DETAILED ACTION
1. The Office Action is in response to Application 19001158 filed on 10/28/2025. Claim 1-4, 13-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/24/2024, 12/09/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
6. Claim 1-4 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3-5 of US Patent US 12219181 indicated below.
For Claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-4, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they both are dealing with method for picture decoding. As clearly indicated in the table below, each claimed limitations of Claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-4 of the current application are anticipated by the corresponding limitations of claim 1, 3-5 of the reference patent.
US 12219181
Current Application
Claim 1:
A method for picture decoding, comprising:
receiving bitstream data and parsing the bitstream data to obtain a Coding Tree Unit (CTU) corresponding to the bitstream data;
enabling a preset refreshing mode, the preset refreshing mode being configured to perform overlapping decoding on the CUS;
parsing a node of a layer in the CTU to determine a leaf parameter corresponding to the node, the leaf parameter being configured to determine whether to partition the node;
performing detection processing on the node according to the leaf parameter to obtain a detection result; continuing to acquire a node of a next layer corresponding to the CTU according to the detection result;
determine a state parameter and a flag parameter corresponding to the node, the state parameter being indicative of whether the node supports a refreshing process, and the flag parameter being indicative of whether the node enables the refreshing process;
continuing to perform detection processing on the node of the next layer, and obtaining data of all Coding Units (CUs) corresponding to the CTU;
and generating a decoded picture corresponding to the bitstream data according to the node and the data of all CUs.
claim 3’s limitation:
before continuing to perform detection processing on the node of the next layer, further comprising: transmitting a state parameter of the next layer according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter
claim 4:
wherein transmitting the state parameter of the next layer according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter comprises: determining, according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter, whether to perform the refreshing process; responsive to determining to perform the refreshing process, performing the refreshing processing on the state parameter to obtain the state parameter of the next layer; and responsive to determining not to perform the refreshing process, determining the state parameter as the state parameter of the next layer.
claim 5:
wherein the state parameter is a first state parameter, and wherein the node of the next layer corresponds to a second state parameter that is determined by parsing the node of the next layer and configured to determine whether the node of the next layer supports refreshing.
Claim 1
A method for picture decoding, comprising:
receiving bitstream and parsing the bitstream to obtain a Coding Tree Unit (CTU);
enabling a preset refreshing mode, the preset refreshing mode being configured to perform overlapping decoding on the CUs;
parsing a node in the CTU to determine a leaf parameter, the leaf parameter being configured to determine whether to partition the node;
determining a state parameter and a flag parameter corresponding to the node, the state parameter being indicative of whether the node supports a refreshing process, and the flag parameter being indicative of whether the node enables the refreshing process;
continuing to acquire a next node corresponding to the CTU according to a detection processing on the node according to the leaf parameter;
and obtaining data of other Coding Units (CUs) corresponding to the CTU.
Claim 2
before obtaining data of other CUs corresponding to the CTU, further comprising: transmitting a state parameter of the next node according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter
Claim 3
wherein transmitting the state parameter of the next layer according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter comprises: determining, according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter, whether to perform the refreshing process; responsive to determining to perform the refreshing process, performing the refreshing processing on the state parameter to obtain the state parameter of the next node; and responsive to determining not to perform the refreshing process, determining the state parameter as the state parameter of the next node
Claim 4
wherein the state parameter is a first state parameter, and wherein the node of the next layer corresponds to a second state parameter that is determined by parsing the next node and configured to determine whether the next node supports refreshing
7. Claim 1-4 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3-6 of US Patent US 11882318 indicated below.
For Claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-4, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they both are dealing with method for picture decoding. As clearly indicated in the table below, each claimed limitations of Claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-4 of the current application are anticipated by the corresponding limitations of claim 1, 3-6 of the reference patent.
