DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 02/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 6, and 13-17 have been amended. Claims 1-17 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1 applicant argues on pages 10-12 of the Remarks that Mase fails to disclose or suggest, “selecting pixels of a first group and pixels of a second group, signal values (corresponding to luminous brightness) of the pixels in the first group exceeding a predetermined threshold out of the plurality of pixels, and signal values (corresponding to luminous brightness) of the pixels in the second group being not more than the predetermined threshold out of the plurality of pixels”
In response to the applicant’s argument, examiner respectfully disagrees. Mase describes different image data with pixel values representing luminance in fig. 56 and paragraph 399, “The display device according to any one of (1) to (9), in which each of the piece of first image data, the piece of second image data, and the piece of third image data has one or a plurality of pixel values representing luminance, one or a plurality of pixel values representing a first color difference, and one or a plurality of pixel values representing a second color difference.” Para 400-403 further describes the comparison threshold, “The display device according to any one of (1) to (9), in which the piece of second image data has one or a plurality of pixel values representing luminance, one or a plurality of pixel values representing a first color difference, and one or a plurality of pixel values representing a second color difference, a number of the one or plurality of pixel values representing the first color difference is smaller than a number of the one or plurality of pixel values representing the luminance, and a number of the one or plurality of pixel values representing the second color difference is smaller than the number of the one or plurality of pixel values representing the luminance.” The rejection is maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mase et al (PCT/JP2022037179 as US Pub. 20250029522).
Regarding claim 1, An embodiment of Mase discloses:
A light emitting device, (at least refer to fig. 5 and paragraph 114. Describes each of the plurality of pixels PIX is configured to emit light with luminance corresponding to the written pixel signal) comprising:
A plurality of pixels each including a light emitting element, the plurality of pixels being arranged in rows and columns, (at least refer to fig. 5 and paragraph 114. Describes each of the plurality of pixels PIX is configured to emit light with luminance corresponding to the written pixel signal);
A driving circuit configured to write signals having signal values corresponding to the plurality of pixels, (at least refer to fig. 4-5, 24B and paragraph 160. Describes the head-mounted display 20 receives a piece of first image data having a plurality of pixel values in one or a plurality of line images included in the entire image P1 having a first resolution, a piece of second image data having a plurality of pixel values in a plurality of line images included in the partial image P2 having a second resolution higher than the first resolution. In the first driving, a plurality of pixels PIX is driven in units of four pixels PIX on the basis of the piece of first image data. In the second driving, a plurality of pixels PIX is driven in units of one pixel PIX on the basis of the piece of second image data); and
A signal processing circuit, (at least refer to fig. 1, 3 and paragraph 106. Describes the processor 24 performs, for example, predetermined image processing on the basis of the pieces of image data supplied from the reception circuit 21)
Wherein the signal processing circuit is configured to select pixels of a first group and pixels of a second group, signal values of the pixels in the first group exceeding a predetermined threshold out of the plurality of pixels, and signal values of the pixels in the second group being not more than the predetermined threshold out of the plurality of pixels, (at least refer to fig. 4-5 and paragraph 160. Describes the head-mounted display 20 receives a piece of first image data having a plurality of pixel values in one or a plurality of line images included in the entire image P1 having a first resolution, a piece of second image data having a plurality of pixel values in a plurality of line images included in the partial image P2 having a second resolution higher than the first resolution. Thereafter, the head-mounted display 20 performs first driving, second driving, and third driving. In the first driving, a plurality of pixels PIX is driven in units of four pixels PIX on the basis of the piece of first image data. In the second driving, a plurality of pixels PIX is driven in units of one pixel PIX on the basis of the piece of second image data) and
Wherein the driving circuit is configured to write signals in the pixels included in the first group in a first period, and write signals in the pixels included in the second group in a second period different from the first period, (at least refer to fig. 10-15 and paragraphs 144-150. Describes from the timing t14 to the timing t15, the pixel signal generation circuit 32 writes the pixel signals corresponding to first, second, and eleventh to sixteenth pixel values to the pixels PIX corresponding to these pixel values. In addition, the pixel signal generation circuit 32 does not write the pixel value to the pixels PIX other than these pixels PIX. Para. 147, describes: from the timing t15 to the timing t16, the pixel signal generation circuit 32 writes the pixel signals corresponding to sixteen pixel values to the pixels PIX corresponding to these pixel values. In addition, the pixel signal generation circuit 32 does not write the pixel value to the pixels PIX other than these pixels PIX).
