DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) and (a) (2) as being anticipated by US Publication 2013/0043287 by Hubbard (Here forth “Hubbard”).
Regarding claim 1, Hubbard discloses a storing apparatus, suitable for being attached to a vehicle (Para 76 of Hubbard), the storing apparatus comprising a body and a cover, the body and the cover being connected through a hinge mechanism (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard), and the hinge mechanism allowing the cover to be rotatably opened and closed relative to at least one edge of the body (Fig 13 of Hubbard), wherein the hinge mechanism comprises: a first link rod member, swingably connected between the body and the cover, at least two ends of the first link rod member being connected to the body and the cover in a pivoted mode respectively through a first pivot shaft and a second pivot shaft; a second link rod member (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard), swingably connected between the body and the cover (Fig 13 of Hubbard), at least two ends of the second link rod member being connected to the body and the cover in a pivoted mode respectively through a third pivot shaft and a fourth pivot shaft (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard); and a first base member, configured to be releasably connected to the body or the cover (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard and Fig 13 of Hubbard); wherein both the first pivot shaft and the third pivot shaft are connected to the first base member to be configured such that the first pivot shaft, the third pivot shaft and the first base member are able to be integrally released from the body or the cover (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard and Fig 13 of Hubbard); and wherein a distance between the first pivot shaft and the third pivot shaft is defined by the first base member to be kept unchanged (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard), and when the first link rod member rotates through the first pivot shaft and the second link rod member rotates through the third pivot shaft to open the cover (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard and Fig 13 of Hubbard), a distance between the fourth pivot shaft and the first pivot shaft is increased to enable the cover to move away from the body (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard and Fig 13 of Hubbard).
Examiner Annotated Fig 13 of Hubbard
Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard
Regarding claim 2, Hubbard further discloses wherein: the hinge mechanism further comprises a second base member opposite to the first base member, and the second pivot shaft and the fourth pivot shaft are connected to the second base member in a pivoted mode (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard and Fig 13 of Hubbard).
Regarding claim 7, Hubbard further discloses wherein: the body or the cover is provided with a locking hook (Examiner Annotated Fig 5 of Hubbard), and at least one of the first pivot shaft and the third pivot shaft is constructed as a locking pin to be locked with the locking hook on the body or the cover in a pivoted mode (Para 76-77 of Hubbard, the interlocking hinges include pins that behave as locking pins to prevent vertical movement).
Examiner Annotated Fig 6 of Hubbard
Regarding claim 8, Hubbard further discloses wherein: the hinge mechanism further comprises a strength accumulating piece, and the strength accumulating piece is configured such that, when the hinge mechanism is released from the body or the cover, the strength accumulating piece comprised in the hinge mechanism keeps the hinge mechanism in a state suitable for being locked with the locking hook on the body or the cover when the cover is closed (Para 47 of Hubbard, the spring is the strength accumulating piece).
Regarding claim 9, Hubbard further discloses wherein: the strength accumulating piece is configured such that, when the cover rotates around the hinge mechanism to be opened, the strength accumulating piece is in a strength accumulating state for elastic deformation to produce elastic restoring force (Para 47 of Hubbard, the spring is the strength accumulating piece and can be elastically deformed).
Regarding claim 10, Hubbard discloses wherein: the strength accumulating piece is a spring, one end of the spring is connected to the fourth pivot shaft, the other end of the spring is connected to the first link rod member (Para 47 of Hubbard, the spring is the strength accumulating piece, and is attached to the hinge which includes the fourth pivot shaft and first link rod member), and when the cover is in an opened state, the strength accumulating piece is in a stretched strength-accumulation state (Para 47 of Hubbard, to force the cover open and in the relaxed state, the spring should be in the stretched state).
Regarding claim 11, Hubbard further discloses wherein: the second link rod member is closer to the edge than the first link rod member, wherein the second link rod member is bent to form an avoiding area on a side facing the edge, and the avoiding area is used to avoid abutting against the edge in an opening process of the cover (Fig 13 of Hubbard and Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard, second link rod member is closer to the edge of the cover than the second link rod and the second link rod stays within an avoiding area zone and avoids abutting the edge of the opening as this would prevent the cover from being able to lift from the body).
Regarding claim 12, Hubbard further discloses wherein: the second link rod member abuts against the edge of the body to define a maximum opening position of the cover (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard, the second link rod abuts against the second base member).