US 11882318
Current Application
Claim 1:
A method for picture decoding, comprising:
parsing bitstream data to obtain a Coding Tree Unit (CTU) corresponding to the bitstream data;
claim 5’s limitation:
enabling a preset refreshing mode, the preset refreshing mode being configured to perform overlapping decoding on the CUs.
parsing a node of a layer in the CTU to determine a state parameter and a flag parameter corresponding to the node, the state parameter being indicative of whether the node supports a refreshing process, and the flag parameter being indicative of whether the node enables the refreshing process, wherein the refreshing process refreshes a corresponding region of pixel data of the node based on the state parameter and the flag parameter;
determining a leaf parameter corresponding to the node, the leaf parameter being configured to determine whether to partition the node;
performing detection processing on the node according to the leaf parameter to obtain a detection result;
continuing to acquire a node of a next layer corresponding to the CTU according to the detection result; continuing to perform detection processing on the node of the next layer, and obtaining data of all Coding Units (CUs) corresponding to the CTU;
and generating a decoded picture corresponding to the bitstream data according to the node and the data of all CUs.
claim 3’s limitation:
before continuing to perform detection processing on the node of the next layer, further comprising: transmitting a state parameter of the next layer according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter.
claim 4:
wherein transmitting the state parameter of the next layer according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter comprises: determining, according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter, whether to perform the refreshing process; responsive to determining to perform the refreshing process, performing the refreshing processing on the state parameter to obtain the state parameter of the next layer; and responsive to determining not to perform the refreshing process, determining the state parameter as the state parameter of the next layer.
claim 6:
wherein the state parameter is a first state parameter, and wherein the node of the next layer corresponds to a second state parameter that is determined by parsing the node of the next layer and configured to determine whether the node of the next layer supports refreshing
Claim 1
A method for picture decoding, comprising:
receiving bitstream and parsing the bitstream to obtain a Coding Tree Unit (CTU);
enabling a preset refreshing mode, the preset refreshing mode being configured to perform overlapping decoding on the CUs;
parsing a node in the CTU to determine a leaf parameter, the leaf parameter being configured to determine whether to partition the node;
determining a state parameter and a flag parameter corresponding to the node, the state parameter being indicative of whether the node supports a refreshing process, and the flag parameter being indicative of whether the node enables the refreshing process;
continuing to acquire a next node corresponding to the CTU according to a detection processing on the node according to the leaf parameter;
and obtaining data of other Coding Units (CUs) corresponding to the CTU.
Claim 2
before obtaining data of other CUs corresponding to the CTU, further comprising: transmitting a state parameter of the next node according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter
Claim 3
wherein transmitting the state parameter of the next layer according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter comprises: determining, according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter, whether to perform the refreshing process; responsive to determining to perform the refreshing process, performing the refreshing processing on the state parameter to obtain the state parameter of the next node; and responsive to determining not to perform the refreshing process, determining the state parameter as the state parameter of the next node
Claim 4
wherein the state parameter is a first state parameter, and wherein the node of the next layer corresponds to a second state parameter that is determined by parsing the next node and configured to determine whether the next node supports refreshing
8. Claim 1-4 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3-6 of US Patent US 11516516 indicated below.
For Claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-4, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they both are dealing with method for picture decoding. As clearly indicated in the table below, each claimed limitations of Claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-4 of the current application are anticipated by the corresponding limitations of claim 1, 3-6 of the reference patent.
US 11516516
Current Application
Claim 1:
A method for picture decoding, comprising:
receiving bitstream data, and parsing the bitstream data to obtain a Coding Tree Unit (CTU) corresponding to the bitstream data;
claim 5’s limitation:
enabling a preset refreshing mode, the preset refreshing mode being configured to perform overlapping decoding on the CUs
parsing a node of a layer in the CTU to determine a state parameter and a flag parameter corresponding to the node, the state parameter being indicative of whether the node supports a refreshing process, and the flag parameter being indicative of whether the node enables the refreshing process,
wherein the refreshing process refreshes a corresponding region of pixel data of the node based on the state parameter and the flag parameter;
determining a leaf parameter corresponding to the node, the leaf parameter being configured to determine whether to continue to partition the node;
performing detection processing on the node according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter and the flag parameter to obtain a detection result;
continuing to acquire a node of a next layer corresponding to the CTU according to the detection result;
continuing to perform detection processing on the node of the next layer, and obtaining data of all Coding Units (CUs) corresponding to the CTU;
and generating a decoded picture corresponding to the bitstream data according to the node and the data of all CUs.
