Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
2. Claim 4 recites the limitation “soft rubber strip” which connects the upper cover and storage box base. It is unclear to the examiner as to what exactly “soft” is. There is no definite definition as to what extent is the rubber considered soft. Therefore, the claim is rendered indefinite. As best understood from the specifications, “soft rubber” would be defined as a piece of rubber that is able to effectively bend and be flexible as to flip the upper cover and storage box base when opening and closing the oral cleaning appliance and will be treated as such for the sake of the current Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-3, 5, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 21525268 U) in view of Guo (CN 212996848 U).
5. Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a self-feed oral cleaning appliance comprising:
a cleaning equipment storage box (toothbrush disinfection box) wherein it is:
configured to store cleaning equipment (brush head and handle of toothbrush, paragraph [0004]), wherein the inside of the cleaning equipment storage box is partitioned into a plurality of storage cavities (brush head groove 221 and handle groove 222, Figure 2);
the storage cavities at least comprise a host unit storage cavity (handle groove 222) and a cleaning head storage cavity (brush head groove 221, Figure 2);
the cleaning equipment (brush head and handle of toothbrush), comprising a cleaning host unit (handle) and a cleaning head (brush head);
the cleaning head (brush head) is configured to clean an oral cavity; the cleaning host unit handle) is configured to bear and/or drive the cleaning head (brush head) to perform a cleaning operation (it is clearly understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that the brush head of the toothbrush is configured to clean an oral cavity, wherein the handle of a toothbrush holds the cleaning head, to aid in the cleaning process);
a sterilization device (ultraviolet lamp 31, Figure 2), arranged on a wall surface of the cleaning head storage cavity (see ultraviolet lamp 31 arranged on the wall of brush head groove 221, Figure 2) and configured to sterilize the cleaning head (the ultraviolet lamp 31 is lightened, sterilizing the brush head fixing time, paragraph [0039], Figure 2);
Figure 2 (Wu)
However, Wu does not disclose wherein:
wherein a storage battery is arranged in the cleaning host unit;
a power receiving mechanism, comprising a power sending end and a power receiving end, wherein the power sending end is arranged on the cleaning host unit;
the power receiving end is arranged on the cleaning equipment storage box;
the power receiving mechanism is configured to achieve circuit connection between the cleaning host unit and the sterilization device;
and a feed induction control circuit, configured to control power-on start and stop and power-on duration of the power receiving mechanism.
Guo is also concerned with box/cover configured to sterilize the head of a toothbrush, wherein sterilizer is placed within a brush head cavity. Furthermore, Guo teaches wherein a storage battery (battery 13) is arranged in the cleaning host unit (see Figure 1, wherein battery 13 is arranged in handle 1);
Additionally, Guo teaches wherein a power receiving mechanism (power supply module), comprising a power sending end (wireless power supply coil 3 , Figure 1) and a power receiving end (wireless induction coil 4 , Figure 1), wherein the power sending end (wireless power supply coil 3 , Figure 1) is arranged on the cleaning host unit (“a wireless power supply coil 3 disposed at the front end of the handle 1”, paragraph [0020], Figure 1);
Wherein the power receiving end (wireless induction supply coil 4, Figure 1) is arranged on the cleaning equipment storage box (“The toothbrush cover 2 is provided with a wireless induction coil 4 that is paired with the wireless power supply coil 3”, paragraph [0020], Figure 1);
Wherein the power receiving mechanism is configured to achieve circuit connection between the cleaning host unit (handle 1, Figure 1) and the sterilization device (sterilizer 21, Figure 1). See Figure 1, wherein “the circuit connection between the toothbrush cover and the handle is realized by a wireless power supply coil and a wireless induction coil”, paragraph [0020]. Furthermore, sterilizer 21 is located within toothbrush cover 2, wherein “the wireless induction coil is electrically connected with the sterilizing module”, paragraph [0020], Figure 1;
and a feed induction control circuit, configured to control power-on start and stop and power-on duration of the power receiving mechanism (circuit is completed when handle 1 and cover 2 are connected so wireless power and induction coils complete the circuit – handle 1 and cover 2 are not connected, sterilizer stops working due to no induction from the coils).
