DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application filed on 12/26/2024 is a DIV of 18/095,538 filed on 01/11/2023 which claims foreign priority to TW 111101154 filed on 01/11/2022.
The foreign priority application recites the manufacturing method as recited in claim 1 [0023], with the claimed polymers (claims 2-3) in the claimed amounts (claim 4) [0009], and the claimed pore size (claim 5) [0010].
Therefore, all claims of the instant invention have benefit to the priority date of 01/11/2022.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality.
Claim 1 requires the degrees in line 16 to be defined (e.g., °C). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Perkasa et al. (Indones. J. Chem., 2018, 18 (2), 367 - 375) in view of Wang et al. (CN 1616116 A) and Sultana et al. (Journal of Bangladesh Chemical Society, Vol. 25(2), 132-138, 2012).
Examiner’s Note: The size of the “nanometer-scale water-soluble polymer particles” is not defined in the claim nor explicitly defined in the instant specification. Therefore, any size of particles that is close to “nanometer” size (i.e., fractions of nanometers to hundreds of nanometers) reads on the claimed particles. Additionally, the term “degrees” in line 16 of claim 1 does not have units. The Examiner is interpreting “degrees” to be degrees Celsius as it is the unit used throughout the specification (e.g., Table 1) (however, appropriate correction/clarification is required as discussed above).
Regarding claim 1, Perkasa discloses a preparation method for an aqueous, sodium alginate hydrogel material (abstract; pg. 369, left column) including adding the water-soluble polymer (“sodium alginate”) into a solvent (“water”) and uniformly mixing to form a homogeneous solution (“under continuous stirring”); subjecting the polymer to a hydrolysis reaction to form a sol (discloses the polymer is added into water and generates a “sol phase”); under a pressure of “200 mbar vacuum” (which is about 150 torr), subjecting the sol to vacuum conversion into a gel (“vacuum at ambient temperature overnight”); subjecting the gel to a polycondensation reaction to have the polymer particles and the solvent interconnected to form a three-dimensional network structure (“at sol phase, each of molded solution was overlaid with a 25 mL of 1.0% (w/v) CaCl2 solution for 2 h to allow for crosslinking”); and forming a three-dimensional network aqueous gel (“hydrogels were formed”) (pg. 369, left column). Perkasa teaches that the hydrogel is used as a wound dressing (abstract; pg. 367).
Regarding the claimed pressure (25-760 torr), in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 A.
Regarding the limitation of “generating nanometer-scale water soluble polymer particles”, while Perkasa does not disclose the size of the polymer particles, the polymer particles are reasonably expected to be “nanometer-scale” as the claim is interpreted, as discussed above, as Perkasa discloses polymer particles and a sol phase (pg. 369, left column).
Perkasa does not disclose that the gel includes sodium carboxymethyl cellulose or that the three-dimensional network aqueous gel is subjected to vacuum; wherein a temperature of the gel is controlled to be between 30-70 degrees and a pressure is controlled to be between 50-70 millimeters of mercury to control a degree of swelling of the gel and a structure of the gel.
Wang teaches a gel wound dressing with a radiation sensitive agent such as sodium carboxymethyl cellulose (English translation, pg. 2, Example 1; claims 1-2). Wang teaches that the radiation sensitive agents have good biocompatibility, do not produce harmful effects, promote wound healing, and have antibacterial action (pg. 2, 5th paragraph from bottom).
Since Perkasa generally teaches a hydrogel for wound healing, it would have been prima facie obvious to include sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, within the teachings of Perkasa because Wang teaches a hydrogel for wound healing with sodium carboxymethyl cellulose as a radiation sensitive agent. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to use sodium carboxymethyl cellulose because Wang teaches that the radiation sensitive agents have good biocompatibility, do not produce harmful effects, promote wound healing, and have antibacterial action (pg. 2, 5th paragraph from bottom).
The combined teachings of Perkasa and Wang do not disclose that the three-dimensional network aqueous gel is subjected to vacuum wherein a temperature of the gel is controlled to be between 30-70 degrees, and a pressure is controlled to be between 50-70 millimeters of mercury to control a degree of swelling of the gel and a structure of the gel.
Sultana discloses carboxymethyl cellulose hydrogels where the hydrogels are dried in a vacuum oven at 50°C. Sultana teaches that the vacuum oven dries the hydrogels to obtain a constant weight (pg. 133, third paragraph from bottom).
Since the combined teachings of Perkasa and Wang generally teaches a polymer hydrogel one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to vacuum the gel at 50°C in order to dry the hydrogel and obtain a constant weight as taught by Sultana (pg. 133, third paragraph from bottom). A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed. As Sultana teaches that the vacuum drying allows for a constat weight to be obtained, the vacuum drying at 50°C would be reasonably expected to “control a degree of swelling of the gel and a structure of the gel” as claimed.
