DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Response to Amendment / Remarks
The examiner received amendments to the claims and arguments dated 26 June 2026 (hereinafter “the arguments”, “the remarks”, or the like) in response to the non-final rejection office action dated 26 March 2026 (hereinafter the document of concern when referencing “outstanding objections”, “outstanding rejections”, “prior office action”, and the like). No new matter was entered.
Regarding the section of applicant’s remarks titled “Completeness and Clarity of Examiner’s Action”, the examiner candidly agrees with efforts to promote compact prosecution and provided a number of recommendations in the prior office action to do so. The examiner will continue to make recommendations moving forward as needed and identified in order to exercise the Office’s position of promoting compact prosecution.
Regarding the outstanding claim objections, the examiner notes that all claim objections have been remedied with the exception of the outstanding claim objection against claim 19. A persistent claim objection to claim 19 is issued below.
Regarding outstanding claim interpretation, a repeat of the applicable sections are provided below. The examiner explicitly notes that the examiner will not improperly import limitations from the specification or arguments into the claim language. Regarding the outstanding 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretations, applicant states on page [6] of the remarks that "Applicant respectfully submits that a "processing system" is a term of art and refers to a central processing unit (CPU), graphical processing unit (GPU), or other type of processing unit that is not a nonce term. The examiner respectfully disagrees; applicant themselves state "or other type of processing unit" in this argument, opening this interpretation themselves. The examiner respectfully asserts that a "processor" and "controller" (for example) are known in the art regarding structure; applying "unit" following "processing" or "control" applies ambiguity when the claims are viewed individually by limitation and as a whole. For example, an excavator is a "processing system", as it generally contains an electronic control unit. A calculator is a "processing system" as it processes a user's input and generates an output. A human may be a “processing system” as a human perceives their surroundings and generates actions based upon the observation. By applying "system" or "unit" following the terminology, applicant no longer limits the "system" to just the processors described in the arguments. By stating "system", the "box" is not just drawn around a processor but an unknown and infinite number of possible "things". The examiner recommends removal of "processing system" and instead recitation of "a processor coupled to memory, the memory housing instructions that, when executed by the processor, perform the following functions: [[a processing system configured to]] performing iterative eye-in-hand…", or similar. As the "processing system" is still being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), applicant's argument on page [7] of "With respect to the other terms, the Specification is clear that they are implemented by a processing system" is not found to be persuasive as "processing system" (of claim 12) and "processor system" (of claim 20, with amendment) do not connotate corresponding structure. Regarding applicant's arguments on pages [7-8] that 1) the terms are not nonce terms and 2) the terms have well-understood meaning, the examiner respectfully disagrees on both of the aforementioned points. The examiner laid out exactly on page [7] of the non-final rejection how the three-prong analysis in MPEP 2181.I. was met for the terms; the examiner re-highlights that recitation of the word "means" is not the only portion of the first prong, the examiner provided justification for interpretation as a generic nonce term. If applicant intends for the comparator to explicitly be a function carried out by software housed in a non-transitory storage medium that is executed by a processor, then the examiner respectfully submits that the claims be amended to claim the system as such, but respectfully asserts that this more limited interpretation is not proper in light of the instant claim language and the examiner will not improperly import specification examples or arguments into claim interpretation. Currently, the outstanding 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretations are maintained, in addition to the outstanding 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections pertaining to the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) terminology.
Regarding outstanding 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections, the examiner notes that the rejections pertaining to 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation and independent claims 1, 12, and 20 will persist as no amendment has been received to remedy the noted issues and the examiner was unable to locate arguments or amendments addressing the missing information in the independent claims to convey to a person having ordinary skill in the art how the invention reasonably operates. Outstanding 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claim 1 for improper claim language and claims 8 and 18 for cell information are withdrawn by way of claim amendment.
