DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 10 recite the limitation "the cheek" in lines 4 or 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Any unspecified claim is rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim. In light of the above, the claims will be further treated on the merits as best understood only.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 11 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Criswell (US 8341867 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Criswell discloses a firearm adjustment device (100), comprising:
an attachment (104) to an area of a stock (101e or 107a) of a firearm that is originally configured to receive a cheek area (602 – fig. 6) of a shooter of the firearm; and a raised top (106) configured to receive the cheek (fig. 6), wherein the raised top is longitudinally elongated (fig. 2A), and wherein a thickness of the raised top and the attachment fills a space between the cheek area and the firearm (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Criswell discloses the device of claim 1, wherein a side of the raised top is angled (angled shown near 106 arrow in fig. 2A or in fig. 3) with respect to the attachment and the raised top.
Regarding claim 4, Criswell discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the raised top is tactilely textured (col. 2 lines 19-35).
Regarding claim 5, Criswell discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the raised top comprises a monolithic piece of foam material (col. 2 line 25).
Regarding claim 6, Criswell discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the attachment comprises adhesive (col. 5 line 33).
Regarding claim 7, Criswell discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the raised top provides rest to a zygomatic bone of the shooter (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Criswell discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the space is between a maxilla and a mandible of the shooter and the firearm (fig. 6).
Regarding claims 11, and 13-18 see the rejections of claims 1 and 3-8 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2, 9-10, 12, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Criswell (US 8341867 B2).
Regarding claims 2, 9-10, 12, and 19-20, Criswell discloses the claimed invention except he does not explicitly disclose the recited sizes (thickness, length, etc). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the same sizes, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Double Patenting
At least claims 1 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12173984. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims are broader than the prior patent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
*Communications via Internet e-mail are at the discretion of the applicant. Applicant is welcome to file an electronic communication authorization (sb439) form at any time if he/she would like to communicate via e-mail:
https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdfWithout a written authorization by applicant in place, the USPTO will not respond via Internet e-mail to any Internet correspondence which contains information subject to the confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 122. A paper copy of such correspondence will be placed in the appropriate patent application.
/MICHAEL D DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641