114 can be implicitly determined by a number of RA preamble transmission attempts at a CE level (this number can be informed separately for each CE level or can be same for all CE levels). ¶ [0125]).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the terminal device according to claim 4, wherein the first power is determined based on one or more of following: a transmit power corresponding to a last transmission in the first-type PRACH transmission; or
a transmit power corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission when the condition is met (figs. 10A, 10B, ¶ [0123], ¶ [0124], The UE 114 is configured by higher layer signaling with a power ramping step, .deltastep, to increase a RA preamble transmission power when the UE 114 does not receive a subsequent RAR. If the UE 114 transmits the RA preamble with repetitions, the power ramping step can be same as the one when the UE 114 transmits the RA preamble without repetitions, or the UE 114 can be separately configured for each RA preamble repetition level corresponding to a CE level, or the UE 114 can be implicitly determined by a number of RA preamble transmission attempts at a CE level (this number can be informed separately for each CE level or can be same for all CE levels). ¶ [0125]).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the terminal device according to claim 4, wherein the transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission is a transmit power of any one of the plurality of PRACH transmissions (figs. 10A, 10B, ¶ [0123], ¶ [0124]).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the terminal device according to claim 6, wherein the transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission is a transmit power of a PRACH with an earliest transmission time in the plurality of PRACH transmissions (¶ [0129], if an initial transmission power computed as in Equation 3 is not larger than PCMAX,c, the UE 114 transmits a RA preamble with the initial transmission power for each of the R1 repetitions and, if UE 114 fails to receive a RAR in a respective time window, the UE 114 increases a RA preamble transmission power by a predetermined step deltastep,1 for the next R1 repetitions. ¶ [0130], Therefore, it is beneficial to determine an initial RA preamble transmission power as in Equation 3 and not use PCMAX,c, even when a RA preamble is transmitted with repetitions. ¶ [0204], ¶ [0206]).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Li teaches the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein a quantity of transmissions for the first-type PRACH transmission and a quantity of transmissions for the second-type PRACH transmission are counted together; or the quantity of transmissions for the first-type PRACH transmission and a quantity of transmissions for the second-type PRACH transmission are counted separately (¶ [0117], mechanisms for a UE to determine an initial number of repetitions for a RA preamble transmission, associated with an estimate for an initial CE level, based on measurements or other statistics, or based on a configuration by an eNB, and to determine a subsequent number of repetitions for a RA preamble transmission, associated with a higher CE level, if the UE does not receive a response from the eNB to the RA preamble transmission corresponding to the estimated initial CE level. ¶ [0125], ¶ [0126], a number of repetitions for a RA preamble at each level, a total number of RA preamble transmissions at each level can also be provided to the UE 114 by system information. Alternatively, a number of transmissions can be same for all repetition levels and be provided by system information. ¶ [0204], The maximum count can be same for all CE levels or can be configured (by system information) separately for each CE level.).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches the network device according to claim 11, wherein the transmission parameter comprises one or more of following information: a transmit power, a quantity of transmissions, or a downlink path loss (figs. 10A, 10B, 18, 19D, 26, ¶ [0120], ¶ [0123], ¶ [0124], ¶ [0199], ¶ [0202]).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches the network device according to claim 12, wherein the condition comprises one or more of following: a transmit power corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission reaches a maximum transmit power of the terminal device; a transmit power corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission is greater than or equal to a first threshold; or a quantity of transmissions corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission is greater than or equal to a second threshold (figs. 10A, 10B, 18, 19D, 26, ¶ [0120], ¶ [0123], ¶ [0124], ¶ [0134], Table 2, ¶ [0199], ¶ [0202]).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches the network device according to claim 11, wherein a transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission is determined based on a first power, and the first power is determined based on a transmit power corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission or the maximum transmit power of the terminal device (figs. 10A, 10B, 19D, 26, ¶ [0124], If the UE 114 transmits the RA preamble with repetitions, the power ramping step can be same as the one when the UE 114 transmits the RA preamble without repetitions, or the UE 114 can be separately configured for each RA preamble repetition level corresponding to a CE level, or the UE 114 can be implicitly determined by a number of RA preamble transmission attempts at a CE level (this number can be informed separately for each CE level or can be same for all CE levels). ¶ [0125]).