DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/30/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “;:” should be “;”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hong et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2026/0181547 (hereinafter Hong).
Regarding Claim 1, Hong teaches in Fig. 1B a first user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; one or more transceivers (e.g., as shown in Fig. 2, there may be WUS and MR transceivers whereby “[t]he first radio may be called a low-power radio (LR) or a low power wake-up radio (LP-WUR). Received WUS (e.g., an LP-WUS), for example via LR, may trigger wake-up or use of a second radio of the WTRU (e.g., the WTRU's main radio (MR))” – See [¶0156]; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers (e.g., as shown in Fig. 2), the one or more processors configured to:
receive, at the first UE and via the one or more transceivers, control signaling that indicates for the first UE to relay one or more wake up signals that each include an identifier associated with a second UE (“FIG. 3 illustrates an example WTRU relay implementation for extending LP-WUS coverage” – See [¶0164] whereby the relay WTRU may receive “a configuration from the network for LP-WUS coverage extension, the configuration may include: a configuration to monitor the LP-WUS of the remote WTRU including LO/MO resource occasions and configuration of the remote WTRU and ID/subgroups; a configuration for LP-WUS transmission/forwarding for remote WTRU(s )” – See [¶0166] and “[t]he relay WTRU may receive an indication to start monitoring remote WTRUs'LP-WUS” by “RRC/MAC/DCI indicating the remote WTRU(s) to forward to, an indication activating the SP resource for forwarding, or an indication may include a remote WTRU specific: timing alignment, transmit power indication” – See [¶0167]);
receive, at the first UE and via the one or more transceivers, a wake up signal that includes the identifier associated with the second UE (“The relay WTRU may receive the LP-WUS targeting the remote WTRU, for example based on subgroup/ UE ID” – See [¶0169] , wherein the wake up signal is modulated in accordance with an on-off keying modulation scheme (“a configuration for LP-WUS forwarding transmissions and LP-SS transmissions, for each remote WTRU, for example: LPWUS format (OFDM, OOK) and content (target ID/subgroup), Semi-Persistent resources on UL; and conditions for relaying, for example Activation/Deactivation criteria, e.g., based on MR/LR thresholds” – See [¶0166] whereby “the WTRU may receive one of OOK-1, OOK-4, OFDMA or etc. as a waveform of LP-WUS” – See [¶0207]); and
relay, by the first UE and via the one or more transceivers, the wake up signal to the second UE (“The relay WTRU may transmit the LP-WUS to the specific remote WTRU using the determined UL resource and remote WTRU specific timing and power.” – See [¶0170] based at least in part on the control signaling and based at least in part on the wake up signal including the identifier associated with the second UE (based on the received “configuration of the remote WTRU and ID/subgroups” received by “RRC/MAC/DCI indicating the remote WTRU(s) to forward to” – See [¶¶0166-67]).
Therefore, Hong anticipates Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 2, dependent from Claim 1, Hong further teaches the first UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more transceivers of the first UE comprise a primary transceiver and a secondary transceiver (e.g. as shown in Fig. 2), and
wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive the wake up signal and to relay the wake up signal via the secondary transceiver of the first UE while the primary transceiver of the first UE is in a sleep mode (“A WTRU maybe capable of relaying a LP-WUS to another WTRU if the relay WTRU is in coverage and the remote WTRU can benefit from extended LP-WUS cover age” – See [¶0163] whereby, as shown in Fig. 3, while the MR is in sleep mode at the Relay WRTU, the “WTRU 304 may listen for and receive LP-WUS 308 addressed to WTRU 310. WTRU 304 may relay LP-WUS 308 to WTRU 306 allowing WTRU 306 to wake-up and receive paging signal 312 from gNB 302. This allows WTRU 310 to benefit from the energy efficiency of the low-power radio that may be otherwise unavailable” – See [¶0164]; in the alternative, the LR is turned off and MR is used for relaying, e.g., “the WTRU, e.g., in RRC CONNECTED mode, may be configured to not tum on its LR and instead may receive direct network indications to wake-up one or more remote WTRUs. For instance, the WTRU may receive an RRC, MAC or DCI indication directly from the network. The indication may include the remote WTRU ID/subgroups to wake-up and/or the associated LP-WUS resource to use for LP-WUS transmission” – See [¶0298] and “the WTRU prepares the transmission and transmit on the configured resource using the configured format, timing, power etc. This avoids the relay WTRU to monitor for LP-WUs itself but requires the network to perform according scheduling and the relay WTRU needs to be CONNECTED which is battery consuming” – See [¶0299] ).