Regarding outstanding prior art (35 U.S.C. 103) rejections, the examiner ultimately finds the arguments presented to be unpersuasive. Regarding applicant's arguments on page [9] that the prior art teaches away, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As applicant has not further limited the terminology "robotic parameters", the term does not necessarily only include intrinsic or alternative parameters. Instead, the examiner interprets this language of "robotic parameters" under broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification (BRI) to be any data that corresponds to the robot, as explained on page [4] of the non-final rejection. If applicant wishes to pursue interpretation where intrinsic robotic kinematics are explicitly claimed rather than generic "robotic parameters", then the examiner respectfully recommends that applicant do so with explicit amendment. However, at this time, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's position that the prior art teaches away from any form of "robotic parameter" use.
Regarding the arguments against the applicability of the secondary prior art, the examiner notes that the claim language states, exactly, "calculating a robot positioning error map function, the robot positioning error map function used to adjust movement parameters for the robotic arm." (in the case of claim 1, though analogous claims 12 and 20 recite analogous language), it does not limit how or with what data the map is created with. As such, the examiner considers the current rejection of merely mapping any form of error between planned and actual positions in robotic movement (as is the case in the secondary art) to read upon the claim language. The arguments on page [10] regarding "An error map function determines the discrepancy between…" are appreciated to understand intent, however the examiner respectfully notes that these are limitations that are not present in the claim language and the examiner will not improperly limit the claim language. If applicant wishes for the map creation to include more specific and/or limiting information, then the examiner respectfully submits that amendments of the claim language by presented. Regarding the applicant's argument that the secondary art does not teach a "function" on page [11] of the remarks, the examiner respectfully disagrees. "Function" is not limited at this time to an equation, line of code, or equivalent; the secondary prior art states in the quoted paragraph [0021] "Hence, when the vision system employs hand-eye calibration, its software solves poses by correlating the observed motion effect in the images with the commanded motion" and "…so that after finding a position in the image space, the position in the motion coordinate system can be translated and the motion-rendering device can be commanded to act upon it.", the aforementioned portions (at least) clearly connotating a "function". Finally, regarding the combination presented, the examiner provided a reason why the references would be combined and notes that MPEP 2144.IV. permits the rationale to combine to be different from what applicant may have intended with the inventive concept. At this time, the examiner asserts that the outstanding combination of references continues to read upon the claim language.
The examiner notes that the basis for rejections presented below have not changed, except where necessitated by claim amendment. No new grounds of rejection are presented, except where necessitated by claim amendment.
Status of Claims
The most recent revision of the claim set is dated 26 June 2026, received in response to the non-final rejection office action dated 26 March 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 12, and 20 are independent claims. All pending claims (1-20) are rejected, as noted further below.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim objection: Claim 19 states "…upon detection a movement of the robotic cell…" and is missing the word "of" to state "…upon detection of a movement of the robotic cell…".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The examiner notes that the term "fix"/"fixing" is used in the claim set (see claims [2, 13], for instance). The examiner notes that, in light of the specification, that "fix" refers to keeping a value static rather than the meaning of fix pertaining to repair/correction, for instance.
Regarding "robotic parameters", paragraph [0033] states "The robotic parameters, in one embodiment, are DH parameters." Further, Paragraph [0071] states "The robot kinematics model (initially formulated as Denavit-Hartenberg and known as DH parameters) is obtained by chaining transformations along the joints of the manipulator." The aforementioned sections (as examples) provide some basis for understanding what may or may not be included in "robotic parameters", however neither the claims nor the specification are limiting. Thus, a 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is omitted at this time, but the claim language is interpreted broadly to include any parameter pertaining to the robot.
Independent claims 1, 12, and 20 state "…for eye-to-hand calibration, to obtain eye-to-hand transformations;". The examiner notes that the underlined phrase of the limitation is merely interpreted as "intended use" and is not afforded significant patentable weight.
