Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In page 7, lines 10-11, the following is unclear: “FIG. 3 illustrates a state where a loop string is coupled to in a pulley housing”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lob et al (AU 2004202511).
Regarding claim 1, Lob et al teaches a pulley device comprising:
a loop string (15) including a loop portion formed in a ring shape on one side and first and second string extension portions extending to the other side in a form bifurcated from the loop portion, the loop portion extending downward together with the first and second string extension portions when the loop string is hung on a support located on an upper side (Page 5, paragraph 21; Fig. 1, element 15; annotated figure);
a loop fixing stopper (2) having first and second through-hole rows (10, 12) through which the first and second string extension portions pass, and forming a knot for fixing the loop string (15) when the loop portion is hung on a rear surface (Page 6, paragraphs 3, 5; Fig. 1, elements 10, 12; Fig. 4, elements 2, 10, 12);
and a pulley including a pulley housing (4) to which end portions of the first and second string extension portions extended through the loop fixing stopper (2) are connected, and a pulley wheel (8) rotatably mounted between two connecting plates (3) of the pulley housing (4) by a connecting shaft and having a circumference around which a groove around which a moving string passes while rotating is formed (Page 6, paragraph 3; Fig. 1, elements 4, 3, 8; annotated figure).
Additional details are provided in the figure below.
Regarding claim 2, Lob et al teaches the loop fixing stopper (2) is positionally adjustable while moving along the first and second string extension portions, thereby allowing a position at which the pulley is suspended in the air by the loop string (15) to be adjusted (Page 4, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 3, Lob et al teaches the first and second through-hole rows (10, 12) of the loop fixing stopper (2) include an upper through-hole (10) that allows the first and second string extension portions to extend from a rear surface to a front surface, and a lower through-hole (12) that allows the first and second string extension portions to extend from the front surface to the rear surface (Fig. 1, elements 10, 12; Fig. 4, elements 10, 12, 15).
Regarding claim 4, Lob et al teaches the loop fixing stopper (2) includes a main plate (3) in which the first and second through-hole rows (10, 12) are formed and two side walls protruding from both sides of the main plate (3) in a rear surface direction (Page 5, paragraph 21; Fig. 1, elements 2, 3, 10, 12; annotated figure),
and the two side walls support the loop portion (15) hung between the first and second string extension portions and the rear surface of the main plate (3) so that the loop portion (15) extends between two side walls (Fig. 1, elements 3, 15; annotated figure).
Additional details are provided in the figure below.
Regarding claim 5, Lob et al teaches the pulley housing (4) includes a string coupling portion (12) formed as a through-hole on the upper surface, into which an end portion of each of the first and second string extension portions is inserted (Page 5, paragraph 21; Fig. 1, elements 4, 12), and
the end portions of the first and second string extension portions are fixed so as to prevent separation in a coupling space (12) formed in an inner upper portion of the pulley housing (4) (Page 6, paragraphs 3, 5; Fig. 4, elements 2, 10, 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lob et al in view of Christian (US 4402504).
Regarding claim 6, Lob et al fails to teach a moving string. Christian teaches a pulley device with a moving string (75) having two moving string extension portions (72) hung on the groove of the pulley wheel (68, 70) and extending downward (Column 3, lines 35-39, 45-47; Fig. 1, elements 68, 70, 72, 75);
and a handle (76) coupled to a lower portion of each of the moving string extension portions (72) (Column 3, lines 47-49; Fig. 1, elements 72, 76),
wherein an arm stretching movement is performed by the moving string (75) and handle (72) (Column 3, lines 60-63; Fig. 1, element 75, 72, hand).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Christian in Lob et al to facilitate the creation of a moving string that can couple to a handle in order to perform a variety of exercises as taught by Christian (Column 3, lines 45-49, 60-62).
Claim(s) 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lob et al in view of Christian and in further view of Kögel (DE 102018100787).