An embodiment of Mase does not disclose:
write signals having signal values corresponding to luminous brightness in the plurality of pixels
Wherein the signal processing circuit is configured to select pixels of a first group and pixels of a second group, signal values of the pixels in the first group exceeding a predetermined threshold out of the plurality of pixels, and signal values of the pixels in the second group being not more than the predetermined threshold out of the plurality of pixels
Another embodiment of Mase teaches:
write signals having signal values corresponding to luminous brightness in the plurality of pixels, (at least refer to fig. 56 and paragraph 399. Describes the display device according to any one of (1) to (9), in which each of the piece of first image data, the piece of second image data, and the piece of third image data has one or a plurality of pixel values representing luminance, one or a plurality of pixel values representing a first color difference, and one or a plurality of pixel values representing a second color difference)
Wherein the signal processing circuit is configured to select pixels of a first group and pixels of a second group, signal values of the pixels in the first group exceeding a predetermined threshold out of the plurality of pixels, and signal values of the pixels in the second group being not more than the predetermined threshold out of the plurality of pixels, (at least refer to fig. 56 and paragraph 400. Describes the display device according to any one of (1) to (9), in which the piece of second image data has one or a plurality of pixel values representing luminance, one or a plurality of pixel values representing a first color difference, and one or a plurality of pixel values representing a second color difference, a number of the one or plurality of pixel values representing the first color difference is smaller than a number of the one or plurality of pixel values representing the luminance, and a number of the one or plurality of pixel values representing the second color difference is smaller than the number of the one or plurality of pixel values representing the luminance)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate pixel values representing the luminance as taught by another embodiment of Mase with the driving pixel of the head-mounted display as disclosed by an embodiment of Mase. The motivation to combine the embodiments is to show image data in a special order to save power by using different levels of luminance and color difference data.
Regarding claim 2, Mase discloses:
Wherein the driving circuit is configured to select, in the first period, a pixel included in the first group for a pixel row out of the pixels of the first group, and write a signal in the pixel arranged in the selected pixel row, and select, in the second period, a pixel included in the second group for a pixel row out of the pixels of the second group, and write a signal in the pixel arranged in the selected pixel row, (at least refer to fig. 9-15 and paragraphs 144-150. Describes from the timing t14 to the timing t15, the pixel signal generation circuit 32 writes the pixel signals corresponding to first, second, and eleventh to sixteenth pixel values to the pixels PIX corresponding to these pixel values. In addition, the pixel signal generation circuit 32 does not write the pixel value to the pixels PIX other than these pixels PIX. Para. 147, describes: from the timing t15 to the timing t16, the pixel signal generation circuit 32 writes the pixel signals corresponding to sixteen pixel values to the pixels PIX corresponding to these pixel values. In addition, the pixel signal generation circuit 32 does not write the pixel value to the pixels PIX other than these pixels PIX. Para. 150, describes: the pixel signal generation circuit 32 writes the pixel signals related to the entire image P1 or the pixel signals related to the partial image P2 to all the pixels PIX in two pixel lines L indicated by the sign W2).
Regarding claim 3, Mase discloses:
Wherein the first period is a period preceding the second period, (at least refer to fig. 9-12 and paragraphs 138-139, 141-145. Describes the display panel 27 performs a display driving operation on two pixel lines L in a period from the timing t13 to a timing t14. Para. 139, describes: In this period from the timing t13 to the timing t14, the display controller 26 outputs, as the data signal DATA_OUT, a piece of image data including sixteen pixel values related to the entire image P1. Para. 141, describes: the display panel 27 performs the display driving operation on two pixel lines L indicated by a sign W2 in a period from the timing t14 to the timing t17. Para. 145, describes: In the next period from the timing t15 to the timing t16, the display controller 26 outputs, as the data signal DATA_OUT, a piece of image data including sixteen pixel values related to the partial image P2).
