DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8 as filed on 12/24/2024 are pending and herewith considered as indicated below.
Drawings
Figs 1-6 are objected to because they including photographs and/or shading. Photographs, including photocopies of photographs, are not ordinarily permitted in utility and design patent applications unless the photographs are the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention. The use of shading may be used if it aids in understanding the invention and if it does not reduce legibility. Such shading is preferred in the case of parts shown in perspective, but NOT for cross sections. See MPEP § 608.02. In the instant case, legibility is reduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to Claim 1, “Shear face” as used in line 12 lack antecedent basis. It
appears “shear face” is intended to recite “Shear faces”.
The term “Vertical Wide Bands” in claim 1, lines 4 and 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “Vertical Wide Bands” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It appears Vertical Wide Bands is intended to recite Vertical bands and has been examined as such.
The term “a construction requirement” in claim 4, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “a construction requirement” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. a construction requirement is relevant to time, geography, industry and set standards. It appears “a construction requirement” is not intended to be recited.
The term “relatively small” in claim 6, line 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “relatively small” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It appears “relatively small” is intended to recite small.
The term “weakly correlated” in claim 6, line 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “weakly correlated” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It appears “weakly correlated” is intended to recite correlated.
The term “gradually increases” in claim 6, lines 5-6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “gradually increases” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It appears “gradually increases” is intended to recite increases.
The term “gradually decreases” in claim 6, line 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “gradually decreases” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It appears “gradually decreases” is intended to recite decreases.
The term “gradually increases” in claim 6, line 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “gradually increases” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It appears “gradually increases” is intended to recite increases.
The term “strongly correlated” in claim 6, lines 7-8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “strongly correlated” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It appears “strongly correlated” is intended to recite correlated.
The term “High-Strength Bolt” in claim 7, lines 3-4, and 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “High-Strength Bolt” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. High-Strength Bolt appears to be intended to recite Bolt, whereas High-Strength is relative to one of ordinary skill in the art.
In regards to Claim 7, “the two disc spring groups” as used in lines 5-6, twice, lack
antecedent basis. It appears “the two disc spring groups” is intended to recite “The disc spring groups”.
In regards to Claim 7, “the notch” as used in line 8, lack antecedent basis. It appears
“the notch” is intended to recite “The notches”.
In regards to Claim 8, “the disc spring groups” as used in lines 6-7, twice, lack
antecedent basis. It appears “the disc spring groups” is intended to recite “The pre-compressed disc spring groups”.
The term “Gradually Increases” in claim 8, lines 3-4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “Gradually Increases” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It appears Gradually Increases is intended to recite increases and has been examined as such.
In regards to Claims 2-3, rejected due to dependency on rejected independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuo Miyazaki (JP 3436197 B2)(Here in Miyazaki) in view of Ai-Qun Li (CN 102296726 A)(Herein Li) and Fujian Jiuding Construction Engineering Co (CN 110230402 A)(Herein Fujian)
In regards to Claim 1, Miyazaki discloses
A self-adaptive viscous damping wall [Fig 1, in combination with element (10)], comprising: an upper fixed end (11) [Fig 1], a lower fixed end (21) [Fig 1], an outer box body (3) [Fig 1], an inner steel plate (5) [Fig 1] [See Miyazaki, Page 3 of Translated Document, Below Para. 0014, “ The gap between the outer wall steel plate 4 and the inner wall steel plate 5 is filled with the viscous fluid 6”], a viscous fluid (6) [Fig 1], and a self-centering device (10) [Fig 7],
and an upper end [Fig 1, Upper end of element (5)] of the inner steel plate (5) [Fig 1] is fixedly connected with the upper fixed end (11) [Fig 1];
the viscous fluid (6) [Fig 1], two sides [Fig 1, Opposite Sides of element (3)] of an upper portion [Fig 1, Upper Portion of element (3)] of the outer box body (3) [Fig 1] are provided with notches [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comment), and a bottom portion [Fig 1, Bottom Portion of element (3)] of the outer box body (3) [Fig 1] is the lower fixed end (21) [Fig 1] for bottom end anchoring [Fig 1, Showing Bottom End Anchoring];
the self-centering device (10) [Fig 7] is disposed at the upper portion [Fig 1, Upper Portion of Element (3)] of the outer box body (3) [Fig 1].
However, Miyazaki fails to disclose
wherein the inner steel plate is a straight steel plate provided with a plurality of openings, so that the inner steel plate is divided into several vertical wide bands, and two side faces of the vertical wide bands are shear faces of the inner steel plate.
the outer box body is a vertical barrel-shaped component with an upper opening capable of accommodating the inner steel plate
a part of an inner surface of the outer box body corresponding to a horizontal movement interval of the shear face of the inner steel plate is a shear face of the outer box body, and the shear face of the outer box body is designed with a multi-section curved face, with a flat and straight middle portion and a gradually decreasing end portion;
Furthermore, Li discloses
wherein the inner steel plate (5, Miyazaki) [Fig 1] is a straight steel plate [0027, Translated] provided with a plurality of openings [Unnumbered, Fig 3] (see examiners comments) , so that the inner steel plate (5, Miyazaki) [Fig 1] is divided into several vertical wide bands [Unnumbered, Fig 3] (see examiners comments), and two side faces [Unnumbered, Fig 3] (see examiners comments) of the vertical wide bands [Unnumbered, Fig 3] (see examiners comments) are shear faces of the inner steel plate (5, Miyazaki) [Fig 1].