claim 3’s limitation:
before continuing to perform detection processing on the node of the next layer, further comprising: transmitting a state parameter of the next layer according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter.
claim 4:
wherein transmitting the state parameter of the next layer according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter comprises: determining, according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter, whether to perform the refreshing process; responsive to determining to perform the refreshing process, performing the refreshing processing on the state parameter to obtain the state parameter of the next layer; and responsive to determining not to perform the refreshing process, determining the state parameter as the state parameter of the next layer.
claim 6:
wherein the state parameter is a first state parameter, and wherein the node of the next layer corresponds to a second state parameter that is determined by parsing the node of the next layer and configured to determine whether the node of the next layer supports refreshing
Claim 1
A method for picture decoding, comprising:
receiving bitstream and parsing the bitstream to obtain a Coding Tree Unit (CTU);
enabling a preset refreshing mode, the preset refreshing mode being configured to perform overlapping decoding on the CUs;
parsing a node in the CTU to determine a leaf parameter, the leaf parameter being configured to determine whether to partition the node;
determining a state parameter and a flag parameter corresponding to the node, the state parameter being indicative of whether the node supports a refreshing process, and the flag parameter being indicative of whether the node enables the refreshing process;
continuing to acquire a next node corresponding to the CTU according to a detection processing on the node according to the leaf parameter;
and obtaining data of other Coding Units (CUs) corresponding to the CTU.
Claim 2
before obtaining data of other CUs corresponding to the CTU, further comprising: transmitting a state parameter of the next node according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter
Claim 3
wherein transmitting the state parameter of the next layer according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter comprises: determining, according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter, whether to perform the refreshing process; responsive to determining to perform the refreshing process, performing the refreshing processing on the state parameter to obtain the state parameter of the next node; and responsive to determining not to perform the refreshing process, determining the state parameter as the state parameter of the next node
Claim 4
wherein the state parameter is a first state parameter, and wherein the node of the next layer corresponds to a second state parameter that is determined by parsing the next node and configured to determine whether the next node supports refreshing
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
10. Claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
For claim 1, it recites limitations of “the CUs” in “enabling a preset refreshing mode, the preset refreshing mode being configured to perform overlapping decoding on the CUs”. However, there are no antecedence basis for this limitation and it is not clear what “CUs” exactly stands for. Thus the scope of the claim and its dependent claims 2-4 are unclear.
11. Claim 13 and its dependent claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
For claim 13, it recites limitations of “the CUs” in “the preset refreshing mode being configured to perform overlapping decoding on the CUs”. However, there are no antecedence basis for this limitation and it is not clear what “CUs” exactly stands for. Thus the scope of the claim and its dependent claims 14-16 are unclear.
12. Claim 17 and its dependent claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
For claim 17, it recites limitations of “the CUs” in “the preset refreshing mode being configured to perform overlapping decoding on the CUs”. However, there are no antecedence basis for this limitation and it is not clear what “CUs” exactly stands for. Thus the scope of the claim and its dependent claims 18-20 are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 1 -3, 13-15, 17-19 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIYOSHI et al. (US 20150146780) and in view of Hong et al. (US 20170347096) and further in view of IIZUKA ( JP H05161130).
