DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 24 December 2024.
Claims 1-20 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10 January 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Publication 2022/0376756) in view of Lee et al. (US Publication 2022/0132558).
With respect to claims 1, 8 and 15, Yang teaches A method comprising:
transmitting, by the first wireless device to the second wireless device, a first request triggering a first aperiodic channel state information (CSI) report on a first carrier of a sidelink communication; (the ULE 115-a may transmit a CSI request 225 to the UE 115-b requesting (e.g., aperiodically) for the UE 115-b to transmit the CSI report 215 to the UE 115-a according to one of the CSI report configurations 205, paragraph 86)
based on the first carrier being different from a second carrier of the sidelink communication, transmitting, by the first wireless device to the second wireless device, a second request triggering a second aperiodic CSI report on a second carrier while the first aperiodic CSI report on the first carrier is ongoing, (the UE 115-a may refrain from transmitting the CSI request 225 (e.g., triggering another aperiodic CSI report 215) associated with the CSI report configuration 205 from the UE 115-b before a last slot of an expected reception window of the CSI report 215 or before completion of another ongoing CSI report 215 associated with the CSI report configuration 205. However, the UE 115-a (e.g., the CSI triggering UE) may simultaneously trigger the UE 115-b (e.g., the CSI reporting UE) to transmit multiple CSI reports 215 associated with different CSI report configurations 205 (e.g., using different sidelink grants or SCI messages for the CSI request 225). For example, if the UE 115-a triggers the UE 115-b to report a first CSI report 215 (e.g., an aperiodic CSI report 215) with a first CSI report configuration 205, the UE 115-a may also trigger the UE 115-b to report a second CSI report 215 with a second CSI report configuration 205 prior to receiving the first CSI report 215 from the UE 115-b, paragraph 89) and
receiving, by the first wireless device from the second wireless device, the first aperiodic CSI report on the first carrier. (The UE 115-b may transmit the CSI report 215 to the UE 115-a based on generating the CSI report 215. For example, the UE 115-b may transmit the CSI report 215 to the UE 115-a via a MAC-control element (CE), paragraph 94)
Yang doesn’t teach transmitting, by a first wireless device to a second wireless device, a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising one or more configuration parameters indicating a sidelink CSI report timer; and wherein the sidelink CSI report timer is running while the first aperiodic CSI report is ongoing;
Lee teaches transmitting, by a first wireless device to a second wireless device, a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising one or more configuration parameters indicating a sidelink CSI report timer; (RRC configures the following parameters to control the SL CSI reporting for each pair of the Source Layer-2 ID and the Destination Layer-2 ID, paragraph 428. CSIreporting-DelayTimerAppliedSLand wherein the sidelink CSI report timer is running while the first aperiodic CSI report is ongoing, paragraph 431)
wherein the sidelink CSI report timer is running while the first (start or restart the CSIreporting-DelayTimerSL, paragraph 445)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of yang with a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising one or more configuration parameters indicating a sidelink CSI report timer as taught by Lee. The motivation for combining Yang and Lee is to be able to provide very low latency and instantaneous data volume.