The examiner notes that error "maps" are recited in the claim set. In ascertaining any more limited meaning of "map", the examiner was only able to locate the description in paragraph [0023], which merely discusses that the positioning error may "is the error between where the robot thinks it is based on its kinematic model vs. where it really is, based on the system described here.", listing embodiments (non-limiting) in following descriptions. As the limitation "error map" is not particularly limiting in the specification, the examiner must interpret the language under plain meaning. In this case, what constitutes a "map"? Is a particular format (i.e., a 3D visual representation) necessary? Is a certain number of points necessary? Ultimately, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the examiner will interpret "error map" to merely comprise any number of data points linking estimated position with actual/measured position and will not particularly limit the format of "map" at this time.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“processing system” – claims 12, 13, 15, 18
“processor system” – claim 20
“comparator” – claims 15, 20
“validator” – claims 18, 19
“iterative eye-in-hand and parameter solver” – claim 20
“parameter-based pose estimation” – claim 15, 20
“position error map calculator” – claim 20
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Regarding “processing system” (and “processor system” in the case of claim 20), the examiner notes that support for interpretation may be found in, for instance, paragraph [0025], which states “The processing system comprises one or more computing systems including one or more processors.” Further, paragraph [0087] and Figure [6] may provide the requisite for understanding.
Regarding “comparator”, it is not expressly clear if the comparator is meant to be a distinct component or merely an action of performing a comparison by the “processing system”. The examiner must consider the interpretation that a distinct component is claimed, as this meets the 3 prong analysis discussed in MPEP 2181.I., as (A) the claim limitation uses a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (a “comparator” is a generic “unit” as it has no apparent structure, for instance), (B) the term is modified by functional language “configured to”, and (C) the term is not modified by sufficient structure/material/acts for performing the function. Figure [1] show that the “comparator” is contained within the processing system , but since the processing system merely comprises (but is not limited to) a computing system of one or more processors, the “comparator” may reasonably be a different component. As the examiner is ultimately unable to definitively understand the structure of the term “comparator”, it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) below.
Similarly, regarding “validator”, it is not expressly clear if the validator is meant to be a distinct component or merely an action of performing validation by the “processing system”. Under analogous interpretation provided above for “comparator” (as specification paragraph [0024] and Figure [1] do not state otherwise), it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) below.
Similarly, regarding “iterative eye-in-hand and parameter solver”, “parameter-based pose estimation”, and position error map calculator”, these terms are also interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and paragraphs [0021, 0023] and Figure [1] fail to particularly point out the structure of the generic terms used. Thus, the above-noted terms are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as noted further below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
PART I – 35 U.S.C. 112(f) INTERPRETATION:
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “comparator”, “validator”, “iterative eye-in-hand and parameter solver”, “parameter-based pose estimation”, and position error map calculator” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Regarding “comparator”, it is not expressly clear if the comparator is meant to be a distinct component or merely an action of performing a comparison by the “processing system”. The examiner must consider the interpretation that a distinct component is claimed, as this meets the 3 prong analysis discussed in MPEP 2181.I., as (A) the claim limitation uses a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (a “comparator” is a generic “unit” as it has no apparent structure, for instance), (B) the term is modified by functional language “configured to”, and (C) the term is not modified by sufficient structure/material/acts for performing the function. Figure [1] show that the “comparator” is contained within the processing system , but since the processing system merely comprises (but is not limited to) a computing system of one or more processors, the “comparator” may reasonably be a different component. As the examiner is ultimately unable to definitively understand the structure of the term “comparator”, it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Similarly, regarding “validator”, it is not expressly clear if the validator is meant to be a distinct component or merely an action of performing validation by the “processing system”. Under analogous interpretation provided above for “comparator” (as specification paragraph [0024] and Figure [1] do not state otherwise), it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Similarly, regarding “iterative eye-in-hand and parameter solver”, “parameter-based pose estimation”, and position error map calculator”, these terms are also interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and paragraphs [0021, 0023] and Figure [1] fail to particularly point out the structure of the generic terms used. Thus, the above-noted terms are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