Regarding claim 15, Hubbard discloses wherein: the second base member is fixedly connected to the body or the cover(Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard and Fig 13 of Hubbard), and a padding block is configured between the second base member and the body or the cover (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard and Fig 13 of Hubbard, the Padding block is between the second base member and cover).
Regarding claim 16, Hubbard discloses wherein: the storing apparatus is a roof box suitable for being assembled on a top of the vehicle (Abstract of Hubbard).
Regarding claim 17, Hubbard further disclose wherein: the hinge mechanisms are configured at two opposite edges of the storing apparatus, and when the cover is opened, the hinge mechanism at one of the edges is released from the body or the cover, and the cover rotates around the hinge mechanism at the other edge (Fig 13 of Hubbard).
Regarding claim 18, Hubbard further discloses a storing apparatus, suitable for being attached to a vehicle (Para 76 of Hubbard), the storing apparatus comprising a body and a cover, wherein: the body and the cover are connected through a hinge mechanism, and the hinge mechanism allows the cover to be rotatably opened and closed relative to at least one edge of the body (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard and Fig 13 of Hubbard); wherein the hinge mechanism comprises a first link rod member and a second link rod member; the first link rod member is swingably connected between the body and the cover, and at least two ends of the first link rod member are connected to the body and the cover in a pivoted mode respectively through a first pivot shaft and a second pivot shaft (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard and Fig 13 of Hubbard); the second link rod member is swingably connected between the body and the cover, and at least two ends of the second link rod member are connected to the body and the cover in a pivoted mode respectively through a third pivot shaft and a fourth pivot shaft (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard and Fig 13 of Hubbard); a distance between the first pivot shaft and the third pivot shaft and a distance between the second pivot shaft and the fourth pivot shaft are both kept unchanged (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard and Fig 13 of Hubbard), such that the body, the cover, the first link rod member and the second link rod member constitute a four-link mechanism (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard and Fig 13 of Hubbard); and the first link rod member and the second link rod member are jointly connected with one end of the body or the cover, and are configured to be releasably connected to the body or the cover (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard and Fig 13 of Hubbard)
.
Regarding claim 19, Hubbard further discloses wherein: the hinge mechanism further comprises a first base member, and the first base member is configured to be releasably connected to the body or the cover (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard and Fig 13 of Hubbard, first base member is releasably connected to the cover); and one end of the first link rod member and one end of the second link rod member are connected with the first base member in a pivoted mode (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard and Fig 13 of Hubbard).
Regarding claim 20, Hubbard further discloses wherein: the hinge mechanism further comprises a strength accumulating piece, and the strength accumulating piece is configured such that, when the hinge mechanism is released from the body or the cover, the strength accumulating piece comprised in the hinge mechanism keeps the hinge mechanism in a state suitable for being locked with the body or the cover when the cover is closed (Para 47 of Hubbard, the spring is the strength accumulating piece).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hubbard in view of US Publication 2007/0164066 by Jones (Here forth “Jones”).
Regarding claim 3, Hubbard does not expressly disclose a sliding guide piece between the first and second base member.
Jones discloses a similar hinge that teaches wherein a sliding guide piece is arranged between at least one of the first link rod member and the second link rod member and at least one of the first base member and the second base member (Examiner Annotated Fig 4 of Jones, the sliding guide piece is between the first and second ling rod members in the vertical direction and the first and second base members in the horizontal direction).
Examiner Annotated Fig 4 of Jones
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Hubbard as modified and Jones before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the first link rod member of Jones to include a sliding guide piece that attaches to an arc groove within a base member, as taught by Jones, to advantageously provide guide support for the hinge link rod members as they move.
Regarding claim 4, Hubbard as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein: the sliding guide piece comprises arc grooves and guide shafts capable of sliding in the arc grooves (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 3; Examiner Annotated Fig 4 of Jones).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hubbard and Jones in view of Chinese Publication CN105683473 by Yamamoto (Here forth “Yamamoto”).
Regarding claim 5, Hubbard further discloses wherein: the second base member comprises a top plate part fixedly connected to the body or the cover (Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard) and [Not taught: side plate parts extending from side edges of the top plate part, wherein the arc grooves are formed in the side plate parts of the second base member].
Hubbard does not expressly disclose that the second base member has side plates extending from the top plate.
