DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Powderly et. al. [2018/0307303].
Regarding claim 1, Powderly teaches:
A method comprising: detecting, based on image data captured by a device, movement data for a hand of a user in relation to a physical input device at a first location on the physical input device [§0238, note user touch input upon totem touchpad];
detecting gaze information associated with the movement data [§0238, note user eye-gaze detection];
in response to determining that the movement is associated with a tracking movement, initiating a tracking mode [§0238, combination of touch input and eye tracking results in browser window being tracked across physical space];
and providing a first user input based on the movement data and the gaze information in accordance with the tracking mode [§0238, combination of touch input and eye tracking results in browser window being tracked across physical space];
Regarding claim 2, Powderly further teaches:
determining a gaze direction from the gaze information, wherein the first user input is associated with a portion of a user interface corresponding to the gaze direction [§0238, note detection of gaze direction to determine which wall the user is looking]
Claims 9 and 16 are substantially similar to claim 2 and are rejected using the same citations.
Regarding claim 3, Powderly teaches:
wherein determining the movement data is associated with the tracking movement comprises: determining a confidence value associated with the determination that the movement data is associated with a tracking movement; and determining that the confidence value satisfies a confidence threshold [§0288, note confidence value based upon how long user gaze is in a particular area]
Claims 10 and 17 are substantially similar to claim 3 and are rejected using the same citations.
Regarding claim 4, Powderly teaches:
wherein the confidence value is determined in part based on a gaze direction of the user [§0288, note confidence value based upon how long user gaze is in a particular area]
Claims 11 and 18 are substantially similar to claim 4 and are rejected using the same citations.
Regarding claim 6, Powderly teaches:
wherein the movement data is further detected based on contact data captured by a contact sensor and separate from the image data [§0238, note user touch input upon totem touchpad];
Claims 13 and 20 are substantially similar to claim 6 and are rejected using the same citations.
Regarding claim 7, Powderly teaches:
determining a portion of the hand of the user making contact with the physical input device; and determining that the movement is associated with the tracking movement based on the portion of the hand of the user. [§0088, note user touch input determining the difference between full hand or independent finger gestures];
Claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 7 and is rejected using the same citations.
Regarding claim 8, Powderly teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer readable code executable by one or more processors [§0416, note non-transitory medium for storing code to execute the following operation] to:
detect, based on image data captured by a device, movement data for a hand of a user in relation to a physical input device at a first location on the physical input device [§0238, note user touch input upon totem touchpad];
detect gaze information associated with the movement data [§0238, note user eye-gaze detection];
in response to determining that the movement is associated with a tracking movement, initiate a tracking mode; and provide a first user input based on the movement data and the gaze information in accordance with the tracking mode [§0238, combination of touch input and eye tracking results in browser window being tracked across physical space];
Regarding claim 15, Powderly further teaches:
A system comprising: one or more processors [§0414];
and one or more computer readable media comprising computer readable code executable by one or more processors [§0416, note non-transitory medium for storing code to execute the following operation] to:
detect, based on image data captured by a device, movement data for a hand of a user in relation to a physical input device at a first location on the physical input device [§0238, note user touch input upon totem touchpad];
detect gaze information associated with the movement data [§0238, note user eye-gaze detection];
in response to determining that the movement is associated with a tracking movement, initiate a tracking mode; and provide a first user input based on the movement data and the gaze information in accordance with the tracking mode [§0238, combination of touch input and eye tracking results in browser window being tracked across physical space];
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powderly in view of Nelson [2019/0094957].
Regarding claim 5, Powderly does not specifically teach “…causing input via the physical input device to be ignored during the tracking mode.” Nelson does teach disregarding physical input based upon the user gaze tracking [§0110, note touch input being ignored depending upon user gaze direction].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the method taught by Powderly with the step of disregarding touch input taught by Nelson because doing so allows for accidental user inputs to be safely ignored in favor of more likely intended inputs.
Claims 2 and 19 are substantially similar to claim 5 and are rejected using the same citations.
Conclusion
/ANDREW SASINOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625