Therefore, Hong anticipates Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 3, dependent from Claim 1, Hong further teaches the first UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive, from a network entity and via the one or more transceivers, scheduling information for a set of wake up signal monitoring occasions (“Configurations for LP-WUS may include: LP-WUS occasions (LOs) and LP-WUS monitoring occasions (MOs )” – See [¶0205] and Fig. 4, whereby “based on the configurations of LOs, the WTRU may receive configurations of N*K MOs ( e.g., by receiving N*K sets of resources) for each LO where N may be a number of beams corresponding to LP-WUS and K may be a number of LP-WUS MOs for each beam. The configuration of LOs (e.g., each LO) and/or MOs (e.g., each MO) may be based on one or more of the following: . . . frequency resources, time resources, and the one or more reference resources may be one or more of the start of the frame, an associated paging frame, an associated paging occasion, one or more associated Los (e.g., for MOs), an associated PEI search space, SSB (PSS or SSS in NR-SS), LP-SS and etc.” – See [¶0206]) and
a set of wake-up signal relay occasions (“a WTRU may receive LP-WUS configurations. For example, in an embodiment, a (relay) WTRU is configured to monitor LP-WUS occasions corresponding to another WTRU's occasions, e.g., using their resource” configured as explained supra – See [¶0270]);
receive the wake up signal via a wake up signal monitoring occasion of the set of wake up signal monitoring occasions (“the WTRU receives a LP-WUS and detects the target of the LP-WUS. In an embodiment, the WTRU is configured to detect, in the received signals in the LOs/Mos the corresponding sequences or decode the corresponding IDs/subgroup indications, based on the different configurations, for example its own ID or subgroup in the first set of configuration and the remote WTRU's ID/subgroup in the second set(s) of configurations” – See [¶0284] and Fig. 6 at steps 610 and 612); and
relay the wake up signal via a wake up signal relay occasion of the set of wake up signal relay occasions (“the case where the WTRU detects a LP-WUS in a LO/MO, and the WTRU detects/identifies a subgroup/ID corresponding to one/mote remote WTRUs, the WTRU may prepare itself to transmit the LP-WUS to the corresponding WTRUs” – See [¶0288] and Fig. 6, whereby “[a]t 616, the WTRU transmits the LP-WUS. In an embodiment, the WTRU transmits the LP-WUS in the determined resources, targeting the remote WTRU(s). The WTRU uses the remote-WTRU specific configuration to transmit the LP-WUS. In some examples, the WTRU transmits an LP-WUS using the LP-WUS type and format (e.g., OOK or OFDM) configured for the remote WTRU, and the WTRU transmits an LP-WUS including the WTRU ID/subgroup ID of the remote WTRU” – See [¶0293] e.g. “the WTRU uses the same transmit power as used for the LP-SS transmissions” – See [¶0296])
Therefore, Claim 3 is anticipated by Hong.