With respect to claims 2, 9, and 16, Yang teaches further comprising receiving, by the first wireless device from the second wireless device, one or more reports comprising one or more of: one or more first aperiodic CSI reports on the first carrier, wherein the one or more first aperiodic CSI reports are received after the transmitting the first request; one or more first aperiodic CSI reports on the first carrier, wherein the one or more first aperiodic CSI reports are received after the transmitting the second request; or one or more second aperiodic CSI reports on the second carrier, wherein the one or more second aperiodic CSI reports are received after the transmitting the second request.; (the method may include transmitting, to the second device and based on transmitting the signaling, a request for a CSI report according to a first CSI report configuration from the set of multiple CSI report configurations. The operations of 1310 may be performed in accordance with examples as disclosed herein. In some examples, aspects of the operations of 1310 may be performed by a CSI request transmitter, paragraph 179)
With respect to claims 3, 10, and 17, Yang teaches wherein the receiving the one or more first or second aperiodic CSI reports comprises: receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element comprising the one or more first and second aperiodic CSI reports; or receiving: a first MAC control element comprising the one or more first aperiodic CSI reports; and a second MAC control element comprising the one or more second aperiodic CSI reports. (MAC-CE may include an indication of a first cell index associated with the first CSI report (e.g., and the first CC) and the second MAC-CE may include an indication of a second cell index associated with the second CSI report (e.g., and the second CC). The first UE may identify the first CSI report based on the indication of the first cell index and may identify the second CSI report based on the indication of the second cell index. In other cases, the second UE may include the first CSI report and the second CSI report in a same MAC-CE (e.g., a multi-CSI MAC-CE). For example, a MAC-CE may include a first set of fields corresponding to the first CSI report and a second set of fields corresponding to the second CSI report, paragraph 109)
With respect to claims 4, 11, and 18, Yang teaches wherein: the one or more first aperiodic CSI reports comprise a first field indicating one or more of: a first carrier frequency; or a first resource pool of the first carrier frequency; or the one or more second aperiodic CSI reports comprise a second field indicating one or more of: a second carrier frequency; or a second resource pool of the second carrier frequency. (when reporting the CSI report 215 back to the UE 115-a (e.g., via a MAC-CE), the UE 115-b may indicate an index of the CSI report configuration 205 in the CSI report 215. If, for example, the UE 115-a triggers the UE 115-a to report multiple CSI reports 215 with different CSI report configurations 205, the UE 115-b may include multiple CSI MAC-CEs (e.g., corresponding to the multiple CSI reports 215) in a single PSSCH transmission. In such examples, if each CSI MAC-CE includes a corresponding CSI configuration index, the UE 115-a may use the CSI configuration indices to determine which CSI reports 215 correspond to which CSI report configurations, paragraph 95)
With respect to claims 5, 12 and 19, Yang teaches wherein: a first field indicating a first report process for reporting the first aperiodic CSI is in one or more of: the first request; or the one or more first aperiodic CSI reports; or a second field indicating a second report process for reporting the second aperiodic CSI is in one or more of: the second request; or the one or more second aperiodic CSI reports. (when reporting the CSI report 215 back to the UE 115-a (e.g., via a MAC-CE), the UE 115-b may indicate an index of the CSI report configuration 205 in the CSI report 215. If, for example, the UE 115-a triggers the UE 115-a to report multiple CSI reports 215 with different CSI report configurations 205, the UE 115-b may include multiple CSI MAC-CEs (e.g., corresponding to the multiple CSI reports 215) in a single PSSCH transmission. In such examples, if each CSI MAC-CE includes a corresponding CSI configuration index, the UE 115-a may use the CSI configuration indices to determine which CSI reports 215 correspond to which CSI report configurations, paragraph 95)
With respect to claims 6, 13 and 20, Yang teaches wherein: the first request is transmitted, via a first physical sidelink control channel, in a first sidelink control information comprising a field indicating the first request; or the second request is transmitted via a second physical sidelink control channel, in a second sidelink control information comprising a field indicating the second request. (The UE 115-a may transmit a CSI-RS 210 to the UE 115-b. In some cases, the CSI-RS 210 may include one or more other types of reference signals (e.g., in addition or alternative to the CSI-RS 210). For example, if CSI reporting is enabled by a higher layer parameter (e.g., sI-CSI-Acquisition) and a field (e.g., a “CSI request” field) in a corresponding SCI format (e.g., 2-A) is set to a specific value (e.g., 1), the UE 115-a may transmit the CSI-RS 210 via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission, paragraph 90)
With respect to claims 7 and 14, Yang teaches wherein: a first carrier comprises: a plurality of first resource pools; and/or one or more first bandwidth parts comprising: the plurality of first resource pools; or one or more first transmission resource pools and one or more first reception resource pools; and/or a second carrier comprises: a plurality of second resource pools; and/or one or more second bandwidth parts comprising: the plurality of second resource pools; and/or one or more second transmission resource pools and one or more second reception resource pools. (a carrier may be supported, where a numerology may include a subcarrier spacing (Δf) and a cyclic prefix. A carrier may be divided into one or more BWPs having the same or different numerologies. In some examples, a UE 115 may be configured with multiple BWPs. In some examples, a single BWP for a carrier may be active at a given time and communications for the UE 115 may be restricted to one or more active BWPs, paragraph 55)
Conclusion
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475