DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/7/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, cited term of “the fourth lens has positive and negative refractive power” (line 11) is vague and renders the claims indefinite. A lens cannot have a positive refractive power and a negative refractive power at same time. For examination purpose, it assumes the term is “the fourth lens has a positive or a negative refractive power”
Claims 2-10 are rejected as containing the deficiencies of claim 1 through their dependency from claim 1.
Claim 11 has same undefined issue as that of claim 1 in line 11.
Claims 12-20 are rejected as containing the deficiencies of claim 11 through their dependency from claim 11.
Therefore proper amendments are required in order to clarify the scopes of the claims and overcome the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al (CN 115166941, English translation attached) in a view of Matsusaka (US 20040257677) , further in a view of Hasegawa (JP 2007219199, English translation attached).
Regarding Claim 1,Tan teaches an optical system (abstract; figs. 1-12)) comprising five lenses having refractive power, from an object side to an image side along an optical axis of the optical system, the five lenses sequentially comprising a first lens, a second lens, a third lens, a fourth lens, and a fifth lens (fig. 1, L1-L5);
wherein the first lens has negative refractive power, an object side surface of the first lens is convex near the optical axis, and an image side surface of the first lens is concave near the optical axis (fig. 1, L1, 11, 12; ¶[0140], Table 1, radius of surface 2 and 3; and f1 = -5.248);
the second lens has positive refractive power, an object side surface of the second lens is convex near the optical axis, and an image side surface of the second lens is concave near the optical axis (fig. 1, L2, 21, 22; ¶[0140], Table 1, radius of surface 4 and 5; and f2 = 2.038);
the third lens has refractive power, an object side surface of the third lens is concave near the optical axis, and an image side surface of the third lens is convex near the optical axis (fig. 1, L3, 31, 32; ¶[0140], Table 1, radius of surface 6 and 7);
the fourth lens has positive or negative refractive power, an object side surface of the fourth lens is convex near the optical axis, and an image side surface of the fourth lens is concave near the optical axis (fig. 1, L4, 41, 42; ¶[0140], Table 1, radius of surface 8 and 9; and f4 = 6.249);
the fifth lens has refractive power, an object side surface of the fifth lens is convex near the optical axis, and an image side surface of the fifth lens is concave near the optical axis (fig. 1, L5, 51, 52; ¶[0140], Table 1, radius of surface 10 and 11);
the optical system satisfies following conditions:
15 °<FOV<45 °,
(¶[0140], Table 1, FOV = 81.01 deg., so FOV/2 = 40.5 deg.);
1.4<FNO<3.2,
(¶[0011], 0.9< f/EPD <1.3; since FNO = f/EPD, so 0.9< FNO < 1.3; --- the claimed ranges and the prior art ranges are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Nabber, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985);
wherein, FOV is a maximum field of view of the optical system, FNO is a F-number of the optical system, TDmax is a maximum distance from the object side surface of the first lens to the image side surface of the fifth lens along the optical axis, and ImgH is a half of an image height corresponding to the maximum field of view of the optical system.
But Tan does not specifically disclose that wherein 2.5 < TDmax / ImgH < 4.5.
However, Matsusaka teaches an image-taking apparatus (abstract; figs. 1-7),
wherein Fno = 2.0 and
2.5 < TDmax / ImgH < 4.5
(¶[0179], Table 5, Fno = 2.0; f = 5.31, 2θmax = 100°, so ImgH can be estimated as ImgH = 6.33; TD can be calculated from d values as TDmax = 23.37; so TDmax / ImgH = 3.7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical system of Tan by the image-taking apparatus of Matsusaka for a purpose to provide an image-taking apparatus provided with a high-performance taking lens system that has a large aperture but that nevertheless is compact (¶[0014], line 1-5).
But Tan – Matsusaka combination does not specifically disclose that wherein the optical system comprises a movable lens group and a fixed lens group, wherein the movable lens group comprises the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, and the fourth lens, and the fixed lens group comprises the fifth lens, the fixed lens group is fixed relative to an imaging plane of the optical system, and the movable lens group is movable along the optical axis between a wide-angle end and a telephoto end for focusing.