PART II – GENERAL LACK OF CLARITY/INDEFINITENESS
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding all independent claims (1, 12, 20) at least, the claim set utilizes two distinct terms of "eye-in-hand" and "eye-to-hand". In an attempt to understanding the claim meaning, the examiner located paragraph [0033] which states "This iterative process uses the data captured by the end of arm camera looking at a static target/fiducial (eye-in-hand)." Further, paragraph [0034] states "The eye-to-hand calibration uses data captured by the static cameras looking at a moving target/fiducial." Thus, the examiner believes the intent of "eye-in-hand" calibration to refer to registration between the end effector camera and a static target, and "eye-to-hand" calibration to refer to registration between the static cameras and the target mounted to the robot arm. However, claims 1, 12, and 20 neither disclose a target mounted to the end effector nor discuss what actually encompasses "eye-to-hand" calibration, thus omitting an essential component/definition for the invention. As an example, the examiner notes that a definitive explanation in claim 1 would read "…performing iterative eye-in-hand and robot calibration, using a calibrated end of arm camera with known intrinsic parameters and a static target, to obtain eye-in-hand transformations and robotic parameters; us[[e]]ing robotic parameters to estimate a pose of an end of the robotic arm, for eye-to-hand calibration, and using a static camera with a dynamic target mounted to the robotic arm to obtain eye-to-hand transformations;"
As the above-noted 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections apply to all pending independent claims 1, 12, and 20 without dependent claims resolving all of the noted issues, all dependent claims are rejected as well due to dependency.
Therefore, the examiner notes that the above-noted terms and phrases are indefinite and fail to particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention of the instant application. Consistent with USPTO examination practices, for purposes of compact prosecution, the claim limitations will be treated as best understood by the Examiner, which according to broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), would mean that the examiner could follow any one or more of the interpretations discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 12-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (CN 113787522 A; published 14 December 2021, reference made to the English translation provided with this office action, hereinafter Lin) in view of Drixler et al. (US 2020/0238525 A1; published 30 Jul 2020, hereinafter Drixler).
Regarding independent claims 1 (method), 12 (system) and 20 (system): Lin discloses A method of calibrating a robotic arm comprising: (per claim 1) (Paragraph [0049] and Figure [3,6], Lin discloses a calibration method for a robot arm) / An iterative calibration system for calibrating a robotic arm comprising: (per claim 12) (Paragraph [0015, 0049, 0066, 0073] and Figure [3,6], Lin discloses an iterative calibration system for a robot arm comprising a series of steps, certain steps (such as moving between different postures) being repeated (thus iterative in both sense of the word)) / A robotic cell comprising: a robotic arm; an end of arm; a static sensor coupled to the robotic cell; a calibrated end of arm sensor coupled to the end of arm; and a processor system implementing an iterative calibration system comprising: (per claim 20) (Paragraph [0015, 0049, 0057-0058, 0063, 0065-0067, 0068, 0073, 0098-0099, n0099] and Figure [3-6], Lin discloses an iterative calibration system for a robot arm comprising a series of steps, certain steps (such as moving between different postures) being repeated (thus iterative in both sense of the word). The system comprises a robot arm with end of arm (see figures 3-6, for instance), a “second camera” mounted in the workspace outside of the robot (a static sensor), a calibrated “first camera” mounted to the robot arm, and an iterative system (see figure [7]), the overall system including a computer device comprising a processor)
performing iterative eye-in-hand and robot calibration, using a calibrated end of arm camera with known intrinsic parameters and a static target, to obtain eye-in-hand transformations and robotic parameters; (per claim 1) / a processing system configured to perform iterative eye-in-hand and robot calibration, using a calibrated end of arm camera with known intrinsic parameters and a static target, to obtain eye-in-hand transformations and robotic parameters; (per claim 12) / an iterative eye-in-hand and parameter solver configured to perform iterative eye-in-hand and robot calibration, using the calibrated end of arm sensor with known intrinsic parameters and a static target, to obtain eye- in-hand transformations and robotic parameters; (per claim 20) (Paragraph [0057, 0059, 0062, 0067-0069, 0073, 0086, 0088] and Figure [3-5], Lin discloses registering/determining the transformation between the first camera (on the arm) coordinate system and the static calibration plate using the calibrated camera at the end of the robot arm with established/calculated intrinsics. A transformation matrix between the first (arm) camera system and the calibration plate (environment plate) is obtained. A pose transformation yields a parameter matrix for hand-eye calibration data (thus, robotic parameters). The Calculation is iterative)
