Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I and Sub-Species IB in the reply filed on 04/24/2016 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serous burden. This is not found persuasive because the search and/or examination burden is not limited exclusively to a prior art search but also includes that effort required to apply the art by making and discussing all appropriate grounds of rejection. Multiple inventions, such as those in the present application, normally require additional reference material and further discussion for each additional invention examined. Concurrent examination of multiple inventions would thus typically involve a significant burden even if all searches were coextensive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/24/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) was/were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) was/were considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the circumstance in which the orifice plate includes an outer seal boss and an inner seal boss wherein at least one of the outer seal boss or inner seal boss is non-circular must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 necessitates that “the inner seal boss is circular and the outer seal boss is circular.” Claim 23 depends from claim 14. Claim 14 necessitates that, “the inner seal boss and/or the outer seal boss is non-circular.” Claim 14 necessitates that at least one of the inner seal boss and outer seal boss is non-circular. However, claim 23 conflicts with claim 14, necessitating that both the inner and outer seal boss be circular.
For purposes of examination, the office regards claim 23 as depending from claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hakoda et al. (U.S. Publication 2017/0248238), hereinafter “Hakoda”.
In regards to claim 10, Hakoda discloses a valve comprising: an orifice plate (24) comprising at least one orifice (28) surrounded by an orifice plate seal surface (24a); a seal plate (22) comprising: an outer seal boss having an outer seal boss surface that faces the orifice plate; an inner seal boss having an inner seal boss surface that faces the orifice plate (see para. [0045] which discloses that grooves 50 may be formed on the valve plug 22; see also Fig. 3 which illustrates a plurality of radially spaced bosses and pockets); and a pocket between the inner and outer seal bosses that overlays the at least one orifice (28), the pocket defined by a recessed surface that is surrounded by the inner and outer seal bosses and displaced from the inner and outer seal boss surfaces along an axis; and an actuator (16) configured to move the seal plate (22) relative to the orifice plate (24) along the axis to transition the valve between open and closed states, wherein: the inner and outer seal boss surfaces (50) engage the orifice plate seal surface (24a) and block a flow of fluid through the at least one orifice (28) when the valve is in the closed state; and the inner and outer seal boss surfaces (50) are displaced from the orifice plate seal surface (24a) and do not block a flow of fluid through the at least one orifice (28) when the valve is in the open state; the inner seal boss is circular or non-circular; and the outer seal boss is circular or non-circular.
In regards to claim 23, the inner seal boss is circular and the outer seal boss is circular.
In regards to claim 25, the at least one orifice (28) comprises a circular orifice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagstrom et al. (U.S. Publication 2019/0301628), hereinafter “Hagstrom” in view of Hakoda.
In regards to claim 10, Hagstrom discloses a valve comprising: an orifice plate (108) comprising at least one orifice (116) surrounded by an orifice plate seal surface; a seal plate (106); and an actuator (104) configured to move the seal plate (106) relative to the orifice plate (108) along the axis to transition the valve between open and closed states
Hagstrom does not specifically disclose an outer seal boss having an outer seal boss surface that faces the orifice plate; an inner seal boss having an inner seal boss surface that faces the orifice plate; and a pocket between the inner and outer seal bosses that overlays the at least one orifice the pocket defined by a recessed surface that is surrounded by the inner and outer seal bosses and displaced from the inner and outer seal boss surfaces along an axis, wherein: the inner and outer seal boss surfaces engage the orifice plate seal surface and block a flow of fluid through the at least one orifice when the valve is in the closed state; and the inner and outer seal boss surfaces are displaced from the orifice plate seal surface and do not block a flow of fluid through the at least one orifice when the valve is in the open state; the inner seal boss is circular or non-circular; and the outer seal boss is circular or non-circular.
Hakoda teaches a valve having an outer and inner seal boss arrangement as necessitated by the claims and discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have made the seal plate of Hagstrom to include the outer and inner bosses to ensure smooth valve opening operation as taught by Hakoda (para. [0037]).
In regards to claim 11, the at least one orifice (116) comprises a plurality of orifices.
In regards to claim 12, the actuator (104) comprises a small displacement actuator that is configured to move the seal plate relative to the orifice plate no more than 100 micrometers along the axis.
In regards to claim 13, the small displacement actuator (104) comprises a piezoelectric actuator.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakoda in view of Kingsford (U.S. Publication 2007/0019503).
Hakoda discloses all of the elements as discussed above.
Hakoda does not specifically disclose that the at least one orifice comprises a non-circular orifice.
Kingsford teaches a valve wherein fluid passages may have circular or non-circular configurations (see para. [0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have substituted the circular orifice configuration for a non-circular configuration as the simple substitution of one known passageway shape for another with predicable results as evidenced by Kingsford.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-17, 21, 22, 24, and 27 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT K ARUNDALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753