However, Hasegawa teaches a lens unit (abstract; figs. 1-8) wherein
the optical system comprises a movable lens group and a fixed lens group (fig. 2, 121,122,123,124 with arrows of movements, and 125),
wherein the movable lens group comprises the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, and the fourth lens (fig. 2, 121,122,123,124; fig. 3, 1213, 1221, 1231 and 1241 in cylindrical body 11, comprising movable parts driven by drive motor 15), and
the fixed lens group comprises the fifth lens, the fixed lens group is fixed relative to an imaging plane of the optical system (¶[0038], line 1-4, This fifth lens 1251 is assembled and fixed to a fifth lens fixing part 1252 that extends from the inner surface of the lower end of the main body 11), and
the movable lens group is movable along the optical axis between a wide-angle end and a telephoto end for focusing (fig. 2, 121,122,123,124 with arrows of movements; ¶[0048], line 1-4, Furthermore, the positions of the wide-angle side mechanical stop 181 and the telephoto side mechanical stop 182 with respect to the second lens group frame 1222 are not limited to those exemplified in Figure 3, for example, and can be arbitrarily changed as long as they do not obstruct the movement of the second lens group 122 in the optical axis direction L; ¶[0049], line 1-4, With an imaging device 100 equipped with a lens unit 1 having the above configuration, the second lens group 122 and the fourth lens group 124 of the lens unit 1 can be moved by predetermined operations to perform zooming and focusing, and to capture the desired image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical system of Tan – Matsusaka combination by the lens unit of Hasegawa for a purpose of providing of a lens unit which is miniaturized and the quality of the lens unit is stabilized (abstract, line 1-10).
Regarding Claim 2, Tan – Matsusaka - Hasegawa combination teaches that the optical system of claim 1, further comprising a prism disposed on an object side of the first lens and fixed relative to the imaging plane of the optical system, the prism comprising an incident surface and an exit surface, wherein the incident surface transmits light into the prism, and light emitted from the exit surface is incident to the first lens, the optical system further satisfies following condition:
5<TTL/ImgH<9;
wherein, TTL is a distance from the incident surface to the imaging plane along the optical axis,
(¶[0179], Table 5, Fno = 2.0; f = 5.31, 2θmax = 100°, so ImgH can be estimated as ImgH = 6.33; TTL can be calculated from d values as TTL = 28.0; so TTL / ImgH = 4.42, as disclosed in Matsusaka,--- the claimed ranges and the prior art ranges are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Nabber, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
Regarding Claim 3, Tan – Matsusaka - Hasegawa combination teaches that the optical system of claim 1, further satisfying at least one of following conditions:
0.7<f_z1/f_z2<1.4,
1.05<FOV_z1/FOV_z2<1.4,
1<FNO_z1/FNO_z2<1.4,
0.5<f1234/f_z1<1.4, and
1<|f5|/f1234;
((fig. 1, L1-L5; ¶[0140], Table 1, f5 = 3.718; f1234 can be estimated from f1-f4 values as f1234 = 3.34; so |f5|/f1234 = 1.11, as disclosed in Tan);
wherein, f_z1 is a focal length of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the telephoto end, f_z2 is a focal length of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the wide-angle end, FOV_z1 is the maximum field of view of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the telephoto end, FOV_z2 is the maximum field of view of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the wide-angle end, FNO_z1 is the F-number of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the telephoto end, and FNO_z2 is the F-number of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the wide-angle end, f1234 is a combined focal length of the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, and the fourth lens, and f5 is the focal length of the fifth lens.
Regarding Claim 4, Tan – Matsusaka - Hasegawa combination teaches that the optical system of claim 1, further satisfying at least one of following conditions:
2<TDmin/ImgH<4,
0.7<SD10/SD1<1.4,
(fig. 1, L1. L5, showing that SD10/SD1 = 1.39 approximately, as disclosed in Tan); and
0.75<SDmax/ImgH<1.2;
wherein, TDmin is a minimum distance from the object side surface of the first lens to the image side surface of the fifth lens along the optical axis, SD1 is an effective aperture radius of the object side surface of the first lens, SD10 is an effective aperture radius of the image side surface of the fifth lens, and SDmax is a maximum value of effective aperture radiuses of object side surfaces or image side surfaces of the first to fifth lenses.