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-adaptive viscous damping wall as disclosed by Miyazaki to further include wherein the inner steel plate is a straight steel plate provided with a plurality of openings, so that the inner steel plate is divided into several vertical wide bands, and two side faces of the vertical wide bands are shear faces of the inner steel plate as disclosed by Li. When modified, the inner steel plate with all limitations allows for the viscous fluid to free float, furthermore allowing a higher contact area regarding shear deformation and restabilization.
Furthermore, Fujian discloses
the outer box body (3, Miyazaki) [Fig 1] is a vertical barrel-shaped component [Unnumbered, Fig 4] (see examiners comments) with an upper opening [Unnumbered, Fig 7, Miyazaki] (see examiners comment) capable of accommodating the inner steel plate (5, Miyazaki) [Fig 1]
a part of an inner surface [Fig 1, Inner Surface of element (3), Miyazaki] of the outer box body (3, Miyazaki) [Fig 1] corresponding to a horizontal movement [Fig 3, Showing Horizontal movement, Miyazaki] interval of the shear face [Unnumbered, Fig 3, Li] (see examiners comments) of the inner steel plate (5, Miyazaki) [Fig 1] is a shear face [Fig 7, Area element (6) encompasses, Miyazaki] of the outer box body (3, Miyazaki) [Fig 1], and the shear face [Fig 7, Area element (6) encompasses, Miyazaki] of the outer box body (3, Miyazaki) [Fig 1] is designed with a multi-section curved face, with a flat and straight middle portion and a gradually decreasing end portion [Unnumbered, Fig 4, As shown Inner shear wall has a multi-section curved face, with a flat and straight middle portion and a gradually decreasing end portion] (see examiners comments);
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-adaptive viscous damping wall as disclosed by Miyazaki to further include the outer box body is a vertical barrel-shaped component with an upper opening capable of accommodating the inner steel plate a part of an inner surface of the outer box body corresponding to a horizontal movement interval of the shear face of the inner steel plate is a shear face of the outer box body, and the shear face of the outer box body is designed with a multi-section curved face, with a flat and straight middle portion and a gradually decreasing end portion as disclosed by Fujian. When modified, the vertical barrel-shaped outer box body with all limitations allows for better ductility and energy dissipation.
In regards to Claim 4, Miyazaki as modified discloses
The self-adaptive viscous damping wall [Fig 1, in combination with element (10)] according to claim 1, wherein several stiffening plates (14) [Fig 10] are disposed on an outer side [Fig 10, Outer side of element (3)] of the outer box body (3) [Fig 1] according to a construction requirement.
In regards to Claim 5, Miyazaki as modified discloses
The self-adaptive viscous damping wall [Fig 1, in combination with element (10)] according to claim 1, wherein a distance [As shown in Fig 1] between the shear face [Fig 7, Area element (6) encompasses] of the outer box body (3) [Fig 1] and the shear face of the inner steel plate (5) [Fig 1] is a shear gap [ See Miyazaki, Page 3 of Translated Document, Below Para. 0014, “ The gap between the outer wall steel plate 4 and the inner wall steel plate 5 is filled with the viscous fluid 6”] and when the upper fixed end (11) [Fig 1] and the lower fixed end (21) [Fig 1] generate horizontal relative motion [As intended since element (1) is connected to inner steel plate], the inner steel plate (5) [Fig 1] and the outer box body (3) [Fig 1] are driven to generate relative displacement [see Miyazaki, Page 8 of Translated Document, “Both walls are relatively movable in the horizontal direction”], and the viscous fluid (6) [Fig 1] in the shear gap [ See Miyazaki, Page 3 of Translated Document, Below Para. 0014, “ The gap between the outer wall steel plate 4 and the inner wall steel plate 5 is filled with the viscous fluid 6”] is driven to undergo shear deformation [See Miyazaki, Page 4 of translated document “gap when it undergoes severe shear deformation”], thereby generating viscous damping force and dissipating energy. [See Miyazaki, Page 3 of Translated Document, Below Para. 0014, “The elevation shape (1) and the cross-sectional structure (2) are shown. The gap between the outer wall steel plate 4 and the inner wall steel plate 5 is filled with the viscous fluid 6, and the relative displacement between the both wall plates generates a viscous resistance force corresponding to the relative speed difference”].
