Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agarwal et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0221976), referred herein as Agarwal, in view of Dilts (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0293558), referred herein as Dilts.
Regarding claim 1, Agarwal teaches a method for determining model arrangement information, comprising: in response to triggering to arrange a first model on a house layout design drawing, displaying at least one capture element of the first model; wherein the house layout design drawing comprises a first reference plane drawn according to a user operation instruction (figs 2, 4, and 5, house layout 300, model 326, capture elements 338/340, reference plane 314; paragraph 30, lines 1-9; paragraph 33; paragraph 39, lines 1-20; paragraph 41, lines 1-17; a model and its capture elements are displayed in a house layout drawing that comprises a reference plane drawn in response to user operation instructions);
in response to detecting a drag operation on a first capture element among the at least one capture element, moving the first capture element and the first model according to a trajectory corresponding to the drag operation and a relative position between the first capture element and the first model (paragraph 28, lines 1-8; paragraph 41, lines 1-17; paragraph 42, lines 1-9; paragraph 43, lines 1-8; in response to a click and drag operation, the capture element and model move according to the trajectory of the drag operation and their relative positions); and
in a case of a preset adsorption condition is met between the first reference plane and the first capture element and an arrangement confirmation instruction input by a user is detected during movement, determining an arrangement position of the first capture element based on a position of the first reference plane, and determining an arrangement position of the first model based on the relative position between the first capture element and the first model (paragraph 28, the last 18 lines; paragraph 42, lines 9-16 and the last 12 lines; paragraph 43, the last 14 lines; when a preset adsorption condition is met [e.g. per Applicant’s specification, paragraph 88, a threshold distance between the capture element and model, and the reference plane], and in response to a user confirmation operation, arrangement positions of the capture element and model are determined).
As shown above, Agarwal teaches a reference plane, which in some contexts, could be interpreted as a reference line (for example, when considered from a side-on view, as some walls are illustrated, a plane may be see as a line since it has no depth). However, Agarwal does not explicitly teach utilizing a reference line.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Dilts teaches a method for model arrangement that may be used for a house layout design drawing, comprising displaying at least one capture element for a first model, and in response to a drag operation of the capture elements, moving the capture element and model according to a trajectory of the drag operation, and in case a preset adsorption condition is met, determining an arrangement position of the element (figs 5D-5G; capture elements 530, 107A-107C; paragraph 44; paragraphs 74 and 76; paragraphs 78 and 79; paragraph 81, lines 1-10; paragraph 88), wherein the drawing comprises a first reference line drawn according to a user operation instruction, and when the preset adsorption condition is met, determining and arrangement position of the capture element based on a position of the reference line (fig 5F, lines reference lines 550, 546, 544, 548; paragraphs 87 and 88).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the reference lines of Dilts with the capture element control of Agarwal because this helps make model movements simply, intuitive, and accurate, thereby improving user action with the interface and overall speed and quality of the output images (see, for example, Dilts, paragraph 6; paragraph 160; paragraph 192).