Regarding Claim 5, Tan – Matsusaka - Hasegawa combination teaches that the optical system of claim 1, further satisfying at least one of following conditions:
1<TDmax/TDmin<1.5,
(fig. 1, L1=L5; ¶[0140], Table 1, given TDmax =TDmin, so TDmax/TDmin = 1, as disclosed in Tan);
0.6<TD_z1/f_z1<1.05,
0.75<TD_z2/f_z2<1.2,
1.7<AT23/AT12<3.5, and
1<Cz2/Cz1<5;
wherein, TDmin is a minimum distance from the object side surface of the first lens to the image side surface of the fifth lens along the optical axis, TD_z1 is a distance from the object side surface of the first lens to the image side surface of the fifth lens along the optical axis when the movable lens group is located at the telephoto end, TD_z2 is a distance from the object side surface of the first lens to the image side surface of the fifth lens along the optical axis when the movable lens group is located at the wide-angle end, f_z1 is a focal length of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the telephoto end, f_z2 is a focal length of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the wide-angle end, AT12 is a distance from the first lens to the second lens along the optical axis, AT23 is a distance from the second lens to the third lens along the optical axis, Cz1 is a distance from the fourth lens to the fifth lens along the optical axis when the movable lens group is located at the telephoto end, and Cz2 is a distance from the fourth lens to the fifth lens along the optical axis when the movable lens group is located at the wide-angle end.
Regarding Claim 6, Tan – Matsusaka - Hasegawa combination teaches that the optical system of claim 1, further satisfying at least one of following conditions:
4<GL/CT5<8,
0.5<CT1/CT2<1.5,
(¶[0140], Table 1, CT1 = 0.364, CT2 = 0.531, so CT1/CT2 = 0.69, as disclosed in Tan);
0.5<CT3/CT4<1.4,
0.5<CT5/CT4<1.3, and
0.7<CT2/CT3<2.3;
wherein, CT1 is a thickness of the first lens on the optical axis, CT2 is a thickness of the second lens on the optical axis, CT3 is a thickness of the third lens on the optical axis, CT4 is a thickness of the fourth lens on the optical axis, CT5 is a thickness of the fifth lens on the optical axis, and GL is a distance from the object side surface of the first lens to the image side surface of the fourth lens along the optical axis.
Regarding Claim 7, Tan – Matsusaka - Hasegawa combination teaches that the optical system of claim 1, further satisfying at least one of following conditions:
-2.5<F1/f_z1<-0.8,
0.4<f2/f_z1<1.1,
(¶[0140], Table 1, if taking f_z1 = f = 2.04; f2 = 2.038; so f2/f_z1 = 1.0, as disclosed in Tan);
2<|f3|/f_z1,
0.7<f4/f_z1<2.2, and
1<|F5|/f_z1;
wherein, f1 is a focal length of the first lens, f2 is a focal length of the second lens, f3 is a focal length of the third lens, f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens, f5 is a focal length of the fifth lens, and f_z1 is a focal length of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the telephoto end.
Regarding Claim 8, Tan – Matsusaka - Hasegawa combination teaches that the optical system of claim 1, further satisfying at least one of following conditions:
0.2<R1/f_z1<0.7,
0.1<R2/f_z1<0.4,
0.15<R3/f_z1<0.5,
0.7<R4/f_z1<2.2,
-0.5<R5/f_z1<-0.1,
-0.5<R6/f_z1<-0.1,
0.1<R7/f_z1<0.5,
(¶[0140], Table 1, if taking f_z1 = f = 2.04; R7 = 0.319; so R7/f_z1 = 0.16, as disclosed in Tan);
0.15<R8/f_z1<0.6,
0.5<R9/f_z1<2.5, and
0.4<R10/f_z1<1.4;
wherein, R1 is a curvature radius of the object side surface of the first lens at the optical axis, R2 is a curvature radius of the image side surface of the first lens at the optical axis, R3 is a curvature radius of the object side surface of the second lens at the optical axis, R4 is a curvature radius of the image side surface of the second lens at the optical axis, R5 is a curvature radius of the object side surface of the third lens at the optical axis, R6 is a curvature radius of the image side surface of the third lens at the optical axis, R7 is a curvature radius of the object side surface of the fourth lens at the optical axis, R8 is a curvature radius of the image side surface of the fourth lens at the optical axis, R9 is a curvature radius of the object side surface of the fifth lens at the optical axis, R10 is a curvature radius of the image side surface of the fifth lens at the optical axis, and f_z1 is a focal length of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the telephoto end.
Regarding Claim 9, Tan – Matsusaka - Hasegawa combination teaches that the a lens module comprising the optical system of claim 1; and a photosensitive chip located on an image side of the optical system (fig. 2, 14, as disclosed in Matsusaka).