Regarding Claim 4, dependent from Claim 3, Hong further teaches the first UE of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
receive, via a second wake up signal monitoring occasion of the set of wake up signal monitoring occasions and via the one or more transceivers, a second wake up signal that includes a second identifier associated with the first UE (“the WTRU may determine the one or more LOs based on the UE ID” as a first identifier – See [¶0221]; then “the WTRU may determine a subgroup ID of the WTRU for LP-WUS . . . based on one or more of the following: identical subgroup ID with PEI, indicated subgroup ID for LP-WUS, and determined subgroup ID for LP-WUS,” i.e., including a received subgroup ID as a second idfentifier– See [¶0244]; furthermore, even “[i]f the WTRU has no 5G-S-TMSI, for instance when the WTRU has not yet registered onto the network, the WTRU may use as default identity UE_ID=0 in the PF and i_s formulas” – See [¶0183] and [¶0175]),
wherein the second wake up signal is modulated in accordance with the on-off keying (OOK) modulation scheme (“[t]he WTRU may be configured to monitor different types/format of LP-WUS signals, e.g., a first type of signal/format for its own configuration (e.g., OFDM in the first configuration) and a second type for the remotes (e.g., OOK in the second configuration)” – See [¶0283]); and
perform, via the one or more transceivers, a communication with the network entity based at least in part on reception of the second wake up signal (“The WTRU will wake-up upon receiving wake-up signal 404” and “[i]f the WTRU receives an indication that there may be paging addressed to that WTRU in the next paging time window then the WTRU monitors PDCCH during each paging occasion of that paging time window” – See [¶0187] and Fig. 4 whereby the receiving and decoding of the PDCCH means a communication with the network entity based at least in part on reception of the second wake up signal, e.g., “the WTRU detects a PDCCH transmission addressed to P-RNTI within its PO” – See [¶0175]).
Therefore, Claim 4 is anticipated by Hong.
Regarding Claim 5, dependent from Claim 4, Hong further teaches the first UE of claim 4, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
receive, prior to the reception of the second wake up signal and via the one or more transceivers, an indication of the second identifier associated with the first UE (a second “LP-WUS configuration is the configuration for monitoring its own LP-WUS, i.e., wake-up itself and may include one or more of: . . . LP-WUS occasions (LOs) and LP-WUS monitoring occasions (MOs ), e.g., including associated time/frequency resources, repetitions, signal structure, sequence IDs, etc. DL resources” and “LP-WUS ID and/or LP-WUS subgroup ID” – See [¶0274] different from first “LP-WUS configuration [that] includes the configuration for monitoring remote WTRU's LP-WUS and how to transmit/forward to the remote WTRU” – See [¶0277]; see also [¶0215] (“the WTRU may determine one or more associated POs based on the UE ID”)).
Therefore, Claim 5 is anticipated by Hong.
Regarding Claim 6, dependent from Claim 4, Hong further teaches the first UE of claim 4, wherein the one or more transceivers of the first UE comprise a primary transceiver and a secondary transceiver, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
receive the second wake up signal via the secondary transceiver of the first UE while the primary transceiver of the first UE is in a sleep mode (“The WUS may be called a low-power WUS (LP-WUS). The first radio may be called a low-power radio (LR) or a low power wake-up radio (LP-WUR),” i.e., a secondary transceiver, different from “the WTRU's main radio (MR)” used “for data and/or control signal transmission and/or reception” – See [¶0156] i.e., a primary transceiver);
transition the primary transceiver to an active mode based at least in part on the reception of the wake up signal (“Signal processing of the LP-WUS is performed to reliably obtain determine that the signal is intended for the device and the signal is a wake-up signal” and “trigger baseband processor 210 to wake-up MR 208,” i.e., the primary transceiver – See [¶0157] and Fig. 2); and
perform the communication via the primary transceiver (“MR 208 may then transmit and receive main radio signal 204” – See id.).
Therefore, Claim 6 is anticipated by Hong.
