DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
1. Amendment filed on 04/14/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended and claim 12 has been added.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 6, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,443,499. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claims 1 of 19/001,143
Claims 1 and 4 of 11,443, 499
An electronic device, comprising:
An electronic device, comprising:
a substrate comprising a first region and a second region;
a display layer disposed on the first substrate, wherein the display layer comprises a first display region and a second display region,
a biometric sensing module disposed corresponding to the first region
the second display region corresponds to the biometric sensing region,
a display medium layer disposed on the substrate;
a display layer disposed on the first substrate,
a touch sensing layer disposed on the display medium layer, wherein the touch sensing layer comprises a first touch sensing region and a second touch sensing region, the first touch sensing region corresponds to the second region, and the second touch sensing region corresponds to the first region;
a touch sensing layer disposed on the first substrate, wherein the touch sensing layer comprises a first touch sensing region and a second touch sensing region, the first touch sensing region corresponds to the non-sensing region, the second touch sensing region corresponds to the biometric sensing region,
wherein a reflectivity of the second touch sensing region is greater than a reflectivity of the first touch sensing region
wherein a reflectivity of the biometric sensing region is greater than a reflectivity of the non-sensing region,
Claims 3 of 19/001,143
Claim 1 of 11,443, 499
The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the supporting element comprises a hole, and the biometric sensing module is disposed corresponding to the hole.
the supporting film comprises a hole, and the biometric sensing module disposed corresponding to the hole.
Claims 4 of 19/001,143
Claim 1 of 11,443, 499
The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a light altering member at least partially disposed in the first region.
a light altering member at least partially formed in the biometric sensing region,
Claims 6 of 19/001,143
Claim 8 of 11,443, 499
The electronic device of claim 4, wherein the light altering member comprises a first insulating layer and a micro-structure layer disposed on the first insulating layer.
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the light altering member comprises a first insulating layer and a micro-structure layer disposed on the first insulating layer.
Claims 7 of 19/001,143
Claim 6 of 11,443, 499
The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a color filter layer disposed on the substrate
a color filter layer disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate
Claims 8 of 19/001,143
Claim 1 of 11,443, 499
The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a display layer disposed on the substrate
A display layer disposed on the first substrate
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bae et al (US 2019/0012555).
As to claim 1, Bae teaches an electronic device, comprising:
a substrate (a protection layer 118, fig. 1) comprising a first region (optical sensor layer 230 (fig. 2) corresponding to fingerprint sensor 140, fig. 1) and a second region (area of the display 110 other than the fingerprint recognition area 130, fig. 1);
a biometric sensing module disposed corresponding to the first region (optical sensor layer 230 (fig. 2), fig. 1);
a display medium layer disposed on the substrate (display panel 117, fig. 1);
a touch sensing layer disposed on the display medium layer ([0033] the display 10 may include a touch screen and may receive, for example, a touch, gesture, proximity, or hovering input using an electronic pen or part of user’s body),
wherein the touch sensing layer comprises a first touch sensing region and a second touch sensing region, the first touch sensing region corresponds to the second region (area of the display 110 other than the fingerprint recognition area 130, fig. 1), and the second touch sensing region corresponds to the first region (optical sensor layer 230 (fig. 2) corresponding to fingerprint sensor 140, fig. 1);
wherein a reflectivity of the second touch sensing region is greater than a reflectivity of the first touch sensing region ([0035] The fingerprint recognition area 130 may be an area for collecting fingerprint information based on which user authentication is performed, using light reflected by a fingerprint 150 of the user when the user locates the finger on the fingerprint recognition area 130. [0081] Areas occupied by the light-emitting pixels (e.g., the RGB pixels) 510 may be non-light-transmitting areas that prevent and/or reduce light reflected by an external object from being transmitted to an optical sensor layer. [0082] Examiner’s note: The fingerprint recognition area 130 reflect more light back to the finger sensing area 136 than the other area).
As to claim 2, Bae teaches the electronic device, further comprising a supporting element disposed between the substrate and the biometric sensing module (the light-shielding layer 220, fig. 2).
As to claim 3, Bae teaches the electronic device, wherein the supporting element comprises a hole (plurality of holes 221, fig. 2), and the biometric sensing module is disposed corresponding to the hole ([0057] The plurality of optical sensors 231 may, for example, and without limitation, be disposed in areas corresponding to the plurality of holes 221, fig. 2).
As to claim 4, Bae teaches the electronic device, further comprising a light altering member at least partially disposed in the first region (a micro lens layer 210 with its plurality of lenses 211, fig. 2).
As to claim 5, Bae teaches the electronic device, wherein the light altering member (a micro lens layer 210) is disposed between the substrate (a protection layer 118, fig. 1) and the biometric sensing module (optical sensor layer 230 (fig. 2), fig. 1).
As to claim 6, Bae teaches the electronic device, wherein the light altering member (micro lens layer 210, fig. 2) comprises a first insulating layer and a micro-structure layer (plurality of lenses 211, fig. 2) disposed on the first insulating layer (part of micro lens layer 210 other than the plurality of lenses 211, fig. 2).
As to claim 7, Bae teaches the electronic device, further comprising a color filter layer disposed on the substrate ([0098] An optical filter layer 880 may be disposed above the fingerprint sensor … The optical filter layer 880 may pass reflected light in green and blue wavelength bands and may block reflected light in a red wavelength band).
As to claim 8, Bae teaches the electronic device, further comprising a display layer disposed on the substrate (display panel 117, fig. 1).
As to claim 9, Bae teaches the electronic device, wherein the display layer comprises a plurality of conductive lines ([0045] The display panel 117 may be a layer that emits light in response to an electrical signal. The display panel 117 may have a form in which light-emitting elements (e.g., organic electro luminescence (EL)) are deposited on a thin film transistor (TFT) substrate. The TFT substrate may include TFT devices for driving respective pixels in an active area, metal interconnection wiring, an insulation film, and the like).
As to claim 10, Bae teaches the electronic device wherein the display medium layer comprises light-emitting diodes ([0045] The display panel 117 may be a layer that emits light in response to an electrical signal. The display panel 117 may have a form in which light-emitting elements are deposited on a thin film transistor (TFT) substrate, [0033] The display 110 may include, for example, and without limitation, a liquid crystal display (LCD), a light-emitting diode (LED) display).
5. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al (US 2019/0012555) in view of Chou (US 2014/0168121).
As to claim 11, Bae does not teach a facial sensor as claimed.
However, Chou teaches the electronic device, wherein the biometric sensing module comprising a facial sensor ([0023] the biometrics sensor 30 may also be…a face recognition sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bae to teach a facial sensor as suggested by Chou. The motivation would have been in order to provide “robust authentication method” ([0005]).
6. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al (US 2019/0012555) in view of Lee et al (US 2018/0173923).
As to claim 12, Bae does not teach the electronic device as claimed.
However, Lee teaches the electronic device, wherein a touch sensing region comprises at least one sensing unit configured to perform both a biometric sensing function and a touch sensing function ([0098] the touch-sensing circuit and the fingerprint-sensing circuit may be the same circuit, [0099] Alternatively, the fingerprint-sensing circuit may be part of the touch-sensing circuit, [0100] Alternatively, the touch-sensing circuit may be part of the fingerprint-sensing circuit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bae to teach “at least one sensing unit configured to perform both a biometric sensing function and a touch sensing function ”as suggested by Lee. The motivation would have been in order to reduce the required space and enable a more compact device ([0011]).
Conclusion
/AMEN W BOGALE/Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/NITIN PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628