Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kira et al. (USPN 2013/0335657).
With regard to claim 1,
Kira et al. disclose a display device comprising: a first substrate including a first transparent substrate (111); a second substrate opposing the first substrate and including a second transparent substrate (135), a parallax barrier pattern (126) formed on a surface on a first substrate side of the second transparent substrate, and an organic layer (122, paragraph 64) which covers the second transparent substrate and the parallax barrier pattern; a liquid crystal layer (140) sealed between the first substrate and the second substrate; and a sealing material (130) which covers an end portion of the organic layer, wherein the first transparent substrate extends (see fig 1) beyond the second transparent substrate and includes a mounting portion on which a circuit board (118) is mounted, and the sealing material covers an end portion of the organic layer, other than an end portion on a mounting portion side of the end portion (see figs 1,2).
With regard to claim 5,
Kira et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the sealing material is provided to further cover an end portion of the organic layer, which is located on a side of the mounting portion (see figs. 1,2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kira et al. (as above), in view of Nakayama (USPN 2011/0149218).
With regard to claim 2,
Kira et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the sealing material is provided circumferentially covering the end portion of the organic layer (See figs 1,2). While Kira et al. do not disclose the first substrate circumferentially extending beyond the second substrate, Nakayama does disclose a display device wherein the first substrate (20) includes a first extending portion which extends beyond the second transparent substrate also in a circumferential edge other than the mounting portion (See figs 11,13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate this concept of Nakayama into the device of Kira et al. in order to further protect the device.
With regard to claim 3,
Kira et al. disclose the display device of claim 2, wherein the sealing material is provided circumferentially covering the end portion of the organic layer (see figs 1,2). While Kira et al. do not disclose a cover member, Nakayama does disclose a cover member (85) provided on the second substrate (10), wherein the cover member includes a second extending portion that extends beyond the second substrate in an entire circumference (see fig. 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate this concept of Nakayama into the device of Kira et al. in order to further protect the device.
With regard to claim 4,
Kira et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the sealing material is provided circumferentially covering the end portion of the organic layer (see figs 1,2). While Kira et al. do not disclose a cover member, Nakayama does disclose a cover member (85) provided on the second substrate (10), wherein the cover member includes a second extending portion that extends beyond the second substrate in an entire circumference (see fig. 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate this concept of Nakayama into the device of Kira et al. in order to further protect the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 2013/0176511.
/CHRISTOPHER M RAABE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875