using robotic parameters to estimate pose of end of arm, for eye-to-hand calibration, to obtain eye-to-hand transformations; (per claim 1) / the processing system further configured to use robotic parameters to estimate a pose of the calibrated end of arm, for eye-to-hand calibration, to obtain eye-to-hand transformations; (per claim 12) / a parameter-based pose estimation configured to use robotic parameters to estimate pose of end of arm, for eye-to-hand calibration, to obtain eye-to-hand transformations; (per claim 20) (Paragraph [0063-0068, 0089] and Figure [5], Lin discloses that the arm is moved to a plurality of poses/postures and the second camera is used to obtain pose data of the target g mounted to the end of the arm, obtaining a transformation between the second camera (environment cam) and the target on the arm)
calculating final error compensation based on the robotic parameters, eye-to-hand transformations, and eye-in-hand transformations; and (per claim 1) / the processing system further configured to calculate final error compensation based on the robotic parameters, eye-to-hand transformations, and eye-in-hand transformations; and (per claim 12) / a comparator to calculate final error compensation based on the robotic parameters, eye-to-hand transformations, and eye-in-hand transformations; and (per claim 20) (Paragraph [0049, 0089-0091], Lin discloses minimizing/eliminating/compensating for error based on the transformations obtained, the transformations representing registration between the first camera and the environment target and the second camera and the robot arm target including posture data (robotic parameters))
Lin discloses correction of error, implicitly disclosing that a correction “map” is formulated, but does not explicitly disclose the creation of an error map function.
However, Drixler, in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration, teaches calculating a robot positioning error map function, the robot positioning error map function used to adjust movement parameters for the robotic arm. (per claim 1) / the processing system further configured to calculate a robot positioning error map function, the robot positioning error map function used to adjust movement parameters for the robotic arm. (per claim 12) / position error map calculator configured to calculate a robot positioning error map function to adjust movement parameters for the robotic arm. (per claim 20) (Paragraph [0021], Drixler teaches that when a system employs hand-eye calibration, software solves poses by correlating the observed (actual) motion in the images with the commanded (estimated/programmed) motion, resulting in a mapping between each position in the camera image and a physical position in the motion coordinate system)
Lin and Drixler are in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration, both disclosing/teaching both eye-in-hand and eye-to-hand transformation/calibration techniques. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Lin to explicitly include the teaching of the hand-eye calibration resulting in a mapping, as taught by Drixler, as this is implicitly disclose in Lin. Lin discloses performing calibration of a robot at a plurality of measured points to minimize cumulative error; it would then have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing that this meant that compensation occurred at a plurality of commanded points, however the teachings of Drixler are relied upon as explicitly teaching the aforementioned mapping. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing would have been motivated to make this combination in order to explicitly state that at a point in space, a correlation and compensation between image space and commanded space may be understood/observed.
Regarding claims 2 and 13: Parent claims 1 and 12, respectively, are unpatentable over Lin in view of Drixler. Lin discloses solving for applicable hand-eye matrices in paragraphs [0089-0091], for instance, but does not explicitly disclose the entirety of wherein the iterative eye-in-hand and robot calibration comprises: fixing robotic parameters and solving for eye-in-hand transformations; fixing eye-in-hand transformations, and solving for the robotic parameters; and determining when the robotic parameters and the eye-in-hand transformations have converged. (per claim 2) / wherein the processing system implements an iterative eye-in-hand and parameter solving configured to fix robotic parameters and solving for eye-in-hand transformations, fix eye-in-hand transformations, and solving for the robotic parameters, and determine when the robotic parameters and the eye-in- hand transformations have converged. (per claim 13) (Paragraph [0066, 0073, 0088-0090, 0094], Lin discloses moving the arm to a plurality of postures and capturing data used for calibration (fixing the robot parameter/pose and solving for the transformation, or “…the second intrinsic parameter matrix and the second distortion coefficient remain unchanged, and only the second extrinsic parameter matrix is optimized using bundle adjustment…”))
However, the examiner submits that merely utilizing a particular order of mathematical function solving to arrive at an analogous error compensation is merely a matter of design choice that would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill at the time of effective filing. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been able to vary amongst a known set of ways to solve the equations noted in Lin in order to arrive at an analogous compensation method.
