DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
Specification
The application specification failed to provide antecedent basis for the claimed limitation “converting only speech by another person that the human user is talking to on the telephone into text data”. For example, the application specification read “Next, in step 204, a command from a human driver of the motor vehicle is responded to by converting at least a portion of the audio feed from the telephone into text data, and storing the text data in a memory device. For example, in response to a command in the form of the driver actuating of switch 18, voice recognition module 26 may receive the audio feed and convert the audio feed to text, and the converted text may be stored in memory in cloud 16 or in a memory device disposed within vehicle 12 (para 23, USPGPub 20260181076 A1)” and wherein about “audio feed”, the specification further read “In response to the actuation of switch 18, voice recognition module 26 may begin to receive an audio feed from Bluetooth module 22. The audio feed from Bluetooth module 22 may include what the other person on the phone conversation is saying to the driver of vehicle 12. The audio feed from Bluetooth module 22 may also include what the driver of vehicle 12 is saying. Voice recognition module 26 may convert the audio feed to text, and the converted text may be stored in memory in cloud 16 in association with the time and date of the conversation. It is also possible for the converted text to be stored in a memory device disposed within vehicle 12 (para 20)” and there is no disclosure of support of the claimed limitation above. Note: similar to the priority provisional application 63/125,811 filed on December 15, 2020 and non-provisional parent application 17/548,240 filed on December 10, 2021, and wherein there is no support provided in the specifications about the limitations discussed above.
The specification read “Bluetooth (para 8, 18-22)” which should be capitalized wherever they appear and be accompanied by the generic terminology. Although the use of trademarks is permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as trademarks and see MPEP 608.01(v).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-7, 9-15, 17-20 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2, 9 recited “Bluetooth” which should be placed with trademark or capitalization and see MPEP 608.01(v). Claim 2 further recites “The system of claim 1” which should be --The recording system of claim 1-- and for the similar reason above, claims 3-7 are objected.
Claim 9 further recites “The method of claim 8” which should be -- The recording method of claim 8-- and Claims 10-15 are objected for the reason above because claims 10-15 recite the similar deficient limitation such as “The method of claim …”.
Claim 17 recites “The system of claim 16” which should be -- The recording system of claim 16-- and claims 18-20 are objected for the similar reason above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,217,757 B2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims 16-20 of the instant application anticipated by conflicting claims 14-18 of. An example is listed below and rest of the claims would have been obvious each other for the similar reason:
Claims in the current application
Conflicting claims in US Patent No. 12,217,757 B2
16. A recording system for a motor vehicle, the recording system comprising: a communication interface configured to receive an audio feed from a telephone; and a voice recognition module communicatively coupled to the communication interface and configured to respond to a command from a human user by: converting only speech by another person that the human user is talking to on the telephone into text data; and storing the text data in a memory such that the memory sends the text data to a cell phone of the human user.
19. The system of claim 16 wherein the voice recognition module is configured to respond to actuation of a switch by converting only speech by another person that the human user is talking to on the telephone into text data.
19. The system of claim 16 wherein the voice recognition module is configured to respond to actuation of a switch by converting only speech by another person that the human user is talking to on the telephone into text data.
17. The system of claim 16 wherein the voice recognition module is configured to respond to a command from a human user by storing the text data in a memory such that the memory displays the text data on a display screen.
18. The system of claim 16 wherein the telephone comprises a mobile cellular telephone.
20. The system of claim 16 wherein the memory is disposed remote from the motor vehicle.
14. A recording system for a motor vehicle, the recording system comprising: a communication interface configured to receive an audio feed from a telephone; a switch configured to be actuated by a human driver of the motor vehicle; and a voice recognition module communicatively coupled to the communication interface and to the switch, the voice recognition module being configured to respond to actuation of the switch by: converting only speech by another person that the human user is talking to on the telephone into text data;
and storing the text data in a memory device.
18. The recording system of claim 14 wherein the memory device is configured to send the stored text data to the human user via a personal cloud arrangement, email, text message, or mobile phone application.