Regarding Claim 7, dependent from Claim 3, Hong further teaches the first UE of claim 3, wherein the scheduling information indicates a mapping between the set of wake up signal monitoring occasions and the set of wake up signal relay occasions (“relay WTRU may receive, . . ., a configuration from the network for LP-WUS coverage extension, the configuration may include: a configuration to monitor the LP-WUS of the remote WTRU including LO/MO resource occasions and configuration of the remote WTRU and ID/subgroups” – See [¶0166] e.g., “WTRU may determine the one or more MOs based on one or more of the following: UE ID, Associated PO, Associated LO, and Associated PF” – See [¶0220], i.e., the remote UE ID determines the MOs that are relay occasions because “a (relay) WTRU is configured to monitor LP-WUS occasions corresponding to another WTRU's occasions, e.g., using their resource. The WTRU may receive an indication to activate the relaying including timing or power indications and starts monitoring the resources of the other WTRU. Upon detection of a signal targeting the remote WTRU, e.g., based on identification, the WTRU may determine the resources to transmit the LP-WUS to the remote, based on received resource mapping configuration” – See [¶0270] i.e., the indication indicates the mapping; furthermore, the WTRU may receive an indication of “the mapping between the reception of a LP-WUS for another WTRU and the resources on which to transmit/forward the LP-WUS where, for network-managed resources (e.g., UL resources, LP-WUS resource etc.), the network may indicate an explicit, and deterministic mapping of resources and for WTRU-managed resource (e.g., UL configured grant or periodic resources) the WTRU may be configured with a timing window on which to transmit the LP-WUS - min and max delay after the reception of the LP-WUS)” – See [¶0277] whereby when “the WTRU received a LP-WUS and identified one or more remote WTRU's ID/subgroups in the LP-WUS. The WTRU may then determine the resources on which to transmit the LP-WUS based on the received mapping configuration for the corresponding WTRU” – See [¶0290]).
Therefore, Claim 7 is anticipated by Hong.
Regarding Claim 8, dependent from Claim 1, Hong further teaches the first UE of claim 1, wherein: the on-off keying modulation scheme is one of on-off keying type one or on-off keying type four (“the WTRU may receive a configuration of waveform. For example, the WTRU may receive one of OOK-1, OOK-4, OFDMA or etc. as a waveform of LP-WUS” – See [¶0207])
Therefore, Claim 8 is anticipated by Hong.
Regarding Claim 9, dependent from Claim 1, Hong further teaches the first UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, a set of channel state information reference signals (“the WTRU in MR-ON mode may be configured to transmit on or more CSI reports” – See [¶0234] based on “measurements such as . . . CSI-RS (e.g. cri-RSRP, cri-SINR, ssbIndex- RSRP, ssb-Index-SINR)” received from the network – See [¶0235]), ; and
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, a channel state information report based on one or more measurements of the set of channel state information reference signals (“[a] WTRU may report a subset of channel state information (CSI) components, where CSI components may correspond to at least . . . measurements such as L1-RSRP, L1-SINR taken from SSB or CSI-RS” – See id.),
wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive the control signaling based at least in part on the channel state information report (“after receiving the configuration to relay LP-WUS,” i.e., the control signaling, “the WTRU may evaluate whether conditions for LP-WUS relaying are satisfied. For example, the WTRU may be configured with measurement conditions, e.g. including measurement resources, configuration and thresholds and perform the corresponding measurements. For instance, measurements based on SSB or CSI-RS” and “may report to the network that the WTRU is not able to monitor/relay the LP-WUS, e.g., based on RRC, MAC or UCI report” – See [¶0280] and further “the WTRU may receive from the network a configuration (e.g., from SIB or RRC), including measurement on the MR (e.g., based on SSB or CSI-RS measurements) being above a threshold” so that “[t]he WTRU may determine to switch from MR-ON to MR-OFF when some conditions ("entry conditions") are satisfied” – See [¶0230] and “WTRU may determine to switch from MROFF to MR-ON when some conditions ("exit conditions") are satisfied. For example, the WTRU may receive from the network a configuration (e.g., from SIB or RRC), including measurement on the LR (e.g., based on LP-SS or LP-WUS measurements) being below a threshold” – See [¶0231]).
Therefore, Claim 9 is anticipated by Hong.