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches the network device according to claim 14, wherein the first power is determined based on one or more of following: a transmit power corresponding to a last transmission in the first-type PRACH transmission; or a transmit power corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission when the condition is met (figs. 10A, 10B, ¶ [0123], ¶ [0124], The UE 114 is configured by higher layer signaling with a power ramping step, .deltastep, to increase a RA preamble transmission power when the UE 114 does not receive a subsequent RAR. If the UE 114 transmits the RA preamble with repetitions, the power ramping step can be same as the one when the UE 114 transmits the RA preamble without repetitions, or the UE 114 can be separately configured for each RA preamble repetition level corresponding to a CE level, or the UE 114 can be implicitly determined by a number of RA preamble transmission attempts at a CE level (this number can be informed separately for each CE level or can be same for all CE levels). ¶ [0125]).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches the network device according to claim 11, wherein a quantity of transmissions for the first-type PRACH transmission and a quantity of transmissions for the second-type PRACH transmission are counted together; or a quantity of transmissions for the first-type PRACH transmission and a quantity of transmissions for the second-type PRACH transmission are counted separately (¶ [0117], mechanisms for a UE to determine an initial number of repetitions for a RA preamble transmission, associated with an estimate for an initial CE level, based on measurements or other statistics, or based on a configuration by an eNB, and to determine a subsequent number of repetitions for a RA preamble transmission, associated with a higher CE level, if the UE does not receive a response from the eNB to the RA preamble transmission corresponding to the estimated initial CE level. ¶ [0125], ¶ [0126], a number of repetitions for a RA preamble at each level, a total number of RA preamble transmissions at each level can also be provided to the UE 114 by system information. Alternatively, a number of transmissions can be same for all repetition levels and be provided by system information. ¶ [0204], The maximum count can be same for all CE levels or can be configured (by system information) separately for each CE level.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 7, 10, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Li
Regarding claim 7, Sun teaches the terminal device according to claim 6.
Sun does not explicitly teach wherein the transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission is a transmit power of a PRACH with an earliest transmission time in the plurality of PRACH transmissions.
Li teaches wherein a transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission is determined based on a first power, and the first power is determined based on a (last) transmit power corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission or the maximum transmit power of the terminal device (figs. 10A, 10B, 19D, 26, ¶ [0124], If the UE 114 transmits the RA preamble with repetitions, the power ramping step can be same as the one when the UE 114 transmits the RA preamble without repetitions, or the UE 114 can be separately configured for each RA preamble repetition level corresponding to a CE level, or the UE 114 can be implicitly determined by a number of RA preamble transmission attempts at a CE level (this number can be informed separately for each CE level or can be same for all CE levels). ¶ [0125]); wherein the transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission is a transmit power of any one of the plurality of PRACH transmissions (figs. 10A, 10B, ¶ [0123], ¶ [0124]); wherein the transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission is a transmit power of a PRACH with an earliest transmission time in the plurality of PRACH transmissions (¶ [0129], if an initial transmission power computed as in Equation 3 is not larger than PCMAX,c, the UE 114 transmits a RA preamble with the initial transmission power for each of the R1 repetitions and, if UE 114 fails to receive a RAR in a respective time window, the UE 114 increases a RA preamble transmission power by a predetermined step deltastep,1 for the next R1 repetitions. ¶ [0130], Therefore, it is beneficial to determine an initial RA preamble transmission power as in Equation 3 and not use PCMAX,c, even when a RA preamble is transmitted with repetitions. ¶ [0204], ¶ [0206]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to determine the transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH as the transmit power of a PRACH with an earliest transmission time in the plurality of PRACH transmissions in the system of Sun to further improve reception reliability of RA preambles (¶ [0129] and ¶ [0130] of Li).
Regarding claims 10, 16 and 20, Sun teaches the terminal device according to claim 1.
Sun does not explicitly teach wherein a quantity of transmissions for the first-type PRACH transmission and a quantity of transmissions for the second-type PRACH transmission are counted together; or the quantity of transmissions for the first-type PRACH transmission and a quantity of transmissions for the second-type PRACH transmission are counted separately.