16. The recording system of claim 14 wherein the telephone comprises a mobile cellular telephone.
17. The recording system of claim 14 wherein the memory device is disposed remote from the motor vehicle.
Claims 1-15, 17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,217,757 B2 in view of reference Kriese et al. (US 20100254521 A1, hereinafter Kriese). The conflicting claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,217,757 B2) teaches all the limitations of instant application claims 1-15, 17, except explicitly teaching displaying the text data on a display screen as recited in claims 1, 8, 17 and wherein the display screen is permanently installed within the motor vehicle as recited in claims 7, 13. Kriese teaches displaying text data on a display screen (displaying structured data 190 including text 182, contact link 192, address link 194, etc., by display 170 as part of a computer system 100 in fig. 1) that is permanently installed within the motor vehicle (the computer system 100 is an onboard communications platform installed in a vehicle, para 8) for benefits of improving operation performance (by increasing safety level during driving the vehicle and recording instant message in a convenient manner, para 1 and in a convenient manner, para 29-30). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to applied displaying the text data on the display screen that is permanently installed within the motor vehicle, as taught by Kriese, to the text data converted by the voice recognition module in the recording system for the motor vehicle, as taught by conflicting claims 1-13, for the benefits discussed above. The following is the comparison between the claims 1-15, 17 of the instant application and the conflicting claim 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,217,757 B2 for reference:
Claims 1-15, 17 in the current application
Conflicting claims 1-13 in US Patent No. 12,051,432 B2
1. A recording system for a motor vehicle, the recording system comprising: a communication interface configured to receive an audio feed from a telephone; and a voice recognition module communicatively coupled to the communication interface and configured to respond to a command from a human user by: converting only speech by another person that the human user is talking to on the telephone into text data; and displaying the text data on a display screen.
4. The system of claim 1 wherein the voice recognition module is configured to respond to the command from the human user by storing the text data in a memory device.
2. The system of claim 1 wherein the communication interface comprises a Bluetooth module.
3. The system of claim 1 wherein the telephone comprises a mobile cellular telephone.
5. The system of claim 4 wherein the memory device is configured to send the stored text data to the human user via a personal cloud arrangement, email, text message, or mobile phone application.
6. The system of claim 1 further comprising a switch, wherein the voice recognition module receives the command from a human user as a result of the human user actuating the switch.
7. The system of claim 1 wherein the display
screen is permanently installed within the motor vehicle.
8. A recording method for a motor vehicle, the recording method comprising: receiving within the motor vehicle an audio feed from a telephone; and responding to the command from the human driver by: converting only speech by another person that the human driver is talking to on the telephone into text data; and displaying the text data on a display screen.
11. The method of claim 8 wherein the responding step includes responding to the command from the human driver by storing the text data in a memory device.
9. The method of claim 8 wherein the audio feed from the telephone is received via a Bluetooth module.
10. The method of claim 8 wherein the telephone comprises a mobile cellular telephone.
12. The method of claim 8 wherein the responding step includes responding to the human driver actuating a switch.
13. The method of claim 8 wherein the display screen is permanently installed within the motor vehicle.
14. The method of claim 8 further comprising sending the stored text data to the human driver via a personal cloud arrangement, email, text message, or mobile phone application.
15. The method of claim 8 further comprising routing far end audio produced by another person that the human driver is talking to on the telephone from a hands-free library input to a voice recognition module.
17. The system of claim 16 wherein the voice recognition module is configured to respond to a command from a human user by storing the text data in a memory such that the memory displays the text data on a display screen.
1. A recording system for a motor vehicle, the recording system comprising: a communication interface configured to receive an audio feed from a telephone; and a voice recognition module communicatively coupled to the communication interface and configured to respond to a command from a human user by: converting only speech by another person that the human user is talking to on the telephone into text data; and storing the text data in a memory device.
2. The recording system of claim 1 wherein the communication interface comprises a Bluetooth module.
3. The recording system of claim 1 wherein the telephone comprises a mobile cellular telephone.
6. The recording system of claim 1 wherein the memory device is configured to send the stored text data to the human user via a personal cloud arrangement, email, text message, or mobile phone application.
4. The recording system of claim 1 further comprising a switch, wherein the voice recognition module receives the command from a human user as a result of the human
user actuating the switch.
7. A recording method for a motor vehicle, the recording method comprising: receiving within the motor vehicle an audio feed from a telephone; and responding to the command from the human driver by: converting only speech by another person that the human driver is talking to on the telephone into text data; and storing the text data in a memory device.