Regarding Claim 10, Hong teaches in Fig. 3 a second user equipment (UE) 306 (e.g. “a set of XR devices, a set of personal devices belonging to the same user or a set of industrial devices and where some devices may be more capable than others ( e.g. for processing, coverage, battery) and one WTRU is willing to trade-off its battery/ processing power (relay) to save another WTRUs (remote) battery/processing power” – See [¶0171]) comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers – See, e.g., [¶0116] and Fig. 1B, the one or more processors configured to:
receive, from a first UE and via the one or more transceivers, a wake up signal that includes an identifier associated with the second UE and that is a relayed signal from a network entity (“The relay WTRU may receive the LP-WUS targeting the remote WTRU, for example based on subgroup/ UE ID, and determine the UL resource to transmit the LP-WUS” – See [¶0169] and “transmit the LP-WUS to the specific remote WTRU using the determined UL resource” – See [¶0170], i.e., the remote UE receives the WUS from the first UE),
wherein the wake up signal is modulated in accordance with an on-off keying modulation scheme (“[t]he WTRU may be configured to monitor different types/format of LP-WUS signals, e.g., . . a second type for the remotes (e.g., OOK in the second configuration)” – See [¶0283]); and
perform, via the one or more transceivers, a communication with the network entity based at least in part on reception of the wake up signal (“it is possible to extend coverage of LP-WUS and enable an extended battery life of remote WTRUs in cell-edges by allowing the remote WTRUs to stay in LP-WUS monitoring mode while located at the cell edge” – See [¶0170] i.e., the second/remote UE communicates with the network entity based at least in part on reception of a wake up signal).
Therefore, Claim 10 is anticipated by Hong.
Regarding Claim 11, dependent from Claim 10, Hong further teaches the second UE of claim 10, wherein the one or more transceivers of the second UE comprise a primary transceiver and a secondary transceiver, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
receive the wake up signal via the secondary transceiver of the second UE while the primary transceiver of the second UE is in a sleep mode (“allowing the remote WTRUs to stay in LP-WUS monitoring mode while located at the cell edge” – See id., means the second UE receives LP-WUS on the LR as shown in Figs. 2 and 3);
transition the primary transceiver to an active mode based at least in part on the reception of the wake up signal; and perform the communication via the primary transceiver (“WTRU 304 may relay LP-WUS 308 to WTRU 306 allowing WTRU 306 to wake-up and receive paging signal 312 from gNB 302,” i.e., turn is MR to ON – See [¶0164] and Fig. 3, e.g. if “[t]he WTRU monitors the legacy PO (and may monitor paging early indication (PEI)” – See [¶0159]).
Therefore, Claim 11 is anticipated by Hong.
Regarding Claim 12, dependent from Claim 10, Hong further teaches the second UE of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
receive, from the network entity prior to the reception of the wake up signal and via the one or more transceivers, an indication of the identifier for the second UE (“the network may transmit an indication ( or a message) via DCI/MAC CE/SIB/RRC message” that “may include one or more remote UE ID (e.g., L2 ID, Destination L2 ID, C-RNTI, Local ID, application ID)” – See [¶0327] whereby because the second UE will wake-up to listen to pages from the UE, and “the WTRU detects a PDCCH transmission addressed to P-RNTI within its PO” – See [¶0175], the second UE must have received the P-RNTI from the network entity prior to the reception of the wake up signal; in general “the WTRU may receive UE ID. For example, 5G-S-TMSI mod 1024 may be used as a UE ID” – See [¶0195])).
Therefore, Claim 12 is anticipated by Hong.
Regarding Claim 13, dependent from Claim 10, Hong further teaches the second UE of claim 10, wherein, to perform the communication with the network entity, the one or more processors are configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, a physical downlink control channel communication (“the WTRU detects a PDCCH transmission addressed to P-RNTI within its PO” – See [¶0175]).
Therefore, Claim 13 is anticipated by Hong.