Regarding claim 7, Lob et al in view of Christian discloses the claimed invention except for a string stopper. Kögel teaches a cable holder wherein a string stopper (1) is provided in the moving string extension portion to connect the handle and enable height adjustment of the handle (Abstract),
an insertion hole path (21) and a fixing hole path are formed inside a body (3) of the string stopper (1) (Page 5, paragraphs 4, 5; Fig. 1, elements 1, 3; Fig. 2, elements 1, 3, 21; annotated figure),
the insertion hole path (21) is configured such that the moving string extension portion (2) bends inside the body (3), exits, and extends toward the handle, and the moving string extension portion (2) is secured by frictional force generated while being bent inside the body (3) (Page 5, paragraph 5; Fig. 2, elements 2, 3, 21), and
the fixing hole path is configured to allow the end portion of the moving string extension portion (2), which passes through the hollow of the handle and extends, to be inserted and fixed (Page 6, paragraph 7; Fig. 1, element 2; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Kögel in combination with Lob et al and Christian to facilitate the creation of a cable holder that allows for easy installation of the cable as taught by Kögel (Page 2, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 8, Lob et al in view of Christian fails to teach an insertion hole path. Kögel teaches a cable holder wherein the insertion hole path (21) includes a first insertion hole formed on an upper portion of the body (3) and extending downward, a first side insertion hole (10) extending to one side of the body (3) while intersecting the first insertion hole, and a second insertion hole extending downward while intersecting the first side insertion hole (Page 6, paragraph 10; page 7, paragraph 1; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Kögel in combination with Lob et al and Christian to facilitate the creation of an insertion hole that allows the rope to pass through the stopper as taught by Kögel (Page 7, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 9, Lob et al in view of Christian fails to teach a connection portion. Kögel teaches a cable holder wherein a connection portion of the first side insertion hole and the second insertion hole is formed to be open on one side surface of the body (3) (Fig. 2, element 3; annotated figure), and
a second side insertion hole connected to the first side insertion hole and extending to the other side of the body (3) is formed (Fig. 2, element 3; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Kögel in combination with Lob et al and Christian to facilitate the creation of a connection portion that secures the cable within the holder as taught by Kögel (Page 3, paragraph 10).
Regarding claim 10, Lob et al in view of Christian fails to teach a fixing hole path. Kögel teaches a cable holder wherein the fixing hole path includes an end portion fixing hole to which an end portion of the moving string extension (2) is fixed, and an end portion insertion hole that extends in the other direction of the body (3) while intersecting the end portion fixing hole and through which an end portion of the moving string extension portion (3) is inserted into the end portion fixing hole (Page 6, paragraph 5; Fig. 2, elements 2, 3; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Kögel in combination with Lob et al and Christian to facilitate the creation of a fixing hole that can engage the cable and prevent twisting as taught by Kögel (Page 6, paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 11, Lob et al in view of Christian fails to teach an insertion hole path. Kögel teaches a cable holder wherein the first insertion hole path (21) and the end portion fixing hole are arranged on a central axis of the body (3) (Fig. 1, element 3; annotated figure), and
the moving string extension portion (2) forms a symmetrical arrangement with respect to a central axis of the body (3) on a lower side of the body (3) (Fig. 1, element 3; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Kögel in combination with Lob et al and Christian to facilitate the creation of pathways which ensure that the cable is inserted into the holder in a predetermined position for proper polarity (Page 4, paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 12, Lob et al in view of Christian fails to teach an opening portion. Kögel teaches a cable holder (1) wherein an opening portion through which the moving string extension portion (2) passes is formed opposite to the second insertion hole in the body (3) (Fig. 1, elements 1, 2, 3; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Kögel in combination with Lob et al and Christian to facilitate the creation of an opening that allows the cable to be inserted into the holder without deflecting as taught by Kögel (Page 2, paragraph 6).
Conclusion
/SYDNEY JEANINE SIMMONS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654