8. The recording method of claim 7 wherein the audio feed from the telephone is received via a Bluetooth module.
9. The recording method of claim 7 wherein the telephone comprises a mobile cellular telephone.
10. The recording method of claim 7 wherein the responding step includes responding to the human driver actuating a switch.
6. The recording system of claim 1 wherein the memory device is configured to send the stored text data to the human user via a personal cloud arrangement, email, text message, or mobile phone application.
13. The recording method of claim 7 further comprising routing far end audio from a hands-free library input to a voice recognition module, the far end audio being produced by another person that the human driver is talking to on the telephone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kriese et al. (US 20100254521 A1, hereinafter Kriese).
Claim 1: Kriese teaches a recording system (title and abstract, ln 1-15, including a computing system 100 or with remote speech recognition engine 118A in fig. 1 and method steps in fig. 4) for a motor vehicle (for a vehicle driver to operate safely, para 1), the recording system comprising:
a communication interface (an onboard audio connection 127 and voice scratchpad module 115, etc., in fig. 1, para 11-12) configured to receive an audio feed (incoming voice via an onboard telephone 124 through mobile telephone network 126 for accomplishing telephone calls with called parties, para 9) from a telephone (onboard mobile telephone 124 in fig. 1, para 9-10); and
a voice recognition module (onboard speech recognition engine 118 or the remote speech recognition engine 118A, annotation engine 116, etc., in fig. 1, para 14-15) communicatively coupled to the communication interface (via SPEECH SERVICE 112 and voice scratchpad module 115 in fig. 1) and configured to respond to a command from a human user (by a SELECTOR 185 as function of recording and processing of voice data 113 through a display 170 in fig. 2, para 19) by:
converting only speech by another person that the human user is talking to on the telephone into text data (converting the received voice data 113 for generating annotated structured data 190 via onboard speech recognition engine 118 and annotation engine 116 in fig. 1, para 14-15 and e.g., the structured data from incoming voice from the called parties through the telephone 124 and displayed on the GUI 180 at front of the driver or passenger in the vehicle, including transcript of called name, calling name, call back phone number, etc., “Mark, this is John Doe. Please give me a call back at …” in fig. 2, i.e., only speech from the remote caller is converted or transcript from the voice to the text displayed); and
displaying the text data on a display screen (the structured data 190 displayed via display 170 and discussed above).
Claim 8 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 above (method in fig. 4).
Claim 4: Kriese further teaches, according to claim 1 above, wherein the voice recognition module is configured to respond to the command from the human user by storing the text data in a memory device (the retrieved or transcript of telephone number is placed into memory under user’s command, para 1 and storing the structured data in a location on a data store accessible by the related application, para 16).
Claim 6: Kriese further teaches, according to claim 1 above, the recording system further comprising a switch (a soft switch SELECTOR MARKED AS record 185 in fig. 2), wherein the voice recognition module receives the command from a human user as a result of the human user actuating the switch (selecting the RECORD 185 by the user, and recording is started or actuated, para 12).
Claim 7: Kriese further teaches, according to claim 1 above, wherein the display screen is permanently installed within the motor vehicle (the computer system 100 including the display 170 is an onboard communications platform installed in a vehicle, and as a part of the vehicle, para 8).
Claim 11 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 8, 4 above.
Claim 12 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 8, 6 above.
Claim 13 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 8, 7 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 9-10, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kriese (above) and in view of reference Wang (US 20170185052 A1).
Claim 2: Kriese further teaches, according to claim 1 above, wherein the communication interface comprises a wireless module (wireless communications link with the computing device 101, etc., para 9), except wherein the wireless module is BLUETOOTH module.