Wu teaches a rechargeable battery for supplying power to the ultraviolet lamp. Guo teaches the use of induction coils to create a circuit for supplying power to the sterilizer. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effectively filed date of the claimed invention to have substituted the use of the battery, the power receiving mechanism, and the feed induction control circuit of the cleaning host unit of Guo for the rechargeable battery of the UV lamp and supporting structure of Wu as a simple substitution of a known element to produce the predictable result of supplying power to the sterilization device from the handle without the use of external batteries or external power source as taught by Guo.
Figure 1 (Guo)
6. Regarding claim 2, Wu in view of Guo discloses the self-feed oral cleaning appliance of claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
cleaning equipment storage box (toothbrush sterilizing box, Figure 2) is provided with an observation window (observation hole 212, Figure 2) at a position corresponding to the cleaning head storage cavity (see wherein observation hole 212 is positioned above brush head groove 221, Figure 2); the observation window (observation hole 212, Figure 2) penetrates through a housing of the cleaning equipment storage box (see wherein observation hole 212 is through upper shell 11, Figure 2); and a transparent panel (observation mirror 5, Figure 1) is encapsulated on an outer end surface of the observation window (observation hole 212, Figure 2).
Figure 1 (Wu)
7. Regarding claim 3, Wu in view of Guo discloses the self-feed oral cleaning appliance of claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
wherein the cleaning equipment storage box (toothbrush sterilizing box, Figure 1) comprises a storage box upper cover (upper shell 11, Figure 2) and a storage box base (lower shell 12, Figure 2) that are rotationally connected to each other ( “upper shell 11 is rotatably connected on one side of the lower shell 12”, paragraph [0005], Figure 2); an accommodating cavity is formed between the storage box upper cover and the storage box base (see cavities on both upper shell 11 and lower shell 12 to fit head part and body part of toothbrush); and the plurality of storage cavities are formed in the accommodating cavity (see Figure 2, wherein cavity on both upper shell 11 and lower shell 12 are further partitioned into plurality of cavities).
8. Regarding claim 5, Wu in view of Guo discloses the self-feed oral cleaning appliance according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
the cleaning equipment (brush head and handle of toothbrush) is an electric toothbrush (“the electric toothbrush includes a head and a handle”, paragraph [0004]);
the cleaning host unit (handle) is an electric toothbrush handle (it has been established that cleaning equipment is an electric toothbrush, therefore, it is an electric toothbrush handle);
the cleaning head (brush head of the toothbrush) is a toothbrush head (it has been previously established that it is a toothbrush head) detachably connected to the electric toothbrush handle (“electric toothbrushes consist of a detachable head and a handle”, paragraph [0002]);
a storage battery (battery 13 of Guo now resides in handle of Wu) is arranged in the electric toothbrush handle;
However, Wu in view of Guo does not disclose wherein:
the power sending end of the power receiving mechanism is arranged at a tail end of the electric toothbrush handle and is encapsulated in an electric toothbrush tail end cover;
the power receiving end of the power receiving mechanism is arranged on a wall surface of one side, facing the electric toothbrush tail end cover, of the host unit storage cavity;
and when the electric toothbrush handle is stored in the host unit storage cavity, the power sending end and the power receiving end are electrically connected to each other.