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuo Miyazaki (JP 3436197 B2)(Here in Miyazaki) in view of Ai-Qun Li (CN 102296726 A)(Herein Li), Fujian Jiuding Construction Engineering Co (CN 110230402 A)(Herein Fujian) and Wei Wang (CN 114922494)(Herein Wang)
In regards to Claim 2, Miyazaki as modified discloses
The self-adaptive viscous damping wall [Fig 1, in combination with element (10)] according to claim 1, wherein a connection [Fig 1, Showing Connection] between the inner steel plate (5) [Fig 1] and the upper fixed end (11) [Fig 1] is provided with a stiffening key (10, Wang) [Fig 1] .
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-adaptive viscous damping wall as disclosed by Miyazaki to further include stiffening keys as disclosed by Wang, When modified, the stiffening keys stabilize the vertical rotation during an earthquake of the damping wall.
In regards to Claim 3, Miyazaki as modified discloses
The self-adaptive viscous damping wall [Fig 1, in combination with element (10)] according to claim 1, wherein several cushion blocks (11, Wang) [Fig 1] are disposed between an outer side [Fig 1, Outer side of element (5)] of the inner steel plate (5) [Fig 1] and the outer box body (3) [Fig 1].
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-adaptive viscous damping wall as disclosed by Miyazaki to further include several cushion blocks as disclosed by Wang. When modified, the cushion blocks allow for better resistibility between the steel plate and wall, limiting damage.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuo Miyazaki (JP 3436197 B2)(Here in Miyazaki) in view of Ai-Qun Li (CN 102296726 A)(Herein Li), Fujian Jiuding Construction Engineering Co (CN 110230402 A)(Herein Fujian) and Rui-Zhao ZHU (CN 117145084)(Herein ZHU)
In regards to Claim 6, Miyazaki as modified discloses
The self-adaptive viscous damping wall [Fig 1, in combination with element (10)] according to claim 1, wherein a working principle of the self-adaptive viscous damping wall [Fig 1, in combination with element (10)] is: in an initial state [Fig 3, part 2] or when an amount of horizontal relative motion [As intended since element (1) is connected to inner steel plate] generated by the upper fixed end (11) [Fig 1] and the lower fixed end (21) [Fig 1] is relatively small, and when the horizontal relative motion gradually increases [Fig 3] , the shear gap [ See Miyazaki, Page 3 of Translated Document, Below Para. 0014, “ The gap between the outer wall steel plate 4 and the inner wall steel plate 5 is filled with the viscous fluid 6”] gradually decreases [As intended due to displacement] , and the viscous damping force gradually increases, so the viscous damping force not only changes with the motion speed, but also is strongly correlated with the displacement. [See Miyazaki, Page 4 of Translated Document “The present invention adds an energy absorption mechanism to the conventional viscous resistance force by the plastic hysteresis damping accompanying the shear deformation of lead which is a superplastic metal. That is, as shown in (2) of FIG. 3, lead develops energy absorption performance due to plasticization from a stage where the amplitude is small, its resistance increases with the amount of deformation, and its resistance increases with a certain amount of deformation or more. It has the characteristic of reaching a substantially constant value’]
However, Miyazaki fails to disclose
a shear gap is fixed and unchanged, and viscous damping force only changes with a motion speed and is weakly correlated with displacement;
Furthermore, Zhu discloses
a shear gap [See Miyazaki, Page 3 of Translated Document, Below Para. 0014, “ The gap between the outer wall steel plate 4 and the inner wall steel plate 5 is filled with the viscous fluid 6”] is fixed and unchanged [as shown in Fig 11, left image] , and viscous damping force only changes with a motion speed and is weakly correlated with displacement [as shown in Fig 11, left image];
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-adaptive viscous damping wall as disclosed by Miyazaki to further include in an initial state or when an amount of horizontal relative motion generated by the upper fixed end and the lower fixed end is relatively small, a shear gap is fixed and unchanged, and viscous damping force only changes with a motion speed and is weakly correlated with displacement as disclosed by ZHU. When modified, the shear gap being fixed and unchanged during the initial state or when an amount of horizontal relative motion is small allows for resistibility against small movement and is able to counter react the larger movement during a larger earthquake.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to Claim 7, the prior art of record fails to teach the totality of the invention, in combination with the additionally claimed elements, the anchoring angle is disposed at the notch of the upper portion of the outer box body, and the disc spring groups are applied with initial pre-pressure by the high-strength bolt according to a design need.
In regards to Claim 8, the prior art of record fails to teach the totality of the invention, in combination with the additionally claimed elements, an anchoring angle provides end portion anchoring for the disc spring groups; and when the action of the horizontal shear force is finished, the disc spring groups subjected to the secondary compression generates resetting force to push the upper fixed end and the lower fixed end to restore to initial positions thereof.
Examiners Comment
Miyazaki, Figure 1
Miyazaki, Figure 7
Fujian, Figure 4
Li, Figure 3
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See PTO 892.
/Z.K.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635