Wang teaches an analogous field of endeavor by disclosing a recording system (title and abstract, ln 1-17, a dictation system in a combination radio and tape deck in fig. 2) for a motor vehicle (a car driver operated the recording system, para 83), the recording system comprising:
a communication interface (a transfer device 140 in fig. 1) configured to receive an audio feed from a telephone (a smart watch 120, para 42 and for collecting user’s voice and converting the sound to electric signal which is further sent to another mobile communication apparatus as audio data by using RF circuit 1610, via sending a voice message input as the audio data from the wearable device to the transfer device at step 409 in fig. 4A), and wherein the communication interface comprises a BLUETOOTH module (the transfer device 140 as a mobile phone, has a BLUETOOTH module for wireless communications, para 43-44) for benefits of achieving an efficiency wireless communication in a costless efforts (sharing data in short range without cable or internet connections as well-known in the art, and abstract, para 19, and costless by using out-of-shelf BLUETOOTH device or chip) and improving performance of the communication interface (by adapting data formats with selecting between the voice and the text processing, para 96, 150).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the BLUETOOTH module comprised in the communication interface, as taught by Wang, to the wireless module in the communication interface of the recording system for the moto vehicle, as taught by Kriese, for the benefits discussed above.
Claim 3: the combination of Kriese and Wang further teaches, according to claim 1 above, wherein the telephone comprises a mobile cellular telephone (mobile telephone 124 for calling via a mobile telephone network 126, para 9 and Wang, the mobile phone, para 44-45 and smart watch, etc., para 42).
Claim 9 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 8, 2 above.
Claim 10 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 8, 3 above.
Claim 15: Kriese further teaches, according to claim 8 above, the recording method further comprising routing far end audio produced by another person that the human driver is talking to on the telephone (through the telephone 124 connected to the Sync engine 114 having the audio connection 127 in fig. 1 and receiving the conversation from called parties, including the contents stored in the structured data 190 in fig. 1, para 9) to a voice recognition module (either remote speech recognition engine 118A or onboard speech recognition engine 118 to convert the audio voice to the text, para 14), except explicitly teach that it is from a hands-free library input that the far end audio is routed to a voice recognition module.
Wang teaches an analogous field of endeavor by disclosing a recording system (title and abstract, ln 1-17, a dictation system in a combination radio and tape deck in fig. 2) for a motor vehicle (a car driver operated the recording system, para 83), and wherein a hands-free library input is disclosed (on smart watch 120 by receiving communication message from the transfer device 140 in fig. 2, and the communication message can be voice message, i.e., audio from far-end target device 160, para 92) that is used for routing far end audio to a voice recognition module (the smart watch performs conversion of the voice message into a text message, para 96) for the benefits discussed in claim 2 above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the hands-free library input that is used to rout the far end audio to the voice recognition module, as taught by Wang, to routing far end audio produced by another person that the human driver is talking to on the telephone to the voice recognition module, as taught by Kriese, for the benefits discussed above.
Claims 5, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kriese (above) and in view of reference Yu (CN 109063871 A, English translation and Original versions attached, and the English translation version applied below while para cited under Yu).
Claim 5: Kriese further teaches, according to claim 4 above, wherein the memory device is configured to send the stored text data to the human user (Kriese, placing the retrieved or transcript of telephone number, etc., into memory under user’s command, para 1 and storing the structured data in a location on a data store accessible by the related application, para 16), via a data network (storing the structured data to remote data store, and accessible by the computing device, para 24), email, text message, or mobile phone application (accessible by the computing device, including through browser 143 in fig. 1, and executed on the onboard mobile telephone 124, para 20 or sending to third parties by email, simple message SMS, etc., para 18), except a personal cloud arrangement by which, the stored text data sent to the human user.
Yu teaches an analogous field of endeavor by disclosing a recording system (title and abstract, ln 1-12, fig. 1) and wherein a personal cloud arrangement is disclosed (cloud server used for receiving voice order submitted by a user at user client, abstract) recording system (title and abstract, ln 1-17, a dictation system in a combination radio and tape deck in fig. 2) for a motor vehicle (a car driver operated the recording system, para 83), and wherein a hands-free library input is disclosed (on smart watch 120 by receiving communication message from the transfer device 140 in fig. 2, and the communication message can be voice message, i.e., audio from far-end target device 160, para 92) that is used for routing far end audio to a voice recognition module (the smart watch performs conversion of the voice message into a text message, para 96) for the benefits discussed in claim 2 above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the hands-free library input that is used to rout the far end audio to the voice recognition module, as taught by Wang, to routing far end audio produced by another person that the human driver is talking to on the telephone to the voice recognition module, as taught by Kriese, for the benefits discussed above.
Claim 14 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 8, 5 above.
Claims 5, 14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kriese (above) and in view of reference Liu (CN 110867183 A, English Translation and Original version attached herein and the English version applied below while para cited under Liu).
