Applicant claims priority as follows:
Claims 1-20 are canceled. Claims 21-40 are pending and under examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 25-27 are objected to because "the method according claim 21” should read “the method according to claim 21.”
Claim 36 is objected to because it does not end with a period. See MPEP 608.01 (m).
Claim 23 is objected to because its last alternative recites “X5, X8, X7, X8, and X9,” listing X8 twice and omitting X6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 31 recites the limitation " the additional compound". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 32 depends from claim 10, which is a cancelled claim. A claim depending from a canceled claim is improper and indefinite. It also recites “the additional compound” and “contraceptive efficacy” without antecedent basis. For examination, claim 32 is treated as depending from claim 30.
Claim 33 recites the limitation "the composition of formula I". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination, it is read as reciting “the compound of formula I”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nyirjesy (Future Microbiology (2018) 13(5), 507-524) in view of Miyano (J. Heterocycl. Chem. 1982, Vol. 19 (3); 659-661) and Adepu et al. ((European Journal of Biomedical and Pharmaceutical Sciences Vol. 4 (11), p. 587-592 (2017), further in view of FDA Solosec (secnidazole) Oral Granules Approval (available online since 09/15/2017, https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/drugsatfda_docs/label/2017/209363s000lbl.pdf; Reference ID 4153450), and further in view of Gant (J. Med. Chem. 57(9):3595-3611 (2014)) and Timmins (Expert Opin. Ther. Pat. 27(12):1353-1361(e-pub Sept. 8, 2017)) as evidence of the level and state of the art. All references were provide in parent case but for Grant and Timmins.
The instant application is drawn to a method of treating bacterial vaginosis, trichomoniasis, amoebiasis, giardiasis or a combination therefore comprising administering various deuterium-enriched analogs of the known drug secnidazole or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, or compositions. The deuterated analogs are of formula I:
, wherein at least one of X1 to X10 is deuterium, and other combinations in claims 22-23.
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art (MPEP §2141.01)
Nyirjesy (and references therein) teaches secnidazole, a next-generation 5-nitroimidazole, approved in the U.S. as a single 2 g oral dose of granules for bacterial vaginosis (BV), and used for trichomoniasis, amebiasis and giardiasis (pp. 507, 508, 517). Secnidazole is a structural analogue of metronidazole, with the only difference being an added -CH3 at the alkyl chain:
vs
. Secnidazole has a terminal elimination half-life of about 17 hours, notably longer than metronidazole’s 7 to 8 hours. That extended half-life together with its potency (low MICs) against the culprit pathogens is the foundation for its single-dose regimen (p. 512). Citing Frydman, Nyirjesy reports that secnidazole is metabolized primarily by hydroxylation and conjugation in the liver, with about 50% excreted intact in the urine (p. 512). A single dose of secnidazole had negligible impact on the pharmacokinetics of ethinyl estradiol or norethindrone, so a single-dose regimen will not interfere with oral contraceptive efficacy (p. 512). Nyirjesy also reports a Phase II study in which both the 2g and the 1g single-dose regimens were significantly better than placebo (p. 515).
Miyano, at the first paragraph, taught that the major metabolite isolated from metronidazole in humans is compound (3):
, so the 2-methyl group is the site of oxidative metabolism. Miyano then asks: “It is an interesting question whether or not the regiospecifically deuterated metronidazole of formula 2 has an extended biological half-life due to the primary isotope effect.” (p. 659).
“A synthesis of 2 is the subject of this communication.”
The deuterated metronidazole-d3 of formula 2
was thus prepared by Miyano, as well as other deuterated forms (pp. 659-660).
Adepu prepared and used deuterated secnidazole (d6)
as an internal standard for LC-MS/MS of human plasma, showing that deuterated secnidazole was known and could be made before the effective filing date.
FDA SOLOSEC® teaches a single 2g oral dose of granules for BV in adult women. Each 4.8 g packet contains 2g secnidazole and the inactive ingredients Eudragit NE30D (ethyl acrylate methyl methacrylate copolymer), polyethylene glycol 4000, povidone, sugar spheres and talc. The label reports no clinically significant interaction with the combination of oral contraceptive ethinyl estradiol and norethindrone, and states that SOLOSEC® can be co-administered with it; the underlying study dosed the two concomitantly and also dosed SOLOSEC® one day before the contraceptive, with no significant effect on the mean Cmax or AUC of either hormone in that arm. The plasma elimination half-life is about 17 hours, roughly 15% of the dose is excreted unchanged in urine, and secnidazole is metabolized in vitro by oxidation via hepatic CYP450 enzymes (12.3). Trial 1 evaluated a 1g dose alongside the 2g dose (6.1).
Gant shows that replacing hydrogen with deuterium as sites of cytochrome P450 metabolism was an established strategy to slow metabolism and extend half-life, and that deuterated compounds had been given to humans. The level of skill in the art is high.
Timmins reviews the state of the art of deuterated drugs as of December 2017. The review covers a discussion of the FDA approval of deutetrabenazine, a deuterated drug. Timmins reports that pharmacokinetics and toxicity of many known drugs can be modified by selective deuteration, an area of significant commercial interest and of scientific and regulatory progress. Timmins reports that obviousness rejections under 35 USC 103 remain a recurring feature of prosecution in this field, that two inter partes review petitions on deuterated drugs had been instituted on 103 grounds, and that the practices of major pharmaceutical companies support an obviousness analysis. Transactions involving deuterated drugs are valued at close to $5 billion.