Claims 3-6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Drixler in further view of Liu et al. (US 2019/0015991 A1; published 17 Jan 2019, hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claims 3 and 14: Parent claims 2 and 13, respectively, are unpatentable over Lin in view of Drixler. Lin does not explicitly disclose the use of Denavit-Hartenberg (DH) parameters.
However, Liu, in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration teaches wherein the robotic parameters comprise Denavit-Hartenberg (DH) parameters. (per claims 3 and 14) (Paragraph [0008, 0011, 0036, 0041], Liu teaches that the robot calibration parameters includes Denavit-Hartenberg parameters)
Lin and Liu are in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Lin with the teachings of Liu that specify the use of Denavit-Hartenberg parameters as Denavit-Hartenberg parameters are merely one particular way to express parameters of the robot such as those pertaining to links and joints (Liu, Paragraph [0036]), and are parameters that are “well known in the art” (Liu, Paragraph [0041]). Merely utilizing a well-known type of parameters in lieu of a more generic way to quantify robot motion (as disclosed in Lin) constitutes as a combination of known elements according to known methods to produce predictable results, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 4 and 15: Parent claims 1 and 12, respectively, are unpatentable over Lin in view of Drixler.
Lin discloses wherein calculating the final error compensation comprises: computing a robotic pose using the robotic parameters; (per claim 4) / wherein the processing system implements a positioning error map calculation configured to calculate the final error compensation, the system comprising: a parameter-based pose estimation configured to compute a robotic pose using the robotic parameters; (per claim 15) (Paragraph [0063-0068, 0089] and Figure [5], Lin discloses that the arm is moved to a plurality of poses/postures and the second camera is used to obtain pose data of the target g mounted to the end of the arm, obtaining a transformation between the second camera (environment cam) and the target on the arm)
estimating the robotic pose using vision based on the eye-to-hand transformations and the eye-in-hand transformations; and (per claim 4) / a vision-based pose computation configured to estimate the robotic pose using vision based on the eye-to-hand transformations and the eye-in-hand transformations; and (per claim 15) (Paragraph [0049, 0068, 0073, 0079, 0086-0091], Lin discloses minimizing/eliminating/compensating for error based on the transformations obtained, the transformations representing registration between the first camera and the environment target and the second camera and the robot arm target including pose/posture data)
While implicit, Lin does not explicitly disclose that a commanded pose is compared to a measured/estimated pose in order to identify error.
However, Liu, in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration, teaches wherein calculating the final error compensation comprises: computing a robotic pose using the robotic parameters; (per claim 4) / wherein the processing system implements a positioning error map calculation configured to calculate the final error compensation, the system comprising: a parameter-based pose estimation configured to compute a robotic pose using the robotic parameters; (per claim 15) (Paragraph [0007, 0029, 0050, 0054, 0059, 0080] and Claim [4], Liu teaches determining/calculating an expected location based on the robot calibration parameters)
estimating the robotic pose using vision based on [the eye-to-hand transformations and] the eye-in-hand transformations; and (per claim 4) / a vision-based pose computation configured to estimate the robotic pose using vision based on [the eye-to-hand transformations and] the eye-in-hand transformations; and (per claim 15) (Paragraph [0007, 0029, 0050, 0054, 0059, 0080] and Claim [4], Liu teaches determining observed location)
comparing the computed pose and the estimated pose to identify errors. (per claim 4) / a comparator configured to compare the computed pose and the estimated pose to identify errors. (per claim 15) (Paragraph [0007, 0029, 0050, 0059, 0080] and Claim [1], Liu teaches comparing/identifying difference between a captured/measured position and an expected pose (including position) to identify error)
Lin and Liu are in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Lin with the teachings of Liu to explicitly state that the programmed and measured postures are compared to determine error, as this is implicit in the mathematical relationships expressed in the disclosure of Lin and generally encompasses the overall concept of calibrating the motion of a robot arm (correcting for error between commanded and actual movements). Merely explicitly stating that two of the components of Lin are directly compared to identify a difference (as taught by Liu) is merely explicitly stating an implicit teaching of Liu and would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing.
