DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (US 2024/0365282).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising: receiving, by a terminal device, first indication information from a central node, wherein the first indication information indicates that a network device pages the terminal device(item 327 in Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 2, Wu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the transmitting of the first indication information is triggered by at least one of: the central node receiving second indication information transmitted by an access network device, wherein the second indication information indicates that the network device pages the terminal device; or the central node receiving third indication information transmitted by a core network, wherein the third indication information indicates that the network device pages the terminal device(item 324 in Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the second indication information is carried by a paging early indication (PEI) of the terminal device, and the PEI of the terminal device indicates that the terminal device receives paging indication information(P[0010, 73, 78-79, 89, 119, 121]; paging early indication).
Regarding claim 4, Wu teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the PEI of the terminal device is carried in first control information, and the first control information includes at least one of: a PEI of the central node or PEIs of other terminal devices(P[0011], DU paging DCI; item 327 in Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 6, Wu teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the second indication information is carried in a paging message of the central node(item 328 in Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 7, Wu teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the second indication information includes an identifier of the terminal device(P[0012], paging subgroup identifier).
Regarding claim 8, Wu teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the second indication information is obtained via paging detection by the central node based on paging configuration information of the terminal device(P[0010], if the CU determines to page the UE, the CU transmits the configuration to DU to instruct the DU to page the UE using the configuration).
Regarding claim 10, Wu teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: in response to the first indication information, receiving, by the terminal device, a paging message via the central node(item 328 in Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the paging message is transmitted by a core network to the central node(item 322 in Fig. 3A; P[0083]).
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: in response to the first indication information, turning on, by the terminal device, a communication module for communicating with an access network device; and receiving, by the terminal device via the communication module, a paging message transmitted by the access network device(P[0078], wakeup signal for paging).
Regarding claim 13, Wu teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, by the terminal device, fourth indication information to the network device, wherein the fourth indication information indicates that the terminal device is connected to the central node(P[0082], UE performs an RRC connection establishment procedure with the CU via the DU and the cell).
Regarding claim 14, Wu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first indication information is received by a wakeup device in the terminal device(P[0078], WUS, wakeup signal for paging).
Claims 16-20 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1-4 and 1 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2024/0365282) in view of Shi et al. (hereinafter Shi)(2025/0024352).
Regarding claim 5, Wu teaches all the particulars of the claim except the method wherein PEIs of terminal devices under a coverage of the central node are carried in same control information, and a sequence number iPEI of the PEI of the terminal device in bits of the PEI corresponding to the central node is determined according to the following equation: iPEI=mod(nintraUEID,N)+ibegin wherein N is a number of bits of the PEI corresponding to the central node, ibegin is a bit sequence number of a PEI of a first terminal device in the bits of the PEI corresponding to the central node, and nintraUEID is a sequence number of the terminal device among the terminal devices under the coverage of the central node(P[0128-0132]). However, Liu teaches in an analogous art wherein PEIs of terminal devices under a coverage of the central node are carried in same control information, and a sequence number iPEI of the PEI of the terminal device in bits of the PEI corresponding to the central node is determined according to the following equation: iPEI=mod(nintraUEID,N)+ibegin wherein N is a number of bits of the PEI corresponding to the central node, ibegin is a bit sequence number of a PEI of a first terminal device in the bits of the PEI corresponding to the central node, and nintraUEID is a sequence number of the terminal device among the terminal devices under the coverage of the central node. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method, wherein PEIs of terminal devices under a coverage of the central node are carried in same control information, and a sequence number iPEI of the PEI of the terminal device in bits of the PEI corresponding to the central node is determined according to the following equation: iPEI=mod(nintraUEID,N)+ibegin wherein N is a number of bits of the PEI corresponding to the central node, ibegin is a bit sequence number of a PEI of a first terminal device in the bits of the PEI corresponding to the central node, and nintraUEID is a sequence number of the terminal device among the terminal devices under the coverage of the central node in order to have improved applicability.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2024/0365282) in view of Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu)(WO 2020/088618).
Regarding claim 9, Wu teaches all the particulars of the claim except the method wherein the third indication information includes one or more of: an internet protocol (IP) address of the central node, an identifier of the central node, an IP address of the terminal device, and an identifier of the terminal device. However, Liu teaches in an analogous art wherein the third indication information includes one or more of: an internet protocol (IP) address of the central node, an identifier of the central node, an IP address of the terminal device, and an identifier of the terminal device(page 11, IP address of DU in order to identify which DU from the distributed DUs). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method, wherein the third indication information includes one or more of: an internet protocol (IP) address of the central node, an identifier of the central node, an IP address of the terminal device, and an identifier of the terminal device in order to have improved applicability.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2024/0365282) in view of Babei (US 2022/0330205).
Regarding claim 15, Wu teaches all the particulars of the claim except the method according to claim 1, wherein the central node includes at least one of a customer premise equipment (CPE), a wireless fidelity (WiFi) base station, a road side unit in a sidelink communication system, or a central node in the sidelink communication system. However, Babei teaches in an analogous art, wherein the central node includes at least one of a customer premise equipment (CPE), a wireless fidelity (WiFi) base station, a road side unit in a sidelink communication system, or a central node in the sidelink communication system(P0046], Road side units vehicle to vehicle communications device). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method, wherein the central node includes at least one of a customer premise equipment (CPE), a wireless fidelity (WiFi) base station, a road side unit in a sidelink communication system, or a central node in the sidelink communication system in order to have wider applicability.
Conclusion
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647