Regarding claim 1, MIYOSHI teaches a method for picture decoding (paragraph 0005, … decoding an encoded picture), comprising:
receiving bitstream (paragraph 0205, … output encoded video data received from the processor 105 to other devices) , and process the bitstream to obtain a Coding Tree Unit (CTU); (fig. 3, component CTU);
enabling a preset refreshing mode ((paragraph 0113, …. The inter prediction restriction target CTU determination unit 12 determines a CTU … based on the refresh boundary positions; in which, since the refresh boundary is known, the node is enable to refresh), the preset refreshing mode being configured to perform decoding on the CUs (fig. 1A/1B; paragraph 0009, … the entire picture is refreshed after the slice to which the intra-refresh is applied is traversed throughout the picture, the video decoder can resume decoding from a refreshed picture);
parsing a node in the CTU to determine a leaf parameter (paragraph 0014, … the CTU 301 is further divided into a plurality of Coding Units (CUs) 302 according to a quad-tree structure; in which the quad-tree structure is leaf parameter), the leaf parameter being configured to determine whether to partition the node (as shown in fig. 3 and suggested in paragraph 0014, … The CTU 301 is further divided into a plurality of Coding Units (CUs) 302 according to a quad-tree structure… The CU 302 is individually processed in units of a Prediction Unit (PU) 303 or in units of a Transform Unit (TU) 304; note: the CTU is portioned according to qual tree structure (leaf parameter));
determining a state parameter (fig. 13, refresh boundary determination unit; paragraph 0106, … determines the position of a refresh boundary in a coding-target picture on the basis of a refresh cycle and the position of the refresh boundary; in which, the position of a refresh boundary is interpreted as the state parameter) and a flag parameter corresponding to the node (fig. 13, component 12, inter prediction restriction target CTU determination unit; paragraph 0113, …The inter prediction restriction target CTU determination unit 12 determines a CTU including a PU to which application of the temporal vector mode is prohibited, based on the refresh boundary positions of the encoding target picture and an immediately preceding encoded picture; in which, the result of the determination is interpreted as the flag, each CTU/PU is interpreted as a node; and the flag indicates application of the temporal vector mode is prohibited ), the state parameter being indicative of whether the node supports a refreshing process (the refreshing process is shown in fig. 1A/1B; paragraph 0106, … determines the position of a refresh boundary in a coding-target picture on the basis of a refresh cycle and the position of the refresh boundary; since the position of a refresh boundary is determined, it indicates that the CTU/PU support refreshing), and the flag parameter being indicative of whether the node enables the refreshing process (paragraph 0113, …. The inter prediction restriction target CTU determination unit 12 determines a CTU including a PU to which application of the temporal vector mode is prohibited, based on the refresh boundary positions; in which, since after the determination, the refresh boundary is known, therefore, the node PU/CUT is enable to refresh);
continuing to acquire a next node corresponding to the CTU according to a detection processing on the node according to the leaf parameter (as shown in fig. 3, there are three layer: CTU, CU and PU; paragraph 0014, … The CTU 301 is further divided into a plurality of Coding Units (CUs) 302 according to a quad-tree structure… The CU 302 is individually processed in units of a Prediction Unit (PU) 303 or in units of a Transform Unit (TU) 304…; the detection process is shown in paragraph 0014, … The CTU 301 is further divided into a plurality of Coding Units (CUs) 302 according to a quad-tree structure… The CU 302 is individually processed in units of a Prediction Unit (PU) 303 or in units of a Transform Unit (TU) 304… The TU 304 is divided in the quad-tree structure and is processed in the Z scan order….; in which, the division process is also a detection processing );
and obtaining data of other Coding Units (CUs) corresponding to the CTU (as shown in fig. 3 and also suggested in paragraph 0014, … The CTU 301 is further divided into a plurality of Coding Units (CUs) 302 according to a quad-tree structure. Each CU 302 in one CTU 301 is encoded in a Z scan order. The size of the CU 302 is variable and its size is selected from among CU partition modes of 8.times.8 to 64.times.64 pixels).
It is noticed that MIYOSHI does not disclose explicitly parsing the bitstream.
Hong disclose of parsing the bitstream data (as shown in fig. 12, step 1204; paragraph 0148, … parsing slice segment data syntax or coding tree unit syntax).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology parsing the bitstream data as taught by Hong as a modification to the method of MIYOSHI for the benefit of determine a syntax structure associated with each of a partitioning method (paragraph 0172).
It is noticed that MIYOSHI does not disclose explicitly perform overlapping decoding on the CUs.