Regarding claim 2, Agarwal in view of Dilts teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: in a reference line drawing mode, in response to detecting a datum point confirmation instruction on the house layout design drawing, determining reference line datum information based on a detection position of the datum point confirmation instruction, and starting to detect a drawing confirmation instruction on the house layout design drawing; and generating the first reference line on the house layout design drawing based on the reference line datum information and position information indicated by the drawing confirmation instruction (Agarwal, paragraph 28, the last 18 lines; paragraph 42, lines 9-16 and the last 12 lines; paragraph 43, the last 14 lines; Dilts, paragraphs 87 and 88; the motivation to combine is similar to that discussed above in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Agarwal in view of Dilts teaches the method of claim 2, wherein in a case of a datum point indicated by the datum point confirmation instruction is located on a linear element in the house layout design drawing, the reference line datum information is the linear element; and generating the first reference line on the house layout design drawing based on the reference line datum information and the position information indicated by the drawing confirmation instruction, comprises: generating the first reference line parallel to the linear element on the house layout design drawing according to a distance value comprised in the drawing confirmation instruction and/or 46a detection position of the drawing confirmation instruction (Agarwal, paragraph 28, the last 18 lines; paragraph 42, lines 9-16 and the last 12 lines; paragraph 43, the last 14 lines; paragraph 44, the last 20 lines; Dilts, paragraphs 87, 88; the motivation to combine is similar to that discussed above in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Agarwal in view of Dilts teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the linear element in the house layout design drawing comprises at least one of: a second reference line drawn according to a user operation instruction, a line segment of a house layout component, or an external frame line of a second model arranged on the house layout design drawing (Agarwal, paragraph 28, the last 18 lines; paragraph 42, lines 9-16 and the last 12 lines; paragraph 43, the last 14 lines; Dilts, paragraph 76 and 78; paragraphs 87 and 88; paragraph 90; the motivation to combine is similar to that discussed above in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Agarwal in view of Dilts teaches the method of claim 2, wherein in a case of a datum point indicated by the datum point confirmation instruction is not located on a linear element in the house layout design drawing, the reference line datum information is the datum point; and the first reference line penetrates through the datum point and the position information indicated by the drawing confirmation instruction (Agarwal, figs 7 and 9; paragraph 28, lines 1-18; paragraph 44; Dilts, 5F and 5G; paragraphs 87 and 88; paragraphs 89 and 90; the motivation to combine is similar to that discussed above in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Agarwal in view of Dilts teaches the method of claim1, wherein the at least one capture element comprises at least one of: an element on an external frame of the first model, a point on a mesh surface of the first model, a key point determined when the first model is modeled, an auxiliary line segment of the first model, or a key point on the auxiliary line segment (Agarwal, figs 4 and 5; paragraph 30, lines 1-9; paragraph 33; paragraph 39, lines 1-20; paragraph 41, lines 1-17; Dilts, figs 5B, 5D, 5G; paragraphs 72 and 76; paragraphs 87 and 90; the motivation to combine is similar to that discussed above in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Agarwal in view of Dilts teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising: in an auxiliary line drawing mode, detecting a start point confirmation instruction and an end point confirmation instruction detected on the house layout design drawing; generating the auxiliary line segment based on a start point indicated by the start point confirmation instruction and an end point indicated by the end point confirmation instruction; and binding the auxiliary line segment with the first model (Agarwal, paragraphs 28, 41, and 43; Dilts, paragraphs 72 and 74; paragraphs 79 and 81; paragraphs 89 and 90; paragraph 102; the motivation to combine is similar to that discussed above in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Agarwal in view of Dilts teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the start point confirmation instruction comprises a click instruction for the start point, or a confirmation instruction for adsorbing a point on the house layout design drawing as the start point; and the end point confirmation instruction comprises a click instruction for the end point, or a confirmation instruction for adsorbing a point on the house layout design drawing as the end point (Agarwal, paragraphs 28, 41, 43; Dilts, paragraphs 72 and 74; paragraphs 79 and 81; paragraphs 89 and 90; paragraph 102; the motivation to combine is similar to that discussed above in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Agarwal in view of Dilts teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the in response to triggering to arrange a first model on a house layout design drawing, displaying at least one capture element of the first model, comprises: in response to triggering to arrange a first model on a house layout design drawing, determining a type of a