Regarding Claim 10, Tan – Matsusaka - Hasegawa combination teaches that the an electronic device comprising a housing; and a camera module of claim 9, wherein the camera module is located in the housing (fig. 1, 1; fig. 2, 10, 14, as disclosed in Matsusaka).
Regarding Claim 11, Tan teaches an optical system comprising five lenses having refractive power, from an object side to an image side along an optical axis of the optical system, the five lenses sequentially comprising a first lens, a second lens, a third lens, a fourth lens, and a fifth lens (fig. 1, L1-L5);
wherein the first lens has negative refractive power, an object side surface of the first lens is convex near the optical axis, and an image side surface of the first lens is concave near the optical axis (fig. 1, L1, 11, 12; ¶[0140], Table 1, radius of surface 2 and 3; and f1 = -5.248);
the second lens has positive refractive power, an object side surface of the second lens is convex near the optical axis, and an image side surface of the second lens is concave near the optical axis (fig. 1, L2, 21, 22; ¶[0140], Table 1, radius of surface 4 and 5; and f2 = 2.038);
the third lens has refractive power, an object side surface of the third lens is concave near the optical axis, and an image side surface of the third lens is convex near the optical axis (fig. 1, L3, 31, 32; ¶[0140], Table 1, radius of surface 6 and 7);
the fourth lens has positive or negative refractive power, an object side surface of the fourth lens is convex near the optical axis, and an image side surface of the fourth lens is concave near the optical axis (fig. 1, L4, 41, 42; ¶[0140], Table 1, radius of surface 8 and 9; and f4 = 6.249);
the fifth lens has refractive power, an object side surface of the fifth lens is convex near the optical axis, and an image side surface of the fifth lens is concave near the optical axis (fig. 1, L5, 51, 52; ¶[0140], Table 1, radius of surface 10 and 11);
the optical system satisfies following conditions:
15 °<FOV<45 °,
(¶[0140], Table 1, FOV = 81.01 deg., so FOV/2 = 40.5 deg.);
1.4<FNO<3.2,
(¶[0011], 0.9< f/EPD <1.3; since FNO = f/EPD, so 0.9< FNO < 1.3; --- the claimed ranges and the prior art ranges are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Nabber, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985);
wherein, FOV is a maximum field of view of the optical system, FNO is a F-number of the optical system, TDmax is a maximum distance from the object side surface of the first lens to the image side surface of the fifth lens along the optical axis, and ImgH is a half of an image height corresponding to the maximum field of view of the optical system.
But Tan does not specifically disclose that wherein 5<TTL/ImgH<9.
However, Matsusaka teaches an image-taking apparatus (abstract; figs. 1-7),
wherein Fno = 2.0 and
5 < TTL/ImgH < 9;
(¶[0179], Table 5, Fno = 2.0; f = 5.31, 2θmax = 100°, so ImgH can be estimated as ImgH = 6.33; TTL can be calculated from d values as TTL = 28.0; so TTL / ImgH = 4.42, --- the claimed ranges and the prior art ranges are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Nabber, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical system of Tan by the image-taking apparatus of Matsusaka for a purpose to provide an image-taking apparatus provided with a high-performance taking lens system that has a large aperture but that nevertheless is compact (¶[0014], line 1-5).
But Tan – Matsusaka combination does not specifically disclose that wherein the optical system comprises a movable lens group and a fixed lens group, wherein the movable lens group comprises the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, and the fourth lens, and the fixed lens group comprises the fifth lens, the fixed lens group is fixed relative to an imaging plane of the optical system, and the movable lens group is movable along the optical axis between a wide-angle end and a telephoto end for focusing; the optical system further comprises a prism disposed on an object side of the first lens and is fixed relative to the imaging plane of the optical system, the prism comprises an incident surface and an exit surface, the incident surface transmits light into the prism, and light emitted from the exit surface is incident to the first lens.