IIZUKA disclose of perform overlapping decoding on the CUs (as shown in fig. 3, the divided region is overlapped with each other; page 5, … coding a moving picture signal by interframe prediction and refresh…… image signal is divided into a plurality of regions that can overlap each other, and in the region, refreshing is performed).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology perform overlapping decoding on the CUs as a modification to the method of MIYOSHI for the benefit of refresh control can be more flexible (page 9).
Regarding claim 9, MIYOSHI teaches a method for picture encoding (fig. 13), comprising:
enabling a preset refreshing mode (paragraph 0113, …. The inter prediction restriction target CTU determination unit 12 determines a CTU … based on the refresh boundary positions; in which, since the refresh boundary is known, the node is enable to refresh), the preset refreshing mode being configured to perform encoding on the CUs (fig. 1A/1B/fig. 13; paragraph 0009, … the entire picture is refreshed after the slice to which the intra-refresh is applied is traversed throughout the picture, the video decoder can resume decoding from a refreshed picture; note: decoding is the reverse of encoding);
partitioning a current coded picture to obtain a Coding Tree Unit (CTU) corresponding to the current coded picture (fig. 3, component CTU);
generating a bitstream corresponding to the current coded picture by encoding the CTU (fig. 13, encoding data stream), comprising:
getting a node in the CTU to determine a leaf parameter (paragraph 0014, … the CTU 301 is further divided into a plurality of Coding Units (CUs) 302 according to a quad-tree structure; in which the quad-tree structure is leaf parameter), the leaf parameter being configured to determine whether to partition the node (as shown in fig. 3 and suggested in paragraph 0014, … The CTU 301 is further divided into a plurality of Coding Units (CUs) 302 according to a quad-tree structure… The CU 302 is individually processed in units of a Prediction Unit (PU) 303 or in units of a Transform Unit (TU) 304; note: the CTU is portioned according to qual tree structure (leaf parameter));
determining a state parameter (fig. 13, refresh boundary determination unit; paragraph 0106, … determines the position of a refresh boundary in a coding-target picture on the basis of a refresh cycle and the position of the refresh boundary; in which, the position of a refresh boundary is interpreted as the state parameter) and a flag parameter corresponding to the node (fig. 13, component 12, inter prediction restriction target CTU determination unit; paragraph 0113, …The inter prediction restriction target CTU determination unit 12 determines a CTU including a PU to which application of the temporal vector mode is prohibited, based on the refresh boundary positions of the encoding target picture and an immediately preceding encoded picture; in which, the result of the determination is interpreted as the flag, each CTU/PU is interpreted as a node; and the flag indicates application of the temporal vector mode is prohibited ), the state parameter being indicative of whether the node supports a refreshing process (the refreshing process is shown in fig. 1A/1B; paragraph 0106, … determines the position of a refresh boundary in a coding-target picture on the basis of a refresh cycle and the position of the refresh boundary; since the position of a refresh boundary is determined, it indicates that the CTU/PU support refreshing), and the flag parameter being indicative of whether the node enables the refreshing process (paragraph 0113, …. The inter prediction restriction target CTU determination unit 12 determines a CTU including a PU to which application of the temporal vector mode is prohibited, based on the refresh boundary positions; in which, since after the determination, the refresh boundary is known, therefore, the node PU/CUT is enable to refresh);
continuing to acquire a next node corresponding to the CTU according to a detection processing on the node according to the leaf parameter (as shown in fig. 3, there are three layer: CTU, CU and PU; paragraph 0014, … The CTU 301 is further divided into a plurality of Coding Units (CUs) 302 according to a quad-tree structure… The CU 302 is individually processed in units of a Prediction Unit (PU) 303 or in units of a Transform Unit (TU) 304…; the detection process is shown in paragraph 0014, … The CTU 301 is further divided into a plurality of Coding Units (CUs) 302 according to a quad-tree structure… The CU 302 is individually processed in units of a Prediction Unit (PU) 303 or in units of a Transform Unit (TU) 304… The TU 304 is divided in the quad-tree structure and is processed in the Z scan order….; in which, the division process is also a detection processing );
and obtaining data of other Coding Units (CUs) corresponding to the CTU (as shown in fig. 3 and also suggested in paragraph 0014, … The CTU 301 is further divided into a plurality of Coding Units (CUs) 302 according to a quad-tree structure. Each CU 302 in one CTU 301 is encoded in a Z scan order. The size of the CU 302 is variable and its size is selected from among CU partition modes of 8.times.8 to 64.times.64 pixels).
