DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naguib et al. (hereinafter Naguib)(US 2020/0100283).
Regarding claim 1, Naguib teaches an initiating device comprising(figs. 7-9): a first sending circuit configured to: randomly generate a first sending time interval(item 802 in Fig. 8A; P[0048], ranging request message can include ranging time slot selection algorithm)); and
send, to a responding device, a ranging signal comprising a first ranging signal frame (item 804 in Fig. 8A) and a second ranging signal frame (item 808 in Fig. 8A) so that the first sending time interval is between the first ranging signal frame and the second ranging signal frame(item 912 in Fig. 9; ranging time slot for a subsequent ranging frame); and a receiving circuit coupled to the first sending circuit and configured to receive, based on the ranging signal and from the responding device, measurement information(item 806 ranging measurement).
Regarding claim 2, Naguib teaches the initiating device of claim 1, further comprising a second sending circuit configured to: randomly generate a second sending time interval; and send, to the responding device, an auxiliary signal so that the second sending time interval is between the auxiliary signal and the ranging signal, wherein the auxiliary signal comprises configuration information of the ranging signal(P[0048], random ranging time slot selection algorithms; an indication of seed values for the random ranging time selection; local time references to be synchronized).
Regarding claim 3, Naguib teaches the initiating device of claim 2, wherein the ranging signal is an ultra-wideband (UWB) frame, and wherein the auxiliary signal is a narrowband (NB) frame(P[0048], ranging request message using BTLE ; P[0049], ranging measurement data in UWB message).
Regarding claim 4, Naguib teaches the initiating device of claim 1, wherein the first sending circuit is further configured to encrypt, based on a preset key, the first sending time interval to obtain a time ciphertext(P[0048], receiving from the central wireless device a cryptographic key to be used by the central wireless device).
Regarding claim 5, Naguib teaches the initiating device of claim 4, wherein the first sending circuit is further configured to send, to the responding device, the time ciphertext(P[0048], the cryptographic key is broadcast for the ranging measurement messages, the ranging measurement responses).
Regarding claim 6, Naguib teaches the initiating device of claim 1, wherein the first sending circuit is further configured to further randomly generate, according to a same algorithm used in the responding device, the first sending time interval(P[0048], random ranging time slot selection algorithm).
Regarding claim 7, Naguib teaches the initiating device of claim 1, further comprising a ranging circuit configured to determine, based on a sending time for the ranging signal and a receiving time for the measurement information, a distance between the initiating device and the responding device(P[0048], first and second ranging measurements; time of flight estimate; distance estimate).
Claims 8-13 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1-3, 7, 4+5 and 6 respectively.
Claims 14-20 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1-7 respectively.
Conclusion
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647