However, Hasegawa teaches a lens unit (abstract; figs. 1-8) wherein
the optical system comprises a movable lens group and a fixed lens group (fig. 2, 121,122,123,124 with arrows of movements, and 125),
wherein the movable lens group comprises the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, and the fourth lens (fig. 2, 121,122,123,124; fig. 3, 1213, 1221, 1231 and 1241 in cylindrical body 11, comprising movable parts driven by drive motor 15), and
the fixed lens group comprises the fifth lens, the fixed lens group is fixed relative to an imaging plane of the optical system (¶[0038], line 1-4, This fifth lens 1251 is assembled and fixed to a fifth lens fixing part 1252 that extends from the inner surface of the lower end of the main body 11), and
the movable lens group is movable along the optical axis between a wide-angle end and a telephoto end for focusing (fig. 2, 121,122,123,124 with arrows of movements; ¶[0048], line 1-4, Furthermore, the positions of the wide-angle side mechanical stop 181 and the telephoto side mechanical stop 182 with respect to the second lens group frame 1222 are not limited to those exemplified in Figure 3, for example, and can be arbitrarily changed as long as they do not obstruct the movement of the second lens group 122 in the optical axis direction L; ¶[0049], line 1-4, With an imaging device 100 equipped with a lens unit 1 having the above configuration, the second lens group 122 and the fourth lens group 124 of the lens unit 1 can be moved by predetermined operations to perform zooming and focusing, and to capture the desired image); and
the optical system further comprises a prism disposed on an object side of the first lens and is fixed relative to the imaging plane of the optical system, the prism comprises an incident surface and an exit surface, the incident surface transmits light into the prism, and light emitted from the exit surface is incident to the first lens (fig. 2, 1212—prism, L –optical axis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical system of Tan – Matsusaka combination by the lens unit of Hasegawa for a purpose of providing of a lens unit which is miniaturized and the quality of the lens unit is stabilized (abstract, line 1-10).
Regarding Claim 12, Tan – Matsusaka - Hasegawa combination teaches that the optical system of claim 11, further satisfying following condition:
3<TDmax/ImgH<4;
(¶[0179], Table 5, Fno = 2.0; f = 5.31, 2θmax = 100°, so ImgH can be estimated as ImgH = 6.33; TD can be calculated from d values as TDmax = 23.37; so TDmax / ImgH = 3.7, as disclosed in Hasegawa),
wherein, TDmax is a maximum distance from the object side surface of the first lens to the image side surface of the fifth lens along the optical axis.
Regarding Claim 13, Tan – Matsusaka - Hasegawa combination teaches that the optical system of claim 11, further satisfying at least one of following conditions:
0.7<f_z1/f_z2<1.4,
1.05<FOV_z1/FOV_z2<1.4,
1<FNO_z1/FNO_z2<1.4,
0.5<f1234/f_z1<1.4, and
1<|f5|/f1234;
((fig. 1, L1-L5; ¶[0140], Table 1, f5 = 3.718; f1234 can be estimated from f1-f4 values as f1234 = 3.34; so |f5|/f1234 = 1.11, as disclosed in Tan);
wherein, f_z1 is a focal length of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the telephoto end, f_z2 is a focal length of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the wide-angle end, FOV_z1 is the maximum field of view of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the telephoto end, FOV_z2 is the maximum field of view of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the wide-angle end, FNO_z1 is the F-number of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the telephoto end, and FNO_z2 is the F-number of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the wide-angle end, f1234 is a combined focal length of the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, and the fourth lens, and f5 is the focal length of the fifth lens.
Regarding Claim 14, Tan – Matsusaka - Hasegawa combination teaches that the optical system of claim 11, further satisfying at least one of following conditions:
2 <TDmin/ImgH<4,
0.7<SD10/SD1<1.4,
(fig. 1, L1. L5, showing that SD10/SD1 = 1.39 approximately, as disclosed in Tan); and
0.75<SDmax/ImgH<1.2;
wherein, TDmin is a minimum distance from the object side surface of the first lens to the image side surface of the fifth lens along the optical axis, SD1 is an effective aperture radius of the object side surface of the first lens, SD10 is an effective aperture radius of the image side surface of the fifth lens, and SDmax is a maximum value of effective aperture radiuses of object side surfaces or image side surfaces of the first to fifth lenses.
Regarding Claim 15, Tan – Matsusaka - Hasegawa combination teaches that the optical system of claim 11, further satisfying at least one of following conditions:
1<TDmax/TDmin<1.5,
(fig. 1, L1=L5; ¶[0140], Table 1, given TDmax =TDmin, so TDmax/TDmin = 1, as disclosed in Tan);
0.6<TD_z1/f_z1<1.05,
0.75<TD_z2/f_z2<1.2,
1.7<AT23/AT12<3.5, and
1<Cz2/Cz1<5;
wherein, TDmax is a maximum distance from the object side surface of the first lens to the image side surface of the fifth lens along the optical axis, TDmin is a minimum distance from the object side surface of the first lens to the image side surface of the fifth lens along the optical axis, TD_z1 is a distance from the object side surface of the first lens to the image side surface of the fifth lens along the optical axis when the movable lens group is located at the telephoto end, TD_z2 is a distance from the object side surface of the first lens to the image side surface of the fifth lens along the optical axis when the movable lens group is located at the wide-angle end, f_z1 is a focal length of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the telephoto end, f_z2 is a focal length of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the wide-angle end, AT12 is a distance from the first lens to the second lens along the optical axis, AT23 is a distance from the second lens to the third lens along the optical axis, Cz1 is a distance from the fourth lens to the fifth lens along the optical axis when the movable lens group is located at the telephoto end, and Cz2 is a distance from the fourth lens to the fifth lens along the optical axis when the movable lens group is located at the wide-angle end.