It is noticed that MIYOSHI does not disclose explicitly parsing a node/bitstream to get some information of the node.
Hong disclose of parsing a node/bitstream to get some information of the node (as shown in fig. 12, step 1204; paragraph 0148, … parsing slice segment data syntax or coding tree unit syntax).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology parsing a node/bitstream to get some information of the node as taught by Hong as a modification to the method of MIYOSHI for the benefit of determine a syntax structure associated with each of a partitioning method (paragraph 0172).
It is noticed that MIYOSHI does not disclose explicitly perform overlapping decoding on the CUs.
IIZUKA disclose of perform overlapping decoding on the CUs (as shown in fig. 3, the divided region is overlapped with each other; page 5, … coding a moving picture signal by interframe prediction and refresh…… image signal is divided into a plurality of regions that can overlap each other, and in the region, refreshing is performed).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology perform overlapping decoding on the CUs as a modification to the method of MIYOSHI for the benefit of refresh control can be more flexible (page 9).
Regarding claim 17, MIYOSHI teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program and a bitstream stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor (fig. 13, component 18, entropy encoding unit), enables the processor to perform steps of (paragraph 0104, … the units included in the video encoder 1 may be function modules that are implemented by a computer program executed on a processor) a method for picture encoding (fig. 13), comprising:
enabling a preset refreshing mode ((paragraph 0113, …. The inter prediction restriction target CTU determination unit 12 determines a CTU … based on the refresh boundary positions; in which, since the refresh boundary is known, the node is enable to refresh), the preset refreshing mode being configured to perform encoding on the CUs (fig. 1A/1B/fig. 13; paragraph 0009, … the entire picture is refreshed after the slice to which the intra-refresh is applied is traversed throughout the picture, the video decoder can resume decoding from a refreshed picture; note: decoding is the reverse of encoding);
partitioning a current coded picture to obtain a Coding Tree Unit (CTU) corresponding to the current coded picture (fig. 3, component CTU);
generating a bitstream corresponding to the current coded picture by encoding the CTU (fig. 13, encoding data stream), comprising:
getting a node in the CTU to determine a leaf parameter (paragraph 0014, … the CTU 301 is further divided into a plurality of Coding Units (CUs) 302 according to a quad-tree structure; in which the quad-tree structure is leaf parameter), the leaf parameter being configured to determine whether to partition the node (as shown in fig. 3 and suggested in paragraph 0014, … The CTU 301 is further divided into a plurality of Coding Units (CUs) 302 according to a quad-tree structure… The CU 302 is individually processed in units of a Prediction Unit (PU) 303 or in units of a Transform Unit (TU) 304; note: the CTU is portioned according to qual tree structure (leaf parameter));
determining a state parameter (fig. 13, refresh boundary determination unit; paragraph 0106, … determines the position of a refresh boundary in a coding-target picture on the basis of a refresh cycle and the position of the refresh boundary; in which, the position of a refresh boundary is interpreted as the state parameter) and a flag parameter corresponding to the node (fig. 13, component 12, inter prediction restriction target CTU determination unit; paragraph 0113, …The inter prediction restriction target CTU determination unit 12 determines a CTU including a PU to which application of the temporal vector mode is prohibited, based on the refresh boundary positions of the encoding target picture and an immediately preceding encoded picture; in which, the result of the determination is interpreted as the flag, each CTU/PU is interpreted as a node; and the flag indicates application of the temporal vector mode is prohibited ), the state parameter being indicative of whether the node supports a refreshing process (the refreshing process is shown in fig. 1A/1B; paragraph 0106, … determines the position of a refresh boundary in a coding-target picture on the basis of a refresh cycle and the position of the refresh boundary; since the position of a refresh boundary is determined, it indicates that the CTU/PU support refreshing), and the flag parameter being indicative of whether the node enables the refreshing process (paragraph 0113, …. The inter prediction restriction target CTU determination unit 12 determines a CTU including a PU to which application of the temporal vector mode is prohibited, based on the refresh boundary positions; in which, since after the determination, the refresh boundary is known, therefore, the node PU/CUT is enable to refresh);