Regarding Claim 14, dependent from Claim 10, Hong further teaches the second UE of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
receive, from the network entity and via the one or more transceivers, scheduling information for a set of wake up signal monitoring occasions (e.g., the detected PDCCH transmission supra may be “[a] paging early indication (PEI) 506 in DCI format 2-7 transmitted prior to the WTRU paging occasion [that] will indicate whether the WTRU has to monitor PDCCH and potentially PDSCH to receive a paging message” – See [¶0191, whereby the second UE may be configured via RRC with “PEI related configurations” that includes “the WTRU may receive information of number of paging occasions supported by PEI. For example, one of 1, 2, 4 or 8 may be indicated” – See [¶¶0198-200] and [¶0194]; furthermore, “[t]he configuration of . . . MOs (e.g., each MO) may be based on one or more of the following: . . . an associated paging occasion, one or more associated LOs (e.g., for MOs), an associated PEI search space” – See [¶0206] e.g., the MOs may be associated with the PEI for the second device); and
receive the wake up signal via a wake up signal monitoring occasion of the set of wake up signal monitoring occasions (the first UE/WTRU “may then determine the resources on which to transmit the LP-WUS based on the received mapping configuration for the corresponding WTRU” – See [¶0290] and “transmits the LP-WUS in the determined resources, targeting the remote WTRU(s). The WTRU uses the remote-WTRU specific configuration to transmit the LP-WUS,” i.e., the remote WTRU/second UE receives the WUS via a MO of the configured MOs – See [¶0293] and Fig. 5C).
Therefore, Claim 14 is anticipated by Hong.
Regarding Claim 15, dependent from Claim 10, Hong further teaches the second UE of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, a set of channel state information reference signals (“A WTRU may report a subset of channel state information (CSI) components” such as “measurements such as L1-RSRP, L1-SINR taken from SSB or CSI-RS” – See [¶0235] whereby “WTRU may . . . determine, be configured with one or more reference signals” – See [¶0238] including “wherein a WTRU may be configured with one or more of the following in a CSI-RS Resource: CSI-RS periodicity and slot offset for periodic and semi-persistent CSI-RS Resources” – See [¶0248] ); and
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, a channel state information report based on one or more measurements of the set of channel state information reference signals (“a WTRU in RRCConnected state in MR-OFF mode may need to switch to MR-ON mode and to wake up MR after receiving and/or detecting LP-WUS” then “the WTRU in MR-ON mode may be configured to transmit on or more CSI reports” – See [¶0234] “wherein the CSI for each connection mode may include or be configured with one or more of following: CSI Report Configuration” – See [¶0237]),
wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive the wake up signal from the first UE based at least in part on the channel state information report (the “configuration information indicating signal quality parameters for relaying the received LP-WUS to the remote WTRU include a first set of threshold values configured for the remote WTRU . . . where the first set of threshold values includes a first subset of threshold values for LR low power radio (LR) activation and MR deactivation” – See [¶0352] whereby “determining the signal quality parameters for relaying the received LP-WUS are satisfied is based on . . . measurements of the first set of threshold values” – See [¶0353] and “a signal may be interchangeably used with one or more of following: . . . channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS); . . . and synchronization signal block (SSB)” – See [¶0254]; and “further includes stopping the monitoring the LP-WUS of the remote WTRU when detecting LR measurements of the remote WTRU are less than a corresponding . . . subset threshold value for LR deactivation” – See [¶0355]).
Therefore, Claim 15 is anticipated by Hong.
Regarding Claim 16, dependent from Claim 10, Hong further teaches the second UE of claim 10, wherein the on-off keying modulation scheme is one of on-off keying type one or on-off keying type four (“the WTRU transmits an LP-WUS using the LP-WUS type and format (e.g., OOK or OFDM) configured for the remote WTRU” – See [¶0293] and Fig. 6, whereby “the WTRU may indicate supported waveforms. For example, the WTRU may indicate one or more of OOK-1, OOK-2, OOK-3, OOK-4, FSK-1, FSK-2, OFDMA and etc.” – See [¶0258]).