Claim 16: Kriese teaches all the elements of claim 16 (see claim 1 above), including converting only speech by another person that the human user is taling to on the telephone into text data (discussed in claim 1 above), and storing the text data in a memory, etc., (placing the retrieved or transcript of telephone number, etc., into memory under user’s command, para 1 and storing the structured data in a location on a data store accessible by the related application, para 16) and the cell phone (the mobile phone 124), except the intended purpose that memory sends the text data to a cell phone of the human user for the disclosed storing the text data in the memory.
Liu teaches an analogous field of endeavor by disclosing a recording system for a motor vehicle (title and abstract, ln 1-9, method in figs. 2, 4, 6) and wherein storing the text data (the text information transcript generated from voice through a voice recognition at S1, para 1-2, p.8) in a memory (stored to cloud platform through the wireless network transmission as another part of S1, para 8, para 3) is disclosed such that the memory sends the text data to a cell phone of the human user (S3, the cloud platform pushes the text information to the mobile terminal through the wireless network at S3, the last para of p.8) for the benefits of improving the operation performance (enhancing safety driving with satisfaction of the user with vehicle intelligence, para 3, p.7 and the last para of p.8) with an efficiency (recording in a convenient and fast manner, para 1, p.6, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied wherein the memory sends the text data to the cell phone of the human user for storing the text data in the memory, as taught by Liu, to storing the text data in the memory in the recording system for the motor vehicle, as taught by Kriese, for the benefits discussed above.
Claim 17: the combination of Kriese and Liu further teaches, according to claim 16 above, wherein the voice recognition module is configured to respond to a command from a human user by storing the text data in a memory such that the memory displays the text data on a display screen (Kriese, through a DISPLAY button and user engagement with a clip management tool, etc., in fig. 3, para 18 the selected voice scratchpad clip is displayed in fig. 2, para 22 and Liu, display memo information, last para of p.5).
Claim 18: the combination of Kriese and Liu further teaches, according to claim 16 above, wherein the telephone comprises a mobile cellular telephone (Kriese, the onboard mobile telephone 124 and Liu, mobile phone, claim 2, p.4).
Claim 19: the combination of Kriese and Liu further teaches, according to claim 16 above, wherein the voice recognition module is configured to respond to actuation of a switch by converting only speech by another person that the human user is talking to on the telephone into text data (Kriese, converting the received voice data 113 for generating annotated structured data 190 via onboard speech recognition engine 118 and annotation engine 116 in fig. 1, etc., para 14-15 and through a SELECTOR marked as RECORD 185 in fig. 2 and the RECORD 185 selected by user and starting the recording and transcript, para 12 and discussed in claims 1, 16 above).
Claim 20: the combination of Kriese and Liu further teaches, according to claim 16 above, wherein the memory is disposed remote from the motor vehicle (Kriese, the storing the structured data, and discussed in claims 1, 16 above and Liu, stored in the cloud platform or storage, discussed in claim 16 above).
Claim 5: Kriese further teaches, according to claim 4 above, wherein the memory device is configured to send the stored text data to the human user (Kriese, placing the retrieved or transcript of telephone number, etc., into memory under user’s command, para 1 and storing the structured data in a location on a data store accessible by the related application, para 16), via a data network (storing the structured data to remote data store, and accessible by the computing device, para 24), email, text message, or mobile phone application (accessible by the computing device, including through browser 143 in fig. 1, and executed on the onboard mobile telephone 124, para 20 or sending to third parties by email, simple message SMS, etc., para 18), except a personal cloud arrangement by which, the stored text data sent to the human user.
Liu teaches an analogous field of endeavor by disclosing a recording system for a motor vehicle (title and abstract, ln 1-9, method in figs. 2, 4, 6) and wherein a personal cloud arrangement by which, the stored text data sent to the human user is disclosed (storing the text information by the cloud platform and then pushed to the mobile terminal, para 11 and discussed in claim 16 above) for benefits discussed in claim 16 above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the personal cloud arrangement by which, the stored text data sent to the human user, as taught by Liu, to send the stored text data to the human user, as taught by Kriese, for the benefits discussed above.
Claim 14 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 8, 5 above.
Conclusion
/LESHUI ZHANG/
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2695