Li teaches wherein a quantity of transmissions for the first-type PRACH transmission and a quantity of transmissions for the second-type PRACH transmission are counted together; or the quantity of transmissions for the first-type PRACH transmission and a quantity of transmissions for the second-type PRACH transmission are counted separately (¶ [0117], mechanisms for a UE to determine an initial number of repetitions for a RA preamble transmission, associated with an estimate for an initial CE level, based on measurements or other statistics, or based on a configuration by an eNB, and to determine a subsequent number of repetitions for a RA preamble transmission, associated with a higher CE level, if the UE does not receive a response from the eNB to the RA preamble transmission corresponding to the estimated initial CE level. ¶ [0125], ¶ [0126], a number of repetitions for a RA preamble at each level, a total number of RA preamble transmissions at each level can also be provided to the UE 114 by system information. Alternatively, a number of transmissions can be same for all repetition levels and be provided by system information. ¶ [0204], The maximum count can be same for all CE levels or can be configured (by system information) separately for each CE level.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to count the quantity of transmissions for the first-type PRACH transmission and a quantity of transmissions for the second-type PRACH transmission together or separately. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice.
9. Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Yi et al. (US 2016/0142981 A1, hereinafter “Yi”).
Regarding claim 8, Sun teaches the terminal device according to claim 4.
Sun does not explicitly teach wherein the transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission is determined based on the first power and a power offset.
Yi teaches wherein a transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission is determined based on a first power, and the first power is determined based on a (last) transmit power corresponding to the first-type PRACH transmission or the maximum transmit power of the terminal device (¶ [0146]-¶ [0153], ¶ [0154] Alternatively, power ramping between levels can be also considered where initial power of next repetition level (or coverage level) can be always greater than the last power used in previous repetition level (or coverage level) with delta difference (from the accumulated power perspective rather than individual PRACH per one PRACH transmission, i.e., accumulated power over repetition), ¶ [0156]); wherein the transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission is a transmit power of any one of the plurality of PRACH transmissions (¶ [0146]-¶ [0153], ¶ [0154] Alternatively, power ramping between levels can be also considered where initial power of next repetition level (or coverage level) can be always greater than the last power used in previous repetition level (or coverage level) with delta difference (from the accumulated power perspective rather than individual PRACH per one PRACH transmission, i.e., accumulated power over repetition), ¶ [0156]); wherein the transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission is determined based on the first power and a power offset (¶ [0146]-¶ [0153], ¶ [0154] Alternatively, power ramping between levels can be also considered where initial power of next repetition level (or coverage level) can be always greater than the last power used in previous repetition level (or coverage level) with delta difference (from the accumulated power perspective rather than individual PRACH per one PRACH transmission, i.e., accumulated power over repetition), ¶ [0156], ¶ [0157], ¶ [0166], ¶ [0171]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to determine the transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission based on the first power and a power offset in the system of Sun. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice (¶ [0146]-¶ [0172] of Yi).
Regarding claim 9, Sun in view of Yi teaches the terminal device according to claim 8.
Sun does not explicitly teach wherein the transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission is a sum of the first power and the power offset.
Yi teaches wherein the transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission is a sum of the first power and the power offset (¶ [0146], ¶ [0151], ¶ [0154], power ramping between levels can be also considered where initial power of next repetition level (or coverage level) can be always greater than the last power used in previous repetition level (or coverage level) with delta difference. ¶ [0156], ¶ [0157], ¶ [0166], For data retransmission, the power may be increased with Δretx where Δretx will be preconfigured or higher layer configured. In other words, the power for retransmission would be “pre-configured power level”+ Δretx. ¶ [0171], where the accumulation can be applied to the repeated transmissions equally. For example, TPC command indicates δ.sub.PUCCH=3 dB, then PUCCH transmission power will be increased to 3 dB for each repeated transmission. and ¶ [0172]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to determine the transmit power corresponding to the second-type PRACH transmission based on a sum of the first power and a power offset in the system of Sun. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice (¶ [0146]-¶ [0172] of Yi).
Conclusion
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477