Therefore, Claim 16 is anticipated by Hong.
Regarding Claim 17, Hong teaches in Fig. 1D a network entity (the RAN 104 may employ an NR radio technology to communicate with the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c over the air interface 116. The RAN 104 may also be in communication with the CN 106” – See [¶0143] whereby “[t]he RAN 104 may include gNBs 180a, 180b, 180c, though it will be appreciated that the RAN 104 may include any number of gNBs” – See [¶0144]), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (“the methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor” whereby “processor in association with software may be used to implement a radio frequency transceiver for use in a . . . base station”– See [¶0358]), the one or more processors configured to:
output, for a first UE, control signaling that indicates for the first UE to relay one or more wake up signals that each include an identifier associated with a second UE (“The relay WTRU may receive an indication to start monitoring remote WTRUs'LP-WUS. The indication to start monitoring may, for example, be an RRC/MAC/DCI indicating the remote WTRU(s) to forward to, an indication activating the SP resource for forwarding, or an indication may include a remote WTRU specific: timing alignment, transmit power indication” – See [¶0167] whereby, e.g., the DCI is received (only) from a base station); and
output, for relay by the first UE, a wake up signal that includes the identifier associated with the second UE (“The relay WTRU may receive the LP-WUS targeting the remote WTRU, for example based on subgroup/UE ID” – See [¶0169] “allowing the remote WTRUs to stay in LP-WUS monitoring mode while located at the cell edge” – See [¶0170]),
wherein the one or more processors are configured to modulate the wake up signal in accordance with an on-off keying modulation scheme (“The relay WTRU may receive . . . a configuration from the network for LP-WUS coverage extension, the configuration may include . . . LP WUS format (OFDM, OOK) and content (target ID/sub group)” – See [¶0166] whereby “the WTRU may receive a configuration of waveform. For example, the WTRU may receive one of OOK-1, OOK-4, . . . as a waveform of LP-WUS.” – See [¶0207]).
Therefore, Claim 17 is anticipated by Hong.
Regarding Claim 18, dependent from Claim 17, Hong further teaches the network entity of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
output a physical downlink control channel communication for the second UE (“the WTRU may wake up (e.g., activate main radio (MR) and/or deactivate low power wake-up receiver (LP-WUR)) and start monitoring of PDCCH (e.g., for paging)” – See [¶0228] whereby “[t]he received PDCCH may include grant indications for one or more UL and/or DL transmissions and/or receptions. In another example, the WTRU in MR-ON mode may be configured to transmit on or more CSI reports” – See [¶0234]).
Therefore, Claim 18 is anticipated by Hong.
Regarding Claim 19, dependent from Claim 17, Hong further teaches the network entity of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
output, for the first UE, first scheduling information for a first set of wake up signal monitoring occasions and a set of wake up signal relay occasions, wherein the one or more processors are configured to output the wake up signal via a wake up signal monitoring occasion of the first set of wake up signal monitoring occasions, (“a WTRU may receive . . . one or multiple [] LP-WUS configuration(s), e.g., from the network” that “includes the configuration for monitoring remote WTRU's LP-WUS and how to transmit/forward to the remote WTRU and may include: . . . first set of LP-WUS occasions (LOs) and LP-WUS monitoring occasions (MOs) where the relay WTRU will monitor LP-WUS from the network” and “a second set of LP-WUS occasions (LOs) and LP-WUS monitoring occasions (MOs) where the relay will transmit LP-WUS to the other WTRU,” i.e., the relay occasions – See [¶0277]), and
wherein the first scheduling information indicates a mapping between the first set of wake up signal monitoring occasions and the set of wake up signal relay occasions; and output, for the second UE, second scheduling information for a second set of wake up signal monitoring occasions that correspond to the set of wake up signal relay occasions ( the one or multiple LP-WUS configuration(s) also include “the association/mapping between the first set of LO/PO and the second set of LO/PO, i.e., the mapping between the reception of a LP-WUS for another WTRU and the resources on which to transmit/forward the LP-WUS where, for network-managed resources (e.g., UL resources, LP-WUS resource etc.), the network may indicate an explicit, and deterministic mapping of resources,” i.e., the second scheduling information which may include “indication of a time advance/offset to use for transmission of the LP-WUS to the remote WTRU, e.g., so that the remote/relay WTRU's timing are align, considering the propagation delay; and transmit power” – See id.).
