Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to because figures 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B, 3, 4A and 4B should be labeled “Prior Art”. The specification implies that the figures that follow these are improvements which implies they are prior art. Clarification or Drawing changes as stated above is required. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 7 is objected to because of the following formalities: Claim 7 should end with a period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 7, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 7, 11 and 17, its unclear what “the feedback coefficient” is being fed back to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tohidian et al US 9148125 B2 in view of Morishita US 9383727 B1.
7. Consider Claim 1. Tohidian et al teaches a discrete-time filter (fig 15) comprising: a first node; a first sampling capacitor (82) comprising: a first sampling capacitor first end coupled to the first node; and a first sampling capacitor second end that is configured to connect to a ground; a first switch (134) comprising: a first terminal coupled to the first node; a second terminal configured to connect to a ground; ; a switched-capacitor filter circuit (128, 118); a transconductance circuit (116) comprising a transconductance circuit output end coupled to the first node through the switched-capacitor filter circuit; and a second sampling capacitor 124). Tohidian et al teaches a cascade switch connection to switch in an out different capacitance. Tohidian et al fails to teach using a four-pole switch with a single capacitor to switch in and out different capacitance. However, from the same field of endeavor Morishita (left side of figure 5B) teaches such. Given the lack of a claimed function for the switch, it would have been an obvious substitution of capacitor switching circuits, to substitute Morishita capacitor switch connection for that taught by Tohidian et al in order to save circuit elements thus reducing the overall costs.
8. Regarding claims 2 and 6. Tohidian et al teaches wherein the first sampling capacitor and the second sampling capacitor is adjustable (by the use of the switches (128, 132, 134 and 138).
9. Regarding claim 3. Tohidian et al (Fig 15) wherein the switched-capacitor filter circuit (112) comprises: a second switch (128) comprising: a second switch first end coupled to the transconductance circuit output end (116); and a second switch second end coupled to the first node; and a first capacitor (118) comprising: a first capacitor first end coupled to the transconductance circuit output end (116 output line); and a first capacitor second end configured to connect to a ground.
10. Regarding claim 4. Tohidian et al wherein the switched-capacitor filter circuit (112) further comprises: a third switch comprising: a third switch (130) first end coupled to the first sampling capacitor (118) first end; and a third switch second end; and a second capacitor (122) comprising: a second capacitor first end coupled to the third switch second end; and a second capacitor second end configured to connect to a ground.
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tohidian WO-2013189546 A1 teaches a discrete-time filter for filtering an input signal, the discrete-time filter comprising a switched capacitor network, the switched capacitor network comprising an input (102) and an output (104), a number of switched capacitor paths (101, 103, 105, 107) arranged in parallel between the input (102) and the output (104), each switched capacitor path (101, 103, 105, 107) comprising a capacitor, and a switch circuitry (121, 125, 127) for switching each capacitor at a different time instant for outputting a filtered input signal.
Madadi et al US 2014/0354376 teaches a high-order discrete-time charge rotating (CR) infinite impulse response (IIR) low-pass filter is presented. The filter utilizes capacitors and a g.sub.m-cell, rather than operational amplifiers, and is thus compatible with digital nanoscale technology. A 7.sup.th-order charge-sampling and 6.sup.th-order voltage-sampling discrete time filter is disclosed. The order of the filter is easily extendable to higher orders. The charge rotating filter is process-scalable with Moore's law and amenable to digital nanoscale CMOS technology. Bandwidth of this filter is precise and robust to PVT variation. The filter exhibits very low power consumption per filter pole, low input-referred noise, wide tuning range, excellent linearity and low area per minimum bandwidth and filter pole.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
13. Regarding claim 7. The prior art of record fails to teach or make obvious wherein the second sampling capacitor is coupled to the first switch such that sampling is implemented and negative feedback is provided by switching connection ends of the first switch to adjust a feedback coefficient.
14. Claim objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
15. Regarding claim 5. The prior art of record fails to teach or make obvious wherein the switched-capacitor filter circuit further comprises: a fourth switch comprising: a fourth switch first end coupled to the first node; and a fourth switch second end; and a third capacitor comprising: a third capacitor first end coupled to the fourth switch second end; and a third capacitor second end configured to connect to a ground.
16. Claims 8-20 are allowed. Note, the 112 issue with respect to claim 17 needs to be overcome for it to be allowable. Regarding independent claims 8 and 15, the prior art of record fails to teach or make obvious a third sampling capacitor comprising: a third sampling capacitor first end coupled to the second node; and a third sampling capacitor second end that is configured to connect to a ground in combination with the other limitations stated in the independent claims 8 and 15.
Conclusion
/CURTIS A KUNTZ/Primary examiner, Art Unit 2646