Regarding claim 5: Parent claim 4 is unpatentable over Lin in view of Drixler in view of Liu. Lin does not explicitly disclose obtaining measurements in joint space.
However, Liu, in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration, teaches wherein the errors are identified in joint space. (Paragraph [0030, 0036, 0038, 0079] and Claim [1, 4], Liu teaches obtaining joint angle information (such as through encoder counts) for obtaining pose information (and further, error))
Lin and Liu are in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Lin with the teachings of Liu to perform calculations in joint space, as this is merely one of a limited number of well-known, routine, and conventional options known to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to quantify movement in a workspace. Merely performing an analogous form of calibration in another type of known coordinate system is an obvious mathematical modification of the prior art that would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing.
Regarding claims 6 and 16: Parent claims 4 and 15, respectively, are unpatentable over Lin in view of Drixler in view of Liu. Lin further discloses wherein the errors are identified in Cartesian space. (per claim 6) / wherein the errors are identified in one of joint space and Cartesian space. (per claim 16) (Paragraph [0076-0078], Lin discloses performing calculations (including resulting in error) in cartesian space, by recitation of X,Y,Z coordinates, for example. Regarding claim 16, the examiner notes that “one of” indicates that only one is necessary, though the examiner considers merely specifying one of a limited number of well-known, routine, and conventional types of coordinate systems to be obvious variants)
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Drixler in further view of Wu et al. (US 2024/0165818 A1; priority date of 30 Jul 2021, hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claims 7 and 17: Parent claims 1 and 12, respectively, are unpatentable over Lin in view of Drixler. Lin does not explicitly disclose the use of a neural network, k-nearest neighbor algorithm, linear grid-based interpolation, or non-linear grid-based interpolation.
However, Wu, in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration, teaches wherein calculating the robot positioning error map function utilizes one or more of: a neural network, k-nearest neighbor algorithm, linear grid-based interpolation, or non-linear grid-based interpolation. (per claim 7) / further comprising: one or more of: a neural network, k-nearest neighbor algorithm, linear grid-based interpolation, or non-linear grid-based interpolation. (per claim 17) (Paragraph [0102-0103], Wu teaches the use of a neural network utilized in the overall process of calculating error)
Lin and Wu are in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Lin with the generic use of a well-known, routine, and conventional learning model or algorithm, as taught by Wu, in order to determine that the quality of the image present is acceptable, for instance (Wu, Paragraph [0103]). The examiner notes that the claims do not utilize the well-known, routine, and conventional models/algorithms in an inventive/novel/non-obvious manner but merely additionally include the use of alternative well-known models/algorithms and is interpreted as such. Therefore, merely peripherally claiming the use of a known model/algorithm is considered an obvious variant of the prior art, as it constitutes a combination of known elements according to known methods to produce predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 8-11 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Drixler in further view of Liu in further view of Poelman et al. (US 2022/0147026 A1; published 12 May 2022, hereinafter Poelman).
Regarding claims 8 and 18: Parent claims 4 and 15, respectively, are unpatentable over Lin in view of Drixler in further view of Liu. Lin does not explicitly disclose later validation of the calibration.