Regarding the claimed pressure, while Sultana does not state that the pressure is controlled to be between 50-70 mmHg, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05.II. Sultana teaches that the vacuum oven is used to dry the hydrogel to obtain a constant weight (pg. 133, third paragraph from bottom), it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have optimized the pressure to dry the gel and/or obtain a constant weight.
Regarding claim 2, it would have been obvious to include sodium carboxymethyl cellulose as taught by Wang, within the teachings of Perkasa, as previously discussed. The components of the gel (sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, sodium alginate, water) would be interconnected to form a three-dimensional network structure as Perkasa teaches that the process results in crosslinking and that hydrogels are formed (pg. 369, left column).
Regarding claim 3, Perkasa does not disclose that the hydrogel further comprises polyvinylpyrrolidone.
Wang discloses that the hydrogel for wound healing includes polyvinylpyrrolidone (abstract; claim 1). Wang teaches that the hydrogel with polyvinyl pyrrolidone is useful in protecting and treating wounds (abstract).
Since Perkasa generally teaches a hydrogel for wound healing, it would have been prima facie obvious to include polyvinyl pyrrolidone, within the teachings of Perkasa because Wang teaches a hydrogel for wound healing with polyvinyl pyrrolidone. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to use polyvinyl pyrrolidone because Wang teaches that the hydrogel with polyvinyl pyrrolidone is useful in protecting and treating wounds (abstract). The components of the gel (sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, sodium alginate, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, water) would be interconnected to form a three-dimensional network structure as Perkasa teaches that the process results in crosslinking and that hydrogels are formed (pg. 369, left column).
Regarding claim 4, Perkasa does not disclose the claimed amount of sodium alginate, polyvinylpyrrolidone, and sodium carboxymethyl cellulose.
However, Wang discloses that the hydrogel for wound healing has 1-30 mass % of polyvinyl pyrrolidone and 1-10 mass % of radiation sensitive agent, where the radiation sensitive agent is one or more materials such sodium carboxymethyl cellulose and sodium alginate (English translation, pg. 2, Example 1; claims 1-2). Wang teaches that the hydrogel with the combination of polyvinyl pyrrolidone and radiation sensitive agent(s) is useful in protecting and treating wounds (abstract; claims 1-2). Wang also teaches that the radiation sensitive agents promote wound healing and have antibacterial action (pg. 2, 5th paragraph from bottom; claims 1-2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to include polyvinyl pyrrolidone in the amount taught by Wang (1-30 mass %), within the teachings of Perkasa because Wang teaches that hydrogels with this amount of polyvinyl pyrrolidone are useful in protecting and treating wounds (abstract; claims 1-2). Additionally, it would have been prima facie obvious to include sodium carboxymethyl cellulose and sodium alginate in the amount taught by Wang (1-10 mass %), within the teachings of Perkasa because Wang teaches that this amount of radiation sensitive agent(s) promotes wound healing and has antibacterial action (pg. 2, 5th paragraph from bottom; claims 1-2).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Furthermore, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general condition of hydrogels with sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, and sodium alginate have been taught by the prior art (Wang); as such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum amount of these components via routine experimentation to achieve the desired results (i.e., protecting and treating wounds, antibacterial action) within the combined teachings of the prior art.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Perkasa et al. (Indones. J. Chem., 2018, 18 (2), 367 - 375) in view of Wang et al. (CN 1616116 A) and Sultana et al. (Journal of Bangladesh Chemical Society, Vol. 25(2), 132-138, 2012) and further in view of Park et al. (US 6,271,278 B1).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Perkasa in view of Wang and Sultana was previously discussed.
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings of the prior art do not disclose a plurality of gel pores with a diameter of 16-18 µm.
Park discloses a hydrogel containing crosslinked polymers such as polyvinylpyrrolidone, sodium carboxymethylcellulose, and sodium alginate (abstract; Col 6, line 58) where the gel has a pore size in the range of 10 µm to 3,000 µm (abstract). Park teaches that pores in the superporous hydrogels remain connected even after drying, which enables the dried hydrogels to swell extremely fast, thereby enabling high absorbency characteristics as well as high mechanical strength (Col 4, lines 40-43; lines 53-61).
Since the combined teachings of the prior art generally teach polymer hydrogels it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include pores which have a pore size in the range of 10 µm to 3,000 µm, as taught by Park, within the teachings of the prior art, because Park teaches that pores of this size enable the hydrogels to swell extremely fast, resulting in high absorbency and high mechanical strength of the hydrogel (Col 4, lines 40-43; lines 53-61). Regarding the pore size, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Conclusion
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612