capture element to be displayed according to size information of an external frame of the first model; and displaying at least one capture element of the first model according to the type of the capture element to be displayed (Agarwal, paragraph 30, lines 1-9; paragraph 33; paragraph 39, lines 1-20; paragraph 41, lines 1-17; paragraph 42; Dilts, figs 5; paragraphs 66 and 67; paragraph 70 and 72; paragraph 86; the motivation to combine is similar to that discussed above in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, Agarwal in view of Dilts teaches the method of claim 9, wherein in a case of the size information of the external frame of the first model is greater than a preset first threshold, the type of the capture element to be displayed comprises at least one of: an element on the external frame of the first model, a point on a mesh surface of the first model, a key point determined when the first model is modeled, an auxiliary line segment of the first model, or a key point on the auxiliary line segment (Agarwal, paragraph 30, lines 1-9; paragraph 33; paragraph 39, lines 1-20; paragraph 41, lines 1-17; paragraph 42; Dilts, figs 5B, 5D, 5G; paragraphs 66 and 67; paragraph 70 and 72; paragraph 76; paragraphs 86 and 87; paragraph 90; the motivation to combine is similar to that discussed above in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Agarwal in view of Dilts teaches the method of claim 10, wherein in a case of the size information of the external frame of the first model is less than the preset first threshold, the type of the capture element to be displayed comprises at least one of: an element on the external frame of the first model, and an auxiliary line segment of the first model (Agarwal, paragraph 30, lines 1-9; paragraph 33; paragraph 39, lines 1-20; paragraph 41, lines 1-17; paragraph 42; Dilts, figs 5B, 5D, 5G; paragraphs 66 and 67; paragraph 70 and 72; paragraph 76; paragraphs 86 and 87; paragraph 90; the motivation to combine is similar to that discussed above in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Agarwal in view of Dilts teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, in an arrangement off mode, the at least one capture element comprises an element on an external frame of the first model (Dilts, figs 5B, 5D, 5G; paragraphs 72 and 76; paragraphs 87 and 90; the motivation to combine is similar to that discussed above in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 13, Agarwal in view of Dilts teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, in an arrangement on mode, the at least one capture element comprises at least one of: an element on an external frame of the first model, a point on a mesh surface of the first model, a key point determined when the first model is modeled, an auxiliary line segment of the first model, or a key point on the auxiliary line segment (Agarwal, figs 4 and 5; paragraph 30, lines 1-9; paragraph 33; paragraph 39, lines 1-20; paragraph 41, lines 1-17 ; Dilts, figs 5B, 5D, 5G; paragraphs 72 and 76; paragraphs 87 and 90; the motivation to combine is similar to that discussed above in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 14, the limitations of this claim substantially correspond to the limitations of claim 1 (except for the device, processor, memory, and instructions, which are taught by Agarwal, figure 12; paragraphs 65 and 67; thus they are rejected on similar grounds.
Regarding claims 15, 16, and 17, the limitations of these claims substantially correspond to the limitations of claims 2, 6, and 7, respectively; thus they are rejected on similar grounds as their corresponding claims.
Regarding claim 18, the limitations of this claim substantially correspond to the limitations of claim 1 (except for the medium, instructions, and computer, which are taught by Agarwal, figure 12; paragraphs 65 and 67; thus they are rejected on similar grounds.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the limitations of these claims substantially correspond to the limitations of claims 2 and 6, respectively; thus they are rejected on similar grounds as their corresponding claims.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Jovanovic (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0243071); Method for providing scale to align 3D objects in 2D environment.
Jovanovic (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0139043); Method for interactive catalog for 3D objects within the 2D environment.
Gallo (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0150088); Building information model (BIM) element extraction from floor plan drawings using machine learning.
Agarwal (U.S. Patent No. 12,159,016); User interface for three-dimensional room modeling.
Jovanovic (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0383600); Method for interactive catalog for 3D objects within the 2D environment.
Dryer (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0368458); Systems, methods, and graphical user interfaces for scanning and modeling environments.
Alfaro k et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0409771); Method for extracting elements of Revit from floor plan drawings using machine learning technology, involves fetching building information model element based on symbol, and placing building information model element in floor plan drawing.
Berliner (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0297919); Managing content placement in extended reality environments.
Merrell et al. (Interactive Furniture Layout Using Interior Design Guidelines); ACM; 2011.
DAVID T. WELCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2613
/DAVID T WELCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613