continuing to acquire a next node corresponding to the CTU according to a detection processing on the node according to the leaf parameter (as shown in fig. 3, there are three layer: CTU, CU and PU; paragraph 0014, … The CTU 301 is further divided into a plurality of Coding Units (CUs) 302 according to a quad-tree structure… The CU 302 is individually processed in units of a Prediction Unit (PU) 303 or in units of a Transform Unit (TU) 304…; the detection process is shown in paragraph 0014, … The CTU 301 is further divided into a plurality of Coding Units (CUs) 302 according to a quad-tree structure… The CU 302 is individually processed in units of a Prediction Unit (PU) 303 or in units of a Transform Unit (TU) 304… The TU 304 is divided in the quad-tree structure and is processed in the Z scan order….; in which, the division process is also a detection processing );
and obtaining data of other Coding Units (CUs) corresponding to the CTU (as shown in fig. 3 and also suggested in paragraph 0014, … The CTU 301 is further divided into a plurality of Coding Units (CUs) 302 according to a quad-tree structure. Each CU 302 in one CTU 301 is encoded in a Z scan order. The size of the CU 302 is variable and its size is selected from among CU partition modes of 8.times.8 to 64.times.64 pixels).
It is noticed that MIYOSHI does not disclose explicitly parsing a node/bitstream to get some information of the node.
Hong disclose of parsing a node/bitstream to get some information of the node (as shown in fig. 12, step 1204; paragraph 0148, … parsing slice segment data syntax or coding tree unit syntax).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology parsing a node/bitstream to get some information of the node as taught by Hong as a modification to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of MIYOSHI for the benefit of determine a syntax structure associated with each of a partitioning method (paragraph 0172).
It is noticed that MIYOSHI does not disclose explicitly perform overlapping decoding on the CUs.
IIZUKA disclose of perform overlapping decoding on the CUs (as shown in fig. 3, the divided region is overlapped with each other; page 5, … coding a moving picture signal by interframe prediction and refresh…… image signal is divided into a plurality of regions that can overlap each other, and in the region, refreshing is performed).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology perform overlapping decoding on the CUs as a modification to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of MIYOSHI for the benefit of refresh control can be more flexible (page 9).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of MIYOSHI, Hong and IIZUKA teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, In addition, Hong further discloses that transmitting a state parameter of the next layer according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter (as shown in fig. 6E, in which, a state parameter of the next layer is transmitted according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter).
The motivation of combination is the same as in claim 1’s rejection.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of MIYOSHI, Hong and IIZUKA teaches the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above, In addition, MIYOSHI further discloses that determining, according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter, whether to perform the refreshing process (fig. 13, refresh boundary determination unit; paragraph 0106, … determines the position of a refresh boundary in a coding-target picture on the basis of a refresh cycle and the position of the refresh boundary); responsive to determining to perform the refreshing process, performing refreshing processing on the state parameter to obtain the state parameter of the next layer (paragraph 0112, … The restriction block identification unit 11 identifies a PU which is included in the refreshed region of the encoding target picture; paragraph 0113, … inter prediction restriction target CTU determination unit 12 determines a CTU including a PU to which application of the temporal vector mode is prohibited, based on the refresh boundary positions of the encoding target picture and an immediately preceding encoded picture. Note that a CTU including a PU; in which, PU is next layer and the temporal vector is the state parameter); and Hong further discloses that responsive to determining not to perform the refreshing process, determining the state parameter as the state parameter of the next layer (as shown in fig. 6B and paragraph 0088, … FIG. 6B includes a syntax in the way of flags, or bin assignments, for each node (block), where each node's bin includes an assignment for each of the relevant flags. Thus to signal a partitioning of a CTU and the partitioning of the child nodes within the CTU, a proposed signal may be encoded with a series of flags, or bins; in which, there is no refresh).