Thus, the level of skill in the chemical art in regards to deuteration of compounds is high, deuterated compounds have a long history of use in humans, and the ordinary skilled artisan would have reasonably expected deuterium isotope effects (DIE) for secnidazole.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims (MPEP §2141.02)
The difference is that Nyirjesy does not teach administering a deuterated secnidazole.
Finding of prima facie obviousness--rational and motivation (MPEP §2142-2413)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to replace one or more hydrogens of secnidazole with deuterium, in particular, the 2-methyl hydrogens (X1, X2 and X3), and use the resulting compound in Nyirjesy’s treatment. Nyirjesy teaches that the long half-life is the property behind single-dose efficacy and that secnidazole is cleared primarily by hydroxylation. Miyano identifies the 2-methyl group as the site of that hydroxylation in the closely related 5-nitroimidazole metronidazole, and proposes deuterating exactly that group to extend the half-life through the primary isotope effect (DIE). Secnidazole carries the same 2-methyl group on the same ring, so a skilled artisan reading Nyirjesy would have looked to Miyano and would have deuterated it for the same stated reason. Adepu further confirms that deuterated secnidazole could be made.
There was a reasonable expectation of success in view that deuterium is nearly identical to hydrogen in size and shape. Nyirjesy teaches that the antimicrobial activity of the 5-nitroimidazoles is primarily a function of the nitro group, and deuteration of C-H positions leaves that untouched (p.508). A skilled artisan would therefore have expected deuterated secnidazole to keep secnidazole’s activity against bacterial vaginosis, trichomoniasis, amoebasis and giardiasis.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pharmaceutical art to have applied this known improvement technique in the same way to the compound of the primary references to obtain the results reasonably predictable from the secondary references. See e.g. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 1385, 1396; Ruiz v. AB Chance Co., 69 USPQ2d 1686; In re Nilssen, 7 USPQ2d 1500.
Under the Supreme Court rationales in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), here at least exemplary rationales (A), (C) and (G) apply:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
The examiner notes that it is applicant's burden to demonstrate unexpected results over the prior art. See MPEP 716.02, also 716.02 (a) - (g). Any evidence as to any unexpected benefits must be "clear and convincing" In re Lohr, 137 USPQ 548 (CCPA 1963), and be of a scope reasonably commensurate with the scope of the subject matter claimed, In re Linder, 173 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1972). The data at example 1 only covers two compounds in vitro and is not commensurate in scope with claim 21, which covers deuteration at any of 10 positions.
Claims 39 and 40 recite a half-life, which is a property of the compound. Nyirjesy reports about 17 hours for secnidazole (p.512), Miyano gives the reason to expect that number to rise upon deuteration, and the specification presents the claimed ranges only as a possibility, no data. Where the prior art suggests the same composition used in the same manner the claimed properties are presumed inherently present, and the burden is on applicant to show that the claimed property is not obtained. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 212.01. Claiming the pharmacokinetic result of an obvious method does not make it nonobvious. Santarus, Inc. v. Par Pharm. Inc., 699 F.3d 1380 (Fed. Cir. 2012).
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 22 and 24-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,172,969. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claim 10 recites a method of treating bacterial vaginosis, trichomoniasis, amebiasis, giardiasis or a combination thereof by selecting a subject in need and administering a therapeutically effective amount of the compound of formula I, or a salt thereof, in which X4, X5 and X6 are deuterium and X1-X3 and X7-X10 are hydrogen. That compound is a species of the genus of instant claim 21. The narrower patented species method therefore anticipates the broader instant genus method.
In addition, claims 21, 22 and 24-40 are not patentably distinct from patented claims 1-9 which claim the same d3 compound and its compositions. The ‘969 patent discloses treating bacterial vaginosis and trichomoniasis as the utility of the claimed compound, and a later claim to a method of using a compound for its disclosed utility is not patentably distinct from the earlier compound claim. See Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Co., 95 USPQ 2d 1797. The claims of a later patent were invalid for obviousness-type double patenting because the earlier patent claimed the compound and disclosed its utility in the specification, and the later patent claimed a method of using the patented compound for the use described in the specification of the earlier patent.
Claim 23 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,172,969 in view of Adepu et al. ((European Journal of Biomedical and Pharmaceutical Sciences Vol. 4 (11), p. 587-592 (2017).
Adepu prepared and used deuterated secnidazole (d6)
as an internal standard for LC-MS/MS of human plasma, showing that deuterated secnidazole was known and could be made before the effective filing date.
Instant claim 23 recites a Markush group of specific deuteration patterns. One alternative is the compound described by Adepu. Patented claim 10 differs only in the deuterated secnidazole used in the treatment, in which the deuterium is limited to the terminal methyl, with X7-X9 being hydrogen. However, Adepu disclosed secnidazole-d6 as a known, available compound before the effective filing date. The metabolism of secnidazole was known (as above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to extend the deuteration of patented claim 10 from the terminal methyl to the whole hydroxypropyl side chain by using the known secnidazole-d6 in the patented treatment method, with the same motivation of slowing oxidative metabolism through the kinetic isotope effect.
Conclusion
Claims 21-40 are rejected. No claim is allowed.
/VALERIE RODRIGUEZ-GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621