Regarding claim 4, Mase discloses:
Wherein the first period is a period before the second period, (at least refer to fig. 9-12 and paragraphs 138-139, 141-145. Describes the display panel 27 performs a display driving operation on two pixel lines L in a period from the timing t13 to a timing t14. Para. 139, describes: In this period from the timing t13 to the timing t14, the display controller 26 outputs, as the data signal DATA_OUT, a piece of image data including sixteen pixel values related to the entire image P1. Para. 141, describes: the display panel 27 performs the display driving operation on two pixel lines L indicated by a sign W2 in a period from the timing t14 to the timing t17. Para. 145, describes: In the next period from the timing t15 to the timing t16, the display controller 26 outputs, as the data signal DATA_OUT, a piece of image data including sixteen pixel values related to the partial image P2).
Mase does not disclose:
the first period is a period succeeding the second period
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the second period after first period, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 5, Mase discloses:
Wherein in the first period, the driving circuit is configured not to select a pixel row where the pixel of the first group is not arranged, (at least refer to fig. 9-12 and paragraphs 140,143. Describes the pixel signal generation circuit 32 writes a pixel signal related to the entire image P1 to two pixel lines L indicated by the sign W1. Para. 143, describes: the display controller 26 sets third to tenth pixel values of the sixteen pixel values to a pixel value representing black. The display panel 27 performs control not to write the pixel signal to the pixels PIX corresponding to the third to tenth pixel values).
Regarding claim 6, Mase discloses:
Wherein the driving circuit is configured to select pixels for each pixel row, and wherein the driving circuit is configured to, for each selected pixel row, perform (1) a first operation in the first period for writing a signal in a pixel arranged in the selected pixel row out of the pixels of the first group, and (2) a second operation in the second period for writing a signal in a pixel arranged in the selected pixel row out of the pixels of the second group, (at least refer to fig. 9-12 and paragraphs 138-139, 141-145. Describes the display panel 27 performs a display driving operation on two pixel lines L in a period from the timing t13 to a timing t14. Para. 139, describes: In this period from the timing t13 to the timing t14, the display controller 26 outputs, as the data signal DATA_OUT, a piece of image data including sixteen pixel values related to the entire image P1. Para. 141, describes: the display panel 27 performs the display driving operation on two pixel lines L indicated by a sign W2 in a period from the timing t14 to the timing t17. Para. 145, describes: In the next period from the timing t15 to the timing t16, the display controller 26 outputs, as the data signal DATA_OUT, a piece of image data including sixteen pixel values related to the partial image P2).
Regarding claim 7, Mase discloses:
Wherein for each pixel row, the driving circuit is configured to perform the second operation after performing the first operation, (at least refer to fig. 9-12 and paragraphs 137-139, 141-145. Describes the display panel 27 performs a display driving operation on two pixel lines L indicated by a sign W1 in a period from the timing t13 to a timing t14. Para. 141, describes: the display panel 27 performs the display driving operation on two pixel lines L indicated by a sign W2 in a period from the timing t14 to the timing t17).
Regarding claim 8, Mase discloses:
Wherein for each pixel row, the driving circuit is configured to perform the first operation and performing the second operation, (at least refer to fig. 9-12 and paragraphs 138-139, 141-145. Describes the display panel 27 performs a display driving operation on two pixel lines L in a period from the timing t13 to a timing t14. Para. 139, describes: In this period from the timing t13 to the timing t14, the display controller 26 outputs, as the data signal DATA_OUT, a piece of image data including sixteen pixel values related to the entire image P1. Para. 141, describes: the display panel 27 performs the display driving operation on two pixel lines L indicated by a sign W2 in a period from the timing t14 to the timing t17. Para. 145, describes: In the next period from the timing t15 to the timing t16, the display controller 26 outputs, as the data signal DATA_OUT, a piece of image data including sixteen pixel values related to the partial image P2).
Mase does not disclose:
perform the first operation after performing the second operation
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to perform first operation after second operation, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 9, Mase discloses:
Wherein the driving circuit is configured not to perform the first operation in a pixel row where the pixel of the first group is not arranged, (at least refer to fig. 1, 12 and paragraph 144. Describes from the timing t14 to the timing t15, the pixel signal generation circuit 32 writes the pixel signals corresponding to first, second, and eleventh to sixteenth pixel values to the pixels PIX corresponding to these pixel values. In addition, the pixel signal generation circuit 32 does not write the pixel value to the pixels PIX other than these pixels PIX).