Guo additionally teaches wherein:
the power sending end (wireless power supply coil 3, Figure 1) of the power receiving mechanism (power supply module) is arranged at a tail end of the electric toothbrush handle (wireless power supply coil 3 is arranged at a tail end of the handle where it meets the wireless induction supply coil 4, see Figure 3) and is encapsulated in an electric toothbrush tail end cover (Guo teaches wherein components are inside of the handle, therefore outer casing of handle 1 acts tail end cover as shown by Figure 3);
the power receiving end (wireless induction supply coil 4, Figure 1) of the power receiving mechanism (power module) is arranged on a wall surface of one side (see Figure 1, wherein wireless induction coil 4 is on the wall of the toothbrush cover 2);
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have further configured Wu in view of Guo to further incorporate the wireless power supply coil onto the tail end of the toothbrush handle, encapsulated within a cap as taught by Guo. One of ordinary skill would recognize a cap would be necessary to keep the coils and other inner components from getting wet or dirty. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill would be able to place induction coil at a tail end of a toothbrush to effectively transmit power.
Additionally, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have arranged the wireless induction supply coil to be within a wall of the cleaning storage equipment box to effectively receive power from the wireless power supply coil from toothbrush handle.
Wu in further view of Guo discloses wherein:
The power receiving end is facing the electric toothbrush tail end cover, of the host unit storage cavity (one of ordinary skill would be able to effectively place the wireless induction power coil 4 of Guo to be facing at the tail end cover of the toothbrush handle wherein the handle groove 222, to effectively be in contact with the wireless power supply coil 3 to complete a circuit);
and when the electric toothbrush handle (toothbrush handle) is stored in the host unit storage cavity (handle groove 222, Figure 2 ), the power sending end (wireless power supply coil 3 of Guo) and the power receiving end (wireless induction supply coil 4 of Guo) are electrically connected to each other (previously taught by Guo wherein “the circuit connection between the toothbrush cover and the handle is realized by a wireless power supply coil and a wireless induction coil”, paragraph [0020], Guo).
Figure 3 (Guo)
9. Regarding claim 8, Wu in view of Guo discloses the self-feed oral cleaning appliance according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
wherein the power receiving mechanism (wireless power and induction coils from Guo) is electrically connected to a power input port (charging port 121, Figure 2); and the power input port (charging port 121, Figure 2) is arranged in a preset through hole of a housing of the cleaning equipment storage box and extends out from the through hole (see Figure 2, wherein charging port is located at the base of the cleaning equipment storage box, therefore a hole is made through the bottom shell to allow an opening for charging port).
10. Regarding claim 9, Wu in view of Guo discloses the self-feed oral cleaning appliance according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
the sterilization device is an ultraviolet germicidal lamp (it has been previously established that sterilizer is ultraviolet lamp 31, Figure 2); the UV germicidal lamp is encapsulated on the wall surface of the cleaning head storage cavity (see Figure 2, wherein ultraviolet lamp 1 is positioned within the brush head groove on the side of the wall); and a light emission direction is towards an internal region of the cleaning head storage cavity (see Figure 2, wherein ultraviolet lamp 31 is positioned in such way for light to emit towards the brush head when placed in the cavity).
11. Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU (CN 21525268 U) in view of Guo (CN 212996848 U), Hemesath (US 20180352925 A1) and further in view of Wang (CN 216961757 U).
12. Regarding claim 4 Regarding claim 3, Wu in view of Guo discloses the self-feed oral cleaning appliance of claim 1, however it does not disclose wherein:
one side edge of the storage box upper cover and one side edge, which is in the same direction as the side edge of the storage box upper cover, of the storage box base are connected to each other in a flipping manner through a soft rubber strip,
Hemesath discloses a case comprising of an upper cover and a base rotatably connected, with cavities meant to encase an object inside of case. Furthermore, Hemesath further discloses wherein one side edge of the storage box upper cover and one side edge, which is in the same direction as the side edge of the storage box upper cover, of the storage box base (see Figure 6A, wherein edge A of the front cover 300 is connected to edge B of the subpanel 220 along the same direction) are connected to each other in a flipping manner through a soft rubber strip (are connected by flexible spine 400 , which materials include “silicone rubber”, paragraph [0012], Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have configured the rotatable connection of Wu to incorporate a soft rubber material as taught by Hemesath. One of ordinary skill would recognize using flexible materials such as rubber can be used effectively to perform the function of rotatably opening and closing two or more components akin to a hinge.