Regarding Claim 16, Tan – Matsusaka - Hasegawa combination teaches that the optical system of claim 11, further satisfying at least one of following conditions:
4<GL/CT5<8,
0.5<CT1/CT2<1.5,
(¶[0140], Table 1, CT1 = 0.364, CT2 = 0.531, so CT1/CT2 = 0.69, as disclosed in Tan);
0.5<CT3/CT4<1.4,
0.5<CT5/CT4<1.3, and
0.7<CT2/CT3<2.3;
wherein, CT1 is a thickness of the first lens on the optical axis, CT2 is a thickness of the second lens on the optical axis, CT3 is a thickness of the third lens on the optical axis, CT4 is a thickness of the fourth lens on the optical axis, CT5 is a thickness of the fifth lens on the optical axis, and GL is a distance from the object side surface of the first lens to the image side surface of the fourth lens along the optical axis.
Regarding Claim 17, Tan – Matsusaka - Hasegawa combination teaches that the optical system of claim 11, further satisfying at least one of following conditions:
-2.5<F1/f_z1<-0.8,
0.4<f2/f_z1<1.1,
(¶[0140], Table 1, if taking f_z1 = f = 2.04; f2 = 2.038; so f2/f_z1 = 1.0, as disclosed in Tan);
2<|f3|/f_z1,
0.7<f4/f_z1<2.2, and
1<|F5|/f_z1;
wherein, f1 is a focal length of the first lens, f2 is a focal length of the second lens, f3 is a focal length of the third lens, f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens, f5 is a focal length of the fifth lens, and f_z1 is a focal length of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the telephoto end.
Regarding Claim 18, Tan – Matsusaka - Hasegawa combination teaches that the optical system of claim 11, further satisfying at least one of following conditions:
0.2<R1/f_z1<0.7,
0.1<R2/f_z1<0.4,
0.15<R3/f_z1<0.5,
0.7<R4/f_z1<2.2,
-0.5<R5/f_z1<-0.1,
-0.5<R6/f_z1<-0.1,
0.1<R7/f_z1<0.5,
(¶[0140], Table 1, if taking f_z1 = f = 2.04; R7 = 0.319; so R7/f_z1 = 0.16, as disclosed in Tan);
0.15<R8/f_z1<0.6,
0.5<R9/f_z1<2.5, and
0.4<R10/f_z1<1.4;
wherein, R1 is a curvature radius of the object side surface of the first lens at the optical axis, R2 is a curvature radius of the image side surface of the first lens at the optical axis, R3 is a curvature radius of the object side surface of the second lens at the optical axis, R4 is a curvature radius of the image side surface of the second lens at the optical axis, R5 is a curvature radius of the object side surface of the third lens at the optical axis, R6 is a curvature radius of the image side surface of the third lens at the optical axis, R7 is a curvature radius of the object side surface of the fourth lens at the optical axis, R8 is a curvature radius of the image side surface of the fourth lens at the optical axis, R9 is a curvature radius of the object side surface of the fifth lens at the optical axis, R10 is a curvature radius of the image side surface of the fifth lens at the optical axis, and f_z1 is a focal length of the optical system when the movable lens group is located at the telephoto end.
Regarding Claim 19, Tan – Matsusaka - Hasegawa combination teaches that the A lens module comprising the optical system of claim 11; and a photosensitive chip located on an image side of the optical system (fig. 1, 1; fig. 2, 14, as disclosed in Matsusaka)..
Regarding Claim 20, Tan – Matsusaka - Hasegawa combination teaches that the An electronic device comprising a housing; and a camera module of claim 19, wherein the camera module is located in the housing (fig. 1, 1; fig. 2, 10, 14, as disclosed in Matsusaka).
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872