Regarding claim 10, Mase discloses:
Further comprising a memory configured to hold signals for the plurality of pixels, (at least refer to fig. 1, 12 and paragraph 120. Describes the processor 24 performs predetermined image processing on the basis of the pieces of image data supplied from the reception circuit 21, and supplies, to the display controller 26, the pieces of image data having been subjected to the image processing together with the piece of image position data).
Regarding claim 11, Mase discloses:
Wherein the signal processing circuit is configured to select pixels of the first group and pixels of the second group based on signal values of the signals held in the memory, (at least refer to fig. 1, 12 and paragraph 160. Describes if a head-mounted display alternately receives a piece of image data for one frame of the entire image P1 and a piece of image data for one frame of the partial image P2, the head-mounted display performs scaling processing or merging processing on the basis of the two pieces of image data to thereby generate one display image. In this case, the head-mounted display needs a frame memory).
Regarding claim 12, Mase discloses:
Wherein the predetermined threshold is changed in accordance with a level of signal values of signals for the plurality of pixels, (at least refer to fig. 12 and paragraph 163. Describes the image generation circuit 11 generates the entire image P1 having a high resolution, specifies a part of the entire image P1 as the partial image P2, and converts four pixel values disposed in two rows and two columns in the entire image P1 into one pixel value to thereby convert the entire image P1 having a high resolution into the entire image P1 having a low resolution).
Regarding claim 13, Mase discloses:
A display device comprising the light emitting device according to claim 1; and an active element connected to the light emitting device, (at least refer to fig. 57 and paragraph 345. Describes the light-emitting element EL is, for example, an organic EL light-emitting element, and has the anode coupled to the source of the transistor MN03 and the other end of the capacitor C01, and a cathode coupled to a power supply line Vcath).
Regarding claim 14, Mase discloses:
A photoelectric conversion device comprising an optical unit including a plurality of lenses; an image sensor configured to receive light having passed through the optical unit; and a display unit configured to display an image, wherein the display unit displays an image captured by the image sensor, and includes the light emitting device, (at least refer to fig. 57 and paragraph 345. Describes the digital still camera 130 is an interchangeable lens single-lens reflex type camera, and includes a camera main body section (camera body) 131, a photographing lens unit 132. The photographing lens unit 312 is an interchangeable lens unit, and is provided almost in the vicinity of a middle of a front surface of the camera main body section 311. The monitor 134 is provided on left side from almost a middle of a rear surface of the camera main body section 131. The electronic view finder 135 is provided above the monitor 14 on the rear surface of the camera main body section 131. The photographer looks into the electronic view finder 135, thereby making it possible to visually recognize a light image of a subject guided from the photographing lens unit 132 and determine a composition) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Mase discloses:
An electronic apparatus comprising: a housing provided with a display unit; and a communication unit provided in the housing and configured to perform external communication, wherein the display unit includes the light emitting device, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraphs 83, 345. Describes the display system 1 performs communication between the image generation device 10 and the head-mounted display 20 with use of an interface such as HDMI. Para. 345, Describes: the light-emitting element EL is, for example, an organic EL light-emitting element) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, An embodiment of Mase does not disclose:
A light source; and at least one of a light diffusing unit and an optical film, wherein the light source includes the light emitting device according to claim 1
Another embodiment of Mase teaches:
A light source; and at least one of a light diffusing unit and an optical film, wherein the light source includes the light emitting device, (at least refer to fig. 51 and paragraphs 321-322. Describes The barrel section 123 projects the image light supplied from the main body section 121 through the arm section 122 toward a user's eye through a lens 129 of the glasses 128. Para. 322, Describes: the head-mounted display 120 may be, for example, what is called a birdbath system head-mounted display. The birdbath system head-mounted display includes, for example, a beam splitter, and a partially transparent mirror. The beam splitter outputs light encoded with image information toward the mirror, and the mirror reflects the light toward the user's eye. Both of the beam splitter and the partially transparent mirror are partially transparent) according to claim 1
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 17, Mase discloses:
A moving body comprising a main body; and a lighting appliance provided in the main body, wherein the lighting appliance includes the light emitting device, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraphs 83, 345. Describes The display system 1 performs communication between the image generation device 10 and the head-mounted display 20 with use of an interface such as HDMI. Para. 345, Describes: the light-emitting element EL is, for example, an organic EL light-emitting element) according to claim 1.
Conclusion
/IFEDAYO B ILUYOMADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624 05/21/2026