Figure 6A (Hemesath)
However, Wu in view of Guo and in further view of Hemesath does not disclose wherein:
a first magnetic suction member and a second magnetic suction member are respectively arranged in on one side edge, opposite to the soft rubber strip, of the storage box upper cover and one side edge, opposite to the soft rubber strip, of the storage box base;
Wang is also concerned with a toothbrush case configured to sterilize a brush head, comprising of an upper cover and a base. Furthermore, Wang further discloses wherein a first magnetic suction member and a second magnetic suction member (magnetic suction element 9 at both ends of top cover 1, Figure 3) are respectively arranged in on one side edge, opposite to the soft rubber strip, (both magnets are opposite to where rubber strip now resides at the connection of upper cover and base as taught by Hemesath, Figure 3), of the storage box upper cover and one side edge, opposite to the soft rubber strip, of the storage box base (magnetic suction element 9 at both ends also located at base box 2, identical to top cover 1, Figure 3);
the first magnetic suction member and the second magnetic suction member are connected in a magnetic suction manner (it is understood by one of ordinary skill that magnets suction element 9 on both top cover 1 and base box 2 connect magnetically to close case, Figure 3);
the storage box upper cover (top cover 1, Figure 3) comprises an upper cover outer shell (top cover outer shell 11, Figure 3) and an upper cover inner shell(top cover inner shell 12, Figure 3); and the storage box base (base box 2, Figure 3) comprises a base inner shell (base box inner shell 21, Figure 3) and a base outer shell (base box outer shell 22, Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have further configured Wu in view of Guo and Hemesath to further have magnet disposed on the edges of the upper and lower shells as a known element in the art to create a stronger closing mechanism when two compartments that are rotatably coupled are closed as taught by Wang. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to have an inner shells for both upper and lower shells to house the toothbrush elements, and an outer shell for both the upper and lower shells to house and protect the inside of the cleaning equipment storage box as taught by Wang.
Figure 3 (Wang)
13. Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU (CN 21525268 U) in view of Guo (CN 212996848 U), and further in view of Wang (CN 216961757 U).
14. Regarding claim 6, Wu in view of Guo discloses the self-feed oral cleaning appliance according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
the power receiving mechanism comprises a wireless transmitting coil (wireless power supply coil 3 of Guo, Figure 1), a wireless receiving coil (wireless induction supply coil 4 of Guo, Figure 1)
the power sending end is the wireless transmitting coil (it has been previously established that power sending end is wireless supply coil 3 as taught by Guo, now residing in Wu); the power receiving end is the wireless receiving coil (it has been previously established that power receiving end is wireless induction supply coil 4 as taught by Guo, now residing in Wu);
the power sending end is arranged on the cleaning host unit (wherein it has been previously taught by Guo that “a wireless power supply coil 3 disposed at the front end of the handle 1”, paragraph [0020], Figure 1, Guo);
the wireless receiving coil (wireless induction supply coil 4 of Guo) is arranged on a wall surface of one side, close to the wireless transmitting coil, of the host unit storage cavity (one of ordinary skill would be able to effectively place the wireless induction power coil 4 of Guo to be placed in the handle groove 222 and effectively be in contact with the wireless power supply coil 3 of Guo to complete a circuit);
and when the cleaning host unit (handle) is stored in the host unit storage cavity (handle groove 222), the wireless transmitting coil (wireless power supply coil 3 of Guo) is electromagnetically connected to the wireless receiving coil (wireless induction supply coil 4 of Guo) in a wireless manner (wherein it has been previously taught by Guo wherein “the circuit connection between the toothbrush cover and the handle is realized by a wireless power supply coil and a wireless induction coil”, therefore connecting in a wireless manner, paragraph [0020], Guo).