The motivation of combination is the same as in claim 1’s rejection.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of MIYOSHI, Hong and IIZUKA teaches the limitations of claim 13 as discussed above, In addition, Hong further discloses that transmitting a state parameter of the next layer according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter (as shown in fig. 6E, in which, a state parameter of the next layer is transmitted according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter).
The motivation of combination is the same as in claim 13’s rejection.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of MIYOSHI, Hong and IIZUKA teaches the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, In addition, MIYOSHI further discloses that determining, according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter, whether to perform the refreshing process (fig. 13, refresh boundary determination unit; paragraph 0106, … determines the position of a refresh boundary in a coding-target picture on the basis of a refresh cycle and the position of the refresh boundary); responsive to determining to perform the refreshing process, performing refreshing processing on the state parameter to obtain the state parameter of the next layer (paragraph 0112, … The restriction block identification unit 11 identifies a PU which is included in the refreshed region of the encoding target picture; paragraph 0113, … inter prediction restriction target CTU determination unit 12 determines a CTU including a PU to which application of the temporal vector mode is prohibited, based on the refresh boundary positions of the encoding target picture and an immediately preceding encoded picture. Note that a CTU including a PU; in which, PU is next layer and the temporal vector is the state parameter); and Hong further discloses that responsive to determining not to perform the refreshing process, determining the state parameter as the state parameter of the next layer (as shown in fig. 6B and paragraph 0088, … FIG. 6B includes a syntax in the way of flags, or bin assignments, for each node (block), where each node's bin includes an assignment for each of the relevant flags. Thus to signal a partitioning of a CTU and the partitioning of the child nodes within the CTU, a proposed signal may be encoded with a series of flags, or bins; in which, there is no refresh).
The motivation of combination is the same as in claim 13’s rejection.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of MIYOSHI, Hong and IIZUKA teaches the limitations of claim 17 as discussed above, In addition, Hong further discloses that transmitting a state parameter of the next layer according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter (as shown in fig. 6E, in which, a state parameter of the next layer is transmitted according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter).
The motivation of combination is the same as in claim 17’s rejection.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of MIYOSHI, Hong and IIZUKA teaches the limitations of claim 18 as discussed above, In addition, MIYOSHI further discloses that determining, according to the leaf parameter, the state parameter, and the flag parameter, whether to perform the refreshing process (fig. 13, refresh boundary determination unit; paragraph 0106, … determines the position of a refresh boundary in a coding-target picture on the basis of a refresh cycle and the position of the refresh boundary); responsive to determining to perform the refreshing process, performing refreshing processing on the state parameter to obtain the state parameter of the next layer (paragraph 0112, … The restriction block identification unit 11 identifies a PU which is included in the refreshed region of the encoding target picture; paragraph 0113, … inter prediction restriction target CTU determination unit 12 determines a CTU including a PU to which application of the temporal vector mode is prohibited, based on the refresh boundary positions of the encoding target picture and an immediately preceding encoded picture. Note that a CTU including a PU; in which, PU is next layer and the temporal vector is the state parameter); and Hong further discloses that responsive to determining not to perform the refreshing process, determining the state parameter as the state parameter of the next layer (as shown in fig. 6B and paragraph 0088, … FIG. 6B includes a syntax in the way of flags, or bin assignments, for each node (block), where each node's bin includes an assignment for each of the relevant flags. Thus to signal a partitioning of a CTU and the partitioning of the child nodes within the CTU, a proposed signal may be encoded with a series of flags, or bins; in which, there is no refresh).
The motivation of combination is the same as in claim 17’s rejection.
Conclusion
15 The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form 892.
16. Contact Information
/ZAIHAN JIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488