Therefore, Claim 19 is anticipated by Hong.
Regarding Claim 20, dependent from Claim 19, Hong further teaches the network entity of claim 19, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
output, for the first UE, an indication of a second identifier associated with the first UE (first, “the WTRU may determine the one or more LOs based on the UE ID” as a first identifier – See [¶0221]; then “the WTRU may determine a subgroup ID of the WTRU for LP-WUS . . . based on one or more of the following: identical subgroup ID with PEI, indicated subgroup ID for LP-WUS, and determined subgroup ID for LP-WUS,” i.e., including a received subgroup ID – See [¶0244]);
output, via a second wake up signal monitoring occasion of the first set of wake up signal monitoring occasions and after outputting the indication of the second identifier associated with the first UE, a second wake up signal that includes the second identifier for the first UE (“the WTRU may monitor LOs/MOs associated with the WTRU's subgroup ID (e.g., among the LOs/MOs associated with the UE ID and the associated PO),” i.e., via a second wake up signal of the first set of wake up signal MOs – See [¶0226]),
wherein the one or more processors are configured to modulate the wake up signal in accordance with the on-off keying modulation scheme (“relay WTRU may receive . . . a configuration from the network for LP-WUS coverage extension, the configuration may include: . . . LP WUS format (OFDM, OOK) and content (target ID/subgroup)” – See [¶0166]) ; and
perform a communication with the first UE based at least in part on outputting the second wake up signal (“the WTRU may wake up (e.g., activate main radio (MR) and/or deactivate low power wake-up receiver (LP-WUR)) and start monitoring of PDCCH (e.g., for paging),” e.g., after receiving wake-up signal for the subgroup ID– See [¶0228]).
Therefore, Claim 20 is anticipated by Hong.
In sum, Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) as anticipated by Hong.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, includes, in addition to prior art cited by the IDS filed 03/30/2026:
Jiao et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0172116 discloses SL relaying wherein a first terminal device sends a wake-up signal to a second terminal device by using a first frequency domain resource, where the wake-up signal is used to activate a second frequency domain resource for SL data;
Knudsen et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0142473 discloses wake-up signals for devices with no main radio or for which a main radio is turned off;
Fouad et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20250310884/ 20250310885 discloses low-power wake up signaling and reception for main radio wake-up and power saving whereby the main radio will only be woken from a power-saving sleep upon the LP-WUR radio receiving a wake-up signal/packet and relaying some WUS to the main radio to being regular operation;
Kristem et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0346013 discloses a wake-up preamble as an on-off keying (OOK) signal;
Park et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210168720 discloses apparatus and method using an On-off keying (OOK) modulation based low power wake-up protocol suitable for use in IoT devices;
Final Report of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #118b v1.0.0, R1-2409341, referenced Tdocs under Action Item 9.6, Title: “Low-power wake-up signal and receiver for NR (LP-WUS/WUR),” published October 2024, available at https://www.3gpp.org/ftp/tsg_ran/wg1_rl1/TSGR1_118b;
Draft Report of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #119 v0.3.0, R1-250xxxx, referenced Tdocs under Action Item 9.6, Title: “Low-power wake-up signal and receiver for NR (LP-WUS/WUR),” published before 12/24/2024, available at https://www.3gpp.org/ftp/tsg_ran/wg1_rl1/TSGR1_119.
/L.G.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478