However, Wu in view of Guo does not disclose:
a circuit board assembly;
wherein the circuit board assembly of the power receiving end is arranged in a housing of the cleaning equipment storage box;
Wang is also concerned with a toothbrush case configured to sterilize a brush head, comprising of an upper cover and a base. Furthermore, Wang further discloses wherein a circuit board assembly of the power receiving end (circuit board assembly 8 wherein controls the sterilization and purification time of sterilizer, paragraph [0022], Figure 3) is arranged in a housing of the cleaning equipment storage box (wherein “circuit board assembly 8 is installed inside the interlayer of the bottom box 2”, paragraph [0021], Figure 3);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have further configured Wu in view of Guo to further incorporated a circuit board at the power receiving end as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill would recognize that a circuit board would be able to transfer the power generated by the induction coils of Guo housed in Wu to the sterilizer and effectively complete the circuit as taught by Wang.
15. Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 21525268 U) in view of Guo (CN 212996848 U), and further in view of Jung (US 2021/0177560 A1).
16. Regarding claim 7, Wu in view of Guo discloses the self-feed oral cleaning appliance according to claim 1, however it does not disclose wherein:
the power receiving mechanism comprises a male pin for electrode connection and a female base for electrode connection;
the power transmission end is the female base for electrode connection;
the power receiving end is the male pin for electrode connection;
the female base for electrode connection is arranged on the cleaning host unit;
the male pin for electrode connection is arranged on a wall surface of one side, close to the female base for electrode connection, of the host unit storage cavity (13);
and when the cleaning host unit (21) is stored in the host unit storage cavity (13), the male pin for electrode connection and the female base for electrode connection are electrically connected to each other.
Jung is also concerned with a toothbrush comprising of a handle and head brush, wherein a cover gathers power from the toothbrush handle to power a sterilizer. Furthermore, Jung further discloses wherein:
the power receiving mechanism comprises a male pin for electrode connection and a female base for electrode connection (see Figure 1 and 3, wherein input terminal 250 acts as male pin for electrode connection and output terminal 150 acts as a female pin for electrode connection);
the power transmission end is the female base for electrode connection (output terminal 150 acts as a female pin for electrode connection, which supplies power to cover 200, paragraph [0036], Figure 1);
the power receiving end is the male pin for electrode connection (3, wherein input terminal 250 acts as male pin for electrode connection, “which receive a power from the power output terminals 150 of the body part 100”, paragraph [0036], Figure 1 and 3). Furthermore, Figure 3 displays input terminals 150 as protrusions, therefore acting as a male pin for electrode connection;
the female base for electrode connection is arranged on the cleaning host unit (see output terminal 150 located at body part 100 of toothbrush);
the male pin for electrode connection (output terminal 250, Figure 3) is arranged on a wall surface of one side (see Figure 3, wherein electrodes are on the inner wall of cover part 200), close to the female base for electrode connection (when cap is on in Figure 2, output terminal 250 is close to input terminal 150), of the host unit storage cavity (cavity of cover part 200 wherein toothbrush is inserted, Figure 2)
and when the cleaning host unit (body part 100) is stored in the host unit storage cavity (cavity of cover part 200), the male pin for electrode connection and the female base for electrode connection are electrically connected to each other (see Figure 1,2 and 3 wherein input terminal 250 and output terminal 150 are connected, therefore “over part 200 which receive a power from the power output terminals 150 of the body part 100 supply the power for operation supplied from the body part 100 to the sterilization lamp 270”, paragraph [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have configured Wu in view of Guo to incorporate male pins on the wireless inductive supply coil of Wu and female base on the wireless power supply coil of Wu as taught by Jung. One of ordinary skill would recognize that having male to female pins for electrode connection is an effective way of transferring power from the toothbrush handle to the sterilizer as taught by Jung.
Figure 1 and 2 (Jung)
Figure 3 (Jung)
Conclusion
17. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Woo (US 20040089815 A1) discloses toothbrush case wherein comprises plurality of cavities to house toothbrush handle and head. Furthermore, it has a sterilizer at brush head cavity to sanitize brush head.
/D.J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723