Yamamoto discloses a similar hinge that teaches side plate parts extending from side edges of the top plate part (Examiner Annotated Fig 4 of Yamamoto; two side plate parts arranged oppositely are provided).
Examiner Annotated Fig 4 of Yamamoto
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Hubbard as modified and Yamamoto before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the modified Hubbard to have the second base member to include side plate parts, as taught by Yamamoto, to advantageously prevent the moving hinge parts from hitting the top body of the apparatus.
Hubbard as modified does not expressly disclose wherein the arc grooves are formed in the side plate parts of the second base member.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the application was filed to have the arc grooves are formed in the side plate parts of the second base member, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation. base member.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hubbard, Jones, and Yamamoto in view of Foreign Publication DE102007034429 by Waeke (Here forth “Waeke”).
Regarding claim 6, Hubbard as modified does not expressly disclose wherein: two side plate parts arranged oppositely are provided, the first link rod member and the second link rod member each comprise two pivoting side plates arranged oppositely which are correspondingly pivoted on the two side plate parts of the second base member.
Waeke discloses a similar hinge that teaches two side plate parts arranged oppositely are provided, the first link rod member and the second link rod member each comprise two pivoting side plates arranged oppositely which are correspondingly pivoted on the two side plate parts of the second base member (Examiner Annotated Fig 10-12 of Waeke, the two parts are the two side plates of the link rod members that can be applied to the first and second link rod members of the modified Hubbard).
Examiner Annotated Fig 10-12 of Waeke
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Hubbard as modified and Waeke before them, when the application was filed, to have modified first and second link rod members to include side plate parts, as taught by Waeke, to advantageously add strength to the linkage rod member parts to make them stronger.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hubbard in view of Jones and Waeke.
Regarding claim 13, Hubbard does not expressly disclose that the first link member has a base and side plates ben from opposite sides of the base plate.
Jones discloses a similar linkage rod member that teaches wherein: the first link rod member is an integrated member which comprises a base plate and pivoting side plates extending in a bent mode from two opposite sides of the base plate (Examiner Annotated Fig 4 of Jones, bent mode is when the sides are perpendicular to the base plate).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Hubbard and Jones before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the first linkage of the hinge to have a base plate with pivoting side plates as taught by Jones, to advantageously provide additional strength and support for the hinge.
Hubbard as modified does not expressly disclose that the second link rod member is a split member which comprises two parts separately arranged at two ends of the third pivot shaft and the fourth pivot shaft.
Waeke discloses a similar hinge that teaches the second link rod member is a split member which comprises two parts separately arranged at two ends of the third pivot shaft and the fourth pivot shaft (Examiner Annotated Fig 10-12 of Waeke).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Hubbard as modified and Waeke before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the second linkage rod member be a split member with two separate parts arranged at two ends of the third and fourth pivot shafts, as taught by Waeke, to advantageously provide additional strength and support for the second link rod member.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hinge of the modified Hubbard to have the second linkage rod member be two separate similar parts duplicating parts. Such a modification involves only a change in shape which provides no change in function (see MPEP 2144.04 VI B). Further Applicant has not disclosed criticality for the claimed shape.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hubbard in view Yamamoto.
Regarding claim 14, Hubbard further discloses wherein: the second link rod member is closer to the edge than the first link rod member (Fig 13 of Hubbard and Examiner Annotated Fig 16 of Hubbard, second link rod member is closer to the edge of the cover than the second link rod); [Not taught: wherein a distance between the third pivot shaft and the fourth pivot shaft is smaller than a distance between the first pivot shaft and the second pivot shaft].
Hubbard does not expressly disclose that the distance between the third pivot shaft and fourth pivot shaft is smaller than the distance between the first and second pivot shaft.
Yamamoto disclose a similar hinge that teaches wherein a distance between the third pivot shaft and the fourth pivot shaft is smaller than a distance between the first pivot shaft and the second pivot shaft (Examiner Annotated Fig 6 of Yamamoto, distance between the third and fourth pivot shafts is smaller than the distance between the third and fourth pivot shafts).
Examiner Annotated Fig 6 of Yamamoto
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Hubbard and Yamamoto before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the hinge of Yamato to have the first and second link rod members be the same lengths and angles, as taught by Yamamoto, to advantageously have a wider degree of movement of the lid.
Conclusion
/JESSICA KAVINI TAMIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733