DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 10 March 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 12,214,654 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17 and 19-20 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minnichsoffer et al. (US 2016/0061088).
In Reference to Claim 16
(See Minnichsoffer, Figures 1-9)
Minnichsoffer et al. (Minn) discloses:
A method of cooling a portion of an exhaust assembly for an engine of a utility vehicle (See Minn, Paragraphs [0089]-[0091]), comprising:
providing an exhaust conduit (410) (See Minn, Paragraph [0091]);
fluidly coupling a catalyst to the exhaust conduit (410) (See Minn, Paragraph [0073] w/respect to catalytic converter);
directing a fluid at a portion (404 & exhaust duct 410) of the exhaust assembly (See Minn, Paragraph [0078]); and
decreasing a temperature of an exhaust gas flowing through the exhaust assembly after directing a fluid at the portion (404 & exhaust duct 410) of the exhaust assembly. (See Minn, Paragraph [0078]).
The Examiner notes that cooling air that is colder than the exhaust and the sensor is provided to flow around both the sensor and the exhaust pipe, thus resulting in cooler sensor and exhaust gas temperatures due to the direction and flow of cooling air. (See Minn, Paragraphs [0105]-[0106]).
In Reference to Claim 17
(See Minnichsoffer, Figures 1-9)
Minn discloses:
wherein directing the fluid includes directing pass-by air through a portion of the utility vehicle and towards the portion of the exhaust assembly. (See Minn, Paragraph [0063] & [0075]-0076]).
The Examiner notes that the air utilized by the transmission to be pumped over the exhaust constitutes “pass-by air” as defined under broadest reasonable interpretation and by Applicant’s Paragraph [0085] as all air utilized in the rear-engined vehicle of Minn passes by and around the vehicle.
In Reference to Claim 19
(See Minnichsoffer, Figures 1-9)
Minn discloses:
wherein directing the fluid includes directing air through a fan and towards the portion of the exhaust assembly. (See Minn, Paragraph [0079]).
In Reference to Claim 20
(See Minnichsoffer, Figures 1-9)
Minn discloses:
further comprising providing a transmission (420) operably coupled to the engine (50), and wherein directing the fluid includes exhausting air from the transmission and directing the air towards the portion of the exhaust assembly. (See Minn, Paragraphs [0078]-[0079]).
Claim(s) 16, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Waggoner et al. (US 2010/0229540).
In Reference to Claim 16
(See Waggoner, Figures 1-8)
Waggoner et al. (Wag) discloses:
A method of cooling a portion of an exhaust assembly for an engine of a utility vehicle (See Wag, Paragraphs [0004] & [0038] w/respect to vessel/boat), comprising:
providing an exhaust conduit (i.e.-96 piping through which the exhaust flows);
fluidly coupling a catalyst (18) to the exhaust conduit (96) (See Wag, Paragraphs [0028]-[0029]);
directing a fluid (coolant/water) at a portion (16,18) of the exhaust assembly (See Wag, Paragraph [0036]); and
decreasing a temperature of an exhaust gas flowing through the exhaust assembly after directing a fluid at the portion (16,18) of the exhaust assembly. (See Wag, Paragraph [0036]).
In Reference to Claim 21
(See Minnichsoffer, Figures 1-9)
Wag discloses:
wherein directing the fluid includes flowing the fluid through a cooling jacket positioned at the portion of the exhaust assembly. (See Wag, Paragraph [0008]).
In Reference to Claim 22
(See Minnichsoffer, Figures 1-9)
Wag discloses:
further comprising providing an exhaust manifold fluidly coupled to the engine and the exhaust conduit and positioning the water jacket along a portion of the exhaust manifold. (See Wag, Paragraph [0008]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirchweger et al. (US 4,455,971) in view of Torosian et al. (US 3,841,841).
In Reference to Claim 16
(See Kirchweger, Figures 1-3)
Kirchweger et al. (Kirch) discloses:
A method of cooling a portion of an exhaust assembly for an engine of a utility vehicle (1) (See Kirch, Column 1, Lines 6-18), comprising:
providing an exhaust conduit (13,30);
directing a fluid (17,28) at a portion (13) of the exhaust assembly (See Kirch, Column 3, Lines 27-43); and
decreasing a temperature of an exhaust gas flowing through the exhaust assembly after directing a fluid at the portion (13) of the exhaust assembly. (See Kirch, Column 3, Lines 27-43 w/respect to cooling).
Kirch discloses the claimed invention except:
fluidly coupling a catalyst to the exhaust conduit.
Torosian et al. (Toro) discloses an exhaust device for an engine for mitigating unwanted noise. (See Toro, Abstract). Toro discloses attached a muffler/catalyst to the exhaust conduit of a vehicle. (See Toro, Column 1, Lines 18-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the muffler/catalyst of Toro as the muffler of the device of Kirch, as both references are directed towards sound attenuation of a motor vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the muffler of Toro would have reduced noise levels of the engine while also reducing emissions output of the exhaust improving the overall environment and noise level of the vehicle of Kirch. (See Toro, Column 1, Lines 18-27).
In Reference to Claim 18
(See Kirchweger, Figures 1-3)
The Kirch-Toro combination discloses:
wherein directing the fluid includes directing air through a radiator (5) fluidly coupled to the engine (4) and towards the portion (13) of the exhaust assembly. (See Kirch, Column 2, Line 54 – Column 3, Line 26).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that none of the cited references disclose “directing a fluid at a portion of the exhaust assembly; and decreasing a temperature of an exhaust gas flowing through the exhaust assembly after directing a fluid at the portion of the exhaust assembly.”, the Office respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that none of the rejections to Minnischsoffer, Waggoner, or Kirschweger in view of Torosian, disclose the features of “directing a fluid at a portion of the exhaust assembly; and decreasing a temperature of an exhaust gas flowing through the exhaust assembly after directing a fluid at the portion of the exhaust assembly” recited in claim 16. Specifically, Applicant argues that none of the cited rejections discloses the temporal order of “directing a fluid” and then decreasing temperature. (emphasis added). However, the Examiner notes that such temporal order does not preclude cooling/decreasing temperature of the component from occurring at other times. Additionally, the Examiner notes that the temporal order is merely a result of the thermodynamic heat transfer of a fluid which has been directed towards/around/across an exhaust pipe or component which has heat. In other words, directing and flowing a cooling fluid (i.e.-cooler fluid) around a hotter component will result in the temporal order of “directing a fluid” and then decreasing the temperature of the component to be cooled as such is the order of heat transfer from the component to the cooling fluid. Specifically, each of the recited rejections to claim 16 disclose directing a fluid (via a pipe, manifold, or fluid passage) towards and/or around an exhaust component which will have the direct result of cooling said component (i.e.-decreasing temperature). Accordingly, the rejections of claim 16 to Minnischsoffer, Waggoner, and Kirschweger in view of Torosian, each respectively discloses “directing a fluid at a portion of the exhaust assembly; and decreasing a temperature of an exhaust gas flowing through the exhaust assembly after directing a fluid at the portion of the exhaust assembly”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW T LARGI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746