However, Poelman, in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration, teaches further comprising: validating the robot calibration and a sensor calibration by comparing the pose from a validation image to the estimated pose and determining whether the robotic arm should be recalibrated. (per claim 8) / further comprising: the processing system configured to implement a validator configured to verify a calibration state by comparing the pose from a validation image to the estimated pose and determine whether the robotic arm should be recalibrated. (per claim 18) (Paragraph [0065, 0089, 0100-0102, 0112, 0125], Poelman teaches monitoring the state of the calibration while in use and determines if a condition is met where the calibration state is no longer sufficiently accurate using comparison of data between a holistic representation (a validation image) and observed data (estimated pose))
Lin and Poelman are in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Lin with a form of continuous/periodic calibration monitoring as taught by Poelman in the interest of verifying if recalibration is needed (Paragraph [0102]).
Regarding claim 9: Parent claim 8 is unpatentable over Lin in view of Drixler in view of Liu in further view of Poelman. As discussed above, Lin does not explicitly disclose later validation of the calibration.
However, Poelman, in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration, teaches wherein the validating is triggered periodically. (Paragraph [0100, 0125], Poelman teaches mini-auto-calibrations periodically during use)
Lin and Poelman are in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Lin with a form of continuous/periodic calibration monitoring as taught by Poelman in the interest of verifying if recalibration is needed (Paragraph [0102]).
Regarding claim 10: Parent claim 8 is unpatentable over Lin in view of Drixler in view of Liu in further view of Poelman. As discussed above, Lin does not explicitly disclose later validation of the calibration.
However, Poelman, in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration, teaches wherein the validating is triggered when a movement of a robotic cell supporting the robot arm above a threshold is detected. (Paragraph [0065, 0089, 0100-0102, 0112, 0125], Poelman teaches recalibration to account for backlash, hysteresis, deflection, loading, etc. (all of which are considered movement above a threshold), the “robotic cell” interpretation including the components within the cell)
Lin and Poelman are in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Lin with a form of continuous/periodic calibration monitoring as taught by Poelman in the interest of verifying if recalibration is needed (Paragraph [0102]).
Regarding claim 11: Parent claim 8 is unpatentable over Lin in view of Drixler in view of Liu in further view of Poelman. As discussed above, Lin does not explicitly disclose later validation of the calibration.
However, Poelman, in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration, teaches further comprising: triggering a recalibration when validation metrics indicates that a difference between the calculated pose and the validation pose is above a threshold. (Paragraph [0065, 0089, 0100-0102, 0112, 0125], Poelman teaches recalibration to account for when the calibration is “no longer sufficiently accurate” in the comparison of the holistic representation and the observed data)
Lin and Poelman are in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Lin with a form of continuous/periodic calibration monitoring as taught by Poelman in the interest of verifying if recalibration is needed (Paragraph [0102]).
Regarding claim 19: Parent claim 18 is unpatentable over Lin in view of Drixler in view of Liu in further view of Poelman. As discussed above, Lin does not explicitly disclose later validation of the calibration.
However, Poelman, in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration, teaches wherein the validator is triggered one of: periodically, upon detection a movement of a robotic cell supporting the robotic arm is above a threshold, when validation metrics indicate that a difference between the calculated pose and the validation pose is above a threshold. (The examiner notes that only one is necessary, but Poelman teaches all of the noted alternatives. Paragraph [0065, 0089, 0100-0102, 0112, 0125], First, Poelman teaches mini-auto-calibrations periodically during use. Second, Poelman teaches recalibration to account for backlash, hysteresis, deflection, loading, etc. (all of which are considered movement above a threshold). Third, Poelman teaches recalibration to account for when the calibration is “no longer sufficiently accurate” in the comparison of the holistic representation and the observed data)
Lin and Poelman are in a similar field of endeavor of robot calibration. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Lin with a form of continuous/periodic calibration monitoring as taught by Poelman in the interest of verifying if recalibration is needed (Paragraph [0102]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action, only where applicable. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/THOMAS E WORDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658